Preview
Preview

Essay on Religion and Cultural Identity

:: 22 Works Cited
Length: 5045 words (14.4 double-spaced pages)
Rating: Blue      
Open Document




- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Religion and Cultural Identity

Is it possible to be a Muslim without believing the validity of the prophecies of Mohammed? Is it possible to be a Christian without believing in the resurrection of Jesus? My definition of religion transformed greatly during my studies the past few months. Even as a religion major at St. Olaf College I thought of religion very narrowly, as a construct of metaphysical beliefs. But I've come to realize that religion runs far deeper than my Lutheran mind previously conceived.

By studying cultures and religions other than my own in Turkey, Morocco, Egypt and Greece it became clear to me that religion plays a huge part in shaping ones cultural identity. Bringing this "cultural identity" viewpoint to its fullest extent one could effectively be a Muslim or a Christian without really even believing the fundamental precepts of the faith. Of course this is not always or even usually the case. The point is, religion as a determinant of culture identity goes far beyond the agreed upon truths of the faith.

For the purposes of this study I have defined cultural identity as the feeling of self-definition an individual has which is formed through a sense of belonging to a certain group. In this presentation I will be looking specifically at the effects of religion to this sense of cultural identity.

Because of the colossal impact of religion in the countries surveyed the only accurate way to peek at how these people understanding themselves and their place in the world is to first have an understanding of the major religion or religions that are at work within a given society. But that statement demands the question, how is it that through religion we define ourselves? My research relies heavily on the inte...


... middle of paper ...


...tober 2004. < http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/1599003.stm .> Pelham, Nick. "Morocco continues liberal moves." 22 October 1999. BBC News Homepage. October 2004. < http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/482053.stm .>

Interviews:

Binebine, Touria. Personal Interview. October 2004.

Birol. Personal Interview. Sept. 2004.

Bouamal, Asmaa. Personal Interview. October 2004.

Carmocoleous, Dimitris. Personal Interview. January 2004.

Chaouki, Adib. Personal Interview. October 2004.

Lacher Adil. Personal Interview. October 2004

Larbi. Personal Interview. October 2004.

Monsour, Sarah. Personal Interview. October 2004

Nahir, Mohammed. Personal Interview. October 2004.

Pinar. Personal Interview. Sept. 2004

Tarik. Personal Interview. October 2004.

Toprak, Binnaz. Personal Interview. Sept. 2004

Sajid, Mahmud. Personal Interview. October 2004.


Click the button above to view the complete essay, speech, term paper, or research paper

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »







This essay is 100% guaranteed.


