September 11: War Against Terrorism is Necessary Essay

September 11: War Against Terrorism is Necessary Essay

Length: 1254 words (3.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

September 11: War Against Terrorism is Necessary

 
   On the fateful morning of September 11, 2001, few of us knew that the history of America, let alone our individual lives, was dramatically and permanently changing. As the day progressed, Americans, one by one, were dumbfounded at the events that had occurred.  This is by no means the first terrorist attack in the history of the world.  Nor will it be the last.  Many cultures over time have been greatly wounded and even overcome by these fiendish terrorist attacks.  Thankfully, the United States' history has not been heavily tarnished by these assaults - until now.

            Since the days of the attack, many national and world leaders have come together to declare war on terrorism.  A valiant effort has been made in order to defeat these evils.  An immediate counter-response has been called for, and necessarily so.  On September 20, 2001, in a joint session of Congress, President George W. Bush spoke of a new war when he said, "Our war on terror begins with al-Qaida [the terrorist group founded in Afghanistan by Usama Bin Ladin in the late 1980s], but it does not end there. It will not end until every terrorist group of global reach has been found, stopped, and defeated" (Bush Announces Start of a "War on Terror").  He expounded further, explaining that "...the only way to defeat terrorism as a threat to our way of life is to stop it, eliminate it, and destroy it where it grows" (Address to a Joint Session of Congress and the American People).  Our way of life would most assuredly be preserved, were it only possible to realize these noble ideals of eliminating terrorism. 

            In the war against terrorism, it is, unfortunately, nearly impossible to beco...


... middle of paper ...


...oes the occurrence of retaliatory behaviors.  The war against terrorism is a needed effort, however it is a war whose end is not yet in sight.

Works Cited:

Address to a Joint Session of Congress and the American People. September 20, 2001. White House: President George W. Bush. 25 September 2001 <http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/2001/09/20010920-8.html>

Bush Announces Start of a "War on Terror". 20 September 2001. U.S. Department of State's Office of International Information Programs. 24 September 2001 <http://usinfo.state.gov/topical/pol/terror/01092051.htm>

Punishment and aggression. Selva, Michel. 27 February 1998. NESBAT. 02 October 2001  <http://www.tiac.net/users/suzon/sloane.html>

Sidman, Murray. "Coercion and Its Fallout." Cambridge Center for Behavioral Studies. 24 September 2001. http://www.behavior.org/>.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Is The Patriot Act A Necessary Protection Against Terrorism? Essay

- Global Issue: Review of Subject This essay focuses on the final topic of week number eight, “Is the Patriot Act a necessary protection against terrorism or a threat to our civil liberties?” The Patriot Act (Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism), has brought much controversy between national security and individual rights. We have seen numerous terrorist attacks abroad such as the attack of U.S. airliners, U.S. embassies, and U.S....   [tags: Federal Bureau of Investigation, Terrorism]

Strong Essays
1707 words (4.9 pages)

The Terrorist Attacks Of September 11th Essay

- In the beginning of issue guide it summarizes the Terrorist attacks of September 11th. How it sets off of a chain of events and questionable efforts to deal with what occurred that day. The article explains after the attacks on the world trade center, our nation lost comfort in thinking our state of security was actually secure, that we were vulnerable. The government gave a false impression to citizens that to overcome what happened that day was to come together, to show the strength and our allegiance to the U.S....   [tags: Terrorism, September 11 attacks, Al-Qaeda]

Strong Essays
1077 words (3.1 pages)

Essay about The War On Terrorism And Terrorism

- In September 2001, the United States suffered an attack in New York City that would firmly place fear in the hearts of Americans. 9/11 marks the beginning of the terror age in US History. The War on Terrorism has been fought for over a decade to try and bring an end to this foreign disease and to eradicate terrorists as a whole. However, the current United States counterterrorism policy should be amended as it is counterproductive; and if it continues, our world will soon be filled with terrorists....   [tags: Terrorism, Counter-terrorism, United States]

Strong Essays
1302 words (3.7 pages)

