September 4, 2015 Incident Occurred Essay

September 4, 2015 Incident Occurred Essay

Length: 1188 words (3.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

On April 4, 2015 incident occurred that questioned if our officers really following their sworn oath. Officer Michael Slager stopped Scott Walker for non-functioning brake light, which is a minor traffic violation. According to Slager dash camera it shows him approaching Scott car, speaking and returning to his patrol car. Scott exits his car and fled the scene then Slager chased him on foot. According to An eyewitness to the shooting, Feidin Santana, recorded video of the incident on his phone. It shows that Scott running away from the officer and the officer drawing his weapon firing eight rounds at scott back. In the police report Slager stated that he feared for his life because Scott had taken his Taser weapon and that he was threated. When clearly it shows that scott was no threat to the officer when officer fired eight rounds. At the end of the video it shows Slager approaches Scott 's body and he drops a dark object next to him. However, it’s not clear whether that 's the Taser. It 's unknown whether Scott took the officer 's Taser but it is clear that the officer picked the object up and moved it closer to the body. After the police department reviewed the video that went viral, they decided to arrest Slager on April 7 and charged with murder and held without bail. On June 8, a South Carolina grand jury indicted Slager on the murder charge. If convicted, he would face between 30 years and life in prison without the possibility of parole. It is very sad that an officer of the law would commit such a heinous act. When his duty is to protect the American people. We might not know what made the officer to fire his weapon eight times at Scott and what made him to drop something right next to the body as seen in the video whil...


... middle of paper ...


...surd and cruel. Police beatings or shootings can really damage a community, and the families of the individuals by loosing all trust in the American system and what the police department stands for and represents. Police brutality is becoming a major issue as we see videos surfacing the network or media coverage’s. The brutality should have stopped after Rodney King incident but it has gotten worse. In this day of age we shouldn’t be dealing with issues of police brutality though all police officer are not corrupt or brutal but there are some bad apples in most departments. These bad apples are the reasons we are seeing unjustified shooting, fatal choking and giving the high numbers of great officers that are on the road each day and night putting there lives on the line to protect us citizens. We have to expose these corrupt officers that are abusing their power.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

History Of The Incident Command System Essay

- The History of The Incident Command System The Incident Command System or ICS was introduced nearly 50 years ago as a way to mitigate confusion in emergency situations involving multiple responding units. Originally used by southern California fire services during fast moving wildfires, ICS has been used for many different scenarios that may exhaust the first responding unit on the scene, including a car accident needing and additional ambulance or help from a fire department with heavy equipment such as the Jaws of Life, an airplane crash with multiple victims, or a terrorist attack like the Oklahoma City Bombing on April 19, 1995; or the attacks in New York, Washington D.C., and Pennsylvan...   [tags: National Incident Management System]

Better Essays
1439 words (4.1 pages)

An Overview Of The Events Encountered On September 23, 2015 Essay

- This process recording will be an overview of the events encountered on September 23, 2015. On this day the student social worker went to meet with new clients to volunteer with and attended a care plan meeting with a client’s family members, social worker, and nurse to discuss concerns with treatment at the client’s facility. Particularly, this client is African American woman, aged 93, currently diagnosed with cancer but it is not specific where the cancer has originated. Hence, the client has decided to begin services with hospice care to create a better quality of life and care during this time....   [tags: Family, Nursing, Nurse]

Better Essays
911 words (2.6 pages)

The Tonkin Incident Of September 4th 1964 Essay

- The Tonkin Incident of August 4th 1964 was an extremely controversial and pivotal event. Its resulted in the passing of the Gulf of Tonkin Resolution by the US Congress on the 7th August 1964 and subsequently led to a course of action by the American Government of the time which would have far reaching and grave consequences. The escalation of America’s involvement in the Vietnam War (1954-1975)was the direct result which caused millions of deaths and still casts a shadow over America’s foreign policy to this very day....   [tags: Vietnam War, Cold War, United States]

Better Essays
785 words (2.2 pages)

