The Savior Traitors: The White Rose Gang Essay

The Savior Traitors: The White Rose Gang Essay

Length: 1327 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Savior Traitors
Let’s think of this situation, suppose that a person live in a country that just got into war, but they found out that the war started because their country is trying to kill off a race of people. What would they do, would they stand there and do nothing? Would he or she try to fight your government in politics or physically? Or take down the government from the inside by influencing the people to see what was really going on? That last one my friend is what happened in Germany in 1942 during WWII with a little Gang, not a big or strong one. However some people that really knew what was going on in the war and in the camps. This group of people decided to call themselves, The White Rose Gang, and they will be known down through history as one of the bravest groups of Germans to oppose the Nazis.
The White Rose, one of the first groups to oppose the Nazis because they knew the truth. They were a band of mostly college students and some young adults that got out of the war. They were mostly led by their college professor to make a difference in Germany. They wanted to tell the people about the camps and what some of the young adults saw while they were in the war and what they did to the Jews. So when this group formed, they would tell people of their cause by passing out leaflets that told people the truth of the Nazis, but they did all of this in secret because if they were caught, they would be severely punished. So this Gang would have to do everything in secret but while getting the message out to everyone in Germany so that they might be able to take down the Nazis and Hitler.

The White Rose Gang was connected in a way to the Holocaust because they as a group tried to stop the madness that happened in...


... middle of paper ...


... The White Rose” Sun Sentinel February 10 2013. April 11 2014.
Jacob G. Hornberger“Holocaust Resistance: The White Rose - A Lesson in Dissent” Jewish Virtual Library April 11 2014.
Karin Lipson “The Young Germans Who Stood Up to the Nazis” The New York Times March 29 2013. April 11 2014.
“Nazis arrest White Rose resistance leaders” History April 11 2014.
Robert Gluck “Holocaust resistance of White Rose group remembered 70 years later” jns.org Augest 4 2013. April 11 2014.
“The White Rose” Holocaust Education & Archive Research Team 2007. April 11 2014.
“The White Rose: Why are some people willing to die for their beliefs?” unitarian-stcatharines.org Web. 24 March 2014.
“White Rose” Holocaust Encyclopedia-United States Holocaust Memorial Museum June 10 2013. April 3 2014
“Youth Opposition in Nazi Germany”History Learning Site. December 2011. March 24 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

A Rose for Emily Essays

- "A Rose for Emily" is a wonderful short story written by William Faulkner. It begins with at the end of Miss Emily’s life and told from an unknown person who most probably would be the voice of the town. Emily Grierson is a protagonist in this story and the life of her used as an allegory about the changes of a South town in Jefferson after the civil war, early 1900's. Beginning from the title, William Faulkner uses symbolism such as house, Miss Emily as a “monument “, her hair, Homer Barron, and even Emily’s “rose” to expresses the passing of time and the changes....   [tags: A Rose For Emily, William Faulkner]

Strong Essays
1032 words (2.9 pages)

Essay about Trends And Patterns Of The Gang Activity

- As mentioned in the opening paragraph, the first thing this paper will discuss are trends and patterns with regards to gang activity. According to FBI statistics, complaints regarding gang activity fluctuated for the most part between the years 2001-2008. In that time frame, when there’d be an increase in complaints, it’d only be a minimal increase. For instance, the highest jump in that time frame was a 230 complaint increase in the year 2006. However, the year 2009 saw a dramatic increase in the number of complaints, 1,975 to be exact, which is over 3 times as many complaints seen in 2008....   [tags: Crime, Gang, Criminology, Mara Salvatrucha]

Strong Essays
1060 words (3 pages)

Difference Between A Gang And Gang Essay examples

- What is a gang. Well according to most gang members, they aren’t a gang, they are a family. Now according to Oxford Dictionaries, a gang is “an organized group of criminals (gangs, n.d.).” Now gangs are known to be violent and having no mercy for others. When a gang is thought of, most people think of either some type of biker gang, or maybe even a gang from the “hood”. Now a group of friends hanging out in school doesn’t seem to differ too much from a gang from just looking at them. This is because they all share the same interest, and they all seem to wear similar clothing....   [tags: Gang, Crime, Criminology]

