Privacy vs. Security Essay

Privacy vs. Security Essay

Length: 2628 words (7.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Privacy vs. Security


Introduction

Pictures seen in homes across America and throughout the world of American symbols in flames and crashing a quarter mile to the ground changed the world forever. The world's last and only superpower had been attacked in a way only conceivable in a Hollywood script. However, the physical destruction that resulted was not necessarily the biggest loss that the United States faced. The emotional destruction of Americans could be considered much greater and can be captured in one word: "fear." Because of this fear, most Americans were more willing to sacrifice many of the freedoms that make this country great in exchange for added security. United States citizens were much more concerned about their security than their freedoms. As the President declared war against terrorism, an implicit war was declared against some of our freedoms. In particular, most Americans were more willing to let the government into their lives and forfeit some privacy in the name of increased security.

The events of September 11, 2001 affected not only the United States, but the entire world as well. After the fall of the Soviet Union, the world was left with one remaining superpower. The United States proved in Afghanistan and Iraq that it has the power to defeat an entire country in a minimal amount of time and without losing many of the lives of its own soldiers. However, is it legal to do these acts? Is it the right thing to do? Not only is the United States government interfering with the freedoms of its own citizens, but it is also imposing its own standards and freedoms on people around the globe. Though the United States has shown that it has the power to do so, is the security of the American people para...


... middle of paper ...


...chive.aclu.org/issues/privacy/hmprivacy.html>

3 "Privacy and Human Rights: An International Survey of Privacy Laws and Practice",
Global Internet Liberty Campaign, 21 Jan. 2004
<http://www.gilc.org/privacy/survey/intro.html>

4 "Surveillance Under the "USA/Patriot" Act", American Civil Liberties Union, 2002, 22
Jan 2004
<http://archive.aclu.org/issues/privacy/USAPA_surveillance.html>

5 Timothy Lynch, "More Surveillance Equals Less Liberty: Patriot Act reduces privacy,
undercuts judicial review", 2003, 20 Jan. 2004
<http://www.cato.org/research/articles/lynch-030910.html>

6 "United States of America", Global Internet Liberty Campaign, 21 Jan. 2004
<http://www.gilc.org/privacy/survey/surveylz.html#USA>

7 "USA Patriot Act" United States Senate, 2001, 20 Jan. 2004
<http://www.epic.org/privacy/terrorism/hr3162.html>

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

How to Increase Security and Privacy in iPhone 5S Running iOS7 Essay

- In this modern era, smart-phones have achieved computing and networking capabilities that has increasing the overall demand of apps among the users. The widespread availability and quantity of downloadable apps has often given rise to the substantial security and privacy concerns. Rather than using mobile web, individuals are spending more time using mobile apps. So, security and privacy are the major responsibilities for businesses involved in mobile apps development. With the launch of iOS 7 and iPhone 5S, Apple has surely started the debate of mobile security again....   [tags: apps, privacy, security, technogy]

Powerful Essays
574 words (1.6 pages)

Privacy vs. Security Essay

- Ever since day one, people have been developing and creating all sorts of new methods and machines to help better everyday life in one way or another. Who can forget the invention of the ever-wondrous telephone. And we can’t forget how innovative and life-changing computers have been. However, while all machines have their positive uses, there can also be many negatives depending on how one uses said machines, wiretapping in on phone conversations, using spyware to quietly survey every keystroke and click one makes, and many other methods of unwanted snooping have arisen....   [tags: Privacy, Security]

Powerful Essays
1260 words (3.6 pages)

Essay on National Security vs. the Right to Privacy

- During totalitarian leadership, many control tactics are used to maintain power. Whether it is censorship, revised history, terror, or propaganda, these tactics ensure that the dictator remains in power. I believe the three most important tactics are propaganda, censorship, and terror. The most effective is terror, because fear can make people completely change who they are as people to stay alive. If you can control what people are afraid of, you can control almost every aspect of their lives. One of the simplest ways of controlling a society is by propaganda....   [tags: Security vs Privacy]