Reflection on a Critical Incident Essay

- The objective of this assignment is to explore and reflect upon a situation from a clinical placement. Reflective techniques will be used to reveal how well or badly the situation was handled. And how the incident, and the reflection has influenced personal learning and professional practice in relation to nursing care. According to Hogston and Simpson (2002, p398) reflection is "a process of reviewing an experience of practice in order to better describe, analyse and evaluate, and so inform learning about practice"....   [tags: Critical Analysis of an Incident]

Better Essays
2406 words (6.9 pages)

Essay on A Critical Incident Encountered During Practice Early 2015

- Critical Reflection In this reflective assignment, I am going to be discussing a critical incident encountered in practice early 2015. My second point will focus on reflection; define reflection, types of reflection used and why it is important to reflect in practice. I will apply Driscoll model of reflection. (Driscoll, 2007 cited in Nunn, 2012). Under critical incident, I will define and explain our feelings during the time of incident and what was implemented after the incident. Martin (2014) defines critical incident as an event or episode that deviates from the expected or desired cause and could have potentially negative effects for patients care and safety....   [tags: Nonverbal communication, Communication]

Better Essays
1740 words (5 pages)

Essay about The Uk General Election Will Take Place On September 2015

- 1.0 Introduction The UK general election will take place on 7th of September 2015. Therefore most of the parties are preparing their strategies. The Labour party is experiencing some difficulties and that being the case they need a suitable campaign, so they can reach a wider audience and show there is something new and innovative, which is worth the time or the voters. The big challenge is to change the way parties communicate and for that reason some techniques and tactics, mainly using social media platforms, are proposed, targeting the young voters, aged 16-22....   [tags: Twitter, Social media, Web 2.0, Labour Party]

Better Essays
1725 words (4.9 pages)

Pope Francis ' Speech On September 25th 2015

- Pope Francis ' speech to Congress on September 25th 2015 was remarkable in many ways. It was an historically significant because for the first time a Pope was invited to address the United States Congress. Pope Francis is the Vicar of Rome, the head of the Roman Catholic Church, a priest and a Bishop. When he stood before the assembly he was flanked by two prominent American Catholics, Vice President Joe Biden and Speaker of the House John Boehner. However, Pope Francis was not there to speak only to the Catholic members of the audience, his message was universal and encompassing for all....   [tags: Catholic Church, Pope John Paul II, Pope]

Better Essays
2083 words (6 pages)

The Day Was September 3, 2015 Essay

- Eventually The day was February 3, 2015. I was getting ready to go to sleep but first, I had to set the alarm for my 8:30am class. I looked down at my phone and noticed that I had a missed call from my dad. I found it extremely unusual because he only calls me maybe once a week and I had just called him the other day to remind him to deposit more money into my bank account. Surprised, I called him back immediately. “Hello. Why’d you call?” I asked. “I don’t want you to worry too much but your grandma was just diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease,” my dad said....   [tags: Family, Interpersonal relationship, Thought]

Better Essays
1925 words (5.5 pages)

Reflection on a Critical Incident Essay example

- Reflection has its importance in clinical practice; we always seek to be successful and that can be achieved by learning every day of our life through experiences we encounter. In that way we can reconsider and rethink our previous knowledge and add new learning to our knowledge base so as to inform our practice. Learning new skills does not stop upon qualifying; this should become second nature to thinking professionals as they continue their professional development throughout their careers (Jasper, 2006)....   [tags: Nursing Reflective Practice, 2015]

Better Essays
2266 words (6.5 pages)

Essay on Critical Analysis of an Incident

- The purpose of this essay is to critically examine an incident from recent practice using a model of reflection. This will enable me to analyse and make sense of the incident and draw conclusions concerning personal learning outcomes. The meaning of critical analysis and critical incidents will briefly be discussed followed by the process of reflection. The incident will then be described and analysed and then I will discuss issues raised in light of the recent literature relating to the incident....   [tags: Nursing Reflective Practice, 2015]

Better Essays
4191 words (12 pages)