Your search returned over 400 essays for "Portnoy's Complaint"
1  2  3  4  5    Next >>

Authority in Portnoy's Complaint by Philip Roth

-          Aristotle said, "We are what we repeatedly do." In the case of Alexander Portnoy he was doomed to repeat his mistakes and continue to feel the guilt lain upon him at every turn by his parents, his lovers and himself. Their overpowering nature kept him a perpetual child and his efforts to seize the opportunity to be the authority in each relationship left him more frustrated and eager to control the downward spiral he called life. At the base of his family was Judaism. Their identity was firmly rooted in their religion....   [tags: Portnoy's Complaint Essays]

Powerful Essays
1997 words | (5.7 pages) | Preview

A Complaint On The Telephone At 1200hrs / 01 / 2016 St. 49

- On 04/01/2016 St. 49 received a complaint on the telephone at 1200hrs. The caller was a female and she stated that her name was Gladys Kravitz. The caller stated that a 911 call was placed this morning (04/01/2016) at 1000hrs for her husband 75-year-old, Abner Kravitz, was having chest pains. The location of the call was their residence at 1164 Morning Glory Circle. Mrs. Kravitz complained to me, during our conversation, that “the arrogant ambulance drivers” completely ignored her requests and demands that her husband be transported to the V.A....   [tags: Patient, Medicine, Gladys Kravitz, Complaint]

Better Essays
807 words | (2.3 pages) | Preview

Equal Employment Opportunity Complaint

- Equal Employment Opportunity Complaint In order for John to file a discrimination complaint against his employer, he is required to file a charge with the Equal Employment Opportunity Complaint counselor or representative of the company. Once the charge has been filed, an investigation is made, or the charge maybe selected to an EEOC program and maybe dismissed. In this case, John is given a certain number of days to file a lawsuit on his behalf. This process would have to go through several lengthy stages such as the EEOC administrative process....   [tags: Discrimination Complaint Discriminatory Hiring]

Strong Essays
1282 words | (3.7 pages) | Preview

A Report On A Due Process Complaint

- A due process complaint must contain, inter alia, “a description of the nature of the problem of the child relating to such proposed initiation or change, including facts relating to such problem,” 20 U.S.C. Section 1415 (b)(7)(A)(ii)(III) and 34 C.F.R. Part 300.508 and “a proposed resolution of the problem to the extent known and available to the party at the time.” (20 U.S.C. Section 1415 (b) (7) (A) (ii) (IV).) “[A] party may not have a due process hearing until the party, or the attorney representing the party, files a notice that meets the requirements of [20 U.S.C....   [tags: Pleading, Cause of action, Legal terms, Allegation]

Better Essays
1031 words | (2.9 pages) | Preview

A Case For File A Complaint

- First, I would like to point out I attempted to file a complaint locally, but as soon as I mention the reason. They either run me off or tell me there is nothing that can be done in order to the resolve the issue. Second, I am not on probation or parole. On or about April 4, 2015, my friend, Izabella Wiggin, told me that Mrs. Brittany Cotgreave, her Supervision Officer, ordered, her to live with her grandmother. The apartments we lived at, Sungate, just gave an eviction notice on May 30, 2015 for problems with Izabella....   [tags: Apartment, Real estate, Police, Insurance]

Better Essays
1206 words | (3.4 pages) | Preview

Complaint of Service and Negligence

- Complaint of service/negligence With reference to the application submitted in October, I wish to express my dissatisfaction to the service I have received. The following overview summarises my discontent: 1. When I sent my application (birth certificate & student finance letter), I was told this was not an acceptable form of identification. – Now having perused your website, it is clearly visible on the www.rbs.co.uk/id page that the aforementioned documentation are acceptable forms of identification, so why was I told otherwise....   [tags: birth, certificate, application, bank]

Free Essays
515 words | (1.5 pages) | Preview

Questionnaire On A Customer Complaint

- Carefully Circumventing a Customer Complaint I feel that the scenario described in our textbooks, regarding how a particular customer service experience resulted in a customer complaint, is a prime example of how fragile the customer service world can be. These situations can sometimes prove to be quite challenging, as providing quality service for multiple customers simultaneously can sometimes be complicated That is why it is very important to be focus on improving your interpersonal skills, in order to be prepared for any situation....   [tags: Communication, Customer service, Customer]

Strong Essays
970 words | (2.8 pages) | Preview

A Complaint Against Eugene Nigro

- On September 12, 2014, Denise Rockett filed a complaint against Eugene Nigro, Esq. Nigro was reportedly negligent when handling legal matters in her late husband’s estate. Specifically, the complainant alleges that Denise, as Executrix of her late husband’s estate, was intentionally excluded from major decisions, not properly compensated, and deprived of control over their properties. Nigro allegedly breached his fiduciary obligation and violated Mass.R.Prof.C. 1.4(b), 1.7(b), and 8.4(c). FACTS On November 26, 2009, Denise Rockett’s husband, J....   [tags: Pleading, Cause of action, Fiduciary, Allegation]

Better Essays
997 words | (2.8 pages) | Preview

Business Complaint Letter

- 1234 Orange Street Smallville, OH 01234 July 1, 2005 Mr. Steve Smith National Manager, Customer Service En Corporation Cool Building, Suite 222 111 Fountain Drive Happy, NH 98765 RE: EnCorp Credit Card: 111 222 333 4 555XX I had been an EnCorp credit card holder for the previous twelve years. Before that, I was a Rose card-holder for over 22 years. I seem to recall that when EnCorp took over/bought out Rose nine years ago, the switch of companies and credit cards was handled smoothly and seamlessly....   [tags: Business Complaint Letters Email Credit Cards]

Free Essays
531 words | (1.5 pages) | Preview

Case Letter : A Client Complaint Letter

- ... My objective was have him reconsider his termination with our company. My conversation with Mr. Stewart did not start off so well. He was angry and felt that our company was clearly incompetent. He could not understand how we could make such a grave error. My response to him was very apologetic for the loss of his prized fish. In addition, I acknowledged that what happened was unacceptable. Offering Mr. Stewart full restitution for his prized fish, I stated “We are not offering this to deter from court proceedings, but because we want you to know how much we value you as a customer.” I assured Mr....   [tags: Human resources, Management, Employment]

