Pau Therouxs Being a Man Essay

Pau Therouxs Being a Man Essay

Length: 842 words (2.4 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Good Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Pau Therouxs Being a Man


A 3-page paper on the topic of the Paul Theroux’s “Being a Man.” The paper analyzes the structure of the writing. No sources are used besides the source material.
The tone and style of Paul Theroux’s “Being a Man” is that of a light nature, using exaggeration and stereotyping to not only convey its message but to give the entire piece and enjoyable and fun sense. One of the keys to Theroux’s writing is slight misdirection, in which a writer sets up topic for discussion but ultimately has a much different topic in mind. We see this from the opening quote from the alleged “Fetishism” chapter of a book, one gets the sense that Theroux’s intent is to point you in one direction so that you don’t see real agenda until it is sprung on you. In this case the notion of men and fetish for woman’s shoes makes one feel that he is about to analyze why this might be, but instead we find that the shoe fetish is unimportant as it is the idea that being man leads people to think differently of you.
What this piece turns out to really be, is his taking to task the way society has determined that men should act and the inability for men to avoid the imposition of that stereotype without some how being considered, different at best or “not manly” at worst. And it is in the second paragraph where he sets up the notion of what the world believes a man to be and how that is both ambiguous and constraining at the same time. While there is no definition beside biological of what a man is, he points out that the notion of manliness “insists on difference and connives at superiority.” While he is obviously exaggerating somewhat in the insistence that he finds the notion of manliness to be “insulting and abusive, and ...


... middle of paper ...


...riters can be considered for what is on the paper and not for how they live their lives.
Ultimately, what he reveals is that because of the judgment placed on how men live their lives and the expectations on them, even though many may considered men to be privileged in American, the truth is while they might be given some opportunities that woman aren’t as quickly granted, they pay a high price to get those opportunities and in some cases those so call privileges are actually a punishment. That being said though, he ends the piece by saying that as much a burden that men have placed on them, a woman’s life is no better. So perhaps, instead of pointing fingers at each other and wishing that we were more like them or they were more like us, we should be allowed to simply be ourselves and act the way we feel we want to, regardless of what society might expect of us.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Being A Man By Paul Theroux Essay

- The world we live in is full of amazing things. Cars, spaceships, cellphones are just a few examples. But the one thing that leave me breathless is how culture and society mold human live. There has always been a right way for individuals, and specially men to behave. Even now in the 21-century where things have changed and there is more freedom, men are asked to act in certain ways. Writer Paul Theroux in his essay “Being a man” makes a profound analysis from his perspective about how men are in America, and the factors that influence how they comport....   [tags: Man, Masculinity, Psychology, Paul Theroux]

Good Essays
715 words (2 pages)

Being A Man By Paul Theroux Essay

- The short story “Being a Man” by Paul Theroux, is a piece written in 1985 about the disapproval of stereotypical gender expectations that is thrust upon Americans, including the author himself. He then contrasts and compares those sets of ‘rules’ and tries to shed light on the fact that men are just as oppressed as women. In addition, Theroux uses key examples from athletics and the writing profession to support his objections and personal experiences. As a person who doesn’t believe in the concept of gender roles, I agree there is a certain pressure men receive....   [tags: Gender role, Gender, Man, Masculinity]

Good Essays
723 words (2.1 pages)

The Importance Of Being Ernest And Insignificance Of Being Earnest Essay

- The Importance of Being Ernest and Insignificance of Being Earnest According to two female characters in Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest, Ernest is a name that is typically desirable for a husband and represents high social status and wealth. Earnest, on the contrary, according to the Merriam Webster Dictionary, means to be “serious, sincere”, or, in other words, honest (“Earnest”). Within the irony of the title of Wilde’s play itself, the hypocrisy of the high social class of the Victorian era is revealed....   [tags: Victorian era, The Importance of Being Earnest]

Good Essays
1137 words (3.2 pages)

