Scotland's Future Finally in the Hands of the Scottish Essay

Scotland's Future Finally in the Hands of the Scottish Essay

Length: 1437 words (4.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Acts of Union were signed in 1707, uniting Scotland and England as one , forming one of the most admired countries in the world, Great Britain. England, until now, has been the most powerful sovereign state of Britain and holds nearly all control over Scotland and its neighbouring countries, Wales and Northern Ireland. Scotland, having previously once been its own country, would now like to gain control and take care of its own affairs again. Back in 2013 it was arranged that on September 18th, 2014, Scotland will hold a referendum for the Scottish people who will vote ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ if they believe Scotland should become an independent country.
Scotland wanting to gain independence has been a constant, remaining issue for sometime. Scotland received their first chance to vote for independence in 1979, however the majority of Scotland voted no. Then later in 1997 a vote was held for Scotland to have its own parliament with devolved powers, which the people of Scotland voted yes to, and which was then granted in 1999. The vote this September, nonetheless, will be a pivotal point in British history as Scotland has the chance again to break away from the rest of Britain for good.
Scotland's independence is a hotly debated subject with both sides, pro-union and pro-independence, having strong campaigns. Both campaigns, ‘Better Together’ and ‘Yes Scotland’, are unfortunately both biased as they are bombarding the British people with distorted facts, statistics and predictions in hope to gain more support. The public should therefore view both sides claims, expert opinions and keep an open mind to make the right decision on this very important matter on whether it is in Scotlands best interest to become independent or remain part o...


... middle of paper ...


...nce Referendum: Experts Examine the
claims.” Scotland Politics. BBC News, 11 Feb. 2014. Web. 25 Feb. 2014.
Frisby, Dominic. “Why Scotland should say ‘cheerio to the nou’ to the pound.” The
Independence.
N.P., 13 Feb. 2014. Web. 24 Feb. 2014.
Giannangeli, Marco. "EXCLUSIVE: 62 per cent of Britons agree with David Bowie and want
Scotland to stay with us."Daily Express UK RSS. N.p., 23 Feb. 2014. Web. 26 Feb. 2014.
Macnab, Scott. "Scottish Independence White Paper: Key Facts." The Scotsman. N.p.,
26 Nov. 2013. Web. 27 Feb. 2014.
Pettinger, Tejvan. "Economics of Scottish Independence." Economics Help. N.p., 27 Nov. 2013.
Web. 21 Feb. 2014.
Syal, Rajeev. “Independent Scotland ‘would find it extremely difficult to join EU.” The Guardian.
N.P., 16 Feb. 2014. Web. 17 March 2014.
“What about renewable energy and the environment?” Yes Scotland. N.P., Web. 18 March 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Future of Indonesia Is in the Childrens' Hands Essay

- ... In order to set up the effective protection system, the government must ratify main principal international standards of children’s rights protection and then put it on their legislation. Fortunately, Indonesia also has applied this principle to their legislation. The role of parents and community are also important. Children protection must be ensured by the parents and the community which surround them, then further the government will take in charge. Of course, the welfare of each child can not be obtained by implementing the same way....   [tags: trauma, protection, discrimination]

Strong Essays
620 words (1.8 pages)

Hands On Teaching Of The Future Essay

- Hands-On: Teaching of the Future The art of teaching is constantly evolving. There is constant research, and new ideas being brought up. It has changed immensely from children sitting behind text books, to them now having learning experiences. A learning experience is a hands on activity. Hands on activities are said to be more helpful in a student actually learning, than reading from a book. Why look at a picture of a lion in a book, when the student can go to the zoo and see the real thing. The students is more likely to remember seeing the real lion, than the picture....   [tags: Education, Educational psychology, Teacher]

Strong Essays
820 words (2.3 pages)

I Finally Have The Power ! Essay

- I finally have the power. After a semester of taking a course about hiding glossophobia as best as I can, while juggling critical thinking and persuasion skills in a public speaking setting. I have finally been given the power to judge others, who have set out on the path of becoming a great public speaker, on how well they can hide their own fear of public speaking. Countless minutes have I spent throughout the semester looking for a good speaker to write my critique paper on; someone interesting, speaking about an interesting topic....   [tags: Public speaking, Public speaker, Speaking fee]

