The Proposed Approach to Physical Fitness Development at Contemporary Schools

The Proposed Approach to Physical Fitness Development at Contemporary Schools

Length: 1019 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

While the existing fitness center at the Hazleton Area Academy of Sciences is technologically advanced and gorgeous, it will become impractical starting in the 2014-2015 school year. Currently, the fitness room is often over crowded leaving students unoccupied and uninvolved. This issue will only worsen as the upcoming freshmen class of one hundred and eighty students begins their first year at the academy. To provide students with an opportunity to obtain holistic wellness, a Physical Fitness Center at the Hazleton Area Academy of Sciences is necessary. In addition to the current fitness room equipments, the proposed center will offer two additional exercise facilities to STEM students, a swimming pool and a two hundred meter track. When used correctly, these two facilities require use of students’ entire bodies.
Health is defined by the World Health Organization as, “the state of optimal well-being,” (Caton, P.1). A student can only maintain optimal well-being if he or she has a balanced physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual life (Caton, P.1). All of these can be balanced with the aid of a Physical Fitness Center at the Hazleton Area Academy of Sciences (Caton, P.1). Students can improve their physique using the fitness equipment available now in addition to the proposed swimming pool and indoor track. Emotionally, students can release their anger through weight lifting activities or while running and swimming, transforming it to joy (Caton, P.1). Mentally, students can improve their attitude and work ethic (Caton, P.1). Spiritually, students can prove to themselves that their hard work will pay off (Caton, P.1).
One proposed addition to current fitness offerings is a two- hundred meter track in order to off...


... middle of paper ...


... even those of the nation. Aside from that, each and every student that would utilize this building and its contents will have the opportunity to better themselves.



Bibliography
Allen, Jennifer Van. 6 Ways Running Improves Your Health. n.d. 20 May 2014.
Bayly, Fiona. What Muscles Does Swimming Excerise? . 1 May 2011. 20 May 2014.
Caton, Sandra. "Wellness From Within: The First Step." 2003. American Holistic Health Association. 20 May 2014.
Mahoney, Kirk. Muscles Used When Running. 2014. 20 May 2014.
Student, Bucknell. "Swimming Information." 2014. Bucknell University. 20 May 2014.
The Lifescript Editorial Staff. The Health Benefits of Swimming. 2 August 2006. 20 May 2014.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. "Fact Sheet for Health Professionals on Physical Activity Guidelines for Children and Adolescents ." 2008. Center for Disease Control. 20 May 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Contemporary African Art Essay

- Proposed Research Outline: In the slippery terrain created by globalization and cultural brokering, contemporary art made in Africa (and its diasporas) has enjoyed a steady growth in interest and appreciation by Western audiences during the last few decades (Kasfir, 2007). Several biennials, triennials, and scholarly works attest to that, with much of its impact owed to the figure of Okwui Enwezor. However, seamlessly uniting diverse African artists under the untrained Western gaze for the commercialism of the international art circuit – notwithstanding their different cultural contexts and the medium in which they work – is bound to create problems....   [tags: Africa ]

Strong Essays
1025 words (2.9 pages)

The Approaches Of Development Proposed By The Speakers Essay

- This essay interweaves the approaches of development proposed by the speakers’ presentations and discussions held during the seminars of Perspectives in International Development throughout the Fall Semester 2015. The common thread among the different approaches would be the role that building human and social capital may play in achieving the goal of development. The essay considers nutrition as a form of physical human capital, and a precondition for developing other dimensions of human capital....   [tags: Sociology, Food, Nutrition, Economic development]

Strong Essays
1439 words (4.1 pages)

Contemporary Paintings : Contemporary Art Essay

- Contemporary Portraits Art is something that is a part of my everyday life, and each artist that I know has their own story and something unique about them. I am a weird person, and I have loads of things going on in my life, which is hard for me to put in words, which is why I tend to make art about how I feel, or my escape of the situation. For my AP portfolio concentration section I plan to create six contemporary portraits. Contemporary art is art that is prevalent, things that are popular now....   [tags: Art, Arts, Self-portrait, Contemporary art]

Strong Essays
1416 words (4 pages)

Essay on Contemporary Religion in America

- Religion is a very difficult topic to approach. To discuss religion, is to walk through a mine field. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and beliefs. In contemporary America, it is popular now turn from established religions or to have no religion at all. It is not difficult to believe how science and technology played a major role in contemporary religion in America by making our society secular. As our ability to attain knowledge through technology broadens, it allows people to analyze their own religion and interpret it in their own way....   [tags: contemporary religion, contemporary, religion, Ame]

Strong Essays
791 words (2.3 pages)

Essay on The Impact of Religious Educational Schools on Child Development

- There are many factors and perspectives that shape the minds of people; children in particular are very impressionable; taken this fact it is very possible that different types of education may have an effect on child development. Specifically, the case of religious education is a perspective that many adolescents are being introduced to. More parents than ever before are choosing to put their children in private schools, children’s churches, and church services in general. With the impact of religious education and change in curriculum young minds are being shaped in a different fashion, one that could change a generation....   [tags: Religious Education, private schools]

Strong Essays
952 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Early Childhood Development : Contemporary Research

- There are many documented theories about early childhood development, contemporary research still concurs with some of these theories. It suggests, however, that we should be thinking more holistically, taking into consideration; respect for diversity, the wider community and equity, play based curriculums, intentional teaching and ongoing reflective practices when planning for optimal educational experiences for children (Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations, 2009). I acknowledge that ongoing professional learning and reflective practices are a key element of the Early Years Learning Framework (DEEWR, 2009)....   [tags: Education, Developmental psychology, Play]

Strong Essays
1312 words (3.7 pages)

The Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago Essay examples

- With exhibitions of the most thought-provoking art, The Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago is one of the Nation’s largest facilities devoted to the art of our time (“About the MCA”) . The mission of the MCA is to offer a direct experience to the public of modern day art and living artists. German architect Joseph Paul Kleihues designed the new building with seven times the square feet of its previous facility (“The Building”) . October of 1967 the museum opened its doors to the public for the first time....   [tags: Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, Museums, Conte]

Strong Essays
1050 words (3 pages)

Proposed Computerized System for Business Essay example

- 1. Introduction Basically, the function of many systems, either manual or computerized, is to keep an organization well managed and running smoothly. But, computerized system should be implemented in all organizations to help their staffs boosting their efficiency in doing works, as manual processes sometimes might cost much time thus might affect performances. By this, it can be said that system is proposed and being created to be used in order to overcome such this issues which may improve the level of satisfaction for users....   [tags: organizations, efficiency, system, development]

Strong Essays
713 words (2 pages)

Essay about Contemporary American Culture and Materialism

- Throughout the semester we have covered many different topics during our study of contemporary American culture. We studied topics relating to our everyday lives such as, relationships, life habits, work, and school. The various readings, films, and discussions during class have helped me reflect upon my life. I would like to elaborate and focus on the aspects of this class that directly influence the way I see the world today. Before I took this course my mental image of materialism, happiness, and love were entirely different....   [tags: contemporary American culture, culture, USA, mater]

Strong Essays
866 words (2.5 pages)

Contemporary Society Essay

- Contemporary Society Name: Institution: Contemporary Society Social and political scientists have associated contemporary society with a myriad of characteristics which include rapid technological advancements, greater human interactions, promotion of gender equality, and respect for human rights (Halcli & Browning, 2000, p. 226). However, many obstacles have stood on the way to achieving a number of important social issues such as ensuring proper gender equity in various government and private institutions....   [tags: Australian Contemporary Society]

Strong Essays
2029 words (5.8 pages)