Essay about Sasquatch: Fact or Fiction?

Essay about Sasquatch: Fact or Fiction?

Length: 1570 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Question at Issue: Is Bigfoot simply a legend, or is it just an elusive freak of nature?
Assertion: The existence of Sasquatch is highly possible
Assumption: Because of the dense forests which are located in the Northwest region of the United States.
Enthymeme: The existence of Sasquatch is plausible because of the dense forests which are located in the Northwestern region of the United States.
Sasquatch: Fact or Fiction?
Sasquatch is an unexplainable phenomenon that allegedly lives in the northwestern region of the United States. Many people claim to have seen this beast. Most others believe it is just a prank. However, there is no question that the dense forests of Washington, Oregon, and British Columbia are said to be home to the mighty, ever elusive creature, commonly known as Bigfoot. The existence of Sasquatch is plausible because of the dense forests which are located in the Northwestern region of the United States. There is a mountain of data comprised of facts, conjectures, and opinions both against and for the existence of Sasquatch.
This creature, which stands between seven and ten feet tall, is said to have an intimidating appearance which one will never forget. Sasquatch, who can weigh up to a whopping six hundred pounds, is covered in shaggy reddish-brown hair covering its entire body. Sasquatch has abnormally long muscular arms which, according to eyewitness reports, fall to just above its knees. Reports of Bigfoot describe it as having both female and male reproductive parts, which suggests it is possibly a primitive hominid. This of course means the creature has children the same way as humans do. Sasquatch is recognized to live far away from humans, deep within forests, so it can easily stay away from con...


... middle of paper ...


...igfoot-evidence-screened-as-expert-claims-proof-of-existence/>.
"Hunter's Photos Ignite New Debate Over Bigfoot's Existence." Fox News. FOX News Network, 1 Nov. 2007. Web. 28 Apr. 2014. .
"Jacobs Photos - Pennsylvania, 9/16/2007." Jacobs Photos - Pennsylvania, 9/16/2007. N.p., n.d. Web. 28 Apr. 2014. .
Speigel, Lee. "Bigfoot Exists, Claim Researchers Who Present Hi-Def Videos -- Did They Deliver The Goods?." The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 2 Oct. 2013. Web. 21 Apr. 2014. .
"The Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained." Http://go.galegroup.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 25 Apr. 2014. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Fact or Fiction Essay

- The warm summer breeze lifts your hair from the nape of your neck. The tree’s leafs rustle above your head, as you sit at the foot of their tree. The edge of the pages from your latest fiction novel flicker as you hold the page down to continue your viewing of the world their author has created for you to read. You smile when the protagonist has a small victory, cry when they fail, and even laugh out loud to the jokes they tell. You are in the world made up just for you; you are in a land of fiction....   [tags: Literary Analysis]

Powerful Essays
2446 words (7 pages)

Essay Is She Fact or is She Fiction?

- Summarising the argument in the journal article Is she fact or is she fiction. Angela Carter and the enigma of women, Fernihough argues that gender is a performance, our ideas of masculinities and femininities become knowable through representations of them. The article states through performance we are able to break away from our sex/ gender dual notions which have become socially recognisable. Fevvers constitutes her identity through performance in which audiences are unable to distinguish between whether she is real or whether she is fake....   [tags: Article Analysis ]

Powerful Essays
934 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on William Tell: Fact or Fiction?

- Introduction In this essay we present our research about the legend of William Tell and the conclusions of our research. In short the question we asked ourselves is: does the legend of William Tell contain truth or lies. Does it consist of facts or fiction. Before we tell the legend, we will describe the general historical context. After that, we will try to make a distinction between the facts and fiction in the legend. Finally, we want to show the impact William Tell had on the Swiss society. General historical context In the period until the Middle ages Switzerland was conquered by different dynasties and kingdoms....   [tags: Truth or Lies]

Powerful Essays
1886 words (5.4 pages)