Title Length Color Rating  
Religion Values, and Culture Identity Development Essay example - Identity is a word that is used very commonly and regularly by people in their daily life. Identity formation is a process of developing distinct, separate identity. “A person’s identity has many attributes. It is a representation of one’s unique personal experience, memory, ethnicity, culture, religious orientation, gender, occupational role, amongst various other factors. Erikson refers to identity as “some belief in the sameness and continuity of some shared world image.”Identity may be defined as one’s consciousness of one self and others’ perception of one’s individuality”, (Yamin, 2008)....   [tags: cultural identity, cultural classification, muslim]
:: 7 Works Cited
3005 words
(8.6 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Cultural Identity and the Language of Food Essay example - Cultural Identity and the Language of Food Food is integral to cultural identity and is as much a part of culture as religion and language. Indeed, some cultures elevate food to a level nearing, if not exceeding, the status of their religion. Because I love to cook, to combine flavors in a way that results in something unexpected and wonderful, this paper will discuss various words related to food. Not actual food words, but words surrounding food. Interesting words like “gastronomy” and “feast.” Often there is much symbolism related to these words; from the fundamental idea that to eat is to live to the possibility that there are religious connotations to the etymology of some of thes...   [tags: Cultural Identity Essays]
:: 11 Works Cited
4288 words
(12.3 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Maintaining Cultural Identity in Design Essay example - Throughout the world, there are an abundance of diverse cultures, each truly unique in comparison to another. Culture is described as the “characteristics of a particular group of people, defined by everything from language, religion, cuisine, social habits, music and arts” (Zimmermann). Each of these traits is what sets each society apart, and is what influences their expression of design. Throughout this course, we’ve learned how planning and design have varied all through history, however we decided to take it a step further and focus on how different regions throughout the world create spaces that reflect their own cultures’ particular interests....   [tags: Design and Cultural Identity]
:: 11 Works Cited
2553 words
(7.3 pages)
Research Papers [preview]
Consumer Culture and Identity Essay - Introduction Fonseca (2008) defines Consumer culture as a process that “represents a condition in which consumption is seen as having the role of increasingly mediating certain aspects of social relations and consumption has the symbolic ability to represent affiliation to a certain group and its lifestyles, as well as to generate a sense of identity.” The mention of identity in Fonseca’s definition brings about an understanding of the impact consumer culture can have on social agents, and not just on the economic or capitalism that comes with consumption....   [tags: Cultural Identity Essays]
:: 15 Works Cited
2228 words
(6.4 pages)
Term Papers [preview]
My Cultural Identity Essay - My culture identity, as I know it as is African American. My culture can be seen in food, literature, religion, language, the community, family structure, the individual, music, dance, art, and could be summed up as the symbolic level. Symbolic, because faith plays a major role in our daily lives through song, prayer, praise and worship. When I’m happy I rely on my faith, same as when I’m sad, for I know things will get better as they have before. There are different disciplines within the humanities, but there is one that I feel that has influenced my cultural identity the most…music....   [tags: Cultural Identity Essays]
:: 7 Works Cited
1009 words
(2.9 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay about Analysis Of Human Cultural Identity - This paper is intended to contain the analysis of the human cultural identity, as seen in the following five historical cultural periods: Enlightenment Culture; Greco-Roman Culture; Judeo-Christian Culture; Renaissance-Reformation Culture; and Industrialization-Modernism Culture. It also embodies examples of each era that are clearly stated, and how they relate to the cultural period. The cultural identity of the Enlightenment can be described as emphasizing the possibilities of human reason. This idea can be illustrated with such examples as Thomas Jefferson, Denis Diderot, and Protestantism....   [tags: Cultural Identity Essays] 947 words
(2.7 pages)
Better Essays [preview]
Essay on Maintaining the Amish Cultural Identity - What is it that makes a culture of people separate themselves from the world and everything that it has to offer. Some people think that it is because they do not like the direction the world is heading in. Others believe that society does not accept them for the person that they want to be. But in some cases the reason is as simple as religion. The Amish is a perfect example of a traditional culture that has sustained themselves in America for over three hundred years. Their belief in the bible is the bases for their structured lives, specifically Romans 12 of the Old Testament, “Do not be conformed to this world”.*** Trying to maintain their cultural identity will prove to be a challe...   [tags: Cultural Identity Essays] 1297 words
(3.7 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]
Maintaining Cultural Identity in the Face of Adversity Essay - Maintaining Cultural Identity in the Face of Adversity "At the turn of the century, Sea Island Gullahs, descendants of African Captives, remained isolated from the mainland of South Carolina and Georgia. As a result of their isolation, the Gullah created and maintained a distinct, imaginative, and original African American Culture. Gullah communities recalled, remembered, and recollected much of what their ancestors brought with them from Africa…" - Prologue to Julie Dash’s "Daughters of the Dust" The people who settled in the United States from all over the world built the rich history of the country....   [tags: Cultural Identity Essays]
:: 4 Works Cited
1438 words
(4.1 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Israel's Land, Culture, History, and Religion Essay examples - The record of human habitation in Israel is at least 100,000 years, old. Evidence of the domestication of plants and animals can be dated to about 10,000 BC. The State of Israel, an independent nation in southwest Asia, is located between the eastern shores of the Mediterranean Sea and the Gulf of an arm of the Red Sea. "Israel is considered the Holy Land for Christians, Jews, and Muslims {1}". Which includes religious representation of most of the world's entire population. To reflect on all the different aspects of the cultural and historical geography of Israel would certainly be out of the scope of this tiny paper so, general information will then be discussed below....   [tags: Cultural Identity Essays]
:: 6 Works Cited
1466 words
(4.2 pages)
Powerful Essays [preview]
Religion, Sexuality, and Identity in the New South Essay - Religion, Sexuality, and Identity in the New South A long line forms at Our Way Café in Decatur, Georgia as customers are anxious to buy a plate heaping with traditional Southern food. If one were to observe the employees and those in line, one might notice that a diverse group patronizes this restaurant. There are men in business suits, men in gas station jump suits, women with huge diamond earrings, and women in sweats. Blacks, whites, young, old, Hispanics, and many gays eat and work at Our Way Café....   [tags: Religion Sexuality identity Essays] 4222 words
(12.1 pages)
Strong Essays [preview]