Essay about Combating Terrorism in the 21st Century

- The coordinated attack September 11th 2001 on the United States resulted in a prolonged war on terror; that is still active today. Many people are asking how this could happen. Others want to know how to prevent it from happing again. Some wonder if world peace will ever be possible. The United States does not think peace can be possible until the threat of terrorism becomes obsolete. There is no clear answer to the questions and concerns over terrorism although there are several schools of thought on how to respond to terrorism....   [tags: Terrorism ]

Strong Essays
1522 words (4.3 pages)

Our War Against Terrorism is Justified Essay

- Our War Against Terrorism is Justified   This essay will address the question whether the war against terrorism declared by President George W. Bush is a just war.   According to the September 22nd edition of Star-Ledger, Professor Richard Falk, of Princeton University said  “the mainstream media have turned into a 'war-mobilizing mechanism' leading to intense indoctrination of the public in support of a military response." "We are living in a society that is so convinced of its own innocence that it is ready to embark on its own 'holy war,'" Falk said....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Strong Essays
1356 words (3.9 pages)

Terrorism Is An Abstract Of Terrorism Essay

- Conceptualizing Definition of Terrorism Terrorism is an abstract concept and there is no universal definition of it. Despite the prevail of terrorist acts in the first decade of the 21st century, journalists, politicians, and academics and terrorists themselves fails to agree on the definition. Terrorism is not a new phenomenon that was introduced in contemporary society. However, since the Attack on September 11, it has become major concern of the International community as the violent act threatens the peace and stability of the world....   [tags: Terrorism, Al-Qaeda, Violence]

Strong Essays
947 words (2.7 pages)

Did September 11 Kill Democracy? Essay

- Did September 11 Kill Democracy.   The September 11 terrorist attack on America has provoked a strong response. Americans are at war. On television, from the mouths of politicians, in newspapers, this response is portrayed as unequivocal. As with Pearl Harbor, war has been declared on America. We have no choice but to respond with unpresidented military force. Other considerations might give us a pause, if they were not being quietly swept under the rug by those eagerly pressing for war. Isn't war and violence precisely what terrorists are after....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
885 words (2.5 pages)

Why Gender Matters in Understanding September 11th Essay

- Usually when the word gender is used in a political sense often times what is described is the role of women in a certain aspect of politics. This paper is a look at certain social norms that are directly related to women and their rights that seem to allow and harbor terrorist. The idea of the article that I am basing this paper on is by Amy Caiazza Ph.D. who suggests that if we were to change some of our ways in society regarding women we might have been able to foresee the events of the September 11th attacks....   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
1511 words (4.3 pages)

Essay on The Nature of Victory in a War on Terrorism

-        While President Bush has proclaimed a "war on terrorism" and taken measured steps in a strategic battle against terrorist groups, most prominently al Qaida, American citizens have been living lives far removed from his proclamation.  The American people have responded to the September 11th "act of war" with an outpouring of democratic rhetoric and bizarre acts of patriotism1.  Sadly, our proud demonstrations have truly ignored the reality of ensuing war. Americans have donated blood and established funds for firefighters' families, while failing to look outside of our nation with any intention of understanding the grounds for popular terrorism in Arab and Muslim states.  The America...   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Free Essays
3123 words (8.9 pages)

A Critical Study of Media Reaction to September 11 Essay example

- September 11, 2001: A DAY OF INFAMY.   So it was vehemently proclaimed in Time Magazine¹s special issue dedicated to one of the most tragic events in American History and arguably one of the most brutal acts of terrorism to date.  America, in the spasms of a few hours, has become a changed country.  Perhaps in an attempt to understand this change and come to grips with the ensuing crisis, more and more people are turning to the media for answers.  Now more than ever, the media, namely television, radio, newspapers, and the internet, have become the most powerful tools in disseminating information relevant to this event.  This is a truth we cannot escape.       It would of course be naïve...   [tags: September 11 Terrorism Essays]

Strong Essays
1313 words (3.8 pages)