Essay Should the Age for Getting a License be Higher Than 16?

Essay Should the Age for Getting a License be Higher Than 16?

Length: 1349 words (3.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Throughout the past decade, the rate of teenage automobile crashes has risen. Teens have become more and more careless with their driving over the years. It may be the teens lack of experience or that they are just too young to have the responsibility of driving a car. As the years have gone by, teens have become more distracted while driving. With their cell phones buzzing uncontrollably, the music blaring, and their friends yelling in the back seat; teens are having a hard time focusing on the other drivers around them. Teenagers have a very hard time “multitasking” while driving, posing more of a hazard when on the roads (Zernike). Driving comes with much responsibility and maturity, two things an average teenager lacks. Why are teens more likely to be in a car accident than someone who has been driving for years? Raising the driving age will put teenagers and others on the road out of the risk of getting in an accident. With the pros and cons, teens are inexperienced, putting those around them at risk, and are distracted very easily. The use of appeal to logos and pathos explains the pros and cons of teens and driving.
One claim explaining why the age limit to get a driver’s license should be higher than sixteen is teenagers are very inexperienced when first beginning to drive. Driving comes with much experience, something a sixteen year old driver does not have. According to Williams, the driving experience of a teenager, has been known to being a “major factor” impacting automobile crashes. Although, the driving age of teenagers may only seem to concern a small amount of the world’s population, it does pertain to the safety of everyone around the teenage driver. Using appeal to logos, Williams’ evidence proves a sixteen ye...


... middle of paper ...


...ng Age a Fine Idea?.” McClatchy-Tribune Business News. 10 Sep. 2008: n.p. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 07 Mar. 2014.
ProQuest Staff. “At Issue: Teens and Driving.” ProQuest LLC. 2014: n.pag. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 06 Mar. 2014.
Ricks, Dethia. “Teen Text Danger: Deaths and Injuries Among Young Drivers Rising.” Newsday. 09 May. 2013: A.8. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 08 Mar. 2014.
Roan, Shari. “Driving Laws May Be Shifting the Fatalities to Older Teens.” Los Angeles Times. 14 Sep. 2011: A.1. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 08 Mar. 2014.
Williams, Alan F. “Licensing Age and Teenage Driver Crashes: A Review of the Evidence.” Chronicle For Driver Education Professionals. 56.1 (2008): 15. Mas Ultra-School Editions. Web. 07 Mar. 2014.
Zernike, Kate. “Unsafe Behind the Wheel?” New York Times Upfront. 08 Oct. 2012: 6-7. SIRS Issues Researcher. Web. 08 Mar. 2014.


Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Should Teenagers Be Allowed For Their Driver 's License Essay

- Whether or not teenagers should be allowed to get their driver 's license at age sixteen is a known topic across the United States. One of the causes for this argument is the number of fatalities caused by young drivers. Evidence shows, “In 2012, 1,875 drivers between the ages of 15 and 20 died in motor vehicle crashes and an additional 184,000 young drivers were injured, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration,” (“Teen Drivers”). Most accidents are caused by young drivers....   [tags: Driver's license, Driver's education, Driving]

Strong Essays
1224 words (3.5 pages)

A License Should Be Required To Be A Parent Essay

- From everyday experiences to recent news stories, I have come across many issues that large families face in America. Poverty and child abuse are top issues in the United States. For this reason, I believe the government should start regulating the number of children people can have based on financial stability, place of residence, criminal history, and other qualifications. The ideal American family image is one that provides parents that gracefully accommodate and nurture their children with open arms, financial cohesion, warm meals, and a roof over their heads....   [tags: social issues, poverty]

Strong Essays
1059 words (3 pages)

Driver's License for the Unodumented Essay

- The United States has found that there is approximately 13 million illegal immigrants residing within its borders and that number is predicted to rise with the years to come. Although there is no definite number; there is a great chance that more than half of these 13 million illegal immigrants drive illegally in the United States. This means that there are more than six million drivers on the roads who are not educated on American traffic laws, who are not registered on the government database, and who have no insurance to cover their accidents....   [tags: illegal immigration, licensing aliens]

Strong Essays
979 words (2.8 pages)

