Essay on The Global Drinking Water Shortage

Essay on The Global Drinking Water Shortage

Length: 3550 words (10.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

The Global Drinking Water Shortage


Table of Contents 2
Introduction 3
Year 2000 Opinions 3
Global Warming Issues 5
Technical Advances 6
Academic and Research Interviews 7
Scenarios… 9
Best Case isn’t Utopia 9
The Probably Outcome 11
The Worst Case 12
Conclusions 13
References or Bibliography 14







Introduction

Seventy one percent of our planet is covered by water, so it would seem that we could never run out of drinking water. But of that seventy one percent, ninety seven percent is salt water – extremely expensive to convert into drinking water. The other three percent is fresh water, which is contained in: glaciers, polar caps, lakes, rivers, and ground water. Out of this three percent, only one percent is available for use as drinking water for humans and animals, irrigation water for agriculture, and process water used by the nations ubiquitous factories.

In the year 2014, there is a global shortage of fresh water. Increasingly, all potential sources of drinking water are becoming polluted. One begins to question, Will there be enough drinking water to support mankind in the year 2025?

In this report, I will present expert opinions as too emerging trends and possible future trends in water consumption and conservation. I will present a variety of expert opinions of the present and possible future concerns concerning the global shortage of fresh water. I will present several possible scenarios concerning the future ramifications of a global shortage of fresh water supported by experts in hydrology and environmentalism. I will also present expert opinion as to the effects of an ever expanding global population on our fresh water supply.

Year 2014 Opinions
Throughout mankind’s four and...


... middle of paper ...


...edu/Focus/TheThreatofWaterShortage.html

Bongaarts, John; Mauldin, Parker, and Phillips, James. "The Demographic Impact of Family Planning Programs.", Studies in Family Planning, 2012. Web 25 Nov. 2014

“Global Warming Aggravating Water Shortages, Xinhua News Agency, January 11, 2014 Web 25 Nov. 2014

Postel, Sandra. Last Oasis: Facing Water Scarcity. World Watch Institute. New York: W.W.Norton, 2012. Web 25 Nov. 2014

World Bank. World Development Report 2012 New York: Oxford University Press. 2012 Web 20 Nov. 2014

Young, Jae-Bok. "Asia's Rapid Urbanization Brings Economic Fruits." The Christian Science Monitor, April 20, 2013. Web 22 Nov. 2014

Dakar, Senegal. Water Crisis Looms as World Population Grows, Panafrican News Agency, March 1, 2014. Web 19 Nov. 2014
Available Online:http://www.africanews.org/PANA/environment/19990301/feat1.html

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Global Drinking Water Shortage Essay

- " We never know the worth of water till the well is dry." -- Thomas Fuller, Gnomologia #5451 (1732) While it is the single most important substance on earth, we usually don’t think about water other than when we’re thirsty. Most homes have at least two indoor faucets. Almost every public building has water fountains conveniently placed for easy, instant refreshment....   [tags: Potable Water Scarcity]

Term Papers
3711 words (10.6 pages)

Global Drinking Water Scarcity Essay

- “More than 3.4 million people die each year from contaminated water related causes. Nearly all deaths, 99 percent, occur in the developing world.” – World Health Organization (WHO). (2014). -- Our planet's immense population is depleting the supply of drinking water resources. How will this problem develop in the years to come. Will we be able to provide enough drinking water to satisfy all the world’s needs. What can we do about the present lack of clean drinking water in many underdeveloped countries all around the world....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Term Papers
1050 words (3 pages)

Drinking Water Shortage and Water Conservation Essay

- Human beings and ecological systems depend on water for survival (Kenneth). No human, animal or plant can survive for long without this essential commodity. For us humans, water is the driving engine of most of our economic and recreational activities. For instance, we depend on water for the production of energy in industries, transportation and outdoor recreation. Most of us equally depend on water for the provision of amenity and cultural values. Barlow and Clarke state that one cannot simply whisk away the crisis of fresh water we have in the world today (25)....   [tags: Drinking Water Scarcity]

