Being A Mortician Essay

Being A Mortician Essay

Length: 1626 words (4.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Being a Mortician


     The word mortician brings what images to mind? The career of a
mortician is surprisingly different than it is portraied in movies and books.
Being a mortician is a very rewarding job both personal as well as psychological
to those with the temperament, training and discipline required to do the job
properly. In this paper I'll be reporting the requirements to become a
mortician, also called funeral director or undertaker, the duties the job
requires of you, and the outlook of this career in the future of the United
States.
     To become a funeral director in the United States today isn't an easy
task. You need to be twenty-one, a high school graduate with some undergraduate
college work, as well as at least one year of professional training in mortuary
science, and completion of an apprenticeship. "Upon completing a state board
licensing exam, new funeral directors are qualified to join the staff of a
funeral home. In many states successful completion of a national examination
given by the National Conference of Examining boards will qualify you for
licensure"(IRN 10). In different states the undergraduate college credit varies
considerably, one-third of the states require one year; another third wants
two years; and the other third requires three years of credit(IRN 9). A
concentration of courses is also required in some of the states. You may need
to take 15 credits in natural science, 13 in social sciences, 13 in business, 14
in chemistry(IRN 10). In addition to your college work, you will need at least
50 credit hours of professional work in mortuary science. "There are about 40
schools of mortuary science officially recognized by the U.S. Department of
Education today"(Shipley 220). The curriculum generally consists of courses in:

"Embalming, Restorative Art, Chemistry, Microbiology, Pathology, Anatomy, Small
Business Management, Funeral Home management, Merchandising, Accounting, Funeral
Home Law, Computers, History and sociology of Funeral Service, Psychology of
Grief, Grief Counseling, oral and Written Communication, Funeral Service Law,
Business Law, and Ethics"(IRN 11).

Along with educational requirements you need to look at the personal
requirements it takes to be a funeral director. You have to be on call 24-hours
a day 7 days a week, deat...


... middle of paper ...


... no
background in the profession(CGP 3). The field is highly secure and recession
proof. Chances are that if you are temperamentally matched to the requirements
of the work and like your job, you will have few worries about security. Most
funeral directors stay with their employers for many years and there is
relatively little turnover in the field(IRN 12). The earnings as a funeral
director greatly depends on the area of the country in which you are employed,
the size of the funeral home at which you work and the number of cases handled.
Also, your salary will depend upon whether your community in unionized or
not(generally union contracts call for higher salaries and more generous
benefits)(IRN 20). Average salaries, including bonuses, for owner-managers are
about $60,000 annually. Midlevel managers averaged $40,000. Embalmers earn
average salaries of $30,000 and apprentices average $20,000(IRN 21).
     In conclusion, the career as a mortician is very emotionally and
physically challenging, but is a very secure future. Chances are if you set out
to be a mortician and make it through the schooling you will find a secure job
someplace and be set for life.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

A Day in the Life of a Mortician Essay

- Mortician What is a mortician. When it comes to this profession, a mortician will have to wear a number of different hats. Morticians work in funeral homes, embalming bodies and actually preparing the service (“Work Environment”). From make up to dress up, they do it all. Morticians go through many obstacles and dedicate so much of their time; these are the reasons why many people would turn away from this occupation (“Work Environment”). The actual practice of embalming did not surface until the Civil War from 1861-1865, where 600,000 soldiers were killed (McMahon)....   [tags: embalming, bodies, service, hours]

Strong Essays
828 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on Requirements for a Career as Licensed Funeral Director

- ... Before becoming a licensed funeral director, there are numerous requirements that need to be fulfilled. One must be at least twenty-one years of age and study mortuary science and embalming for a minimum of two years. Along with this, they are obligated to apprentice or intern for at least one year and pass a national board exam. They must also attain a state license in order to practice what they have studied (Education Portal. 2014.). Internships are not always paid so one must really love what they are instructed to do in order to pursue their goals of becoming a mortician....   [tags: mortician, casket, embalmer]

Strong Essays
1061 words (3 pages)

The Importance Of Being Ernest And Insignificance Of Being Earnest Essay

- The Importance of Being Ernest and Insignificance of Being Earnest According to two female characters in Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest, Ernest is a name that is typically desirable for a husband and represents high social status and wealth. Earnest, on the contrary, according to the Merriam Webster Dictionary, means to be “serious, sincere”, or, in other words, honest (“Earnest”). Within the irony of the title of Wilde’s play itself, the hypocrisy of the high social class of the Victorian era is revealed....   [tags: Victorian era, The Importance of Being Earnest]