Better Essays
1085 words | (3.1 pages) | Preview

Complaint Against W. John Camp

- I wish to file a complaint against W. John Camp for his actions and behavior in regards to the ongoing custody proceeding regarding my daughters. The situation and Mr. Camp’s pattern of unethical behavior has been developed over a number of years, but I have failed to complain on the advice that it might further jeopardize in the eyes of the court. At this point his tactics have been so effective I have no apparent rights or privileges with the court and therefore have very little to lose. The summary of complaint focuses on three main areas: 1) I believe Mr....   [tags: Court, Lawyer, Procedural law, Child custody]

Better Essays
1145 words | (3.3 pages) | Preview

Complaint Against Attorney Denis P. Fleming

- COMPLAINT Yvette Dookrhan filed a complaint on May 4, 2015, against Attorney Denis P. Fleming when he allegedly failed to file her “immigration paper”, and subsequently did not provide a full refund upon Dookrhan’s request. Fleming has allegedly violated Mass.R.Prof.C. 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4(a) &(b), 1.16(d) and (e). FACTS Yvette Dookrhan met Fleming at an immigration clinic in South Boston, and subsequently retained Fleming to assist in filing immigration paperwork with the United States Immigration and Citizenship Service (USCIS)....   [tags: Pleading, Cause of action, Computer file]

Better Essays
1734 words | (5 pages) | Preview

Case Analysis : Complaint Against Arthur Kelly

- COMPLAINT Kenneth Dascoli filed a complaint against Arthur Kelly, Esq., on August 10, 2015. Dascoli alleges that Kelly deprived him of a fair trial in a criminal matter, essentially due to lack of preparation. The lack of preparation consisted of failing to visit the complainant while he was being held in jail, failing to interview witnesses, and failing to prepare for trial. Kelly has allegedly violated Mass.R.Prof.C. 1., 1.3, and 8.4(d). FACTS On December 7, 2009, Kenneth Dascoli was at the home of his ex-wife with his current girlfirend, his ex-wife’s friend, and Dascoli’s half-brother....   [tags: Appeal, Jury, Court, Trial]

Better Essays
1772 words | (5.1 pages) | Preview

A Brief Note On The Patient Satisfaction Issues

- ... However, doctors do not want patients to feel like their rushing them to finish the conversation. This makes them stay in the room longer conversing with the patient. Patients have complained about there not being enough staff members. This is not a systemic issue due to there are enough staff in the practice. We have four physicians, two PA, one advanced registered nurse practitioner, four R.N., 1 lab tech, radiology tech, four medical assistants, two administrative personnel, one medical record, billing staff, one full time receptionist, and one part time receptionist....   [tags: Complaint, Pleading]

Better Essays
1069 words | (3.1 pages) | Preview

Growth In Consumer Complaint Channels In Ghana

- "POWER TO THE PEOPLE" Let me begin with a confession. I almost dropped this title for a less "controversial" one. I use the word "controversial" because as a citizen of a country(i.e. Ghana) where almost everything (including football) is politicised, I was aware (and concerned) of the possibility of this piece, being subjected to the same "political scrutiny". In the end I chose to keep it, simply because I couldn't find an alternative that captured the soul of this piece quite like "Power to the people"....   [tags: Customer Relationship Management CRM]

Free Essays
1884 words | (5.4 pages) | Preview

My Complaint about Plato the Athenian

- My Complaint about Plato the Athenian Parts of what follows below were actually painful to write. However, because of the ongoing misinformation campaigns launched by Plato the Athenian and his buddies, I feel it is my duty to write this. Before examining the present situation, however, it is important that I purge the darkness from Plato's heart. One of his slaves once said, "Things have never been better." Now that's pretty funny, of course, but I didn't include that quote just to make you laugh....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
354 words | (1 pages) | Preview

My Complaint about Plato the Athenian

- My Complaint about Plato the Athenian I've tried to keep quiet, but I just can't hold it in any longer. I have to tell everyone that I will not bow to coercion, intimidation, or the threat of violence. But first, I'm going to jump ahead a bit and talk in general terms about how I, hardheaded cynic that I am, have had enough of Plato the Athenian's waste, fraud, misfeasance, and malfeasance. Then, I'll back up and fill in some of the details. Okay, so to start with the general stuff, some of the facts I'm about to present may seem shocking....   [tags: Papers]

Free Essays
438 words | (1.3 pages) | Preview

Case Analysis : Flagler County Sheriff 's Office Complaint

- Abstract Flagler County Sheriff James L. Manfre was sheriff of Flagler County 2001 to 2004 and was re-elected 2012 through 2016. A former employee of Flagler County Sheriff’s Office filed a complaint with the Florida Ethics Commission and a Whistle-blower lawsuit in the Flagler County Circuit Court. The former employee’s Whistle-blower lawsuit states unlawful and unethical employment practices by Sheriff James L. Manfre. The ethics charge reference practices including personal use of public funds, unauthorized spending on the agency credit card and improper use of an agency vehicle....   [tags: Ethics, Morality, Pleading, High Sheriff]

Strong Essays
1236 words | (3.5 pages) | Preview

Comparing and Contrasting the Poems, Carpenter’s Complaint and Coolie Mother

- The poem ‘Carpenter’s Complaint’ by Edward Baugh was about a carpenter who wanted to build a coffin for his friend; however, the son of the dead man ‘maaga-foot bwoy’ wanted another man, Mr. Belnavis, to build his father a fancier and nicer coffin. He was very mad because he built his friend’s house, but not his coffin. The carpenter described Mr. Belnavis as a ‘big-belly crook who don’t know him arse from a chisel’, and who only got the job to make the coffin because he was a big-shot. We knew that he was in a bar because of line 11 ‘Fix we a nex’ one, Miss Fergie’....   [tags: compare, contrast, compare/contrast, Poetry]

