The Pros and Cons of Barbie Essay

The Pros and Cons of Barbie Essay

Length: 981 words (2.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Those perfect days as a child when your countless days were filled with playtime. The time to set up those houses and dress the dolls up, and act out the future. “Through their play Barbara imagined their lives as adults. They used the dolls to reflect the adult world around them. They would sit and carry on conversations, making the dolls real people” (Ruth Handler). As a young child, it is all you look forward to in your future: being successful and confident, loved and cherished. Many dolls were used to project this. Specifically, the Barbie. Barbie is a positive role model girl should look up to for confidence and inspiration. She is a talented and educated career woman, self-sufficient in every aspect of her life, and a stunning example to young girls the body that is healthy and fit.
        In a way, Barbie is a role model for girls to look to for confidence, because she is extremely talented and educated, and is considered the example of a career woman. Juggling over 130 careers on her resume, Barbie has accomplished the above and beyond. From rock start to pilot,Barbie has had every job a child could possibly ever dream about. This includes her being an astronaut and going to the moon; four years before Neil Armstrong. Even in the 90s, she ran for president before  woman even made the presidential ballot. “My whole philosophy of Barbie was that through the doll, the little girl could be anything she wanted to be. Barbie always represented the fact that a woman has choices.” From the start Ruth Handler, the co-owner of the Mattel creations and creator of the Barbie doll, created Barbie for the purpose of inspiration to young girls. Handler saw that her young daughter, Barbara, enjoyed playing with adult female doll...


... middle of paper ...


...to their future.


Works Cited


"Eating Disorders." Doctors, Patient Care, Health Education, Medical Research. N.p., n.d. Web. 20 Jan. 2014.
"Girls' Attitudes Survey 2013." Girls Attitudes Video. N.p., n.d. Web. 22 Jan. 2014.
Jones, Abigail. "The Ultimate Career Woman." Forbes. Forbes Magazine, 05 Mar. 2009. Web. 22 Jan. 2014.
"Problem-solving with Teenagers." Raising Children Network. Raising Children Network, n.d. Web. 22 Jan. 2014.
"Ruth Handler Marketing Toys." PBS. PBS, n.d. Web. 22 Jan. 2014.
Stone, Tanya Lee. The Good, the Bad, and the Barbie: A Doll's History and Her Impact on Us. New York: Penguin Group, 2010. Print.
"Teen Eating Disorders: Tips to Protect Your Teen." - Mayo Clinic. Mayo Clinic Staff, n.d. Web. 22 Jan. 2014.
Vigee-LeBrun, Elizabeth. "HUMAN PROPORTIONS." Human Figure Drawing Proportions. Donald A. Jusko, n.d. Web. 22 Jan. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Banning Barbie Essay examples

- There has always been controversy as to whether Barbie should be banned. Barbie dolls were created decades ago so little girls can play with them and relate to them somehow; therefore, Barbie should not be banned. Barbie dolls are good for society, little girls have understood diversity, and they enjoy playing with them; however drawbacks would be that some little girls do not have the maturity to appreciate the symbolic value of a Barbie doll, it has become an obsession to look like her and, she is not an appropriate role model....   [tags: dream big, little girls, obsession]

Better Essays
1738 words (5 pages)

Essay on The History of the World's Most Famous Doll, Barbie

- ... Weighing only 110 lbs at her height, she would have an anorexic BMI (Body Mass Index) of 16.24. It would be difficult for her tiny waist to support her big bust and However, Academics from the University of South Australia believe this body type is not unachievable, but very unusual – the probability of a woman having a Barbie-like figure is less than 1 in 100,000 (Winterman, 2009). In defense of Barbie's body shape, Mattel stated that she looks fuller with all her thick clothing, thus they made her waist so thin (McDonough, 2010)....   [tags: body image, mattel, self-esteem]

Better Essays
677 words (1.9 pages)

Essay about The Pros and Cons of Hosting the Olympics

- With over two hundred countries participating, the Olympic Games is easily considered as one of the largest multisport event known to history. The Olympics are held at a different country, and even more rarely at the same city. For a country to be chosen to host the Olympics, the country’s National Olympic Committee (the country’s representatives for the Olympics) nominates a city (from the country they represent) that they think has potential in hosting the Olympics nine years prior to when they wish to host the Olympics....   [tags: olympic games, pros and cons]

