Debate Over the Legal Drinking Age Essay

Debate Over the Legal Drinking Age Essay

Length: 1747 words (5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Debate Over the Legal Drinking Age


College life is filled with changes. It is filled with many new experiences. As college students, we are on our own, adults. As adults we are responsible for keeping up to date on information that affects us. One issue that affects college students nation wide is drinking. The current legal drinking age in the United States is twenty-one years of age. The Federal government raised the legal drinking age from 18 to 21 in 1984. Even with the current drinking age at twenty-one, many people under that age choose to drink anyway. In fact, a government survey from 1996 showed that 56% of high school seniors reported drinking in the last 30 days (Hanson). With so many underage drinkers, many people believe that the drinking age should be lowered, stating that people are going to drink, regardless of the legal age. Still others see the high number of underage drinkers as a sign that the legal age needs to stay where it is and stricter laws need to be implemented. With the extremely high number of underage drinking, we can assume that the current drinking age is relatively ineffective, and therefore we must ask ourselves: should the drinking age be lowered, or should we revise policies to make the current age more effective? It is important to view all sides of the issue before deciding which side to be on. We must look responsibly at the issue instead of saying that the drinking age should be lowered, simply because we are under 21. The current drinking age has many debatable sides, or approaches which need to be examined. Those approaches include lowering the drinking age because the current policies don?t work, lowering the drinking age because it would lead to more responsible drinking, kee...


... middle of paper ...


...drinking age should be lowered: An opinion based upon research. 1998. Oct 13 2002. <www.indiana.edu/engs/articles/cqoped.html>.

Hanson, D. J. .. Youth Alcohol Policy. 1997. Oct 13, 2002. <http://www.2potsdam.edu/alcohol-info/InMyOpinion/YouthPolicy.html>.

Kirby, Robert. "Study Confirms Parents' Suspicions: Teens Have as Much Sense as a Rock." The Salt Lake Tribune 1 August 2002: E1.

McArdle, Paul J.. "A Lower Drinking Age Wouldn't Lead to Responsible Alcohol Use" Letter. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 893 words, 9 June 2002: A6.

Pickerington, Matthew G.. "A Lower Drinking age Would Quiet the Riots" Letter. The Columbus Dispatch 296 words, 14 May 2002: 10A.

Stoner, Noah. "Dangers Abound with a Lower Drinking Age." Intelligencer Journal 19 January 2002: A-4 .

Wilson, Greg . "Pol Says Drop Age, Educate Kids." Daily News (New York) 15 July 2002: 1.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Debate Over Whether or Not to Lower the Legal Drinking Age in America

- One of the largest questions still up for debate is whether to lower the drinking age from 21 to 18. We know that this is the same issue fought back in the 70’s and 80’s. We can also recall learning about prohibition in the 1920s. Banning alcohol wasn’t the answer then, and it isn’t the answer now. It is time America lowered the drinking age. The push for this was started by the founder of Choose Responsibility, a nonprofit organization that focuses on the increasing awareness of the harms associated with alcohol use among young adults....   [tags: alcohol]

Powerful Essays
1047 words (3 pages)

Lowering The Legal Drinking Age Essay

- Lowering the Legal Drinking Age From 21 to 18 In the United States the legal drinking age, with a few exceptions, is 21; this should be changed from 21 to the age of 18. This would help high schoolers and college students who generally commit the act of underage drinking anyways to avoid long lasting legal repercussions. This would also remove the excitement that many underage drinkers feel since for many, it would now be legal. This would help to lessen temptation and encourage today’s youth to drink in a more safe and responsible environment since it would be considered a normal activity and would no longer need to be done in secrecy....   [tags: Drinking culture, Legal drinking age]

Powerful Essays
1158 words (3.3 pages)

The Minimum Legal Drinking Age Essay

- Hannah Gates Ms. Carlson Pre-AP English II 4 November 2015 The Minimum Legal Drinking Age in the United States Bob Marley once said, “Herb is the healing of a nation, alcohol is the destruction.” This is the case when it comes to teens and alcohol. In America, the National Minimum Legal Drinking Age is a topic of great debate and controversy. Many people argue that the age restriction provides a safe environment for all citizens; whereas others disagree that the law creates an untrustworthy aura among teens....   [tags: Drinking culture, Legal drinking age]

