Equal Rights for ALL Americans Essay

Equal Rights for ALL Americans Essay

Length: 2295 words (6.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Marriage has always been a sacred agreement between a man and woman. However, as times have changed, our ideas involving marriage are forced to change with the times. Our country has developed throughout the years to enforce the belief that all Americans should be granted equal rights no matter what their skin color or cultural background. Granting gays the right to marry would simply be giving all people equal rights in the issue of marriage.

When it comes to the issue of gay marriage, Americans have many different views. Research shows that the majority of Americans oppose gay marriage, but when it comes to deciding who should make the laws, Americans are split in half (Bayles 6). 48% of Americans said that the federal government should make the laws and 46% say it should be left to the states (6). This information shows that the majority of Americans have strong opinions about the issue, but don’t know of any way to solve the issue (6).

The controversy of gay marriage is seen even in groups who support strong marriages. Author Karen Peterson uses her article to address the issue of how gay marriage sits with the “marriage movement,” the coalition of professionals dedicated to strengthening marriages (7). This movement has successfully included pro-marriage initiatives across America and formed new

high school courses on relationships (Peterson 7). Peterson finds that the “marriage movement” has many different views within itself and struggles with the question of “How can one be a proponent of marriage in general but oppose marriages between gays” (7). David Blankenhorn who is the founder of the Institute for American Values and an important member of the coalition, says that they ...


... middle of paper ...


...g gay marriage is simply the next step that is necessary to support the growth and change of America’s people.




Works Cited

Bayles, Fred, and Andrea Stone. “Gay-marriages foes try to stop ‘activist courts.’” USA Today 25 Feb. 2014: 06a.

Bennett, William. “Leave Marriage Alone.” Newsweek 3 June 1996: 27.

Breslau, Karen, Brad Stone, Debra Rosenberg and Tamara Lipper. “Outlaw Vows.” Newsweek 1 Mar. 2004: 40.

“Broken marriages, not gay nuptials, pose risk to kids.” USA Today 23 Feb. 2014: 18a.

Peterson, Karen S. “On gays, ‘marriage movement’ is on both sides of the aisle.” USA Today 4 Aug. 2014: 07d.

Dlugacz, Judy. “Same-sex marriage: Time to end the bigotry” CNBC Web 30 April 2015.
http://www.cnbc.com/id/102624368

Taylor, Chris. “I Do: No You Don’t.” Time 1 Mar. 2009: 3c.

“USA Today/CNN/Gallup Poll.” USA Today 24 Feb. 2014: 06d.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Segregation: The Civil Rights Movement Essays

- Imagine living in the 1950s and 1960s in America where everything is segregated and basically living in two different world. Certain people don’t have the same rights as other just because of their color of their skin that happened to be brown not white. God created people from different nationalities with different colors of skin and white Americans didn’t grasp that concept and they wanted their country to be the same race. The people who were part of the the government didn’t agree with the Declaration of Independence that said “All men are created equal”....   [tags: equal rights, african americans, slavery]

Powerful Essays
2023 words (5.8 pages)

Martin Luther King Jr Essay

- On January 15, 1929 a child came into the world just as any normal child would, except this child would eventually change the world with one speech about his dreams. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was that child and not only did he share his dreams in front of over 260,000 people he changed the views of millions of people. Dr. King played many roles, but his fight for equal rights showed how he could combine all of those roles into one humble, strong-willed human being. Dr. King was born in Atlanta, Georgia to two loving parents Michael King Sr., who he was named after but later both would change their first names to Martin, and Alberta Williams King....   [tags: equal rights, african americans, segregation, US]

Powerful Essays
903 words (2.6 pages)

The Fight for Equal Rights Essay

- As Americans, we are very grateful for all rights and privileges we have received in our world. One very important right we have received would be that everyone, no matter color, gender, or race, are treated equally. What are some events that lead to that. Rosa Parks, along with others, sacrificed their lives for us to have the equality we have today. The day Rosa Parks refused to move for a white man on the bus was the day the world saw this act differently. This was the day African Americans decided it was time for a change....   [tags: Americans, United States, Rights, Priviliges]

