Essay about The Progression and Evolution of Snowboarding

Essay about The Progression and Evolution of Snowboarding

Length: 1272 words (3.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Throughout time, the progression and evolution of snowboarding has increased greatly. It has gone from non existence in the late 1970’s, to one of the most watched action sports in a matter of thirty-five years. The upward takeoff and popularity of snowboarding relies on two people, Jake Burton and Shaun White. Jake Burton back in 1977 had the vision for what snowboarding would be, but Shaun White had what it took to manifest that vision. Evidence has shown that time brings change in sports, history has repeated itself with snowboarding, this history reflects the time & changes that has occurred in America.
Snowboarding started as one single brand, Burton. Jake Burton, literally the inventor of snowboarding, was the first to set the bar for what he thought the sport was. He was born in New York, NY on April 29, 1954. He began making boards with wood working machines he had’nt a clue how to use, selling the boards out of his car. Because of his entrepreneurship, Jake Burton sacrifices his career as a stockbroker to pursuit a dream, resulting in the worlds first major snowboarding brand now worth hundreds of millions of dollars. In Americas history, the sacrifices made by entrepreneurs has led to some of the largest businesses in the world.
Today Jake Burton is 59 years old, and a snowboard legend. He was present for the return of Kevin Pearce, one of the most inspiring sports comeback stories of all time, as well as every major snowboarding feat in history. Residing in Vermont, where Burton Snowboards is located, he still enjoys snowboarding more than ever and remains in the community actively. Throughout the years, Jake Burton managed to be inducted into the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame. The Vermont Sports Hall of Fame recognizes...


... middle of paper ...


...Web. 20 Feb, 2014.
“Avoiding Injury During Winter Sports.” Consumer Health News. 5 Jan, 2014. Student Resources in context. Web. 20 Feb, 2014.
Clarke, John. “GoPro Builds Shaun White His Own Private Training Facility for Sochi Olympics.” Forbes. Forbes Magazine, 29 Oct, 2013. Web. 21 Feb, 2014.
“Profile: Snowboarder Kevin Pearce’s Inspiring Comeback Story” NBC Nightly News, 5 Jan, 2012. Student Resources in Context. Web. 20 Feb, 2014
“Shaun White” Newsmakers. Vol 2. Detroit. Gale, 2010. Student Resources in Context. Database, 20 Feb, 2014.
“Shaun White.” Gale Biography in Context. Detroit: Gale, 2006. Student Resources in Context. Database. 11 Feb, 2014.
“Jake Burton.” Newsmakers. Detroit: Gale, 2007. Student Resources in Context. Database. 14 Feb, 2014.
Gigliotti, Jim & Walters, John. Sports in America, 2000-2009. New York: Chelsea House, 2010. Print. 14 Feb, 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about Sean White and Snowboarding

- Throughout time, the progression and evolution of snowboarding has increased greatly. It has gone from non existence in the late 1970’s, to one of the most watched action sports in a matter of thirty-five years. The upward takeoff and popularity of snowboarding relies on two people, Jake Burton and Shaun White. Jake Burton back in 1977 had the vision for what snowboarding would be, but Shaun White had what it took to manifest that vision. Evidence has shown that time brings change in sports, history has repeated itself with snowboarding, this history reflects the time & changes that has occurred in America....   [tags: Evolution of Snowboarding, Jake Burton]

Strong Essays
1286 words (3.7 pages)

The Importance Of Snowboarding Essay

- My collage had plenty of pictures of snowboarding images, Colorado mountains, and tree covered in snow. The first time I snowboarded I was about 5 years old I went to Hesperus Colorado. In 2013, I had my first bad accident, it was at purgatory ski resort. It was a two-part situation. The reason I say that is because it all happened within two weeks. Snowboarding is really a family activity. The only thing I’ve truly learned from snowboarding is if you have a bad feeling in your gut like you shouldn’t be doing something-trust your instincts....   [tags: English-language films, Quarter pipe, Snowboarding]

Strong Essays
1351 words (3.9 pages)

Importance Of Professional Snowboarding Essay

- Imagine being on the top of the world, on a bitter cold mountain, over top of an enormous crowd. Below where you stand, the lustrous lights are shining on a massive jump, that seems larger than the mountain itself, created for the professional snowboard competition. This gargantuan jump will decide whether you win or lose the competition. Becoming a professional snowboarder has been a dream to me ever since I first was beginning to snowboard. Being on top of the enormous slope and strapping into my bindings instantly made me relaxed and put a grin larger than the slope itself on my face....   [tags: Snowboarding, Snowboard, Competition, Snurfer]

