Essay on The Reward of a Liberal Education

Essay on The Reward of a Liberal Education

Length: 1030 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Newman defines liberal knowledge, or enlargement, as a cultivation or stimulation of the mind, with both mechanical (practical) and philosophical content, that builds an "intellect to reason well in all matters," develops character, brings about change, and lasts throughout life. (1.6.126-134, 2.1.50-52) Liberal knowledge is important because it brings a respect and balance to various disciplines of study, and aids in the pursuit of specific subject matters. This knowledge allows the learner to see their individual area of study in relationship to a whole. Liberal education does not compete with these disciplines but rather compliments them. (1.1.70-71) Ideally liberal education supports and open mindedness that promotes understanding and a willingness to entertain different ideas and perspectives. This philosophy can help to avoid what Newman describes as an exaggerated view of one subject allowing for critical evaluation of what is perceived. Enlargement opens the mind and allows it to "digest, master, rule, and use its knowledge," and by doing so become incorporated into, and a vital part of the environment. (1.9.687-695) This knowledge then becomes its own goal or reward, making it "desirable and worthy irrespective of the results." (1.6.141-448) "As we escape the pressure of necessary cares...we learn" (1.3.180-182) and it is this learning that "lasts through life." (1.1.80-81) Therefore, Newman's enlargement incorporates more than just rote learning of facts to seek truth and inter-connected meaning in the world. (1.9.656-660) As we process knowledge, discriminating between fact and fiction, it remains with us as a base for future reference.
Education, as Newman proposes, can take two distinct forms: philosophical which pr...


... middle of paper ...


...eral education I gain competency within my profession while finding a new center with a range of thoughts and perspectives I did not know existed. My liberal education can provide an appreciation and balance to my professional and personal endeavors. To limit the knowledge base is to intentionally stunt a fruit-bearing tree from growing bigger and stronger, and yielding a larger harvest. Newman discourse has allowed me to examine how liberal education does provide for my continued intellectual stimulation, foster consideration of various perspectives, and seek knowledge not merely for professional gain but for its own reward.


Works Cited
Gilbert, L. (Producer, Director). (1983). Educating Rita [Motion picture]. United States: Sony & Columbia Pictures.
Ward, L.L. (Ed). (1948). The uses of knowledge: John Henry Newman. Arlington Heights, IL: Harlan Davidson.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Importance Of A Liberal Arts Education Essay

- After experiencing my first semester at a liberal arts university, and learning the significance of it, I have realized how important having a liberal arts education is. I believe it is beneficial to have a liberal arts education contrary to a school in which you only study courses for your major. Whether you majoring in business, education, history, or any other field, a liberal arts education will impact your ability to take on any of these careers. Experiencing a liberal arts college or university will allow students to acquire life needed work skills....   [tags: Liberal arts, Liberal arts college, College]

Strong Essays
1166 words (3.3 pages)

Essay about STEM Education

- Rosalind Brewer is the Chief Executive Officer of Sam’s Club. However, many do not know that her undergraduate area of study was chemistry. After graduating from Spelman College in 1984, Brewer took a job as a chemist with Kimberly-Clark, working in a lab. (Daniels). Five years later, she made the transition to the business side. She worked at Kimberly-Clark for twenty-two years. She gradually became the president of the global nonwoven fabrics business. In 2006, Walmart invited her to head stores in Georgia....   [tags: liberal arts, science, education, career, college]

Strong Essays
1484 words (4.2 pages)

A Liberal Arts Education At Occidental College Essays

- Higher education can be an instrument that prospers democratic community, a goal for which many liberal arts colleges strive. This can be seen through many elements of a liberal arts education, including giving students the freedom to explore different academic subjects, instilling in students the passion of learning, and allowing students a more compelling learning style than simply listening to a professor drone on about a subject, all in an intimate matter through small class sizes and a familiarity between everybody involved....   [tags: Education, Higher education, Liberal arts college]

