The Shooting Of Sgt Gale Stauffer And Joseph Maher Essay

The Shooting Of Sgt Gale Stauffer And Joseph Maher Essay

Length: 1143 words (3.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

As a law enforcement officer I am trained to be aware of my surroundings at all times. In latest events, there have been many crimes committed against Law Enforcement officers, some which have been considered hate crimes against Law Enforcement Officers. Our nation has started a war against Law Enforcement. There have been many crimes against officers but three stand out; the shooting of SGT Gale Stauffer and Joseph Maher on December 23, 2013 in Tupelo, MS, the officer involved shooting between Officer Wilson and Micheal Brown on August 9, 2014 in Ferguson, MO and the execution style shooting of Deputy Goforth on August, 28 2015 in Cypress, TX.
The shooting of SGT Gale Stauffer and Joseph Maher influenced me greatly on a personal level. Being an officer in the same county as them, we have came into contact with each other several times over the years and I knew them both. On the day it happened, I was on my way to work an off duty job at the mall and had my 911 radio with me. I heard the call go out advising of the bank robbery and also the vehicle description. I heard Stauffer and Maher sign out with the vehicle matching the description, then nothing, till someone keyed up on the radio and called out officer down. At that time no one knew of an exact direction of travel or even an accurate vehicle description. I felt as I was kicked in the stomach and cold chills went all over my body feeling numb as I drove on into work knowing that I was not able to help track down the person or persons that committed this horrible act. As a law enforcement officer I am trained to serve and protect and that day, I felt helpless because I could not fulfill my duties and protect both officers from harm.
On that day, I realized just ...


... middle of paper ...


...ing targeted because of my uniform. I would have never thought in nineteen years of my law enforcement career that I would targeted for just wearing my uniform. Although, there is no motive released in the Texas shooting it seems this was a hate crime. The officer was shot execution-style so he never knew it was coming. This shooting hits home because of what happened in our own community.
These three events have impacted me greatly in everyday life, to live life to the fullest and to end the day without regrets. My prayer is one day our nation will bring this hate on police officers to a halt and go back to looking to us for help and protection. We are here to serve and protect. We have families at home too. We also live your normal everyday life outside our careers just like every other individual. As a nation, we must come together and love one another.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Shooting Of Sgt Gale Stauffer And Joseph Maher Essay

- As a law enforcement officer I am trained to be aware of my surroundings at all times. In latest events, there have been many crimes committed against Law Enforcement officers, some which have been considered hate crimes against Law Enforcement Officers. Our nation has started a war against Law Enforcement. There have been many crimes against officers but three stand out; the shooting of SGT Gale Stauffer and Joseph Maher on December 23, 2013 in Tupelo, MS, the officer involved shooting between Officer Wilson and Micheal Brown on August 9, 2014 in Ferguson, MO and the execution style shooting of Deputy Goforth on August, 28 2015 in Cypress, TX....   [tags: Police, Police officer, Constable, Hatred]

Strong Essays
1143 words (3.3 pages)

Essay on Shooting an Elephant by Geroge Orwell

- In his early twenties, George Orwell (1946) began a line of work he would later term “an unsuitable profession”: officer of the Indian Imperial Police in Burma, which began his transformation into a writer of primarily political topics. His essay “Shooting an Elephant” describes his feelings of frustration in attempting to perform his duty – shooting a mad elephant discovered to have broken its chain, destroyed property, and killed a man – while avoiding the ridicule of the local population. (Orwell, 1936) The elephant can be seen to represent a number of individuals and groups in the story, held by various chains in their different circumstances....   [tags: Shooting an Elephant Essays]

Strong Essays
947 words (2.7 pages)

Shooting An Elephant By George Orwell Essays

- “Shooting an Elephant” by George Orwell “Shooting an Elephant” By George Orwell reveals the story of events during Orwell’s service as a sub-divisional police officer with the India Imperial Police, in Moulmein, Burma. “Shooting an Elephant” By George Orwell reflects Orwell’s emotions of hatred, bitterness, and guilt felt due to oppression of Imperialism. The story begins with Orwell explaining his deep hatred for the role he took place in during his service as a police officer in Burma. He was not happy within his daily routine and began to feel intense hatred towards the empire, he served, the Burma people (yellow faces) and with his deep smoldering emotions within himself....   [tags: George Orwell, Burma, Shooting an Elephant]

