Racism Is Spreading Like Wildfire Thanks to Technology and Media Access Essay

Racism Is Spreading Like Wildfire Thanks to Technology and Media Access Essay

Length: 1623 words (4.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

In our world of quick fixes and never-ending excuses, no matter what subject is being discussed, it seems that someone is always pointing a finger at something or someone as a scapegoat for the way things are in society. This is no exception when it comes to explaining the struggle of racism and inequality in America. It is easy for anyone to point blame at: the government, the South, religions factions, or family traditions as the cause of racial bias. Still, when it comes down to it, the largest and most important influence of racism today comes from the media. Due to the rapid expansions of technology and media access, the ideas of racism are spreading across the country at an unprecedented rate. It is commonly argued that people in the South are inherently more racist than people from other parts of the country, but Racism exists in all corners of the world. That being said, it is an individual’s responsibility to make themselves aware of how media’s continuous advertisements effect society so that changes can be made.
Over the past few generations, technological advances have improved the means by which the public is able to gain information. Earning access to daily news and updates is now much easier to access in a short amount of time, thus improving people’s knowledge on what is occurring on a day-to-day basis. On the other hand, technology has created a competitive market amongst the media providers affecting the quality of information provided. According to the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in 2011 only twenty-eight-point-four percent of crime committed in the United States came from the African American demographic, while White crime totaled a near seventy percent (Table 43, FBI). This statistic proves that while Af...


... middle of paper ...


...ity.



Works Cited

Adam H. Stewart. Review of Goldberg, David, Racial Subjects: Writing on Race in America. H-Judaic, H-Net Reviews. September, 1997.
Alvarez, Lizette, and Cara Buckley. "Zimmerman Is Acquitted in Trayvon Martin Killing." The New York Times. The New York Times, 13 July 2013. Web. 10 Mar. 2014.
Hagen, Susan. "Legacy of Slavery Still Fuels Anti-Black Attitudes in the Deep South." Rochester News. N.p., 18 Sept. 2013. Web. 9 Mar. 2014.
FBI. FBI, 26 Sept. 2012. Web. 8 Mar. 2014.
Giroux, Susan S. "On The State of Race Theory: A Conversation with David Theo Goldberg." JAC, 2006. Web. 9 Mar. 2014.
"Karl Marx – the Racist?" International Libertarian Socialist Alliance. N.p., 19 July 2011. Web. 9 Mar. 2014.
Vognar, Chris. "'12 Years a Slave' Lays Bare the Brutal Truths of American Slavery (A)." The Dallas Morning News. N.p., 24 Oct. 2013. Web. 10 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about Thanks to Contemporary Nursing

- ... At first, her parents opposed her decision to become a nurse (Joel, 2006). That did not stop Nightingale from fulfilling her purpose and goals. Before she could achieve those merits, she went through the Crimean war. Many soldiers died, it must have been devastating for a nurse at the time to endure that amount of soldiers dying daily. Soldiers not only died from gunshots, but also from infections contracted from highly unsanitary environments. There was not even an appropriate and efficient triage system in place at the time....   [tags: wounded, medical, inspiration]

Powerful Essays
724 words (2.1 pages)

Essay about Martin Luther King Jr 's Activism

- In 1961, the US Freedom Rides was quite a significant event that is still remembered by many Americans and African-Americans today. It was the time when racial discrimination and segregation had existed and has had an immense effect and impact on African-Americans. Yet, it had ended after a lot of hard work protesting, campaigning in different areas of America and thanks to some key events that had also helped along with these including the Birmingham Campaign and Martin Luther King Jr’s activism....   [tags: United States, African American, Racism]

Powerful Essays
1558 words (4.5 pages)

The United States ' Freedom For Black Communities After The War Essay

- Evaluating how these three Amendments to the Constitution, were praised for creating the idea of freedom for black communities after the war, this research will consider what policies where then put in place in order to restrict, target and leave freed slaves at the mercy of local state laws. Such policies and collectives like ALEC (American Legislative Executive Council) have influenced the targeting of nonwhite communities through bill legislative drafting of such policies like 3 strikes you’re out and mandatory sentencing for drug possession, in order to preserve white power of what will become the minority of people in the United States based upon census information....   [tags: Slavery, Racism, Slavery in the United States]

