The September 11 And 9 / 11 Essay

The September 11 And 9 / 11 Essay

Length: 1922 words (5.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The nation has had many events that have caused the world to stand still, or so to speak, but nothing has rocked our nation more than 9/11. 9/11 changed our nation and still to this day continues to make people cautious. When an event causes as much destruction, pain, and chaos as 9/11. How did the planning stages of this attack get overlooked? It is still a question as to whether or not this big attack could have been prevented.

Prior to 9/11, the leader of first presented the idea for the September 11 plot to the disastrous time in 1996 in Afghanistan. What was the reasoning behind the plan? Mohammed stated that the Americans were too close to Mecca which he considered a provocation to the entire Muslim world. Mohammed also stated that he believed that Israel has been killing and also punishing Palestinians with American money and guns during this time. This enraged Mohammed and therefore, the 9/11 plan was formed to go down. (howstuffworks.com)
However, when the plan originated in 1996, nothing became of the plan; it was all just talk at the time to help ease the anger which Mohammed felt. According to the September 11 Commission, Khalid Sheikh Mohammed envisioned a hijacking of twelve planes on both the East and West coasts, and for eleven of them to be crashed into the World Trade Center and the Empire State Building in New York City; the Pentagon in Arlington, Virginia; the Prudential Tower in Boston, Massachusetts; the White House and the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C; the Willis Tower (then Sears Tower) in Chicago, Illinois; the U.S. Bank Tower in Los Angeles, California; the Transamerica Pyramid in San Francisco, California; and the Columbia Center in Seattle, Washington (howstuffworks.com). However, ...


... middle of paper ...


...the consequences were going to be.
May we never forget about the heartache of the attack and may we always be able to pull together as a nation and help anyone in need. Forgotten history is bound to repeat itself so, although we may seem to have forgotten, we are continually doing whatever we can to prevent this or anything like it from happening again. In closing, I believe the United States is able to, in the end, put its differences aside and pull together to be united always.















Work cited
LLC, Division Drays. "HowStuffWorks." HowStuffWorks. LLC, 2004. Web. 25 Apr. 2016.
History.com Staff, 9/11. "9/11 Attacks." History.com. A&E Television Networks, 01 Jan. 2010. Web. 25 Apr. 2016.
McCarthy, Andrew A. "First, Let’s Get the Facts on Saudis and Iranian Involvement in 9/11." National Review Online. National Review, 23 Apr. 2016. Web. 25 Apr. 2016

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Impact of September 11, 2001 Essay

- On September 11, 2001 a series catastrophic events occurred in New York City, New York. Al-Qaeda planned strategically conducted events, known as suicide attacks. Nineteen al-Qaeda members hijacked four commercial airplanes, including United Airlines Flight 93, American Airlines Flight 11, American Airlines Flight 77 and United Airlines 175. Two of the planes purposely crashed into the World Trade Center buildings. In addition, another plane crashed into the Pentagon in Arlington, VA. and the fourth plane crashed in Shanksville, Pennsylvania....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Strong Essays
1210 words (3.5 pages)

Essay on The Impact of September 11th on America

- The Western World is a constantly changing machine, steadily moving forward in technology, in quality of life, and in culture. These changes are usually controlled and consistent. The terrorist attcks that occurred on September 11th changed all of that. In one morning, four airplanes changed America's quality of life and culture. Americans belived it's country was invunerable to an attack. Two Generations have passed since the last attack on American soil, and that was thousands of miles of the mainland in Hawaii....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Strong Essays
608 words (1.7 pages)

September 11 and the Ethics of Jihad Essay

- September 11 and the Ethics of Jihad            The Western world has long been aware of the anti-Jewish, anti-Christian, and anti-American rhetoric taught by extremist Muslim groups. The concept of jihad existed as a vague notion: one of those Islamic things; something to do with the disputes in the Middle East. On September 11, 2001, the topic suddenly gained paramount importance in the mind of the common man.   "I will shed my blood for you, Oh Palestine, take back the land that is ours." "I am not afraid of suicide, God will receive me for I will be a martyr." "Jihad is my destiny, my life." Chants taught in Palestinian elementary schools.1    Jihad came under additiona...   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Strong Essays
4151 words (11.9 pages)