Strong Essays
1113 words | (3.2 pages) | Preview

Adult Sex : Male And Race : Caucasian. Chief Complaint / Reason For Admission

- Subjective: • Age: 75-80 age range • Sex: Male • Race: Caucasian • Chief Complaint/ Reason for Admission o Shortness of breath o Hemoptysis • Wife was at the bedside with the patient. • History of Present Illness o Patient has past medical history of carotid artery disease with ischemic cardiomyopathy, myocardial infarction, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), diabetes mellitus, hypertension, chronic kidney disease, prostate cancer, and recent gastrointestinal (GI) bleed complains of worsening shortness of breath onset 5 hours ago with associated hemoptysis....   [tags: Asthma, Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease]

Better Essays
1168 words | (3.3 pages) | Preview

Analysis Of The Book ' Portney 's Compliant '

- Philip Roth is the most prominent American novelist in American literature. His book, “Portney’s compliant” is one of the most important literatures for the ethnic group in the world especially for the Jews in America. According to Prof. Sasha Senderovich “Philip Roth’s book is the bible for the Jewish people.” (Lecture). Through the practice with cultural tradition and try to assimilate with the gentile world, Roth reveals his gloom with complain to his psychiatric, Dr. Spielvogel to free from orthodox Jewish tradition in the American society....   [tags: Judaism, Jews, Antisemitism, Israel]

Strong Essays
967 words | (2.8 pages) | Preview

Cameroonian Students’ Complaint Letters and Job Applications

- Cameroonian Students’ Complaint Letters and Job Applications Formal letter writing such as students’ complaint letters and job applications constitutes a genre of its own. Taking genre analysis to be the study of how language is used in a particular context, this category of non-literary genre falls within a growing body of written texts exhibiting much of what may be considered Cameroonian peculiarities in English usage. The idea that genres would relate to specific socio-cultural contexts within which they are written is, however, not new....   [tags: Cameroon French Culture Writing Essays]

Powerful Essays
3993 words | (11.4 pages) | Preview

Robert Hughes' Culture of Complaint: the Fraying of American

- Robert Hughes' Culture of Complaint: the Fraying of American Robert Hughes, a native Australian, spent twenty years in the United States and assumed many traits that are typical of Americans before publishing Culture of Complaint: the Fraying of America. His evaluation finds that America is a country more focused on appearance than reality. Americans would rather complain than change. Instead of analyzing the problem of American culture, Hughes attempts to present himself as an ideal critic, scholar, and journalist....   [tags: Hughes Robert Essays]

Free Essays
1194 words | (3.4 pages) | Preview

Power to the People-Growth in consumer complaint channels in Ghana

- "POWER TO THE PEOPLE" Let me begin with a confession. I almost dropped this title for a less "controversial" one. I use the word "controversial" because as a citizen of a country(i.e. Ghana) where almost everything (including football) is politicised, I was aware (and concerned) of the possibility of this piece, being subjected to the same "political scrutiny". In the end I chose to keep it, simply because I couldn't find an alternative that captured the soul of this piece quite like "Power to the people"....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
1728 words | (4.9 pages) | Preview

When The Downfall Of Water Strikes You Unexpectedly

- Complaint It was your first day of school and it feels as though nothing could go worse. You had the perfect outfit picked out, your hair is curled, and you are so excited for the day. As you eat the breakfast that your mom makes you, you little brother accidently spills his orange juice on you. This forces you to start your day by having to change the outfit you were so excited to wear. Instinctively you start to get mad, but you decide you just want to make the rest of the day good so you change your attitude and head out the door....   [tags: Complaint, Pleading, Service of process]

Strong Essays
1050 words | (3 pages) | Preview

Customer Complaints And The Company

- ... The employees are not listening to each other nor the customer. The company will continue to suffer if the employees are not willing to work together to make the company a success. The customer complaint concerning the defective part is a major issue that the general manager has to address. The general manager has to first gather all the facts concerning the defective part. He has to talk to the sales and manufacturing group as well as the customer to determine the reason for the defective part....   [tags: Customer service, Sales, Customer]

Better Essays
1120 words | (3.2 pages) | Preview

Customer Satisfaction Is Important For A Business 's Success

- ... These types of problems are harder to handle because in order to fix them, a decision from higher up authorities in the company may be required. This can be extremely problematic for any business because once that customer leaves the building he is more than likely going to have a negative view of that business and that bad reviews reaches twice as many people that good news does. Although some of the things customers may ask employees to may be out of their control, they will still do everything in their power to keep the customer happy, but sometime are not always successful....   [tags: Complaint, Pleading, Good, Emotion]

Better Essays
1099 words | (3.1 pages) | Preview

The Leadership Of A High School Girls ' Basketball Team

- A high school girls’ basketball team is made up of many different individuals with very different personalities. These different personalities lead to different roles on the team. These roles are evident on most teams, and each personality type contributes to the function of the team; however, some roles are not as beneficial as others. One major role on the team is The Leader. The Leader is usually the loudest and most positive player on the team. A senior who is very dedicated to the team usually fills this role....   [tags: Pleading, Complaint, Good and evil]

Better Essays
1616 words | (4.6 pages) | Preview

Addressing Complaints Of Bill And Bill

- ... Additionally, I would inquire if they have had significant weigh loss or weight gain recently. I would also inquire on how Bill is sleeping. If he states he is tired all the time but it would be important to inquire more about if he is actually sleeping or if he may be having some insomnia which could be a factor in why he is tired. Questions to find out more about how much he is sleeping would include asking how many hours a night he sleeps, does he have trouble falling asleep or staying asleep....   [tags: Schizophrenia, Bipolar disorder]

Better Essays
1031 words | (2.9 pages) | Preview

Good looking and Popularity in Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller

- Nowadays, people are concentrating more and more on good looks and likeability because it gives them confidence, and often, these traits come with money and power. In Death of a Salesman, Arthur Miller portrays the life of a salesman, Willy, who values the superficial quality of likeability and attractiveness over learning. He is obsessed with the idea of being well-liked which ultimately takes him nowhere. His son unfortunately follows that principle and ends up with an unhappy life. Many events that happen in this play reflect on a principle that being popular is not the only thing one needs to have in order to gain respect and be successful in life....   [tags: confidence, complaint, power]

Better Essays
922 words | (2.6 pages) | Preview

Handling Complaints

- Complaint handling examples I have had an opportunity to experience different levels of customer service from several companies within home appliance repair service sector. These experiences ranged from very positive to extremely negative. I run into poor customer service when the dishwasher in my house stopped functioning properly and was only cleaning dishes that were located on the lower rack. I contacted the warranty company and they have found a repair provider within my area and were able to schedule an appointment for the technician to come out and evaluate the situation....   [tags: Customer Service]

Powerful Essays
1597 words | (4.6 pages) | Preview

Analysis Of The Chicago Housing Authority ( Cha )

- ... East Lake asserts that Complainant has a history of lodging noise complaints against neighbors. At Complainant’s former residence, East Lake states that he filed noise complaints which could not be substantiated either. 4. COMPLAINANT’S REBUTTAL 9/10/15 Complainant states, because of the noise and his disabilities, the CHA permitted him to move from 440 North Drake into the Schiller apartment, his current apartment which is owned by the CHA. Complainant explained that, after making numerous complaints about the noise, the CHA finally accommodated him and moved him into the Schiller apartment, a “quieter” building....   [tags: Pleading, Complaint, Defendant, Cause of action]

Better Essays
1279 words | (3.7 pages) | Preview

"Cry Baby" Complaints

- EXECUTIVE SUMMARY The Company had received a number of complaints about the product of “Cry Baby” doll after Christmas. The complaints were about the malfunction of the product that leakage of water and unable to cry when pressed the certain button, and the doll’s eyes were easily removed that harmful to children potentially. For that reason, an investigation into the incident was conducted. After interviewed with staff, the 120 complainants and looked into the data, reports and guidelines, we found that: 1. The cause of the incident was the unqualified plastic materials used in production from a new supplier....   [tags: Product Review]

Powerful Essays
2315 words | (6.6 pages) | Preview

Analysis Of The Chicago Housing Authority ( Cha )

- ... East Lake asserts that the Property Manager investigated Complainant’s noise complaints filed from December 3, 2014 through January 3, 2015 and was unable to substantiate any of the noise complaints. East Lake asserts that Complainant has a history of lodging noise complaints against neighbors. At Complainant’s former residence, East Lake states that he filed noise complaints which could not be substantiated either. 4. COMPLAINANT’S REBUTTAL 9/10/15 After making numerous noise complaints, Complainant admits that the CHA finally accommodated his disabilities and moved him into 2020 West Schiller, a “quieter” building, owned by the CHA....   [tags: Pleading, Complaint, Cause of action, Defendant]

Better Essays
1250 words | (3.6 pages) | Preview

Police Brutality And Police Abuse Complaints

- April 2007, a study of the Chicago Police Department found that out that over 10,000 police abuse complaints were filed between the years 2002 to 2003. Only 19 of those complaints resulted in disciplinary action. These complaints, mainly false, can damage a police officer’s reputation, even though it may have been false. Time is taken away from more serious and stressful matters, to comb though complaints, which are usually false. Police brutality is real and shouldn’t go unlooked, but there is a better way to solve these problems....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Constable]

Strong Essays
1144 words | (3.3 pages) | Preview

Contract And Conversion Theories Of Relief

- C. Section 2-619(a)(9): Various Affirmative Matters Defeat Counts VI, VII, & VIII Counts VI, VII, and VIII, which each allege breach-of-contract and conversion theories of relief, should be dismissed pursuant to section 2-619(a)(9) of the Code. 1. Plaintiffs Breach of Contract Claims are Defeated by the Lease Terms and are Waived Plaintiffs’ breach-of-contract claims are defeated by two independent affirmative matters: the lease’s terms and the equitable principle of waiver. To bring a breach of contract cause of action, a plaintiff must allege (1) the existence of a contract, (2) plaintiff’s performance of all contractual conditions, (3) defendant’s alleged breach, and (4) damages....   [tags: Pleading, Complaint, Contract, Cause of action]

Better Essays
1093 words | (3.1 pages) | Preview

Why People Complain At Public Schools

- People complain about not being able to understand a person because they speak a different language. People complain because they might have to point at everything they want and it slows everything down. People complain a lot because some languages are very difficult to learn, but they have to learn that language so they can travel. Kids that go to public schools might not ever be able to communicate with another kid. Choosing one language that everybody has to learn and be able to communicate would solve all these problems and so much more....   [tags: Second language, Language education]

Better Essays
856 words | (2.4 pages) | Preview

Why I Learned At The Temple

- I did many things to try to be a ‘diakonos’ this term: I went to the temple almost every week, I did indexing and family history, I went to do the ‘Stop and Serve’ at Y-serve, I did my visiting teaching and tried to magnify my calling by going to Relief Society Meetings without complaining and volunteering to do things the President asked for someone to do. I tried so hard to look for other opportunities to serve while walking around campus and prayed for those opportunities as well, but nothing came my way....   [tags: Complaint, Pleading, Matthew 5:44, Doing It]

Better Essays
850 words | (2.4 pages) | Preview

Complaints Against the Northwestern University Students

- Rowdy Drunken College Students I read an article about Northwestern University students in Evanston, Illinois, and the community’s complaints against them. The article, written by Bob Seidenberg, discusses the need for city council to call a meeting to address the problems of rowdy drunken college students disturbing the peace and quiet of the evenings, by wandering around and through Evanston homes late at night. The underling issue is, is this Northwestern’s problem, or simply a lack of respect from youths today....   [tags: Northwestern University Students]

Free Essays
1193 words | (3.4 pages) | Preview

Why Don't We Complain?

