The Presence Shortage of School Nurses Harming Our Children's Wellness Essay

The Presence Shortage of School Nurses Harming Our Children's Wellness Essay

Length: 1018 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Have you ever noticed the constant absence of nurses at your school? It seems like every time you need to go to the nurse, one is not there. That fact has led to my investigation of the effects of school nurse absences on most K-12 campuses. Many children have died from not receiving care as a result of an absent nurse. Although it is true that school nurses are divided between schools (1,185 students for every school nurse in NC), every school needs a nurse (Healthy Children Learn Better). Most accidents relating student injuries can be avoided with the daily presence of a school nurse in every single school. The school nurse's job tends to be at risk during budget cut time (Wilson).
That fact has led to my investigation of the effects of school nurse absences on most k-12 campuses. Between 1999 and 2009, 38 states improved their number of school nurses. Although this is true, there is still a significant shortage of nurses in most school districts. As a result, accidents occur and must go untreated leading to serious conditions and even death. Negative patient care outcomes are even more common now that there are environmental health concerns leading to the increase in Asthma and genetically induced obesity-related diseases that can develop in children. The nutritional aspect is not completely met since a nurse is not always in attendance to educate students and their parents about healthy eating and other habits. There are even more problems derived from schools being devoid of their own designated nurses.
Many children have died from not receiving care as a result of an absent nurse. In fact, 12 year old Laporshia Massey died in late September of this school year in West Philadelphia after suffering a serious Asthma Attack. ...


... middle of paper ...


...uts to get water as well in order to prevent dehydration from resulting. Especially if the school nurse is not present in the school that day.



Works Cited

"Healthy Children Learn Better! School Nurse Make A Difference." Nasn. Web. 10 Feb. 2014.
Lattanzio, Vince. "Lack of School Nurse Led to Daughter's Asthma Death: Father." NBC 10 Philadelphia. Associated Press, 17 Oct. 2013. Web. 17 Feb. 2014.
Mithers, Carol. "Are School Nurses Disappearing?" CNN. Cable News Network, 04 Apr. 2011. Web. 17 Feb. 2014.
Mithers, Carol. "School Nurse Shortage." Parenting.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 21 Feb. 2014.
"New Law Requires Defibrillators in Schools." New Law Requires Defibrillators in Schools NJSBA. New Jersey School Boards Association, 25 Sept. 2012. Web. 01 Apr. 2014.
Wilson, Jacque. "Does Your Child Have a School Nurse?" CNN. Cable News Network, 01 Jan. 1970. Web. 10 Feb. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Is Nursing Shortage Really Faculty Shortage? Essay

- Is Nursing Shortage Really Faculty Shortage. Potential Solutions As the United States’ population ages and the Affordable Care Act continues to be implemented the need to address the shortage of nurses and faculty is more pressing than it ever has been. However, this is multi-dimensional problem, to get to the crux of it; one has to ask what the major contributing factors to such shortages are and what can be done to prevent them. Perhaps the most significant influence to the nursing shortage is the fact that each year a large number of qualified applicants are denied entrance because of a lack of prepared nurse educators (American Association of Colleges of Nursing, 2014)....   [tags: Nursing, Nurse, Academic degree, Nursing shortage]

Strong Essays
957 words (2.7 pages)

Perspectives on Wellness Essay

- What is wellness. “Wellness is an active process of becoming aware of and making choices toward a healthy life. Wellness is also a process for change and growth” (Health Topic – What is wellness?). To have acceptable wellness you should have an equal amount of social, emotional/mental, and physical health. I, myself, believe that I have an okay wellness, I mean not like full wellness but just enough to pass I'll say. But how am I living in wellness. There are different ways of living with wellness....   [tags: Students, counseling, wellness]

Strong Essays
878 words (2.5 pages)

Essay about The Six Dimensions of Wellness

- Physical, emotional, intellectual, interpersonal, spiritual, and environmental wellness are all considered the six dimensions of wellness with occupational wellness being the possible seventh. But what are these exactly. And how do they apply to me and my health and wellness. The first of the six dimensions is physical wellness, which is your body’s overall wellness. This includes the absence of illness and disease and your body’s fitness level. You have to make good, healthy choices to be physically well....   [tags: Wellness, physical education, ]