Needed: A License to Drink Essay

- Needed: A License to Drink Mike Brake is a writer for the communication department at the Oklahoma State Department of Education he wrote an article, “Needed: A License to Drink,” proposing a national system of licensing on drinking, with appropriate penalties. This means in order to drink one beer a person would have to obtain a license. The article is from Newsweek (March 14, 1994). Underage drinking is everywhere; high school, parties, and at college. How do they get the alcohol. The answer is simple get into the right crowd and alcohol will be as easy to get as juice....   [tags: Drinking Alcohol Essays]

Strong Essays
1146 words (3.3 pages)

The Legal Driving Age Should Be Raised Essay

- My parents gave me my first car for my sixteenth birthday. I was overjoyed by this new found freedom; however, like a large portion of teenagers, I was also terrified of driving. This was mostly because I didn’t receive a lot of experience with my permit, and also because I was afraid of crashing my new car. In the years preceding my sixteenth birthday I had mourned the deaths of several teenaged friends who had died in car crashes. I ended up waiting a full year after I turned sixteen to take my driving test, because I didn’t feel comfortable driving until then, which later paid off when I passed my driving test the first time I took it....   [tags: Driving, Driver's license, Adolescence]

Strong Essays
1614 words (4.6 pages)

Essay about Benefits Of Getting A College Degree

- Why would you go out of your way to get a college degree. As unemployment for college graduates goes up, with the rate currently at “7.2 percent (compared with 5.5 percent in 2007), according to epi.org, and the underemployment rate is “14.9 percent (compared with 9.6 percent in 2007)”. The truth of the matter is, facts like these can alter our choices and can be misinterpreted. It is true that the unemployment rate for college graduates has gone up, but so has the unemployment rate for high school graduates....   [tags: High school, Higher education, College]

Strong Essays
1211 words (3.5 pages)

Rebuttal Essay on Needed: A License to Drink

- Rebuttal Essay on “Needed: A License to Drink” “Needed: A License to Drink” is an essay written by Mike Brake. In this essay, Brake explains why he thinks people need a license to drink. He has had family members die from alcohol related events and believes they might still be alive if a license was required to drink. Alcohol is related to many deaths and alcoholism is a disease that affects many people. “It causes more than 19,000 auto fatalities each year, it is responsible for more than a third of deaths from drowning and fire” (Brake135)....   [tags: Alcohol Drinking Essays]

Strong Essays
1010 words (2.9 pages)

Essay about The Legal Driving Age Should Be Legal

- When do kids officially become an adult. Most would say at the age of eightteen. Because of this fact many people have brought up the question of raising the legal driving age. Changing the legal driving age is a huge debate in America at this moment in history. The idea of changing the legal driving age has been around for several years. Although no concrete decisions have been made, several people have proposed that the legal driving age should be moved from 16 years of age, to 18. With several statistics concerning the percentages of teens who have been in a motor vehicle accident, many parents are quick to jump on board with changing the legal driving age....   [tags: Driver's license, Driver's education, Driving]

Strong Essays
1177 words (3.4 pages)

Essay about Should The Minimum Driving Age Be Raised?

- “The one thing that unites all human beings, regardless of age, gender, religion, economic status, or ethnic background, is that, deep down inside, we all believe that we are above-average drivers.” - Dave Berry It has been a very controversial topic over the past couple years, and people have varying opinions on it. Should the minimum driving age be raised or should it stay the same. Some people believe it should remain the same and let kids continue to get their permit at an early age and then being able to fully drive by age 18, but it should not....   [tags: Driving, Driver's license, Driver's education]

Strong Essays
2806 words (8 pages)

Legal Driving Age Should Be Legal Essay

- The idea of changing the legal driving age has been around for several years. Although no concrete decisions have been made, several people have proposed that the legal driving age should be moved from 16 years of age, to 18. With several statistics concerning the percentages of teens who have been in a motor vehicle accident, many parents are quick to jump on board with changing the legal driving age. Yet there are two sides to every story, and teenagers have been able to make several strong arguments that support the idea of keeping the legal driving age the same....   [tags: Driver's license, Driver's education, Driving]

Strong Essays
1129 words (3.2 pages)