Strong Essays
872 words (2.5 pages)

Essay about True Power in "Shooting an Elephant" by George Orwell

- The quest for power is one which has been etched into the minds of men throughout history. However, it can be said that true power is not a result of one’s actions but comes from the following one’s own beliefs without being influenced by others. This principle sets up the story for Shooting an Elephant by George Orwell. The protagonist, Orwell himself, is a sub divisional police officer in Burma, a British colony. Orwell must try to find and use his inner power when he is faced with the decision of whether or not to kill an elephant which has ravaged the Burman’s homes....   [tags: Shooting an Elephant]

Strong Essays
1473 words (4.2 pages)

Sandy Hook Shooting Essay

- Nothing is more horrible then the atrocities that took place on December 14th 2012 in Sandy Hook Connecticut, when students at the Sandy Hook Elementary school were gunned down by twenty years old Adam Lanza. who suffered from an obsessive compulsive behavior, and had an odd fascination with mass shootings, when he entered the school carrying more than thirty pounds of ammunition and Lanza had three guns, one was a semi-automatic bushmaster rifle, and two pistols, Lanza then killed twenty first- grader students, and six adults, his mother being one of them, all in eleven minuets....   [tags: biased news, shooting, elementary]

Strong Essays
937 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Nisour Square Shooting

- Nisour Square Shooting For years Blackwater have been operating above the law, but Nisour Square Shooting was the last straw. On Sept. 16, 2007 a Blackwater convoy opened fired on a crowd of unarmed citizens killing 14 and wounding 18. “In Baghdad, Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki promised that Blackwater guards would be held accountable for what he called "a big crime" in the weekend violence. Iraqi officials have threatened to expel Blackwater from Iraq over the incident, in which at least nine Iraqis were killed.” (Fainaru, 2007) Operating directly for the State Department made Blackwater next to untouchable....   [tags: iraqui shooting, blackwater, leadership]

Strong Essays
557 words (1.6 pages)

Shooting an Elephant by George Orwell Essay

- Shooting an Elephant by George Orwell Few supervisors experience lack of respect and denunciation from workers because of their positions in a company. Supervisors take actions to preserve the image of authority before subordinates and from being ridiculed by their workers, even if the supervisors object these types of actions. The essay "Shooting an Elephant" relates to this situation. The author of this essay is George Orwell. The author talks about his work and personal experience that emphasizes the impact of imperialism at the sociological and psychological stage....   [tags: Orwell Elephant Shooting Analysis]

Strong Essays
1529 words (4.4 pages)

George Orwell's Shooting an Elephant Essay

- George Orwell's "Shooting an Elephant" In 'Shooting an Elephant,' George Orwell finds himself in a difficult situation involving an elephant. The fate of the elephant lies in his hands. Only he can make the final decision. In the end, due to Orwell's decision, the elephant lay dying in a pool of blood. Orwell wins the sympathy of readers by expressing the pressure he feels as an Anglo-Indian in Burma, struggling with his morals, and showing a sense of compassion for the dying animal. Readers sympathize with Orwell because they can relate to his emotions in the moments before the shooting....   [tags: George Orwell Shooting Elephant]

Strong Essays
792 words (2.3 pages)

Shooting An Elephant Essay

- Shooting an Elephant In life we as humans often make decisions that we would not have made on our own if we would not have been influenced by someone else. As humans others' opinions mean a great deal to us, and in "Shooting an Elephant", Orwell shows how true this idea is by the tone of the story. "Shooting an Elephant" is the story of a British policeman in Moulmein, a city in Burma, that is torn between shooting or not shooting an elephant that has gone ramped. The native people did not like him much, but when the elephant went on its rampage they were quick to call on him....   [tags: George Orwell Literature Analysis Shooting Elephan]

Strong Essays
942 words (2.7 pages)

Essay about Virginia Tech Shooting

- How safe do you feel when you attend school everyday. Many students and faculty don’t really think too much about school being a dangerous place; however, after a couple of school shootings had taken place their minds and thoughts may have changed completely. On April 16, 2007, in the town of Blacksburg Virginia, a college student who attended Virginia Tech, opened gunfire to his fellow classmates. This shooting has been considered to be the biggest massacre in all of American history. There are many things to be discussed in this major tragedy....   [tags: School Shooting Violence Gun]

Strong Essays
1641 words (4.7 pages)