Strong Essays
1137 words (3.2 pages)

Preference Theory and Well-Being Essay

- A preference theory is a philosophical theory that the fulfilment of preferences is the only thing that matters in contributing to well-being. Well-being can be seen as what people ultimately want to achieve; the “ultimate good”1. In terms of preference theory, for you to reach the state of well-being then you must have your preferences satisfied. Preference theories can be split into two distinct categories, actual preference theory and ideal preference theory2. Actual preference theory deals with preferences people actually have, regardless of misinformation or irrationality, while ideal preference theory is interested in what we would “hypothetically” prefer, if we were completely inf...   [tags: Phylosophy, Well-being]

Strong Essays
1864 words (5.3 pages)

Essay on Not Being Earnest in The Importance of Being Earnest

- Not Being Earnest in The Importance of Being Earnest While some critics contend that The Importance of Being Earnest is completely fanciful and has no relation to the real world, others maintain that Oscar Wilde's "trivial comedy for serious people" does make significant comments about social class and the institution of marriage. These observations include the prevalent utilization of deceit in everyday affairs. Indeed the characters and plot of the play appear to be entirely irreverent, thus lending weight to the comedic, fanciful aspect....   [tags: The Importance of Being Earnest]

Strong Essays
866 words (2.5 pages)

Being There by Jerzy Kosinski Essay

- In his novel Being There, Jerzy Kosinski shows how present day culture has strayed away from the ideal society that Plato describes in his allegory of the cave. In his metaphor, Plato describes the different stages of life and education through the use of a cave. In the first level of the cave, Plato describes prisoners who are shackled and facing a blank wall. Behind them is a wall of fire with a partition that various objects are placed and manipulated by another group of people. These shadows are the only action that they ever see....   [tags: Kosinski Being There]

Strong Essays
1592 words (4.5 pages)

Jerzy Kosinki's Being There Essay

- Jerzy Kosinki's Being There At quaint coffee houses, expensive restaurants, and homes around the world, movies and books are spoken of quite frequently. What happens when a best- selling book turns into Hollywood's project. In many cases, the remade story often does not do the book justire. Remaking a movie after a book can also propel a book and its author into stardom. This is the case for Jerzy Kosinki's popular book Being There. Patterning the remade movie version of Being There after the original book, Kosinski greatly enhances the entertainment value for the audience....   [tags: Being There Essays]

Free Essays
1216 words (3.5 pages)

Being There - A Bit More Like Chance Essay

- Being There - A Bit More Like Chance While watching the movie Being There, the viewer begins to notice just how different the book and the movie are. While the book appeals more to the reader's emotions, the movie gives a comical outlook on the problems faced in both the book and the movie. The contrast between the two places them into separate categories--a touching story about a man trapped in a world of which he knows nothing about and a satirical comedy about the very same man....   [tags: Being There Essays]

Strong Essays
865 words (2.5 pages)

Kosinski's Being There and the Existential Anti-Hero Essay

- Kosinski's Being There and the Existential Anti-Hero      Critics have referred to Kosinski's Being There as his worst novel.  Perhaps, Kosinski's prosaic style is deceptive in its apparent simplicity (especially when contrasted with The Painted Bird).  "What Kosinski seeks to do," as Welch D. Everman relates, "is to stimulate the reader's recreative and imaginative task by offering only the essentials...Kosinski's style draws the reader into the incident by refusing to allow him to remain passive" (25).  This essay will propose that Being There is a major existential work following in the tradition of Sartre and Camus in which Chance, the main protagonist, mirrors Camus's Mersault in A H...   [tags: Being There Essays]

Strong Essays
3196 words (9.1 pages)

Essay on Being There: Comparison of Book and Movie

- Being There: Comparison of Book and Movie The book, "Being There," is about a man named Chance, who is forced to move out of the house he lived in his whole life and his experience in the outside world. Based on the success of the book, the movie, "Being There," was made. The author of the book, Jerzy Kosinski, also wrote the screenplay for the movie. I think the major difference between the book and the movie is that in the book, we get to read what Chance is feeling and thinking, but in the movie, we only get to see his actions....   [tags: Being There Literature Movies Essays]

Strong Essays
1118 words (3.2 pages)