The Smart Classroom Essay

The Smart Classroom Essay

Length: 1573 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Smart Classroom

The classroom is a place that is constantly trying to be improved for the betterment of students’ education. New teaching methods and improvement in environment are all constantly being researched; however, recently, research on technology in the classroom has flourished. The Smart Classroom contains these technological advances and triggers them toward in-hancing student learning.

Classrooms in the past never really took into consideration that all students learned differently, so one method of teaching was used. This method being, oral lectures that students were expected to take notes on, followed by long winded exams. It wasn’t until later down the line that educators realized that not all students are capable of learning and understanding lessons in this way, and researched different ways to improve teaching. For example, Howard Gardner came to the conclusion that each person is one of seven intelligences. : If a student enjoys reading or writing stories and doing puzzles, then they have the intelligence of Linguistic. Students who are drawn to more strategy type games and logic kind of games are said to be of the Logical-Mathematical Intelligence. Students who are very active whether it be in a sport or art activity, such as dance, are said to be of the Body-Kinesthic Intelligence. Spatial students learn with pictures, they need to see things to understand, they are drawn toward drawing and building with blocks. Musical Intelligences are students who are drawn to music, they have the ability to learn by listening and can many times hear things that others are not able to. Students who thrive at being the leader and being in charge of their peers have the Intelligence of Interpersonal, these types o...


... middle of paper ...


...Retrieved April 10, 2005, from http://www.classrooms.com/

Smart Classrooms Instructional Media Services. (April 3rd, 2003). Retrieved April 10, 2005, from http://www.humboldt.edu/~ims/smart/smartrms.htm

Smart Classrooms. (2002). Retrieved April 10, 2005, from http://www2.mcdaniel.edu/its/smart_classrooms.htm

Smart Classrooms, Huntingdon College. (2003). Retrieved April 11, 2005, from, http://www.huntingdon.edu/academics/smart_classrooms

Domermuth, David. (2005). Creating a Smart Classroom. Tech Directions, 64(6), 21-22. Retrieved April 12, 2005, from Teacher Reference Center/EBSCO database.

Carlson, Scott. (2002). Wired to the Hilt. Chronicle of Higher Education, 48, A33-A35. Retrieved April 12, 2005, from ERIC/EBSCO database.

Human Intelligence, Howard Gardner. (2004). Retrieved May 3, 2005, from www.indiana.edu/~intell/gardner.shtml

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about The Effect Of Technology On The Classroom

- Assignment 1 In the first few weeks of my practicum experience, we were to examine the use of technology in the classroom. I am in the a first grade classroom at the beginning of the school day when the students arrive, do morning work, and then go to centers. The main technology I have seen so far is the use of iPads during centers, however Mrs. Zeek says they use the smart board for other subjects. Describe the types of technology that the teacher uses for teaching. I am only in my placement during centers so unfortunately I do not get to see many instructional methods of Mrs....   [tags: Education, Teacher, Classroom]

Powerful Essays
726 words (2.1 pages)

Using Technology Into The Classroom Essay

- In recent years my school has been introducing more technology into the classroom. The helpfulness depends on the class and the skill of the teacher. Some classes are forced to shoehorn online use in and the result in a worse class experience. A few of my older teachers aren’t adept with using a computer and fumble trying to find ways to use technology in their class room. My personal experience is mixed, I support the use of technology, but only when the teachers can add to the learning experience....   [tags: School, Education, Teacher, Classroom]

Powerful Essays
1058 words (3 pages)

Essay Classroom And Social Studies Classroom

- I have learned many things in this class, even though I do not directly teach reading as a course I am still able to use the same strategies from this course in my science and social studies classroom. I didn’t expect to takes as much away from this course as I have. A majority of my work does not include reading basic terms or reviewing sounds that may be used outside of the classroom. One of the first things I did when we began this class was to look for some way for my students to work in collaborative groups and take the assignments given and understand the material....   [tags: Education, Classroom, Student, Word]

Powerful Essays
1042 words (3 pages)