Powerful Essays
1253 words (3.6 pages)

Essay about Racism : Racism And Racism

- After reading “Something About the Subject”, when the writer says that racism is very simple in structure but difficult to eliminate, that’s very true. Racism has taken roots so deep to the point many people have come to accept it as part of life. This is not good, because, having that assumption makes racism to keep on growing further and the roots getting deeper. And I will also agree with the writer, we cannot eradicate racism with mere conferences and heated arguments, more has to be done to combat this monster....   [tags: White people, Race, Racism, Illegal immigration]

Powerful Essays
714 words (2 pages)

Essay on Racism Is There Still Racism?

- Oh, Is There Still Racism?: Systematic Racism in American Society The lack of awareness among society surrounding racism is a problem of great proportion. Everyday people go on with their daily routines, unaware of the discrimination and inequalities around them. A lot of the time those who are unable to recognize these injustices are people in positions of power who are not affected by them. While these issues may not directly affect them, that does not negate the fact that they still exist. After centuries of progression within the United States many people have been led to believe that racism is a thing of the past, failing to acknowledge its undermining presence in people of color’s ever...   [tags: Racism, Race, White people, Race]

Powerful Essays
1842 words (5.3 pages)

Essay about Racism And Genocide : Racism

- Racism and Genocide Racism, where could I start. Racism according to the dictionaries is the belief that each race has characteristics or abilities specific of that race, distinctly as to differentiate it as inferior or superior to another race or races. In reality racism is so much deeper than that. Racism can take form in practices, beliefs, social actions, or political systems that examines different races to be ranked higher or lower in status. Now do we include discrimination that is involuntary....   [tags: Racism, Race, Discrimination, Mandatory sentencing]

Powerful Essays
1299 words (3.7 pages)

Essay on Network Policy Server and Remote Access

- The nature of our business requires us to have a flexible sales force. Because of that detail we need to be receptive to the needs of our mobile workforce. The most critical tool involved in their success is the ability to reliably connect and access our company networks. These connections can be from employees using company issued laptops or personal computers used from home or on the road. For the most part we have addresses the needs of our sales force on a case by case basis but going forward we really need to ensure we have a defined policy to streamline remote access....   [tags: windows server, network access]

Powerful Essays
1136 words (3.2 pages)

Essay on Racism In The NFL

- Today in America the word Racism is taken to a whole new level. Even in sports, such as the NFL racism prospers. For instance the Washington Redskins of the National Football League. Native Americans are trying to say the NFL is being rude for naming a Team Redskins. The Redskins have had that name since 1933 (Staff). The team had the name of Braves before they adopted the name Redskins. It was changed due to racism purposes. Some people would agree that the whole situation with Redskins is ridiculous because The Major League Baseball series has two teams related to Native Americans, The Atlanta Braves and The Cleveland Indians....   [tags: Racism Essays]

Powerful Essays
1600 words (4.6 pages)

Racism : Racism And Racism Essay

- Remember how I told you that people around me are racist. My aunt and uncle, my best friend, and at one point, my parents. Yes, that’s right. Your brother was at one time, and sometimes still is, kind of racist. So why am I writing you this letter. Well I just read this interesting article about racism, specifically biker weeks that were basically segregated. And we know a lot about bikers, since Dad used to be one. So in South Carolina, one biker week called Harley week is exclusively white while the other called Black Bike is solely black....   [tags: Racism, White people, Race, Race]

Powerful Essays
1460 words (4.2 pages)

Remote Access Attacks Essay

- Introduction Remote access can be clearly defined as one’s ability to gain computer or network access from a remote location. Today many business people who travel often need to have remote access to their corporation's network. There is however vulnerabilities that all types of remote access have common, and it doesn’t matter what method used, the endpoint machine is vulnerable like all other systems that have access to the Internet. Whenever a system is accessible via the internet, that system is exposed to danger....   [tags: Computer, Network Access, Remote Location]

Powerful Essays
1331 words (3.8 pages)