- Having read William F. Buckley, Jr.'s paper on why we don't complain, I feel compelled to respond, answer, and expound at length upon this topic. I feel he never adequately answered the question posed; hence, I will proceed to elaborate my reasons why Americans don't complain. The reason why we don't complain is very basic and fundamental. It is because of our culture, tradition, and heritage to not complain. It isn't polite, it is considered rude, and it is undignified. We are raised to behave ourselves, and when growing up, if we don't behave, we are punished....   [tags: William F. Buckley Jr.]

Free Essays
290 words | (0.8 pages) | Preview

Dell’s Performance Measurements and Control Systems

- Introduction Performance measurement and control are very important for any organization either government or business to measure the success of the organization and it is one of the most difficult parts of strategic management (Wheelen & Hunger, 2012). According to Crosson & Needles (2014), Performance measures are “quantitative tools that gauge an organization’s performance in relation to a specific goal or an expected outcome” (p 302). Many studies have suggested that organizations need to use both financial and nonfinancial performance measures to assess their strategies and operations (Milost, 2013)....   [tags: computer business, customer complains]

Better Essays
950 words | (2.7 pages) | Preview

Mcdonald 's Complain For Acc About The Name ' The Big Mackenzie '

- ... In this case, any consumer may bring action against the restaurant for breaching s.18 and s.29(a) of ACL. However, in 2006, ACCC expressed concerned about dominos stale dough and domino rectified it eventually. References- 1. ACCC 2006, ‘ Dominos to correct “ fresh dough” claims, www.accc.gov.au 2. Australian Consumer Law 2011. http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/cth/consol_act/caca2010265/sch2.html 3. ACCC v Cadbury Schweppes Pty Ltd, ATPR 42-001,(2004) FCA 516. 4. Coca-Cola Company v All-Fect Distributors Ltd (1999) 96 FCR 107; FCA 1721....   [tags: Corporation, Limited liability company]

Better Essays
1585 words | (4.5 pages) | Preview

Good Management for Employees and Customers

- Increase number of customer complaints Four leadership characteristics: Managing complaints is not an easy task for any manager’s list of problems. It’s easy to disgrace any work or write complaints. Some times complaints are small or some are big so manager’s need to work with open mind on solving complaints, because these complaints directly or indirectly going to affect the reputation of any organization. To solve complaints we need to go in process. Four characteristics that manager have to keep in mind as leader are- a. Facilitator guide....   [tags: complaints, leadership, communication]

Better Essays
850 words | (2.4 pages) | Preview

The Imortance of Sytems, Processes, and Exercise in Small Business

- Introduction: The review of systems, processes and policies is an exercise that many Small Medium Enterprises overlook and this is certainly evident at Promax Engineered Plastics. To date the company has had a focus on sales and marketing without the focus on backroom procedure, thus the opportunity to reduce waste, improve flow and eliminate bottlenecks is significant. This report is going to review the system of dealing with inbound customer complaints at Promax Plastics. It will look at the types of complaints and review the questions that the customer services representatives ask....   [tags: communication, customers, complaints]

Better Essays
1059 words | (3 pages) | Preview

Perception of New York City in Goodbye to All by Joan Didion and American Psycho by Bret Easton

- Both “Goodbye to All That” by Joan Didion and American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis portray New York as a city where it is horrible to live, filled with homeless men, filth, crime, and complete displeasure, but for some reason, nobody leaves. The perception of New York City given by these two passages is a contradictory one. In both passages the narrators describe the city with great disappointment and Didion also adds a tone of annoyance to her passage, annoyed that even though she hates pretty much everything about New York she doesn’t leave, and instead of staying for the 6 months as she originally planned, getting anxious to finally be free from the horrible city, she stays for 8...   [tags: say, city, complain, wrong]

Better Essays
829 words | (2.4 pages) | Preview

Letter to Complain to the Creator of the Simpsons Matt Groening

- To Matt Groening (Creator of the Simpsons), I am writing to you regarding a particularly concerning episode of the Simpsons. I am a big fan of the simpsons and have enjoyed watching it for years, and until this day have never had to complain about it. I am shocked, furious and appalled about the way you, in the episode blood feud, represented the elderly in a very stereotypical way, the use of inappropriate language, the showing of death also the disgusting display of nudity....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
435 words | (1.2 pages) | Preview

How to Maintain Repeated Clients

- I am going to explain how you maintain repeat clients. I will discuss how you can improve your clients’ services and how to get them to rebook. I will also give information on the top seven client complaints and how to avoid them. And last I will go over how to keep clients in general. I will first start off with how you can improve your client services. Improving client services can be the easiest thing to do. Expressing safety is one very important key to enforce. To begin, we create a safe environment....   [tags: services, rebook, complaints, avoid]

Better Essays
691 words | (2 pages) | Preview

Global Investigations: A Sis Step Process

- Global Investigations: A Six-Step Process Effectively Managing Complaints Can Help Keep Your Organization Out of Court In multinational companies, addressing complaints of employee misconduct or policy violation(s) are complex and involve different country customs, laws, and processes that must be understood and followed. If employees channel their reports of misconduct or policy violation(s) correctly within the company, this can help resolve many of these issues within the company and reduce the number of costly employment lawsuits....   [tags: effectively managing complaints]

Free Essays
559 words | (1.6 pages) | Preview

Characteristics of a Leader

- CONTENTS  INTRODUCTION 3  CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS 3  LEADERSHIP CHARACTERISTICS 4  FACTOR CONTRIBUTED TO DEVELOPMENT OF ISSUE 5  CONMTEMPORARY THEORY OF LEADERSHIP 5  FOUR STRARTEGIES 6  EVALUATION 7  CONCLUSION...   [tags: manager, complaints, consumer]

Powerful Essays
1878 words | (5.4 pages) | Preview

The Causes of the American Revolution

- After seven years of war burden defending its colonies from the French and Indian, the British government started experiencing a drastic crisis that brought a postwar recession into the country. In order to come out of debt and recover quickly, the British parliament decided to find by all means resolutions that would generate revenues for the mother colony. Among several resolutions that were created, Stamp Tax was the most critical one that really started the conflicts between the British parliament and its thirteen colonists in 1765.Under a mission to play a diplomacy role between the Great Britain and its colonies, Benjamin Franklin traveled to London, where he explained to the king why...   [tags: complaints, tax, war, constitution]