Using Technology in The Classroom to Enhance Learning Essay

- I will be using the elementary school scenario for a fifth grade mixed level classroom (special education and regular education) in my discussion for this task. A. Motivation Sarah: “Sarah cannot seem to sit in her seat and wanders around the room.” Sarah has been diagnosed with ADHD and has trouble sitting in her chair for more than 15 minutes at a time. Sarah needs understanding of how essential cooperation is to maintaining a learning environment (Savage & Savage, 2009, Chapter 3). Intrinsic (internal) motivation varies for individual students and requires more creativity to create in a student....   [tags: Technology in The Classroom]

Powerful Essays
1129 words (3.2 pages)

Should Smart Phones Be Banned? Essay

- With the click of a button, a swipe of a finger, and a few taps on a touch screen, students have access to any amount of information they could ever want, or need. Some students might use this information for good and just for study, or use it to try and help other students who are struggling in the class. The few that would not, however, would cheat and not be honest on their exams and assignments. These few choice students, who will cheat, or text, and who 's phones would make distracting and loud noises, are why it is a much better policy to ban all smart phones from classrooms, rather than allow students to have them....   [tags: Mobile phone, Rotary dial, IPhone, Motorola]

Powerful Essays
1016 words (2.9 pages)

A Learning Environment Effect On The Classroom Essay

- A. Learning Environment Effect. George has unruly behavior that affects other students in the classroom, not only that George’s behavior is disruptive, but his behavior is disruptive to his fellow classmates. George’s behavior became disruptive from the point where he strikes at his fellow students, and throws paper and his books at the classroom floor whenever he gets angry. George’s disruptive behavior affect and it also interferes with his fellow students listening to the presentation from the teacher....   [tags: Education, Classroom, Human behavior, Psychology]

Powerful Essays
890 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on Questions On The Classroom Class

- Task 1 A) 1. 8th grade math class, 28 students that are all white with a mixture of boys and girls. They are seated in rows facing the board. The teacher teaches with a smart board with help from the students. He then assigns a worksheet and then book work. 2. The teacher uses an authoritative style to manage the classroom. He does this by having high expectations of the students, but also being flexible to their back grounds and culture. I feel it is very effective strategy for him. He does not have very many behavior problems, even though the class I observed was a lower level class....   [tags: Teacher, Lesson plan, Education, Classroom]

Powerful Essays
2018 words (5.8 pages)

Essay on SMART Boards to Build Math Skills

- Math is one of the fundamental subjects taught in elementary school and is a necessity for overall academic survival. Young learners’ future understanding of mathematics requires an early foundation based on a high quality, challenging, and accessible mathematics education (NCTM, 2013). An engaging and encouraging learning environment helps children develop confidence in their ability to understand and use mathematics. However, math proves to be a difficult subject for many students. In a world filled with technology, it has become increasingly important to incorporate technology based-teaching in the classroom....   [tags: Math, Elementary School, Education]

Powerful Essays
1126 words (3.2 pages)

Cell Phones in the Classroom: Policy, Advantages, & Disadvantages Essay

- Introduction Electronic devices, particularly cellular phones have become a mainstay in our society. Cell phones and other forms of hand-held digital technology have made their way into the classroom and has become a common accessory among high school and middle school students. By the time a student is in middle school, it is likely that they already own a cell phone and carry it with them wherever they go (Lucking, Edwin & Mervyn, 2010). As the technological capabilities of these hand held devices increase and the upsurge of their popularity continues, educators race to establish protocol for their use at school (Charles, 2012)....   [tags: Technology, cell phones in the classroom]

Powerful Essays
1996 words (5.7 pages)

Essay on Classroom Management Philosophy

- Classroom Management Plan A.        The philosophy that I am developing behind my classroom management plan is one that is based on clear communication with my students.  I believe that it is important to value relationships with students because that is the starting point of creating a classroom climate that is positive and consistent.  It is my goal to cultivate self-directed students so that the behavior management is not taking up lots of valuable class time.  Although school seems competitive in its nature because we use grades as the form of evaluation, it is my thought that competition in the classroom should be limited because this will increase better behavior and achievement in a...   [tags: Classroom Management Plan 2014]

Powerful Essays
2600 words (7.4 pages)