Term Papers
1725 words (4.9 pages)

Drinking Water Shortage and Water Conservation Essay

- Water is everywhere. Not only does water surround the continents but also we are mostly made up of water and also need it to survive. If we don’t have access to water it will significantly affect our health. The economy will be affected by the water and how expensive it will be. This will lead to the environmental effects, with farmers not having enough water to keep their farms going. A variety of authors demonstrate throughout their articles that water is a limited resource and that humans need to start taking action in every aspect of their lives....   [tags: Drinking Water Scarcity]

Term Papers
2650 words (7.6 pages)

The Global Water Shortage Essay

- “At least 36 states are expected to face water shortages within the next five years, according to U.S. Government estimates,” cites David Gutierrez, a journalist for Natural News, an online journal (Gutierrez 1). This is an astounding number; another shocking statistic is that seventy-two percent of the United States geographical area will face imminent shortages of a material vital to survival. The question is no longer whether or not a water shortage is in our near future; the real question is where this catastrophe will occur, how severe its effects will be, and how society can reduce its impact....   [tags: Global Water Crisis]

Term Papers
1625 words (4.6 pages)

The Water Crisis and Solutions Essay

- There is a global shortage of drinking water. A person might wonder how this can be if seventy percent of the earth’s surface is covered by water. Most of the Earth’s water is unsuitable for human consuption. Ocean water is salt water, which makes up 97.5% of all water on the planet. Freshwater is only 3.5% of all the water on Earth. Drinking water is sourced from bodies of freshwater. Freshwater is quite scarce, but it is even scarcer than one might think: about seventy percent of all freshwater is frozen in the icecaps of Antarctica and Greenland and is unavailable to humans....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Term Papers
1481 words (4.2 pages)

Water Pollution and Water Scarcity Essays

- Water is essential for humans and organisms to live “Drinking water, “2008). Water covers most of the world and makes up more of the world than land. Water comes from different sources. Water may surround us but there are still shortages. Water allows us to live but it could be harmful to our bodies when polluted. Humans and natural disasters can cause damage to the water supply It is important to conserve water whenever possible (“Drinking Water, “2008). Oceans make up two-thirds of the Earth (“Drinking Water,”2008)....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Term Papers
1306 words (3.7 pages)

The Global Water Shortage Essay

- One of the biggest problems in the world is water scarcity. Almost all countries suffer from it and many of them cannot find the most effective solution to avoid this difficulty. The meaning of the world water crisis is very easy to understand, but solving it is very difficult. The amount of world water is limited, as the population is growing fast; the necessity of water use is growing even faster. This essay will examine the water crisis specifically in China, because it is the country with the most serious water shortage problems in the world....   [tags: Comming Water Crisis]

Term Papers
1253 words (3.6 pages)

The Global Water Shortage Essay

- Water is vital necessity of human life. Nowadays, the world is incurring a serious problem like shortage of water. Britain's chief scientist John Beddington (2010) claimed that if in the coming decade the rate of population growth climbs, the scarcity of drinkable water will become the urgent problem for all humanity. Unfortunately, lack of potable water has bad influence on people’s health and may lead to international conflicts. Because of the shortage of water people use water from unsafe sources....   [tags: Comming Water Crisis]

Term Papers
1115 words (3.2 pages)

The Inevitable Water Shortage in America’s Future Essays

- The same dream again.  It had been haunting him for weeks now.  Always the same.  Water.  Fresh water.  Drinkable water.  He got out of bed slowly, his stillsuit itching in that one certain spot again, and went to his refrigeration unit.  What flavor do I want this morning?, he thought to himself.  Eggs Benedict.  He opened the top of the squeeze tube and gulped the yeast solution down. All the troubles had begun in the year 2010 when Aldo was in his first year of college.  The first of many droughts had hit the Southwestern United States of America due to excessive use of the Colorado River.  Few had died in that one, but it was just a child compared to the trials to come....   [tags: Drinking Water Shortage]

Free Essays
3279 words (9.4 pages)