Strong Essays
1012 words (2.9 pages)

On The Uses of a Liberal Education: As a Weapon In the Hands of the Restless Poor

- In the 1997 article, “On The Uses of a Liberal Education: As a Weapon In the Hands of the Restless Poor,” published by Harper’s Magazine, the social critic Earl Shorris described how political power could be achieved by a rather non-vocational educational discipline, the humanities. He emphasizes on how the knowledge of a liberal Education can be used as a form of weapon within the lives for the poor. Shorris wanted to explore on poverty in America and write a book based on opinions on what keeps people poor....   [tags: liberal education, poverty, humanities]

Strong Essays
628 words (1.8 pages)

The Liberal Arts And Education Essay

- The liberal arts are becoming increasingly rare in schools and universities. However, Saint Catherine University makes it a priority to teach its students the core benefits to the liberal arts college. It requires students to take the course “The Reflective Woman” along with “Global Search for Justice” as an introduction and conclusion to a liberal arts education. Throughout this semester I became more knowledgeable on what the liberal arts truly are, honed my reflective judgment, developed my writing skills, and I now have a deeper and defined sense of self....   [tags: Liberal arts, Liberal arts college]

Strong Essays
982 words (2.8 pages)

Liberal Arts Colleges And Their Education Essay

- A crucial topic being debated on in today’s society is core principles and disciplines. When debated and discussed, these two immense topics bring up discussion on liberal art colleges and their education. “Liberal Arts” can be translated in many different ways depending on perspectives. So what exactly is a liberal arts college/education. Patrick Connelly states, “A liberal arts college is a college with an emphasis on undergraduate study in the liberal arts and sciences. It aims to impart a broad general knowledge and develop general intellectual capacities for students” (Pg.18)....   [tags: Liberal arts, Liberal arts college, Curriculum]

Strong Essays
884 words (2.5 pages)

Reward Vs. Reward Systems Essay examples

- Reward Systems Reward systems are used in classroom around the world to help encourage students to reach their highest potential. Rewards are enforcers of behavior and come in many shapes, sizes, and some are not even visible at all. Teachers use these as incentives to engage their students and help control student behavior. However, one form of reward may not work for every student nor are they guaranteed to work all the time. This is why it is important to know the strengths and weaknesses of the different reward systems so that teachers can adequately utilize them in their classes....   [tags: Reward system, Motivation, Education]

Strong Essays
1647 words (4.7 pages)

Essay on Benefits Of A Liberal Arts Education

- The benefits of a liberal arts education are vast, but those benefits can be achieved through other means besides a thorough liberal arts education. Those benefits can be achieved through after school activities that rally for the arts and teach children to be inspired by the beauty of art itself. In the horrible scenario in which a local arts center in an underprivileged community is planned to be shut down do to lack of funding, it is the students from the local college who can truly make a difference in keeping the spirit of the arts alive and make a big enough difference to show to the community, and even the rest of the emergency task force that to shut down the art center would not ju...   [tags: Music, Art, Liberal arts, The arts]

Strong Essays
1342 words (3.8 pages)

Essay about Excellence in Education

- The concept of excellence in education is one that, on the surface, seems to be unquestionable. After all, who would not accede that students within our schools should, in fact, excel. Certainly teachers, parents, and administrators can agree on excellence as an aim to shoot for. The interpretation of the term "excellence" is, however, less obvious. How do we regard excellence. Is it the college bound student with a broad liberal arts education. Is it the student who graduates high school trained in a specific trade....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
2827 words (8.1 pages)

The Role of Education in Our Society Essay

- The Role of Education in Our Society Meritocracy is a universalistic viewpoint favoured by many and is widely seen as the ideal way in which society should be founded on. In addition, as the education system is arguably the most important and influential institution in society it is then fair to assume that the education system is solely built to ‘produce a meritocracy where individual promise is acknowledged and developed through academic achievement’....   [tags: Papers]

Strong Essays
870 words (2.5 pages)