Economic Impact of September 11th Essay

- September 11, 2001 was a day that Americans and the world for that matter will not soon forget. When two planes went into the twin towers of the World Trade Center and two others went into the Pentagon and a small town in Pennsylvania, the world was rocked. Everyone in the United States felt very vulnerable and unsafe from attacks that might follow. As a result, confidence in the CIA, FBI, and the airlines were shaken. People were scared to fly after what had happened. The events that unfolded on September 11th and the days that followed also profoundly effected the stock market....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1342 words (3.8 pages)

Essay about September 11 and Pearl Harbor

- September 11 and Pearl Harbor ³I don¹t think it is an understatement to say that this is the second Pearl Harbor,² Senator Charles Hagel from Nebraska told the Los Angeles Times on September 11, 2001. Pearl Harbor, the sequel, erupted on September 11, 2001 when hijacked planes destroyed the twin towers of the World Trade Center in New York City and parts of the west wing of the Pentagon in Washington, D.C. Borders into the United States were closed and the FAA shut down all airports across the nation....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Strong Essays
1331 words (3.8 pages)

Essay on Financial Effects of September 11th

- Financial Effects of September 11th September 11th, like few other dates in the history of our country, will be permanently engraved in all American’s memories. Even though the events of this tragic day are behind us, the economy is still feeling the burden of the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon. The economy was already experiencing a fall off before the attack. Despite the struggling times, Wall Street analysts believed that with the six Federal Rate cuts, the United States economy could avoid recession....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1549 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on The September 11th Terroritst Attacks

- First shock, then terror, followed by sorrow and lastly rage were my emotions on September 11th, 2001 when a hijacked airliner crashed into the Twin Towers in New York City. Tunh. Tunh. Tunh. All circuits are busy; please try again at a later time. This message kept repeating as I tried to call my cousin in New York, who was working in the South Tower. At the time the American Airlines flight 11 just moments earlier crashed into the North Tower. I sat in my house in shock and terror. Then at 9:05 am, about twenty minutes after the first collision, United Airlines flight 175 crashed into the South Tower....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1078 words (3.1 pages)

Arabs, Muslims and September 11 Essay

- The unconscionable tragedy that besieged our nation September 11 has shocked Americans. Indeed, images of the carnage that traveled around the world proved how vulnerable the world is to barbaric terrorism. But as that shock turned into anger, a dangerous mix of emotions began to settle across America. Talk-Radio callers queued on the phone to vent their anger after the attacks. "We need to nuke them all!" said one caller. "Throw all foreigners out of the country," declared another. Television news broadcasts brought in so-called experts to discuss the identity of the perpetrators....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
385 words (1.1 pages)

Essay on The September 11 Generation

- There has been much talk about how the events of September 11 changed everything. I don't think they changed the central urgency and relevance of what each one of us does with our life.. I think we're all being pressured by history. How many people have lost their jobs or are re-evaluating their work and lives. Those of us who are concerned about the issues of diversity, coexistence, reconciliation, conflict prevention, understanding and tolerance, peace and justice, will find our life gives us a firm ground to stand on....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
668 words (1.9 pages)

Essay about September 11 Changed Everything

- “After 9/11, Everything Changed” It’s true. Most of us have not only heard this said, but we have said it ourselves. After 9/11, everything changed. How so, you ask. Many of our attitudes towards people of different ethnic backgrounds and religions have changed. Many of us have changed where we stand on the issue of immigration. We, as a country, as Americans, have changed in ways we never thought possible. Certain questions I need to address in analyzing this issue are: Do we have a greater sense of unity as Americans now or not....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Strong Essays
1035 words (3 pages)