Essay on September 11: An Attack on Privacy and Civil Liberties

Essay on September 11: An Attack on Privacy and Civil Liberties

Length: 1929 words (5.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


Abstract: On September Eleventh, terrorists attacked more than the World Trade Center, the Pentagon, and rural Pennsylvania.  They also attacked American ideologies and feelings of security that hundreds of years had built.  Before these tragedies occurred, Americans viewed themselves as individuals and cherished the remnants of their individual lives that technology had not stolen from them.  Now Americans are coming together in mourning, and, in the process, changing their views on the individual and the balance between privacy and security.  This paper looks at how America has changed its stance on the privacy debate.

The target of the hijackers September eleventh was not the World Trade Center nor was it the Pentagon or the White House.  The intent of the attacks was more than murdering innocent Americans and destroying billions in property.  Instead, it was an attack on symbolic monuments of American culture: pride, security, stability, democracy and prosperity.  When the terrorists struck September eleventh, their aims were to change American society from one that prided itself on its continued fight for civil liberties to one where the populace is willing to sacrifice those very ideals and liberties to create a faint veil of security and, in this regard, the terrorists were successful.

The definition of "terrorism", according to Webster's dictionary, is "the systematic use of violence as a means to intimidate or coerce societies or governments"[1].  The September 11th attacks have fulfilled this definition of terrorism.  The attacks were aimed to radically change Americans' views of security and, beyond that, Americans' sense of freedom.  Follow-up evidence suggests that the attacks were successful in achieving th...


... middle of paper ...


...fs Reassessed." Ariana Eunjung Cha and Jonathan Krim. Washington Post. September 13, 2001. http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A21207-2001Sep12.html

[5] "Newsweek Poll: Bush Soars." Jane Spencer. Newsweek special on MSNBC.com September 15, 2001 http://www.msnbc.com/news/629455.asp

[6] "Living Under an Electronic Eye." Lisa Guernsey. New York Times. September 27, 2001.

[7] "Americans back encryption controls." Wendy McAuliffe. CNET special on MSNBC.com September 18, 2001 http://www.msnbc.com/news/630646.asp

[8] "Terrorist threat shifts priorities in online rights debate." Stephanie Olsen and Evan Hansen. CNET News.com September 17, 2001.  http://news.cnet.com/news/0-1005-201-7149229-0.html

[9] "Send in the online spooks?" Katharine Mieszkowski. Salon.com September 14, 2001. http://www.salon.com/tech/feature/2001/09/14/privacy/index.html

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about The Patriot Act vs Civil Liberties

- Is the patriot act necessary if it protects but threatens our civil liberates. The patriot act threatens civil liberates. The U.S. is spying without the people’s consent. The patriot act will prevent terrorist attacks on the United States. The patriot act can be used to catch wanted criminals. The patriot act protects the people from danger but jeopardizes their civil rights. “We have to make a balance between security and civil liberties.”(Sensenbrenner 2). The patriot act was passed with very little congressional debate....   [tags: politics, civil liberties]

Powerful Essays
1016 words (2.9 pages)

Why Are Civil Liberties Important? Essays

- Why are civil liberties considered fundamental and important to protecting U.S. citizens from both their National, State and Local governments. Civil liberties are constitutional freedoms that U.S. citizens have and that the government cannot abridge. The book American Government in Black and White by Paula D. McClain and Steven C. Tauber explains how civil liberties are important to a society. This paper will explain the importance of the selective incorporation of the Bill of Rights, the problems that continue to exist between the governments role in guaranteeing civil liberties to its citizens, and the conflicts with the civil liberty of the right to privacy....   [tags: United States Constitution]

Powerful Essays
1689 words (4.8 pages)

Essay on The September 11th Attacks On The World Trade Centers

- We 've all heard the infamous story about the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Centers in New York City. Many of these are theories, facts, and maybe even lies. The official story is one that is very cold and gruesome. On September 11, 2001, 19 militants associated with the Islamic extremist group "Al-Qaeda" hijacked four airlines and carried out suicide attacks in the United States (9/11). Over 3,100 people were killed during the attacks in New York, and Washington D.C. including more than 450 police officers and firefighters....   [tags: September 11 attacks, Al-Qaeda, Osama bin Laden]

Powerful Essays
1478 words (4.2 pages)

