Pete Maravich Essay examples

Pete Maravich Essay examples

Length: 1217 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview


Pete Maravich was one of the greatest basketball players of all time. His spectacular moves and awesome footwork helped him to get better everyday. His incredible passes and being able to control the court caused his teammates to like him even more. “His playground moves, circus shots, and hotdog passes were considered outrageous during his era” (NBA Encyclopedia Playoff Edition). His love for basketball was instilled by his father Peter “Press” Maravich.
Pete was born on June 22, 1947 in Aliquippa, Pennsylvania. His parents, Press and Helen Maravich were a big impact in his early life when it came to basketball. Press Maravich was the head basketball coach for Louisiana State University. Press was a former professional basketball player, and was also a naval aviator. He began showing Pete the fundamentals of the game of basketball when Pete was just seven years old. He constantly drilled and drove Pete to be better at basketball, and everything else he did throughout his childhood. This helped Pete make the game more fun and interesting as he got better. “Named everything from around the world and the space clap to the scrambled egg and the flap jack, these drills improved Pete's quickness and hand-eye coordination while strengthening his self-confidence” (Kinzie). Pete, wanting to improve his skills constantly, quickly became obsessive over being the best. Press took basketball to a whole new level. He went as far as making pete lean out the window of the car and dribble while he was driving at different speeds.
Of course, being a professional basketball player was young Pete’s dream. He did everything he could to get better, and to be like his father. When it came to his early basketball career, it didn’t really do to...


... middle of paper ...


...yoff Edition. 2011. Turner Sports Interactive Inc. 4/15/11
http://www.nba.com/history/players/maravich_bio.html
Kriegel, Mark. The New York Times First Chapters. 2/11/07. The New York Times.
4/15/11
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/02/11/books/chapters/0211-1st-krie.html
Kinzie, Amy. Maravich Biography - The Life Of Pistol Pete. 2011. AMF Enterprises, Ltd. 4/18/11
http://www.pistol-pete-videos.com/maravich_biography.htm
Kriegel, Mark. Amazon.com. 2011. Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. 4/18/11
http://www.amazon.com/Pistol-Life-Maravich-Mark-Kriegel/dp/ 0743284976
Kriegel, Mark. New York Books. 2/11/2007. New York Media LLC. 4/19/11
http://nymag.com/arts/books/reviews/27798/
Carter, