September 11, 2001 ( 9 / 11 Essay

September 11, 2001 ( 9 / 11 Essay

Length: 1317 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

September 11, 2001 (9/11) will always remain in the minds and hearts of all people in the United States. This date brought fear to this country but it also brought hope and a bond that will never be broken for the citizens of this great nation. The extremist group, Al Qaeda, committed a heinous crime against this nation by taking control over four airliners to carry out an attack on this nation. For the most part, they succeeded in carrying out their suicide mission but, they did not destroy us. They made us stronger and made us more aware of our vulnerabilities. The Nation woke up on this day of horror and will forever change the way it operates.
People of this Nation may view what happened on 9/11 in different ways. They may also have developed opinions on it after what they have heard from others and the news. To see if opinions or views differed two individuals were met with and asked about 9/11. They were asked a series of questions pertaining to security, vulnerability, and response. My own view was also thrown in to the batch to see what the normal outcome or response would be.
Fear and anger are the most common responses one might here when asking people about their opinions or their views on what happened that September morning. When asked about the impact that 9/11 had on their sense of security one of them stated, “9/11 really screwed me up, I was scared, angry, and I had this sense of dreadfulness over my entire being that day”. (Personal Interview, N. Sandoval, December 26, 2015). Feelings of insecurity may have swept through the nation. Along with insecurity, a wondering of how this could have happened to us may have also come in to question. These are proper feelings to have, in such a time, as one may feel that ...


... middle of paper ...


...rotect us and that it was always their interest to do so but Mr. Trevino’s comment about the Government knowing and doing nothing gnawed at me. I decided to research it and came across and article on the “abc news” website named, “Bush Warned of Hijackings Before 9-11”. The article speaks about President Bush being warned by U.S. Intelligence Officials that Osama Bin Laden’s terrorist network might hijack American planes. (“Bush Warned of Hijackings Before 9-11,” n.d. para. 1). I had heard this in passing before but played it off as just talk, since the nation was in such a horrible state at the time. I never fathomed that it had really happened. There were other articles, way too many to list, but we did indeed have our warnings and we ignored them. Now we give up our freedoms to help protect this nation when it was working before but the warnings fell on deaf ears.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Bombing Of The September 2001 Terror Attacks Essay

- Initially the text opens up painting a scene of the morning of the September 2001 Terror Attacks. It mentions how terrorists coordinated various hijackings of aircraft across the country and used it to attack various landmarks such as the World Trade Centers and the Pentagon. As it continued it mentioned how investigators attempted to connect the various pieces together to determine what caused these attacks to occur and who performed them. It was found that if various departments had communicated more effectively such as the FBI and the CIA, then there was a potential for these attacks to be averted all together....   [tags: September 11 attacks, World Trade Center]

Better Essays
719 words (2.1 pages)

The Impact of September 11, 2001 Essay

- On September 11, 2001 a series catastrophic events occurred in New York City, New York. Al-Qaeda planned strategically conducted events, known as suicide attacks. Nineteen al-Qaeda members hijacked four commercial airplanes, including United Airlines Flight 93, American Airlines Flight 11, American Airlines Flight 77 and United Airlines 175. Two of the planes purposely crashed into the World Trade Center buildings. In addition, another plane crashed into the Pentagon in Arlington, VA. and the fourth plane crashed in Shanksville, Pennsylvania....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Better Essays
1210 words (3.5 pages)

September 11, 2001 ( 9 / 11 Essay

- September 11, 2001 (9/11) will always remain in the minds and hearts of all people in the United States. This date brought fear to this country but it also brought hope and a bond that will never be broken for the citizens of this great nation. The extremist group, Al Qaeda, committed a heinous crime against this nation by taking control over four airliners to carry out an attack on this nation. For the most part, they succeeded in carrying out their suicide mission but, they did not destroy us....   [tags: Al-Qaeda, Osama bin Laden, September 11 attacks]

Better Essays
1317 words (3.8 pages)

Essay about The Impact of September 11, 2001

- On September 11, 2001, terrorists savagely attacked the United States of American. Thousands of individuals lost their lives as two airplanes crashed into the two World Trade Center 1`buildings and the Pentagon. This brutal act shook the world. This terrorists’ attack has changed many aspects of people’s lives worldwide. It not only affected the US but everyone around the world. During the aftermath, we learned that we lost one of our native virgin islanders. US Army, Staff Sargent Maudlyn A. White, 38, born on St....   [tags: Politics, Terrorism, ]

Better Essays
1225 words (3.5 pages)

The Attacks on September 11th 2001 Essay

- September 11th of 2001 is a day in history that will be remembered forever. What was first thought to be a freak accident turned into a horrific nightmare for our country, America was under attack. On the morning of the attacks a group of al Qaeda terrorists took control of four commercial jetliners headed to California and purposively crashed two into the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center. The last plane fell into a Pennsylvania field never reaching its final destination, The White House. These attacks on the United States were formulated by the Islamic culture that has been planning this for many years....   [tags: twin towers, patriot act, homeland security]

Better Essays
2075 words (5.9 pages)

Terrorism: September 11th, 2001 Essay

- ... We’ve all seen it, the news with there huge headlines about attacks in other countries and bombings, and they show thin over, and over. This generates the panic and the fear that terrorists want (“The Nature of Terrorism”). They want to be feared, and the media is giving them what they want. not only that its effecting the United States people. The media shows terrorism in different countries almost everyday in the U.S. This broadcasting makes it seem that terrorism happens in our country, when it is actually very rare for the United States....   [tags: world trade center, outside affair]

Better Essays
867 words (2.5 pages)

Essay about September 11, 2001

- Terrorist attacks against the United States didn’t begin on September 11, 2001. In 1993, the World Trade Center became the target of terrorism; a truck bomb was the weapon of choice. Minimal damages were caused to the building with the exception of displacing businesses for a period of six months. Global War on Terrorism has been an ongoing effort in order to avoid future terrorist acts against the United States of America and the rest of the world. Throughout the last few years, many countries have extended their support in Afghanistan and Iraq to end terrorism and many individuals have been detained due to their participation in terrorist activities....   [tags: terrorist attacks, world trade center]

Better Essays
1520 words (4.3 pages)

Depiction of September 11th 2001 in the Media Essay

- It was Tuesday 11th September 2001 when two hijacked passenger aircrafts collided with the World Trade Centre, bringing it to fall and kill thousands of people and injure even more. Immediately, newspaper, television and radio journalists were reporting, all with different views, opinions and facts. The ways in which the tragedy of September 11th was reported and presented, in newspapers, magazines and television broadcasts was striking and they varied greatly, in particular by "The Sun" a tabloid newspaper, "The Financial Times" a broadsheet newspaper and a letter published in a commemorative magazine marking the events of that day....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Better Essays
2084 words (6 pages)

What September 11, 2001 Has Meant To Me Essay

- On September 11, 2001 our Nation sat and watched in fear and horror as unknown assailants attacked the American people on our own soil, a feat that has not been seen since World War II. The atrocities of this day have evoked an abundance of overwhelming emotions that have spread throughout the world like wild fire. The diversity of my emotions is still pulling me in several different directions, making it difficult for me to place a meaning to September 11, 2001. I like the rest of America watch as countries throughout the world lend support and aid to our country....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
441 words (1.3 pages)

September, the eleventh, 2001 Essay

- “8:45 a.m.: A hijacked passenger jet, American Airlines Flight 11 out of Boston, Massachusetts, crashes into the north tower of the World Trade Center, tearing a gaping hole in the building and setting it afire. 9:03 a.m.: A second hijacked airliner, United Airlines Flight 175 from Boston, crashes into the south tower of the World Trade Center and explodes. Both buildings are burning. 9:43 a.m.: American Airlines Flight 77 crashes into the Pentagon, sending up a huge plume of smoke. Evacuation begins immediately.”(CNN.com)....   [tags: 9/11/2001]

Better Essays
1229 words (3.5 pages)