Pro Death Penalty Essay

Pro Death Penalty Essay

Length: 961 words (2.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Capital punishment and the practice of the death penalty is an issue that is passionately debated in the United States. Opponents of the death penalty claim that capital punishment is unnecessary since a life sentence accomplishes the same objective. What death penalty opponents neglect to tell you is that convicted murders and child rapists escape from prison every year(List of prison escapes, 2015). As I write this essay, police are searching for two convicted murders who escaped from the Clinton Correctional Facility in Dannemora, New York on June 6th, 2015. The ONLY punishment from which one cannot escape is the death penalty.

Opponents of the death penalty believe capital punishment is unnecessary and inappropriate in our modern society. In their minds, such an act by the government serves no positive social purpose and only denigrates life (Death Penalty Focus, 2015). On the other hand, those in favor of capital punishment, including the US Supreme Court, see the death penalty as the proper punishment for certain criminals who have committed specific crimes. Supporters also argue that the death penalty is a necessary deterrent to saving innocent lives (Pro-Death Penalty, 2014). Based on my research of this issue I tend to agree with the death penalty advocates and believe that execution is the appropriate sentence and punishment for capital offenses.

There are six main rationales for abolishing the practice of capital punishment that are commonly heard. One reason is that capital punishment does not deter crime. Anti-death penalty advocates contend that scientific studies consistently fail to demonstrate that executions discourage people from committing crime (Death Penalty Focus, 2015). Another reason for stopping the death penalty is because it can and has been inflicted on innocent people. In addition, abolitionists suggest that the US is unable to prevent such occurrences (Death Penalty Focus, 2015). A third rationale is that the death penalty discriminates against certain ethnic and racial groups. According to Justice Department figures, nearly 80 percent of inmates on death row are Black, Hispanic or from another minority group (Eddlem, 2002). Yet another reason for abolishing capital punishment is that the death penalty is often applied at random. “Politics, quality of legal counsel and the jurisdiction where a crime is committed are more...


... middle of paper ...


... it achieves justice.

In my opinion, people who commit heinous crimes against humanity should be executed. Regardless of cost or how long it takes I believe that putting these people to death is the correct sentence, not only because I feel that they deserve to die but because the death penalty is a deterrent and society is better off without these criminals. Therefore I agree with supporters of capital punishment and that the death penalty should remain in existence. My research further solidified my position because I felt that the arguments in favor of capital punishment clearly debunked many of the reasons for abolishment by the anti-death penalty movement.




References

Death Penalty Focus (2015). Facts. Web. 8 June 2015. http://www.deathpenalty.org/index.php?pid=facts

Eddlem, T. R. (2004). Ten Anti-Death Penalty Fallacies.The New American. 2002. Web. 10 June 2015.
http://www.thenewamerican.com/tna/2002/06-03-2002/vo18no11_fallacies.htm

Pro-Death Penalty (2014). Death Penalty Paper. Web. 8 June 2015. http://www.prodeathpenalty.com/DP.html

"List of prison escapes" Wikipedia 2015. Web. 8 June 2015.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_prison_escapes

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Christians Must Support the Death Penalty Essay example

- There are two different kinds of righteousness that are explained through scripture; passive righteousness and active righteousness. In the film Dead Man Walking, Sister Helen, a nun, comforts Matthew, a convicted murderer and rapist, and the tension between her comforting Matthew over the families loss of their children grows. Sister Helen opposes the death penalty, whereas the Apostle Paul, in Romans 13, did not object to the death penalty. The Apostle Paul teaches that we must live by grace with each other, but Paul also clearly states that we are to obey and respect human government....   [tags: Pro Death Penalty]

Strong Essays
971 words (2.8 pages)

Pro Death Penalty Essay

- Capital punishment and the practice of the death penalty is an issue that is passionately debated in the United States. Opponents of the death penalty claim that capital punishment is unnecessary since a life sentence accomplishes the same objective. What death penalty opponents neglect to tell you is that convicted murders and child rapists escape from prison every year(List of prison escapes, 2015). As I write this essay, police are searching for two convicted murders who escaped from the Clinton Correctional Facility in Dannemora, New York on June 6th, 2015....   [tags: Capital Punishment essays research papers]

Strong Essays
961 words (2.7 pages)