Essay on American Civil Liberties

- Terrorists attacks in America should not reduce or take away civil liberties because it unnecessarily increases government power, gives a false state of security, and goes against the concepts of liberty on which the United States was founded. In order to understand why these three things are important we must determine what are civil liberties. According to Wikipedia, “Civil liberties are rights and freedoms that protect an individual from the state” (Wikipedia, 2010). Why would we need protection from the state....   [tags: US Government]

Powerful Essays
2207 words (6.3 pages)

The September 11th Terrorist Attack Caused Great Fear On The American People

- Brandon Turske September 30, 2014 Ashley Ridge HS Mr. Wilson The September 11th terrorist attack caused great fear in the lives of the American people. The government used it 's power to pass the USA PATRIOT ACT, which was a bill that increased the security of the nation to prevent terrorist attacks similar to those of September eleventh. The Act had many parts to it that are believed to have infringed on the privacy of the American citizens. One would have to look at the parts of the Patriot Act, then review the civil liberties it infringes on, before they can reasonable state that the act is incorrectly seeking security....   [tags: Federal Bureau of Investigation, USA PATRIOT Act]

Powerful Essays
1249 words (3.6 pages)

Essay about The USA Patriot Act and Civil Liberties

- The USA Patriot Act and Civil Liberties September 11, 2001 sparked many different feelings into the hearts of Americans. People sprang into action to seek revenge and protect America’s precious soils from another deadly attack by reinforcing America’s strength through her government. The men and women of Congress retaliated to the terrorist attacks by drafting and passing the USA PATRIOT Act on October 26, 2001, which stands for “Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism.” The bill was moved through Congress with amazing speed and little hesitation....   [tags: Politics Political Essays]

Powerful Essays
1257 words (3.6 pages)

The U.S. Patriot Act and the Risk of Losing Our Civil Liberties Essay

- The U. S. Patriot Act and the Risk of Losing Our Civil Liberties Terrorism has drastically affected our recent way of life. It has disrupted our way of life by just the thought of at any moment we could be hit again. We as a people to counter act this threat we turned to laws and policies that would change our thoughts on civil liberties forever. Becoming and staying a free society is a very difficult balance in which we must maintain or security by not limiting our freedoms. Liberty in America rests on our complex constitutional system of checks and balances....   [tags: terrorism, homeland security]

Powerful Essays
1524 words (4.4 pages)

Civil Liberties Deals With The Protection Of The Citizen From The Government Under The Constitution

- ... He mentions President Obama using drones to kill U.S. Citizens and other terrorists. Stating that this power will be unchecked by giving the Executive Branch the legal authority. According to Ackerman, the U.S. Supreme Court has not completely protected our rights. He first mentions how America reacted leading to the Japanese internment camps. Instead of taking those who committed the crimes, people who had a slight Japan descent were forced to these camps, without due process. This blanket policy was played on hysteria....   [tags: President of the United States, Barack Obama]

Powerful Essays
886 words (2.5 pages)

The War on Terrorism Has Not Compromised Civil Liberties Essay

- The War on Terrorism Has Not Compromised Civil Liberties In the wake of 9/11, the United States of America began to fight a war on terrorism.  Many in this country would say we actually started a war against ourselves.  One argument is the war on terrorism has begun to erode our civil liberties.  Have our civil liberties really been abused or have they been slightly altered by the Patriot Act to protect all Americans best interests?  To fully protect Americans from future terrorist attacks monitoring, the Foreign Terrorist Tracking Task Force, and the Patriot Act have been essential components....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Argument Essays]

Powerful Essays
672 words (1.9 pages)

Essay about American Civil Liberties are NOT Violated by the Patriot Act

- American Civil Liberties are NOT Violated by the Patriot Act As we face the threat of terrorism, how do we protect ourselves without hurting our freedoms. Today, terrorism is a major threat to our homeland security and has become increasingly more prevalent and difficult to monitor with the public's accessibility to communication and information through today's technology. Terrorists are now able to communicate more freely with recent technological advances. In an effort to combat this new threat, the government passed the Patriot Act, which was created to relieve some of the difficulties of monitoring communications and activities of the public so the government can easily det...   [tags: Politics Political Argumentative Persuasive]

Powerful Essays
1870 words (5.3 pages)