Better Essays
1040 words (3 pages)

Legalizing Marijuana: Pros and Cons Essay

- The war on drugs is a movement of prohibition and military aid being undertaken by the United States government intended to both define and reduce the illegal drug trade. In the year 2010 the U.S. government spent $15 billion on the war on drugs, at a rate of $500 per second. State and local governments spent another $25 billion as well. In 2007, $42 billion was spent on the marijuana prohibition. That is more money than the war on drugs spent on all types of drugs three years before when $40 billion was spent all together....   [tags: Drugs, Pros and Cons]

Better Essays
1595 words (4.6 pages)

Pros and Cons of Taking a Year Off Before College Essay

- It’s your senior year of high school. It is time for you to decide what you want to do after you graduate. You have a few possible things that you could do. You could start applying for colleges, get accepted to one, and then go to college right out of high school; or you could do the same thing, but take a year off. This brings up the argument of whether or not a student should take off a gap year before they begin college. There are both, pros and cons to taking a gap year prior to starting college....   [tags: Pros and Cons of Gap Year]

Better Essays
1096 words (3.1 pages)

Barbie - Original Writing Of Barbie Essay

- For decades, Barbie has remained torpedo-titted, open-mouthed, tippy-toed and vagina-less in her cellophane coffin—and, ever since I was little, she has threatened me. Most women I know are nostalgic for Barbie. “Oh,” they coo wistfully, “I used to looove my Barbies. My girlfriends would come over, and we’d play for hours …” Not me. As a child, I disliked the doll on impulse; as an adult, my feelings have actually fermented into a heady, full-blown hatred. My friends and I never owned Barbies....   [tags: Barbie, Fashion doll, Mattel]

Better Essays
1207 words (3.4 pages)

Barbie 's Role Model Of Barbie Essay

- Over the past 50 years Barbie has not only been a best friend to many little girls across America but she has been a role model to them as well. Barbie is everything any growing girl would want to be. After all she is living the dream, not only with the materialistic aspects of her life like the houses, cars and of course we cannot forget about her fashion, but also with her extensive resume filled with many careers. Or at least that is what the creators of Barbie intended for her but the reality is that Barbie can only truly be relatable to a small demographic of girls....   [tags: Eye color, Human skin color, Barbie, Mattel]

Better Essays
963 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about Pros and Cons of the Death Penalty

- Pros and Cons of the Death Penalty Due to the rapid increase in crime the past ten years and prison overcrowding, more attention has been drawn to the opinion that something has to be done to the United States Criminal System. We need to reevaluate the way we treat people we are convicted of unspeakable acts of merciless slaughter or even rape. The United States Justice System must be made solid again. Most people have an opinion on this heated subject. Some say "we need it" others say "the person pulling the switch would be no better than the person in the chair." We need to look at other options beside prison....   [tags: Capital Punishment Crime Law Essays]

Better Essays
430 words (1.2 pages)

Pros and Cons of Abortion Essay

- Pros and Cons of Abortion Should a list of pros and cons of abortion really be necessary for Christians...or human beings for that matter. I mean, have we really reached a point where we cannot tell that abortion is murderous no matter how you color it or try to paint it as compassionate. Apparently so. Thirty plus years after the infamous Supreme Court decision in Roe versus Wade and thirty one years after my own timely birth, I sit in awe at the ignorance of a great portion of society...their lack of understanding, their selfishness, and their brazen support of such a horrendous practice as abortion....   [tags: Religion Christianity Abortion Ethics Essays]

Better Essays
3511 words (10 pages)

Barbie Essay

- Barbara Millicent Roberts, or more popularly known to the world as "Barbie" was was introduced at the American Toy Fair in New York City in February of 1959 by Ruth and Elliot Handler, founders of Mattel Toys. Ruth originally thought of the idea while her daughter, Barbara, was playing with paper dolls. She realized that as her daughter grew older and began to imitate adult conversations and the world around her, she needed a three-dimensional representation of it as well. She shared her idea of a woman doll for children with her husband and the all-male executive team at Mattel, but they refused saying that it would be too expensive to produce and would have little appeal to the American pu...   [tags: History Barbie Doll]

Free Essays
1054 words (3 pages)