Pro-Death Penalty Essay

- There are a total of 3,350 inmates currently on death row. These people include all of the main races in America. In 1965 Robert Massie murdered a mother of two in California during a robbery. Mere hours before he was scheduled to be executed. A stay was issued so he could testify, he had found evidence to support his cases and got parole and a second chance. Eight months later he robbed and murdered a businessman in California. This is a obvious that the death penalty should not be abolished, better yet supported in all states....   [tags: Pro Capital Punishment Essays]

Strong Essays
1250 words (3.6 pages)

Pro Capital Punishment Speech

- It was midnight when it all happened. Tom Peterson was sleeping in bed next to his wife after a tiring day at work, while his two little daughters slept in the next room. Suddenly he was violently awakened by the terrified screams of his wife only to get a glance of a huge man standing over him with a butcher's knife. Tom was stabbed thirteen times, one of his daughters was killed and his wife was severely injured. Now, the Peterson family has just exited the supreme court of justice in which the judge has condemned the murderer of their little girl to the death penalty, for as it turns out the Peterson family had not been the first victim of this murderer....   [tags: Pro Death Penalty Essays]

Free Essays
1084 words (3.1 pages)

The Death Penalty is a Just and Proper Punishment Essay example

- The Death Penalty is a Just and Proper Punishment The idea of putting another human to death is hard to completely fathom. The physical mechanics involved in the act of execution are easy to grasp, but the emotions involved in carrying out a death sentence on another person, regardless of how much they deserve it, is beyond my own understanding. I know it must be painful, dehumanizing, and sickening. However, this act is sometimes necessary and it is our responsibility as a society to see that it is done....   [tags: Pro Capital Punishment Death Penalty Crime Essays]

Free Essays
924 words (2.6 pages)

Essay on Pro Death Penalty as a Means of Effective Punishment

- A teenage girl, Paula Cooper, from Gary, Indiana, and her three friends wanted some money to play video games. For them, Ruth Pelke, a 78-year-old Bible teacher, was an easy target. By taking Bible lessons from her, the four teens gained entry to her house. Then, with a 12-inch butcher knife, Paula Cooper stabbed the elderly lady 33 times to death. It is not a wonder that few had little sympathy for Paula Cooper, who was sentenced to death in 1986. Throughout ages, the death penalty has been used to punish criminals for severe crimes....   [tags: essays research papers]

Strong Essays
1128 words (3.2 pages)

Capital Punishment: Not Cruel and Not Unusual Essay

- Capital punishment and the practice of the death penalty is an issue that is passionately debated in the United States. Opponents of the death penalty claim that capital punishment is unnecessary since a life sentence accomplishes the same objective. What death penalty opponents neglect to tell you is that convicted murders and child rapists escape from prison every year(List of prison escapes, 2015). As I write this essay, police are searching for two convicted murders who escaped from the Clinton Correctional Facility in New York on June 6th, 2015....   [tags: Pro Death Penalty Essays]

Strong Essays
1267 words (3.6 pages)

Capital Punishment Reduces Heinous Crimes Essay

- Even though all humans have a right to life, there are certain circumstances whereby this right can be overruled for instance taking the life of person. Death penalty has been adopted by many states and is commonly used for heinous crimes, especially murder. It is also used on crimes against the state such as treason, crimes against humanity, espionage and violent crimes while other states use it as part of military justice. A debate over death penalty has been going on for years now and continues to be extremely indecisive and a complicated issue....   [tags: Pro Death Penalty Essays]

Strong Essays
1020 words (2.9 pages)

Essay about Capital Punishment Is Necessary

- “Over 500,000 murderers, convicted and undetected, are living in America today” (Death Penalty 55). Keeping the death penalty upheld and established in all states would greatly decrease that number. Something must be done to keep citizens safe and to keep the murder rates low. Capital Punishment is a rightly justified penalty because it is moral retribution, constitutional, and it deters crime. One reason that Capital Punishment is just is the idea that it is moral retribution to the murderer....   [tags: Pro-Death Penalty Essays]

Strong Essays
1118 words (3.2 pages)

America Needs Capital Punishment Essay

- In this essay, I will argue for the implementation of the death penalty. I will establish a clear-cut profile for a criminal to be eligible for death row. I will put forth arguments for and against the death penalty as supported by various groups and try to defend my position. I shall also try to criticize the case against the death penalty with individual arguments. Finally, I will demonstrate that no alternative to capital punishment can be reached and try to convince you for its fairness. Despite ethical and moral concerns, the issue of capital punishment must not be dismissed without serious consideration and scrutiny....   [tags: Pro Death Penalty Essays]

Strong Essays
2032 words (5.8 pages)