Powerful Essays
1125 words (3.2 pages)

The Crusade for Equal Rights in the United States Essay

- The struggle for equal rights has been an ongoing issue in the United States. For most of the twentieth century Americans worked toward equality. Through demonstrations, protests, riots, and parades citizens have made demands and voiced their concerns for equal rights. For the first time minority groups were banding together to achieve the American dream of liberty and justice for all. Whether it was equality for women, politics, minorities, or the economy the battle was usually well worth the outcome....   [tags: American History, African Americans]

Powerful Essays
1129 words (3.2 pages)

Fighting For Equal Right Essay

- ... The horrible death of Emmett Hill become one of the tragic event that resulted from racism. Tired from a long day of work, Rosa Park refuses to give up her sit for a white male. Since a kid, Rosa was exposed to racism. Everyday, she walks a couple miles to school because there are a bus segregation law which forbidden blacks to ride on buses. After a long day of work, Rosa is exhausted from all of the prejudicial laws. She also grew tired of the dehumanized treatments toward African Americans....   [tags: african americans, civil rights, racism]

Powerful Essays
742 words (2.1 pages)

Civil Rights and Equal Employment Opportunity Essay

- It may be difficult for the younger generations to comprehend the idea of discrimination, and the turmoil our country once faced in its efforts to end the intolerant treatment of our fellow Americans. Part of this is due to the massive strides our country has taken since the Civil Rights Act of 1964 took effect nearly 50 years ago. Our current President is of African American decent, we not only have women sitting on the U.S. Supreme Court, but minority Justices as well. Still, with the leaps and bounds we as a country have made, discrimination still exists in not only our daily lives, but in the job market as well....   [tags: Black Civil Rights in America]

Powerful Essays
1137 words (3.2 pages)

The Sad History of Civil Rights for Black Americans Essay

- Freedom riders were a group of men and women young and old who boarded buses and planes bound for the south. There main aim was the get rid of the Jim Crow laws. They would ride through the towns sitting wherever they liked regardless of their race (this was breaking the law in Southern States) A few times, the freedom riders would be met with no resistance, but more often angry racist mobs awaited their arrival at the stations. As a non-violent group, the freedom riders would not fight back to the abuse they received....   [tags: Civil Rights for African-Americans]

Powerful Essays
655 words (1.9 pages)

Are We All Created Equal? Essay

- There’s always been some thought and consideration on whether all men are created equal. It seems to be a standout topic that many have their own opinions on. I am here to argue that no, all men in America are not created equal. My opinion may bother some, mostly because it’s something that we as Americans should take pride in. That by living in this country you are able to achieve any dream you have and there is no segregation or tolerance for making others feel little. Although, especially in this time, things have changed including our rights....   [tags: equal, rights, wealth, hard work]

Powerful Essays
803 words (2.3 pages)

Every Person Deserves Equal Rights Essay

- Have you ever had equal human rights just as much as a person who had more money than you or was in higher power than you. Human Rights is something that everyone should have. Rosa Parks and Martin Luther King are some African Americans who are responsible for some of the rights we have today. Human Rights is a right that is believed to belong justifiably to every person. The life expectancy for an average person has increased because of some of the rights that we have today. (Human Rights History) Freedom of speech is an example of human rights and its also political right to communicate one's opinions and ideas using one's body and property to anyone who is willing to receive them....   [tags: discrimination, labor, african american]

Powerful Essays
975 words (2.8 pages)

Discrimination and Civil Rights in America Essays

- “ Civil rights is the term that refers to the right of every person to equal access to society’s opportunities and public facilities.” Civil rights is used to imply that the state has a positive role in ensuring all citizens equal protection under law and equal opportunity to exercise the privileges of citizenship and to participate fully in life regardless of race, sex, religion, or other characters unrelated to the value of the individual. According to Webster’s Dictionary, the definition of civil rights is “the right s to personal liberty and to legal, economic, and social equality establish by amendments to the U.S....   [tags: Civil Rights and Equal Employment]

Powerful Essays
698 words (2 pages)