The Expectations Of Being A Man Essay

- The character that most misrepresented I think was Richard. The expectation of being a man must have certain physical and emotional traits. Richard in Baldwin 's play "Blues for Mister Charlie", challenge racism and white privilege in America, particularly in the South. Richard played the crucial role when he was murdered by Lyle, a white man. His heroic sacrifice created a united common community against racism. A sacrificial cause to end “black genocide” in the South. On one hand, throughout the play, Richard was portrayed as the "leader of the pack"....   [tags: Racism, White people, Black people, Race]

Good Essays
706 words (2 pages)

Essay on Not Being Earnest in The Importance of Being Earnest

- Not Being Earnest in The Importance of Being Earnest While some critics contend that The Importance of Being Earnest is completely fanciful and has no relation to the real world, others maintain that Oscar Wilde's "trivial comedy for serious people" does make significant comments about social class and the institution of marriage. These observations include the prevalent utilization of deceit in everyday affairs. Indeed the characters and plot of the play appear to be entirely irreverent, thus lending weight to the comedic, fanciful aspect....   [tags: The Importance of Being Earnest]

Good Essays
866 words (2.5 pages)

Being There by Jerzy Kosinski Essay

- In his novel Being There, Jerzy Kosinski shows how present day culture has strayed away from the ideal society that Plato describes in his allegory of the cave. In his metaphor, Plato describes the different stages of life and education through the use of a cave. In the first level of the cave, Plato describes prisoners who are shackled and facing a blank wall. Behind them is a wall of fire with a partition that various objects are placed and manipulated by another group of people. These shadows are the only action that they ever see....   [tags: Kosinski Being There]

Good Essays
1592 words (4.5 pages)

Jerzy Kosinki's Being There Essay

- Jerzy Kosinki's Being There At quaint coffee houses, expensive restaurants, and homes around the world, movies and books are spoken of quite frequently. What happens when a best- selling book turns into Hollywood's project. In many cases, the remade story often does not do the book justire. Remaking a movie after a book can also propel a book and its author into stardom. This is the case for Jerzy Kosinki's popular book Being There. Patterning the remade movie version of Being There after the original book, Kosinski greatly enhances the entertainment value for the audience....   [tags: Being There Essays]

Free Essays
1216 words (3.5 pages)

Being There - A Bit More Like Chance Essay

- Being There - A Bit More Like Chance While watching the movie Being There, the viewer begins to notice just how different the book and the movie are. While the book appeals more to the reader's emotions, the movie gives a comical outlook on the problems faced in both the book and the movie. The contrast between the two places them into separate categories--a touching story about a man trapped in a world of which he knows nothing about and a satirical comedy about the very same man....   [tags: Being There Essays]

Good Essays
865 words (2.5 pages)

Kosinski's Being There and the Existential Anti-Hero Essay

- Kosinski's Being There and the Existential Anti-Hero      Critics have referred to Kosinski's Being There as his worst novel.  Perhaps, Kosinski's prosaic style is deceptive in its apparent simplicity (especially when contrasted with The Painted Bird).  "What Kosinski seeks to do," as Welch D. Everman relates, "is to stimulate the reader's recreative and imaginative task by offering only the essentials...Kosinski's style draws the reader into the incident by refusing to allow him to remain passive" (25).  This essay will propose that Being There is a major existential work following in the tradition of Sartre and Camus in which Chance, the main protagonist, mirrors Camus's Mersault in A H...   [tags: Being There Essays]

Good Essays
3196 words (9.1 pages)

Essay on Being There: Comparison of Book and Movie

- Being There: Comparison of Book and Movie The book, "Being There," is about a man named Chance, who is forced to move out of the house he lived in his whole life and his experience in the outside world. Based on the success of the book, the movie, "Being There," was made. The author of the book, Jerzy Kosinski, also wrote the screenplay for the movie. I think the major difference between the book and the movie is that in the book, we get to read what Chance is feeling and thinking, but in the movie, we only get to see his actions....   [tags: Being There Literature Movies Essays]

Good Essays
1118 words (3.2 pages)