Strong Essays
1036 words (3 pages)

Essay Scottish Indepenedence and The Credit Crunch

- Scottish independence. Sounds impressive, doesn’t it. It drives our minds to envisage a place of power and individuality. A new prospect. But how close to reality could this possibly be. Since independence has risen to the agenda, the desire for nationalism has reached fever pitch. For over 300 years Scotland has been part of Great Britain’s triumph, but currently in a time of economic hardship there is an exorbitant urge to break free. More and more people are starting to view autonomy as a panacea for all of Scotland’s economic dilemmas....   [tags: economics, resources, UK]

Strong Essays
778 words (2.2 pages)

The Future of Genetic Engineering in Babie Is in Our Hands Essay

- ... How far will we advance technology just to help humans design babies. The debates rages between the moral and ethical limits, how safe the new technology is, and the required limits on what to allow enhancements upon. Simple breakdown of genetic concepts allow us to understand the debate further. Genes are the hard working code within DNA, and each gene carries sets of instructions or rules for their function. Together, all separate genes work as one with DNA to create our genome. The human genome involves more than 25 thousand genes....   [tags: designer babies, invitro fertilization]

Strong Essays
1164 words (3.3 pages)

The Day Had Finally Come Essay

- The day had finally come. All of the hard work—some laziness, if I’m truly being honest, was finally going to be paid off. Tonight, I am officially going to become a high school graduate. The hands of the clock stood horizontally, for the countdown to commencement ticked away. I shuffle my feet to my bed where a black dress with cream-traced embroidery is already set out. I throw it over my head and poke my arms through the holes. Twirling in the mirror to make sure it looks just right, I gather my pile of differentiated tubes of makeup and scatter them onto the floor....   [tags: High school, Graduation, Twelfth grade, Time]

Strong Essays
1756 words (5 pages)

Essay on Finally, I 'm Here !

- Finally, I’m Here. Thirty-seven years old, and in college, imagine that. One would think that at this age I would be in the crux of my career, making my hefty five-figure income and already paying off those student loans that were accrued in my youth but no, I am just beginning. As a proud 1996 high school graduate, I am also proud to say that after all this time that has passed from me walking that stage of accomplishment with diploma in hand, I have now taken the steps to walk another stage in my life as a college graduate....   [tags: High school, Higher education, University, Diploma]

Strong Essays
1114 words (3.2 pages)

Essay on Scottish Devolution

- Devolution is the transfer of powers from a central body to subordinate regional bodies. In Scotland, Devolution was set up to restore legitimacy to a system of government that reflected Scottish preferences. The reason behind the demand for Scottish self-government is that Scotland had the historic status of nationhood before the Union of 1707 and within the Union, has a different set of legal, educational and religious institutions that reinforce a Scottish identity. The Scottish National Party (SNP) was founded In 1934 and In 1960 was found oil in the North Sea, what changed the Scottish public opinion about the Union as the main cause to join it was economical; having oil would suppose e...   [tags: Government, Change, Social]

Strong Essays
1471 words (4.2 pages)

HANDS and Programming Essay

- HANDS and Programming Humans were never meant to stare days at a time into a screen and type lines of code into a vast expanse of nothingness. Our minds reject such alien methods with surprising ferocity. It is for this reason that programming has taken a more human-centric approach. Programming is adverse to what humans are naturally inclined to do, and because of this a push has been made for a development of programming where the programmer is not doing that which is against his nature. An example of this is HANDS, which is a programming language that is primarily directed towards children, but incorporates the human-centric ideas....   [tags: Programming Technology Engineering Essays]

Free Essays
828 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on Scottish Power

- Scottish Power Using examples from the annual report, explain how Companies Act legislation and other regulations influence the information contained therein. It is important for a business to create and maintain accurate financial records and to know about the different users of financial information. Every business has to meet internal and external reporting requirements to show its financial health and to meet legal and other requirements. The reasons why businesses therefore keep accurate records are: · Assessing its financial position - businesses assess their financial position every year so they know the business is making efficient use of resources to provide the necessary financ...   [tags: Business and Management Studies]

Free Essays
1156 words (3.3 pages)