Strong Essays
1341 words (3.8 pages)

Narrative Essay On Snowboarding

- The Snow and the Slope A few winters ago, some friends invited my family and me to go snow skiing at Paoli Peaks, Indiana. I did not know how to snow ski, and I leaped at the thought of trying this new sport. On the first morning we entered the pro shop to rent all the gear and make decisions about whether or not to take lessons or go it alone. We decided to be adventurous and go it alone—no lessons. Kent and Celeste, the friends who invited us, knew how to ski and snowboard. He assured us that he could show us the basics, and we would be on our way down the slopes....   [tags: Skiing, Ski, Snow, Snowboarding, Snowmobile]

Strong Essays
931 words (2.7 pages)

Snowboarding History Essay example

- Snowboarding is a new sport that is very challenging and exhilarating and is attracting new fans all around the world. Snowboarding has really changed since it was first invented. It has become one of the fastest growing sports in America and the world. Have you ever experience extreme boredom during the winter or have those wintertime blues. There is a sport out there that could very well dissipate those feelings, and that sport is snowboarding. Snowboarding is a sport for the adrenaline junkie....   [tags: Snurfer, Snowboarding, Surfing, Snowboard]

Strong Essays
763 words (2.2 pages)

Essay about Snowboarding Stereotypes

- According to Merriam-Webster dictionary, stereotype is defined as, “something conforming to a fixed or general pattern; especially: a standardized mental picture that is held in common by members of a group and that represents an oversimplified opinion, prejudiced attitude, or uncritical judgment.” With any community stereotypes is sure to follow. Undoubtedly, snowboarding is no different, the stereotypes that snowboarders are recognized by are, we are all rich, we are all stoners, and we are all reckless skiing down the mountain....   [tags: Snowboarding, Snowboard, Snurfer]

Strong Essays
797 words (2.3 pages)

Snowboarding Traveling Essay

- The first time I went to the Matterhorn was on a snowboarding trip with friends. I learned that the world of snowboarding is filled with excitement and vast wonders. This experience is not only exciting. but it also takes you through beautiful scenery with new things to see every day. The feeling one gets when speeding down the mountain is one of a kind. Snowboarding leads to a vast world, filled with fresh powder and hard ice along with huge chairlifts that whisk you up the mountain. Throughout this environment, there are many new events and experiences....   [tags: Snowboarding, Snowboard, Fatigue, Snurfer]

Strong Essays
763 words (2.2 pages)

Religion and Evolution Essay

- Religion is a multifaceted-facetted progression, which is defined and understood in many ways; however the basic fundamental concepts of religion are shared emotional responses within a community of shared-value and likeminded members. Religion is a methodical dance involving history, message, faith, as well as reconciliation with natural science. The last step of that dance, reconciliation, is the perpetual stumbling block for many followers of many different religions. For many Christians, the biggest perpetual stumbling block for reconciliation is the theory of and proof for evolution....   [tags: Progression, Religion Concepts]

Strong Essays
1412 words (4 pages)

The Theory Of Evolution And Evolution Essay

- The theory of human evolution, contrary to creationism, which is the belief that “all present life-forms were spontaneously created at one point in time” is a scientific theory which proposes that the human species branched off from apes millions of years ago. In its simplest definition, evolution is the idea that changes within a species occur progressively over time, thus all lifeforms on the planet today have descended from earlier ones that existed long ago. The man responsible for popularizing the theory of evolution was English biologist Charles Darwin, who devoted his life to systematically finding evidence to support the concept....   [tags: Evolution, Charles Darwin, Natural selection]

Strong Essays
1188 words (3.4 pages)

Essay Snowboarding

- Snowboarding is a sport that is geared towards youth. When it was just beginning snowboarding was sort of an outcast activity on most mountains, now it’s become more mainstream. In fact it’s so popular now that it’s become an Olympic sport and mountains now cater towards snowboards. With this increase in popularity some of the traditional skiers are switching to snowboarding, which seems to be upsetting some of the younger snow boarders. The younger snowboarders don’t like the fact that they are sharing the mountain with their parents and in some cases their grandparents....   [tags: essays research papers]

Strong Essays
637 words (1.8 pages)