Halloween: Fact or Fiction Essay

- Halloween: Fact or Fiction This story starts on September the 18 2000 on a rather cool evening in Southend, I was walking down this road, and it was long and dark, (it reminded of Nelson Street on a freezing cold morning). I don't know how I came to be walking down this road but I knew I had to do it; it was if my life depended on it, it felt as if a strange force was controlling my every action. I was drawn to this house, it looked like any other house really but I had a feeling, there was something different about it....   [tags: Creative Writing Essays]

Powerful Essays
523 words (1.5 pages)

Fibromyalgia: Fact or Fiction Essays

- ... Researchers are continuously making progress although it is a slow progress it is progress. Throughout the years of this age old disease there have been many myths about fibromyalgia such as “it’s a rare disease” and the truth is, it is not a rare disease, in fact it is quite common and is estimated that there are several million people in the United States alone that suffer from its effects. Some say “it is all in a person’s head”, that too is a myth. Studies have proven the pain is real thru imaging of the brain and control test show that a person with fibromyalgia feels pain more intensely than those without fibromyalgia....   [tags: muscles, pain, spasms]

Powerful Essays
1693 words (4.8 pages)

The Holy Bible is Fact, Not Fiction Essay

- The Holy Bible is Fact, Not Fiction The Hebrew word used for "day" is the word yom. Every other time the word is used in the Old Testament in conjunction with a number, a literal, 24-hour period of time is being described; what we know as a day. The word is never used metaphorically in the Bible. The verses most commonly used to say that the word day in Genesis could mean more than a 24 hour period are Psalm 90:4 and 2 Peter 3, which quotes Psalm 90:4. Psalm 90:4 - For a thousand years in Your sight Are like yesterday when it passes by, Or as a watch in the night....   [tags: Holy Bible Essays]

Free Essays
1379 words (3.9 pages)

Sexual Selection: Fact or Fiction Essay

- Sexual Selection: Fact or Fiction Darwin's theory of sexual selection is an intriguing one because it offers an explanation of human striving and cultural value systems. The theory is that humans who are more sexually desirable will have more offspring and thus their traits will be passed on to future generations to a greater extent than those of less sexually desirable humans. As opposed to Darwin's other theory, natural selection, those who are the best adapted to their environment will be more likely to pass on their genes, or, "survival of the fittest", you might call sexual selection "survival of the sexiest." The theory is intended to in part explain why, when humans diverged from ot...   [tags: Biology Essays Research Papers]

Powerful Essays
1997 words (5.7 pages)

Male Menopause: Fact or Fiction? Essay

- Male Menopause: Fact or Fiction. "Male menopause is a lot more fun than female menopause. With female menopause you gain weight and get hot flashes. Male menopause - you get to date young girls and drive motorcycles." (11) While 'male menopause' has provided both sexes a variety of jokes and frustration, there are researchers and scientists studying the alleged condition with great seriousness. Those who support the existence of male menopause feel strongly that its affects on the male mind and body should be regarded with the same credence that society attributes to the female menopause....   [tags: Biology Essays Research Papers]

Powerful Essays
1328 words (3.8 pages)

Essay about Pocahontas: Fact Or Fiction

- While popular and widely watched the movie Pocahontas is an innaccurate portrail of a signifigant historical event. The Disney Corporation is not known for it’s accurate portrails of historical events and when producing the animated film Pocahontas, Disney did not fail in it’s nonchalant attitude concerning historic fact. Cartoonists at disney must have been watching adult films when they first penciled out the figures of Pocahontas and John Smith. The young Indian princess was only twelve years old at the time of her first encounter with John Smith, yet she is portrayed as a hard body honey in her twenties....   [tags: essays research papers]

Powerful Essays
476 words (1.4 pages)

Evolution: Fact or Fiction? Essay

- Evolution: Fact or Fiction. One of the greatest questions of all time is: "Where the heck did we come from?" One of the most popular answers to this question is creationism, the idea that everything was created by a higher being. Another idea is evolution, the idea that all living organisms descended from a less complex organism. Up and coming in the last century, evolution possesses a new way of thinking that is being greatly accepted by the scientific community. Despite this fact many people argue that evolution has no facts to support it and there are several reasons why evolution can't happen....   [tags: Exploratory Essays Research Papers]

Free Essays
1434 words (4.1 pages)