Powerful Essays
1124 words (3.2 pages)

Indiviual Privacy vs National Security Essay

- James Madison once said “Knowledge will forever govern ignorance; and a people who mean to be their own governors must arm themselves with the power which knowledge gives.” To gain a better understanding of a society, one must gain knowledge of the needs and wants the citizens’ demand from the country’s representatives. In every country the needed to protect its citizens is the same. In some nations, security is a higher priority which causes sacrifices to be made to obtain an indefinite protection against all rivals....   [tags: Privacy vs Security ]

Powerful Essays
1175 words (3.4 pages)

Essay on National Security vs. the Right to Privacy

- "Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing." -- Helen Keller Security has been a common topic of controversy since the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, and even before then it was a constant subject. The image of buildings collapsing and billowing smoke has been engraved into the minds of Americans and will remain there for years to come. Security is an issue that we encounter everyday. Whether it is driving down the freeway or walking into the grocery store; we are cautious of what is going on around us....   [tags: Security vs Privacy]

Powerful Essays
2936 words (8.4 pages)

National Security vs. the Right to Privacy Essay

- When the Challenger space shuttle blew up. Students gathered in the student lounge for hours, watching in disbelief. In a way, it was more existential than September 11. We watched the same ten seconds of the shuttle explosion over and over again, without there being a trace of the Shuttle anywhere in the world. That day was a technological disaster, a mechanical disaster that Americans, in our inimical fashion, could quickly fix. What students watched on September 11, 2001 was a social and political disaster....   [tags: Security vs Privacy]

Powerful Essays
796 words (2.3 pages)

National Security vs. the Right to Privacy Essay examples

-       Abstract: Electronic mail is quickly becoming the most prevalent method of communication in the world. However, e-mail systems in corporate, institutional, and commercial environments are all potential targets of monitoring, surveillance and ultimately, censorship.             Electronic mail is a phenomenon that has begun to pervade all aspects of our lives today. We use e-mail in our personal lives, at our schools, at our jobs, and everywhere in between. However, very few of us consider the fact that even though our e-mail is composed by the sender, and is intended to be read only by  the recipient, it actually passes through many hands in between....   [tags: Security vs Privacy]

Powerful Essays
1764 words (5 pages)

The Security And Privacy Issues Essay

- I have been interested in computer security for a while now. So that’s why I chose to research on some security and privacy issues that are challenging. For example using our cellular phones, playing games online, shopping online and even our private health data, can be invaded by unauthorized users. Therefore, in order to obtain personal data and information in which they can share to other unauthorized persons. These are threats and security issues that we face daily when using our devices and also using the internet....   [tags: Computer security, Security, Information security]

Powerful Essays
873 words (2.5 pages)

Essay about Airport Security, Invasion of Privacy

- In this argumentative essay it shows how airport security is not an invasion of privacy just necessary precautions. In the United States it is very clear that we don’t take terrorism lightly we have had many incidents that have had a very negative impact on the way we run things. Even if it seems that things have become stricter or maybe even seem like these procedures are an invasion of privacy, considering the circumstances it is very reasonable. People talk about airport security as if it always has something to do with body scanners or how it makes people feel....   [tags: Security, Protection, Terrorism, Ailine Company]

Powerful Essays
1123 words (3.2 pages)

Security And Privacy On The Internet Essay

- Many users are subject of Security and Privacy on the Internet issue. The term "information" now is more used when defining a special product or article of trade which could be bought, sold, exchanged, etc. Often the price of information is higher many times than the cost of the very computers and technologies where it is functioning. Naturally it raises the need of protecting information from unauthorized access, theft, destruction, and other crimes. However, many users do not realize that they risk their security and privacy online....   [tags: Computer Security]

Powerful Essays
1474 words (4.2 pages)