Strong Essays
1002 words | (2.9 pages) | Preview

The Case Of The Lawsuit

- ... He also, requires her to pick up her room and any messes that she creates. Also, he requires that she not destroy the home. 28. Unfortunately, the Defendant’s daughter is a teenager who prior to living with him was required to do very little by her mother, where she did as she pleased. 29. Due to the fact that the Defendant’s daughter is a teenager the Defendant on occupation has raised his voice. 30. Due to the fact that the Defendant’s daughter is a teenager that may wake up with a new pimple on the face and does not want to school, the Defendant has threaten on many occasions to take her by the hand and walk her to school....   [tags: Pleading, Complaint, Plaintiff, Civil procedure]

Better Essays
1054 words | (3 pages) | Preview

Job of the Tour Escort

- As a Tour Escort, keep the itinerary running smoothly is very important, when the tour escort also wakes up late, the problem is coming and it will extremely serious. In the following article, I will discuss what consequences and what is the way to solve the problem when facing the domestic flight will be late. Before discussing the solutions of this case, it will discuss the consequences by the severity. Let’s start with the less serious consequence – being complained by the group member....   [tags: itinerary, agent, complaints]

Better Essays
666 words | (1.9 pages) | Preview

The Effects Of Divorce On Children And Parents

- ... Men’s health change is often gaining weight, and “the weight gain could in some cases be big enough to pose a health risk” (Divorced linked). This is regularly the case because the males depended on the female to prepare the meals during their marriage. With the change, the men must adjust to meal changes on a daily basis. Society has changed the opinions on divorce over the past 50 years. In the 1970s “the no-fault divorce was introduced” (Jolivet 175). This changed the view from frowned upon to socially acceptable....   [tags: Divorce, Marriage, Family, Family law]

Better Essays
1671 words | (4.8 pages) | Preview

Effect Of Divorce On Children

- The Effect of Divorce on Children Divorce is a common transition in many families and has begun to become a natural standard of living in marriages (The Effects of Divorce on Children). Couples seek divorce for a variety of different reasons, the main goal being to find happiness that they are not finding in their current marriages. When a couple is going through divorce, sometimes they don’t notice the impact their separation has on their children. Children may feel very alone and turn to other things to help get them through this rough time in their life....   [tags: Divorce, Marriage, Family law]

Strong Essays
1446 words | (4.1 pages) | Preview

The Risk Management Of A Product

- The risk management of a product does not end once a product is on the market -- in fact, it becomes more rigorous. The work that Medical Safety does in post market surveillance and vigilance are integral in ensuring marketed products perform as intended and do not harm patients. ISO 14971 provides guidance on what should be included in a post-market monitoring process: • Determination if changes must be made to the original medical device risk assessment; • A systematic process to evaluate product (not just customer complaints); • Inclusion of objective evidence in the risk management file; • Evaluation of any new hazards; • Determining whether there have been changes in the acceptability o...   [tags: Risk, Risk management, Data mining, Data]

Better Essays
1017 words | (2.9 pages) | Preview

A Report On The Sky Hospital Consortium

- ... Using this information we will show what locations were best at customer service in there region by using probability. Let’s first compare the regions to see which ones are handling customer service well. The West region saw 60,045 patients last year with 5,246 stating dissatisfaction with the visit and 983 actually filing a complaint. The Central region accepted 18,833 patients with 1,508 dissatisfied returns and 219 actually filing complaints. Finally the East region that treated 91,754 patients with 7,139 dissatisfied surveys and 1,146 complaints....   [tags: Hospital, Patient, Ranking, Service of process]

Better Essays
1133 words | (3.2 pages) | Preview

Police Brutality Of The United States

- Police Brutality It seems today that you can’t even go to the store, or out in public without being watched on by the police. It’s sad, but in order to not be harassed like that, you’d have to be light skinned. Latinos, Asians, Blacks and Native Americans are not the only ones, but they’re the majority that’re victims of police brutality in the United States. “Many in law enforcement argue that it makes sense to use race or ethnicity in criminal profiles because there is a strong statistical association between membership in minority groups and involvement in crime” (Harris)....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Police officer]

Strong Essays
1144 words | (3.3 pages) | Preview

Title IX: Protecting Our Right to an Education Free of Sexual Harrassment and Equal Opportunity in School Activities

- Title IX Have you ever wondered what protects our right to an education free of sexual harassment and equal opportunity in school activities. Title IX does that. Title IX was created by a woman named Edith Green. She was the legislation chairperson of the Oregon Congress of Parents and Teachers. She became a House member in 1954. Her first proposal was the Library Service Bill. Eight years she shepherded Title IX until it passed on June 23, 1972 part of the Higher Education Act. (Crass, Scott) Title IX is a law that requires equality of genders in every educational program funded by the federal government....   [tags: public education policies]

Strong Essays
1116 words | (3.2 pages) | Preview

Filing An Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

- ... “The 180 calendar day filing deadline is extended to 300 calendar days if a state or local agency enforces a state or local law that prohibits employment discrimination on the same basis” (www.eeoc.gov). The filing of an EEOC can be daunting for a person that doesn’t know the process or steps for filing their complaint. I suggest that you cover all bases by documenting and keeping a record of the information prior to filing, during the filing process and after the case has been completed. Application The U.S....   [tags: Equal Employment Opportunity Commission]

Better Essays
1019 words | (2.9 pages) | Preview

Filing An Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

- ... “The 180 calendar day filing deadline is extended to 300 calendar days if a state or local agency enforces a state or local law that prohibits employment discrimination on the same basis” (www.eeoc.gov). The filing of an EEOC can be daunting for a person that doesn’t know the process or steps for filing their complaint. I suggest that you cover all bases by documenting and keeping a record of the information prior to filing, during the filing process and after the case has been completed. Application The U.S....   [tags: Equal Employment Opportunity Commission]

