Essay on The Reality of a Soviet-style Sports System

Essay on The Reality of a Soviet-style Sports System

Length: 1472 words (4.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

China has been known for their medal winning athletes and Olympic success throughout history. This large communistic country carries with it a reputation of being harsh on its athletes and it begs the question, what exactly have they done to become one of the most athletically successful countries in the world and just how far will they go? “China’s methods would not be allowed elsewhere”(11) says British athlete, Joanna Parker. Although they often take home the gold at the Olympics, they have a very Soviet style sports system which involves harsh training where children are recruited at early ages and taken from their homes. Despite China’s success, the sports system has a negative impact on the athletes’ lives before, during and after their careers, because of intense training regimens that sometimes lead to health issues, lack of focus on education, isolation and pressure placed on athletes by the coaches and government.
Until recent years, China actually had a rocky Olympic history. They rarely won medals and were often behind in the overall medal count. However, in the 1980’s, after decades of humiliating defeat by the Americans, China adopted their controversial sports training system(Bletchly); They have climbed up the ladder and have become one of the top countries due to the intense training regimens their athletes must undergo. In past Olympics, China has always put pressure on its athletes to win, but they were never quite good enough overall; There were some sports where its athletes excelled and others such as rowing which needed significant improvement. For the past thirty years or so, China has been working to improve its athletic performance and bring home glory.

Glory: High renown, honor, or praise given to som...


... middle of paper ...


...Apr. 2014.

12. Price, S. L. "Faster, Stronger, Richer." Sports Illustrated 109.8 (2008): 172. MAS Complete. Web. 5 May 2014.

13. Smith, Michael D. "Project 119 Didn't Work Despite China's Gold Lead." - The New York Sun. - The New York Sun, 22 Aug. 2008. Web. 13 Apr. 2014.

14. Sosinsky-Semikhat, Yuri. "China's Olympic Triumphs Based On Terrible Pain." Web log post.English Pravda.ru. N.p., 8 Mar. 2012. Web. 06 Apr. 2014.

15. By TALEK HARRIS in Hong, Kong. "China Giant `Bred To Win'." Northern Territory News (Includes Sunday Territorian) (n.d.): Newspaper Source Plus. Web. 14 Apr. 2014.

16. The Week Staff. "China's Olympics Training Program: Abusive?" The Week. The Week, 2 Aug. 2012. Web. 06 Apr. 2014.

17. Yanping, Li, and Wing-Gar Cheng. "Olympic Dream Helps Chinese Kids Beat Pain in Drive for London." Bloomberg.com. Bloomberg, 24 Aug. 2008. Web. 14 Apr. 2014.



Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Sports in Tibet Essay

- Sports in Tibet When one hears mention of Tibet certain things initially come to mind, most commonly images of an isolated, peaceful, extremely religious society. One of the last things one would imagine from such a seemingly docile people would be a history deeply entwined with athletic showmanship, yet this actually is the case. Unfortunately most historians overlook this pivotal piece of information when studying the Tibetans’ rich culture and consequently the casual scholar rarely sees this side of the Tibetan people....   [tags: Buddhism Recreation Culture Papers]

Free Essays
4534 words (13 pages)

Why Home Schooled Students Should Have Access to Extracurricular Activities

- Over the years I was plagued with questions about my homeschooling: “You mean you don’t go to school?” Or my favorite: “So you wake up whenever you want?”, both of which are good questions for this obscure child that doesn’t “go to school”. I was weird. Although I assumed this was simply the childish reaction, there was always part of me that dreaded the question, even from adults. Why had my parents chosen this for me. Religious reasons. Inferior public schooling. Really it boiled down to the belief that they could better tailor my education and develop a more creative and energetic mind in their children....   [tags: US public education system discrepancies]

Powerful Essays
1936 words (5.5 pages)

Essay about The American Obsession With Sports

- The complexity of this issue is almost insurmountable. Its array covers the simplistic to that of possible genetic coding of the different ethnic groups involved. John Kenneth Galbraith, a sociological expert said “We associate truth with convenience.” It may be as simple, and I believe it is, as people do what they feel like putting their time and energy into. People pursue what interests them. Does everything have to come back to black and white. Brown’s study states that Black and White athletes have a positive association with the sports that they play and do not perceive racial or ethnic discrimination is any longer a problem....   [tags: Sports ]

