Essay about Preconceived or Impulse?

Essay about Preconceived or Impulse?

Length: 1983 words (5.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview


The Holocaust was full of atrocities that any person would shutter to mention. Yet, there are so many things about this event that we don’t completely know. Without knowing, or at least understanding, we can never expect ourselves not to allow such atrocities to be committed again. Once such unanswered question is whether or not Adolf Hitler, the leader, or “Fuhrer” as they call him, plan for the mass execution of millions of Jews or did he just take advantage of the circumstances before him with a deadly fist. Through the analysis of a myriad of facts, it is easy to understand that it cannot be argued whether or not Hitler necessarily planned all along for the "Final Solution," but it can be determined that he, at the very least, had the idea from the start.

What you need to know
During the Holocaust, Hitler and the Nazis began to round up the Jews into confined spaces, called ghettos. They continued to add to these ghettos with Jews they removed from conquered territory on the fronts of the war they were fighting. Later, they began executing Jews on the streets through mobile killing units. The Nazis then quickly transferred from shooting with guns to murdering them with gas (Zyklon-B in particular). This entire process of the mass execution of the Jews is referred to as the “Final Solution,” or “Final Solution to the Jewish Question.” The name “Final Solution” was used by the Nazis as one of their many euphemisms, so as to disguise the true nature of their ambitions (“Final Solution”: Overview). The “Final Solution” is the overarching idea behind the Holocaust and is what ultimately drove the Nazis in their anti-Semitic craze.
In order to understand much of the Holocaust and the system of hierarchy, one must understand some o...


... middle of paper ...


...Final Solution. The History Place, 7 Feb. 2012. Web. 2 Feb. 2014. .
McFee, Gord. "When Did Hitler Decide On The Final Solution?" Holocaust-History.com. N.p., 28 Oct. 2013. Web. 27 Jan. 2014. .
"Reinhard Heydrich." Jewish Virtual Library. American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise, n.d. Web. 19 Feb. 2014. .
"The Wannsee Conference." The Wannsee Conference. N.p., 22 Jan. 2014. Web. 2 Feb. 2014. .
"What Was the Final Solution?" The Final Solution. N.p., 21 Jan. 2014. Web. 31 Jan. 2014. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Holocaust: Preconceived or Impulse? Essay

- The Holocaust was full of atrocities that any person would shudder to mention. Yet, there are so many things about this event that aren’t completely known. Without knowing, or at least understanding, we can never expect ourselves not to allow such atrocities to be committed again. Once such unanswered question is whether or not Adolf Hitler, their “Fuhrer,” planned for the mass execution of millions of Jews or if he just took advantage of the circumstances before him with a deadly fist. Through the analysis of a myriad of facts, it is easy to understand that it cannot be definitely determined whether or not Hitler necessarily planned all along for the "Final Solution," but, at the very least...   [tags: history, Hitler, SHOAH]

Term Papers
1301 words (3.7 pages)

Essay on Preconceived Stereotypes Of A Particular Culture

- Can’t we all Just Get Along Ames, Armbruster, Benitez, Bielski, and Borghese For countless generations, we as humans have inhabited this world. As a species we have made numerous scientific, cultural, and technological advances. As a species we have made it our goal to not only understand the world around us, but to also understand that which is within us. Some take this task seriously, and others pay little attention. Although as a species we truly have mad some fantastic advances, we have also experienced our fair share of shortcomings....   [tags: Culture, Family, Stereotype, United States]

Term Papers
1020 words (2.9 pages)

Essay about The Utopian Impulse

- To explore the concepts of Utopian theory, both political and social, one must first engender a concrete definition of what Utopia means. Sir Thomas More, the original creator of the term Utopia, signifies it as “no place”. However, More’s clever play on words seems ultimately to suggest that ”no place” is just no place right now. That is to say that Utopia is “an ideal place that does not exist in reality” yet (Murfin and Ray 529). The theoretical and literary genres of Utopianism which came in the wake of More’s Utopia seek to promote a “vision of ‘the good life’”, as Barbara Goodwin and Keith Taylor explain in their collaborative work, The Politics of Utopia....   [tags: Philosophy, Social-Political Reality]

Term Papers
1135 words (3.2 pages)