Better Essays
1019 words | (2.9 pages) | Preview

The Murder Of Michael Brown

- ... Police officers are required to go through months of training and multiple probationary periods before being put out on the streets. The officers know right from wrong, the camera is just there to remind them, someone is always watching. Not only providing protection for officers, the body cameras equally provide protection for citizens. Like previously stated, there are constantly eyes on every move the officer makes. If the citizen feels the officer wronged them, the citizen can make a complaint and an investigating officer will follow through with the video evidence....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Constable]

Better Essays
1111 words | (3.2 pages) | Preview

Geoffrey Chaucer's Canterbury Tales

- Geoffrey Chaucer's Canterbury Tales The Knight, Squire, Prioress, The Monk and the Friar are defined by their settings in Geoffrey Chaucer’s "Prologue" to The Canterbury Tales. 1. Portnoy says in his article in the Chaucer Review that "The General Prologue is like a mirror reflecting the individuals appearance which then defines the character of that person."(281) 2. Scanlon backs up Portnoy in his article from Speculum by saying "…Characters descriptions somehow emerge inevitably from the original intentions of Chaucer’s text or reflect its lasting value." (128) 3....   [tags: Chaucer Geoffrey Canterbury Tales Essays]

Strong Essays
1275 words | (3.6 pages) | Preview

The PCA

- The PCA Citizens who believe that the police have exceeded their powers can complain to the police authorities. Any complaint that has been made about a conduct of a police officer must be recorded. The type of complaints that have been made determines how it is dealt with, although the police are under a duty to take steps to obtain or preserve any evidence that would be relevant to the complaint....   [tags: Papers]

Strong Essays
1914 words | (5.5 pages) | Preview

An Analysis of Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s Chronicle of a Death Foretold

- The novella “Chronicle of a Death Foretold” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez is viewed largely as a scathing critique of societies bound to an unrefined code of honour. While that premise is relatively simple,fairly straightforward and easily justifiable, a case in stark contrast to the aforementioned idea could also be argued.The main idea for this new case being,that defending the very essence of honour was necessary for the survival of the community in order to prevent any form of moral decline and no one man should put to a stop,the actions of those who were morally obliged to undertake the restoration of honour,after all the affairs of honour were “sacred monopolies, giving access only to t...   [tags: chronicle of a death foretold, Marquez]

Strong Essays
1285 words | (3.7 pages) | Preview

Opposing The Development of the Chu Molybdenum Mine

- I oppose the development of the Chu molybdenum mine because its negative effects extend beyond the site. This mine will affect the quality of life of the residents of Vanderhoof adversely by reducing air and water quality, food sources and revenue. Vanderhoof is a small, geographic centre that supplies food and mineral resources to neighboring cities (BCC, 2009) hence, many of its residents, tourists and neighbors will be directly affected by this project. The project is very expensive to establish and maintain because of the infrastructure, skilled labor and facilities proposed for impact mitigation....   [tags: Persuasive Paper]

Better Essays
811 words | (2.3 pages) | Preview

The History and Career of Avenged Sevenfold

- ... Hail to the King charted as #1 on the US Billboard 200, the UK albums chart, as well as the Finnish, Brazilian, Canadian, and Irish charts. To date, Avenged Sevenfold has released six studio albums, one live album/compilation/DVD, and eighteen singles and sold more than 8 million albums worldwide. History Formation and early recordings The band was formed in 1999 in Huntington Beach, California with original members M. Shadows, Zacky Vengeance, The Rev and Matt Wendt. M Shadows came up with the name as a reference to the story of Cain and Abel from The Bible, which can be found in Genesis 4:24, although they are not a religious band....   [tags: albums, rock, members]

Free Essays
594 words | (1.7 pages) | Preview

Police Officer Who Was Riding As A Two Man Unit Back

- Question 5 Myself and another police officer who was on probation, was riding as a two-man unit back in 2011 for one night. On that evening, my partner was driving for the duration of the shift. My partner made a vehicle traffic stop which lead to a DUI arrest. The DUI unit made the scene and the defendant was placed in the back seat of the DUI unit for testing. Me and my partner returned to our vehicle waiting on the DUI officer to finish his testing. While in the car, I started writing the arrest ticket along with other paperwork....   [tags: Police, Police brutality, Constable]

Better Essays
1026 words | (2.9 pages) | Preview

HIPPA: Keeping Patient´s Privacy

- ... If a patient gets hospitalized and the family or friends are trying to obtain information on that patient it is up to the patient to choose and limit the information they want to give out. Some of the patients’ rights include the following the right to receive a notice of privacy, the right to amend, a right to request a special method of communication. If a patient believes their rights are being denied they can make sure first they have a right to get their records, and make sure their medical records are available....   [tags: information, privacy, health, agencies]

Good Essays
596 words | (1.7 pages) | Preview

Your Right to a Fair Birth

- Many people enjoy the idea of planning events before they happen. Whether it’s going on vacation, getting family together for the holidays or planning the arrival of a newborn child;. The natural way for a baby to be born is through the mother’s birth canal and vagina. But, sometimes vaginal birth isn’t possible. More than ever, woman are opting to schedule childbirth electively, even though there can be serious risks and implications involved. Many who choose an elective childbirth, do have a legitimate reason as to why they made that decision....   [tags: Health Care]

Better Essays
873 words | (2.5 pages) | Preview

The Benefits of Eating Organic Food

- "Order up. Big Mac, large fry, and a chocolate shake-no whip cream." I eagerly claim my meal and then find a booth and begin to unpack my lunch. I look forward to this moment each day. After all, I love McDonald's-especially their world-famous fries (I could eat a hundred-no doubt). My stomach begins to hurt and the more I think about it, I cannot remember a time when I did not felt bloated. I've always dismissed these symptoms as just normal everyday ailments. However, could there be an underlying cause that I have not acknowledged....   [tags: Organic Foods vs. Non-organic Foods]