Powerful Essays
1896 words (5.4 pages)

The Reality Of Reality Television Essay

- Reality television has been a popular means of entertainment for viewers, and an economic investment for television networks since MTV aired their hit reality show The Real World, back in 1992. Although unscripted television existed as early as the late 1940s, reality television really began to thrive in the 90s. Since then, numerous versions of reality television shows have emerged. Reality television includes a variety of programs, each belonging to a different branch of reality. Within those branches are: documentary style shows, which includes shows about special living environments (Jersey Shore), shows about celebrities (Keeping up with the Kardashians), and shows about professional ac...   [tags: Reality television, Television, Television program]

Powerful Essays
1055 words (3 pages)

Virtual Reality And Augmented Reality Essay example

- Analyzing the looks of new furniture in home and its arrangement in various settings, without placing real furniture, is possible now. Company representatives not only talking & displaying about their products, but they can show where and in what way products can be arranged. Coca-Cola and IKEA are demonstrating their products in community apartments. Technology behind this way of doing business is Augmented Reality. Concept of Augmented Reality is not new. It started way back in 1968, when Ivan Sutherland developed first head-mounted display system to show computer generated wireframe drawings....   [tags: Reality, Virtual reality, Augmented reality]

Powerful Essays
1274 words (3.6 pages)

Augmented Reality And Virtual Reality Essay

- Augmented Reality (AR) is a real time direct or indirect view of the physical real world that is enhanced or augmented with computer generated information. AR is both interactive and registered in 3D, combining real and virtual objects. AR enhances a user’s perception of the real world and the way they interact with it. The augmented Reality’s main purpose is simplifying the user’s life, by bringing virtual information to their immediate surroundings through an indirect view of the real-world environment....   [tags: Virtual reality, Augmented reality]

Powerful Essays
702 words (2 pages)

Essay on The Importance of Sports

- Think of society as a living organism which every part of it contributes to its survival. This view is the functionalist perspective, which every parts of a society are structured to maintain its stability. Functionalist regard sports as an almost religious institution that uses ritual and ceremony to reinforce the common values of a society. In 1968, Robert Merton made an important distinction between manifest and latent functions. Manifest functions of institutions are open, stated, conscious functions that involve intended, recognized, consequences of an aspect of society....   [tags: Sports]

Powerful Essays
1002 words (2.9 pages)

What is Style? Essay

- What is Style. What is style, and how do we know when we have a style that is all our own. This is one thought that I ponder on cloudy dreary days, and when I have nothing better to do than think. In all actuality, do we even have a style we can call our own, or are we a conglomeration of what we like in the people around us. I would like to think I have my own style, but then reality sets in, and I start to realize I'm a clone of all the people I admire, and desire to be like. I has taken me a long time to realize that no matter how hard I tried to be my own person, I was still following in other peoples footsteps....   [tags: Style Personality Individuality Papers]

Powerful Essays
1971 words (5.6 pages)

Augmented Reality Essay

- According to Oxford dictionaries, “Augmented Reality” is a technology that provides the user a computer produced image of the real world (“Augmented Reality”). A source states that augmented reality in programing language is the process of combining images and videos from the real world with computer generated data. The development of the new computers has made it possible to engage data with augmented reality. The practical uses of augmented reality started with military instruments such as real time video displays that were being used in airplanes and tanks to detect targets accurately....   [tags: Augmented Reality Essays]

Powerful Essays
1543 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on Reality of Sports

- Reality of Sports Upon watching the films during this course we see many strong women. Female Athletes whose bodies are in peak condition from the real life champions in the documentary to the female boxer in Girl Fight and the passionate basketball player in Love and Basketball. However stories of real women are not always as ideal as those of Hollywood. Failure, both mentally and physically, is at times a harsh reality. Sometimes when somebody is physically injured it keeps an athlete from the game entirely, if the injury is severe enough....   [tags: Movies Film Basketball Essays]

Free Essays
961 words (2.7 pages)