Powerful Essays
1713 words (4.9 pages)

Raising The Minimum Legal Drinking Age Essay

- Victoria McKay Carreira-Ching ENG 200 10 May 2015 Essay 3: Final Raising the Minimum Legal Drinking Age Will Ensure a Better Future A current debate on the minimum legal drinking age (MLDA) in the United States has had many age groups fighting hard for their side after there had been rumors stating that the current legal drinking age of 21, would be further raised to 25. However, according to Allie Healy, a journalist and Community Engagement Specialist, she claims that these rumors are false in her article, “Drinking age being raised to 25: Truth or a hoax?” In this article Healy states, “Just more than 9 million people have visited a website that claims the drinking age will be raised to 2...   [tags: Drinking culture, Legal drinking age]

Powerful Essays
1959 words (5.6 pages)

Essay on The Legal Drinking Age Should Remain At 21 Or Be Lowered

- An ongoing debate has been occurring trying to decide if the legal drinking age should remain at 21 or be lowered. Teenagers seem to be consuming alcohol with no regard to the legal age. Drinking underage can lead to many problems but these problems can potentially be resolved by lowering the drinking age. Taking a look at some of the myths verse the realities will help grasp why the drinking age to consume alcohol is legally 21. In today’s society many myths contribute to underage people consuming alcohol....   [tags: Drinking culture, Legal drinking age]

Powerful Essays
1438 words (4.1 pages)

The Minimum Legal Drinking Age Essay

- First of all, there is a need to address all of those persons that have joined the ranks of adulthood. Congratulation’s. Now, all males will need to go down to your local post office or online and signup into the Selective Service System. Unfortunately, this is your first obligation to society upon turning eighteen in the United States. Therefore, when the next draft is implemented; numbers will be drawn calling them up to serve their country in time of war. As for the women, joining the service, is on a volunteer basis....   [tags: Drinking culture, Legal drinking age]

Powerful Essays
1003 words (2.9 pages)

The Legal Drinking Age Of 21 Essay

- Is the legal drinking age of 21 working in the United States. According to various surveys taken in the last few years it is not. According to some recent national surveys that have been taken about “90 percent of U.S. high school students have consumed alcohol beverages” (Kiesbye 2). So what should we do about the drinking age limit should we leave it as is and hope for the best, or should we take action and find a solution to this issue. One of the big issues people what with lowering the drinking age is the increase in fatal traffic accidents....   [tags: Drinking culture, Legal drinking age, Alcohol law]

Powerful Essays
1278 words (3.7 pages)

Lowering The Legal Drinking Age Essay

- For years there has been a pressing issue on whether we should lower our legal drinking age from 21 to 18. Debates have gone back and forth between what is right and what is wrong regarding the drinking age. At the age of 18 we are considered as adults and are able go to war for our country, buy tobacco, vote, and even though we have been given these rights, we have yet to be given the right to drink alcohol. When an individual first turns 18 they are then allowed to join the army. Young men at this age are required to register for the draft within 30 days of their birthday....   [tags: Alcoholic beverage, Drinking culture]

Powerful Essays
1069 words (3.1 pages)

The Impact of Lowering the Drinking Age on State University Essay

- The legal drinking age in the United States will always be a point of contention. No one can settle upon a drinking age that everyone is in agreement with; should it be 18 or 21. Ages 18 and 21 are the most popular options, yet neither one has 100% of the vote. With the current legal drinking age in America standing at 21, meaning that people under the age of 21 cannot purchase or consume alcoholic food or beverages, there is the question of whether or not to lower it to 18 or 19 years old....   [tags: Pro Lower Legal Drinking Age]

Powerful Essays
4155 words (11.9 pages)

The Legal Age For Drinking Alcohol Should Stay The Same Essay

- The Legal Age for Drinking Alcohol Should Stay the Same There has been debate on what age should people drink. Many think we should be able to drink at 18 or many people think we should be able to drink at the age 21 or older. Both cases makes some good points of why. There shouldn’t be any debate at all because bottom line the age limit on drinking is fine where it is for many reasons. First, the age limit to drink should stay the same has to do with the way the human body develops both mentally and physically....   [tags: Drinking culture, Legal drinking age, Adolescence]

Powerful Essays
734 words (2.1 pages)