Strong Essays
1836 words (5.2 pages)

Essay on A Rose for Emily

- What is atmosphere. It is the use of dust and moonlight, of curtains and trailing gowns. Atmosphere is the character that is not human, the description of place and feel, all the points of the tale that are not directly products of the people in the story or poem. In "A Rose for Emily' by William Faulkner, atmosphere seems more potent than the hastily sketched characters in the story. This is also evident in the famous poems "She Walks in Beauty' by Byron and "Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer Day?' by Shakespeare....   [tags: A Rose For Emily, William Faulkner]

Strong Essays
1615 words (4.6 pages)

Essay on A Rose for Emily

- Back in the day when I was very little, I remember that my dad used to take care of me. He would never let me run around the house when glass could off break and hurt me. As I kept growing up my father started to give more freedom but also gave me more responsibilities; like he wanted me to do the chores of the house, not all of them but some. I knew they were not mine to do but I still help. When I went off to college and I had to do all by myself, I realize that my father did good on making me do my laundry, chores and etc., when I was young....   [tags: A Rose For Emily, William Faulkner]

Strong Essays
1454 words (4.2 pages)

Resistance to the Nazis: The White Rose Essay

- The Nazi Party, controlled by Adolf Hitler, ruled Germany from 1933 to 1945. In 1933, Hitler became the Chancellor of Germany and the Nazi government began to take over. Hitler became a very influential speaker and attracted new members to his party by blaming Jews for Germany’s problems and developed a concept of a “master race.” The Nazis believed that Germans were “racially superior” and that the Jewish people were a threat to the German racial community and also targeted other groups because of their “perceived racial inferiority” such as Gypsies, disabled persons, Polish people and Russians as well as many others....   [tags: WWII, German history]

Strong Essays
1458 words (4.2 pages)

The White Of White Race Essay

- The white race has been known to overthrow, and conquer other cultures and races. Throughout history they 've never ceased an opportunity, to showcase how inferior their race is. Many try to argue that white supremacy, is just a term that minorities use when they can 't have their way. When in reality it 's very real and true. Throughout the last three centuries white supremacist have tore countries, races, and cultures apart. Leaving their mark as disgusting undermined pigs. Racist. Evil. Vile....   [tags: Racism, Ku Klux Klan, Race, White supremacy]

Strong Essays
1007 words (2.9 pages)

Essay about Gang Leader For A Day By Sudhir Venkatesh

- In the book “Gang Leader for A Day”, Sudhir Venkatesh, a sociologist in graduate school at the University of Chicago, did research in the projects with young men affiliated with gangs. The way he did it was so different because he actually presented himself in some of the most ghetto and dangerous projects. Sudhir Venkatesh first interacted with a gang when he went to a poor community asking questions. Venkatesh assignment was to get some information through gang members by asking them straight up questions, which they took offensive....   [tags: Gang, Criminology, Crime, Sociology]

Strong Essays
1421 words (4.1 pages)

Gang Violence And Youth Violence Essay

- “Children caught up in this system are the most vulnerable and yet are the least likely to be represented by the counsel,” (Alexander p.86). Gang violence is something that occurs every single day and can’t seem to be avoided by some despite whether you’re in a gang or not. Gang violence mostly happens in low-income communities, which are inhabited by minority groups. The children who live in those types of environment are used to seeing violence and drugs around the corner. Since gang violence does occur in the low-income communities then the children are more likely to fall victim to gang violence activities just by being at the wrong place at the wrong time....   [tags: Gang, Crime, Illegal drug trade, Bloods]

Strong Essays
994 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about Symbolism in A Rose for Emily

- Symbolism in literature is using an object to portray a different, deeper meaning in a story. Symbols represent ideas or qualities that the author has maneuvered into his or her story that has meaning. There can be multiple symbols in a story or just one. It is up to the reader to interpret the meaning of the symbols and their significance to the story. While reading a story, symbols may not become clear until the very end, once the climax is over, and the falling action is covered. In William Faulkner’s, “A Rose for Emily,” there are multiple examples of symbolism that occur throughout the story....   [tags: A Rose for Emily Essays]

Strong Essays
1236 words (3.5 pages)