The Problem Of Impulse Buying Essay

- Introduction The phenomenon of impulse buying is becoming increasingly commonplace in developed countries. Our culture of consumption makes us less likely to resist temptation and consider the consequences before purchasing things. The impacts could be varied dramatically depended on where it takes place. For instance, the things that you purchase impulsively could be a bar of chocolate; however, it could also be a Louis Vuitton handbag and the consequences would be much severe. Hence, a lot of researchers are interested in studying the causes of this phenomenon in terms of different parameters such as age and gender....   [tags: Gender, Gender role, Gender identity]

Term Papers
922 words (2.6 pages)

Haste and Impulse in "Romeo and Juliet" Essay

- Most people think that coincidence is the main cause for the character’s severe misfortune in Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, but in reality, it is impulse and the inability to control one’s passion that account for the large amount of calamity in this tragedy’s plot line. Haste and passion are evident flaws in many of the character’s personalities. At one point in time, Romeo, Tybalt, Capulet, Friar Lawrence make a decision on impulse. Many of these decisions are also made when the character is overcome by a deep emotion....   [tags: Literary Elements]

Term Papers
1611 words (4.6 pages)

Essay on Impulse By Conrad Aiken Wrestles

- Impulses or the desire to fulfill some kind of urge are a universal human experience. Some of them are good and benefit society, for example, when a man has fallen and other people react to help him up. Other times they are bad. These include when someone wishes to cause harm to another person or his or her property. Impulses are the human equivalent of instincts. According to the British Dictionary impulse is defined as, “an impelling force or motion.” According to the same source an instinct is, “the innate capacity of an animal to respond to a given stimulus in a relatively fixed way; inborn intuitive power.” The real difference between impulse and instincts is that in humans we get to d...   [tags: Human, Thought, Short story, Mind]

Term Papers
1824 words (5.2 pages)

The Postmodernist Impulse and Sam Shepard Essay

- ... (37) Influenced by the absurdism of Samuel Beckett, Brecht’s Epic Theatre, Artaud’s Theater of Cruelty and the nihilism of Eugene O’Neill, a radically new type of theater, known as the postmodern theater emerged in the Western World during the late 1970s and 1980s. For the American literary critic Ihab Hassan, postmodernism in drama: “veers towards open, playful, disjunctive, displaced, or indeterminate forms, a discourse of fragments, an ideology of fracture, a will to unmaking, an invention of silence-veers toward all those and yet implies their very opposites, their antithetical realities”....   [tags: distrust of grand theories and ideologies]

Term Papers
3394 words (9.7 pages)

Essay on Pyromania: An Impulse Control Disorder

- Fire: bright, burning, wondrous thing; the embodiment of life and death. It is easy to understand the fascination that pyromaniacs have with flame. It is, after all, a fascination that extends back countless centuries from the first discoveries of spark and fire. The Greeks saw fire as the embodiment of knowledge; dangerous when used carelessly, but awesome in its abilities. Fire is used every day to cook meals, heat homes, although not so much in Florida, and has many other beneficial uses. Fire can also destroy lives, tear apart families, and utterly consume homes....   [tags: Treating Behavioral Addictions]

Term Papers
1436 words (4.1 pages)

Essay about I Was An Impulse Decision

- I know it’s been a while since we actually talked and I just need you to know that this is not an impulse decision. I actually thought about reaching out to you for a very, very long time. I had a lot of time to reflect and heal and during the all that time I made a huge realization. I just want to say I am truly sorry, for what you may ask. Well the more I thought about what happened these past few months, especially in June I realized I lied to myself and to you. I subconsciously kept telling myself I was okay and that I needed to be okay or else you wouldn’t want to be my friend anymore....   [tags: 2006 singles, 2007 singles, 2008 singles]

Term Papers
1072 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Impulse Generator and Lightning Characteristics Simulation

- ... For different input values, the corresponding waveforms will be obtained. The main focus of this research will be towards accessing waveforms and its characteristics that corroborates the industry standard and laboratory experimental values with expected accuracy not lesser than 60%.This software will be made available to work in cross platform operating systems such as Windows, android, Mac etc. so that the user can download and install the application in their favourite media device at their own comfort....   [tags: insulation, electric power]

Term Papers
1788 words (5.1 pages)