Strong Essays
794 words (2.3 pages)

Essay about The Education Of The Budget Shortage

- Secondly, the survival of the schools from the budget shortage depends on how principals utilize their schools’ human resources. One of the solutions proposed by CPS principals is a plan to encourage and rely on teachers and volunteers to participate in after school activities. Despite the fact that the budget cuts pushed a lot of teachers to leave their jobs, there are teachers and volunteers who are willing to work extra hours to help children with their after school activities. Principal Pavichevich explains that Amundsen High School is one of the schools that prepared in advance for long-threatening cuts by “keep relying on teachers willing to volunteer for after-school activities” so t...   [tags: Education, High school, Teacher, School]

Strong Essays
1478 words (4.2 pages)

Imagery of Sacrifice in The School Children Essay

- Imagery of Sacrifice in The School Children Sacrifice. One simple word brings to mind two completely different images. Today, sacrifice is most often thought of as a noble and beautiful act, but also one painful-emotionally, mentally, and physically-involving the surrender of something highly valued for the sake of something deemed of superior value. On the other hand, when done in the name of religion, sacrifice may involve the offering of a gift to some deity in worship or propitiation. Usually when sacrifice involves the latter, the connotation of the term darkens, for the dominant image is of ritual slaughter....   [tags: School Children Essays]

Strong Essays
1138 words (3.3 pages)

Tone and Imagery in The School Children Essay

- Tone and Imagery in The School Children Louise Gluck's The School Children may provide some shock for readers as it twists and turns through a school day marked by eerie abnormalities. Gluck successfully uses visual imagery to convey a deeper meaning to a fourteen-line poem about children, teachers and parents. These three groups come to life through the descriptive poem that allows readers to form their own conclusions. Though Gluck’s meaning is never clearly stated, her use of tone and imagery create an extremely visual work with three dynamic sets of characters....   [tags: School Children Essays]

Strong Essays
902 words (2.6 pages)

Powerful Emotion in Louise Gluck's The School Children Essay

- Powerful Emotion in Louise Gluck's The School Children    In the poem The School Children, author Louise Gluck successfully creates for the reader an image of the children, their mothers and the position that they hold in their society.  Her simple, yet descriptive words suggest a more in depth meaning that allows one to look past the simple story line of the poem and actually look into the entire situation the poem discusses.  The story line simply  tells of mothers who pick apples and send their children off to school with them, in hopes that they will receive an education in return.  After completion of the poem, the reader comes to the realization that the apples are the center of the...   [tags: School Children Essays]

Strong Essays
925 words (2.6 pages)

Essay on Among The School Children by William Butler Yeats

- Among School Children by William Butler Yeats First Published 1927; collected in The Tower, 1928 Type of Poem Meditation The Poem William Butler Yeats' "'Among School Children' is written in eight eight-line stanzas that follow a precise rhyme scheme. Along with the straightforward title, stanza I establishes the immediate context of the action in deliberately prosaic language. The speaker is visiting a schoolroom, and "'a kind old nun,' his guide for the day or perhaps the classroom teacher, is answering his matter-of-fact questions in a rapid, matter-of-fact way....   [tags: Yeats School Children Poem Poetry]

Strong Essays
1529 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on Wellness

- The wellness wheel couldn’t have come at a better time because I’ve recently been trying to change my dieting and exercising habits, as well as the way in which I feel and look at myself. Knowing that my answers to some of these questions could be completely bias, I realize that the wellness wheel is how I look at myself in my perspective. Others could have different opinions about how I score myself. I found that I did very well on section eight, scoring a perfect twenty. Now, that is just how I felt at the time I took the test....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
1352 words (3.9 pages)

Essay on Wellness

- My Own Health History Today I would say that I am physically healthy, but I could be more emotionally healthy. The reason I feel this way is because I am currently training for the Berea College track and field team. To do this I have to run times that are not easily attained. This is what causes me to be physically healthy. This is just one of many factors that I believe have influenced my physical health. Others include swimming, basketball, walking, cross-country, my own personal view of my self, and the way others view me....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
1002 words (2.9 pages)