Powerful Essays
1407 words | (4 pages) | Preview

Impact of Parental Divorce on Children

- The Effects of Divorce on children A Review of the Literature Introduction Background In today's society, there are many different types of families. Some include parents, single families, stepfamilies and a variety of others. Along with these different varieties of families there is one common incident that can cause the family structure to change. Divorce is an unplanned event in a family's life. It is something that affects each member of a family at different times and in different ways. About half of all marriages will end in divorce, leaving one million children each year to deal with the process of divorce (Martin et aI, 2003)....   [tags: Separation, Desintegration, Family]

Strong Essays
1109 words | (3.2 pages) | Preview

The Legal Professional Uniform Law

- The claim that Jacinta has sent in regards to Gordon’s inappropriate and incompetent actions as her solicitor, raises the question of whether or not Gordon was acting in the best interests of his client or whether he was acting for his own benefit. The questions that need to be asked are whether her claim was submitted in accordance with the legislation, was Gordon in fact in breach of any legislation regarding legal practitioners in New South Wales (NSW), what actions could be taken by the Legal Services Commissioner(LSC) and what other actions could Jacinta take in relation to her claim against Gordon....   [tags: Lawyer, Law, Practice of law, Bar association]

Better Essays
1518 words | (4.3 pages) | Preview

Concealed Guns And Concealed Weapons

- ... Also, many areas of the public are not aware of the changing laws that can affect the way one carries and where they can carry. For instance, in early December Virginia passed a law that they no longer recognize North Carolina, Tennessee, South Carolina and twenty-two other states concealed carry permits (Portnoy). This can affect the way that many people travel. My family for one travels to and from Michigan to North Carolina several times a year and several of my family members have a concealed carry permit....   [tags: Concealed carry in the United States, Firearm]

Better Essays
1066 words | (3 pages) | Preview

Recommendation Letter For A Executive President For Their Department

- *Currently, we have a four-step grievance procedure in place for all employee complains and grievances. Employees first discuss the complaint with immediate supervisor. If it cannot be resolved, they can submit a written complaint to their second level supervisor. If the employee is not satisfied with the solution, they can contact the HR director, in writing, within five days of step two decision. The next step is contacting the Vice President for their department, within seven days of the last’s step decision....   [tags: Human resources, Employment, Grievance]

Better Essays
1357 words | (3.9 pages) | Preview

Children from Divorced Families

- Divorce rates in America are around 50 percent. More than half of these divorces involve children under 18. Therefore about 40 percent of children in the world will be affected by divorce. About one in three children will live in a household that involves a step parent. (SandfordM. Portnoy) Though its controversial, children that are affected by divorce will develop some kind of psycological condition. Academic,behavior and even health all play a factor in divorce. It is also controversial on how long these conditions will last in children....   [tags: divorce, parenting, ]

Strong Essays
968 words | (2.8 pages) | Preview

Individual Interventions for Chlamydia

- Individual level interventions are essential when creating sexual health related interventions that target college aged students. Interventions targeting the individual level of the social ecological model are devised to make an impact on the individual’s knowledge, perception, and self-efficacy, among other factors, in regard to the behavior being changed (Glanz & Rimer, 2005). To find the relevant literature, the following search terms were referenced in both PubMed and Google Scholar: “STI”, “Screening”, “Behavior”, “Knowledge”, “Chlamydia”, “Students”, and “College”....   [tags: sexual health, aids, fear tactics]

Better Essays
994 words | (2.8 pages) | Preview

The Meaning of Authority

- The Meaning of Authority Authority: This can be defined as the power or right to give orders or make decisions an example of this being used is "he has the authority to issue warrants". Authority is what maintains discipline; it enforces rules and regulations (helps to maintain it). Authority can come from one person or a group of people. Authority can have different meanings depending on the context in which it’s used in, it can mean: Y When somebody’s opinions is accepted because they have better knowledge on the subject area Y The right to enforce obedience on others Y Or when a person in authority passes power onto another person, then people foll...   [tags: Papers]

Powerful Essays
1797 words | (5.1 pages) | Preview

Aspects of Proper Customer Relationship Management

- Customers are the center of the importance of quality. Attracting and satisfying customers with a product and providing them with the services they want is the key of being successful with a product or service. Organizations should consider their customers at all levels of developing their product and use customer satisfaction as the main influence in the quality of their product. In class our definition of quality is “meeting the customer’s needs and expectations.” If an organization product dissatisfies its customers then the organization will not be able to be successful....   [tags: customer relationships, customer satisfaction]

Strong Essays
1146 words | (3.3 pages) | Preview

The Civil Rights Act Of 1964

- Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 was enacted as a remedy for illegal employment practices, such as sexual harassment and retaliation (Bethel, 2016). Specifically, Section 704(a) is the Anti-Retaliation provision making it unlawful to discriminate against an employee because they complain of illegal employment practices (Bethel, 2016). “Though retaliation has been linked to specific court rulings, it has not been adequately incorporated into overall understanding of employment discrimination” (Miles, Fleming, & McKinney, 2010, p....   [tags: Employment, Sexual harassment, Discrimination]

Better Essays
781 words | (2.2 pages) | Preview

To Ban or Not to Ban books: The Color Purple

- From the years 2000 to 2009, 5,099 books were challenged in school libraries, classrooms, and public libraries. Most of the books on this list were banned because of objectionable content such as sexual references, profanity, violence, and the fact that the book was considered “unsuited to age group” (American Library Association). Even prior to the year 2000, censorship and banned books had become an issue for schools in particular all across the country for these very reasons. While the The Color Purple by Alice Walker does contain the objectionable content mentioned prior, it should not be banned because objectionable content found in the book is accessible through the internet and social...   [tags: Objectionable, Unsuited, Novels]

Strong Essays
1309 words | (3.7 pages) | Preview

These results are sorted by most relevant first (ranked search). You may also sort these by color rating or essay length.


Your search returned over 400 essays for "Portnoy's Complaint"
1  2  3  4  5    Next >>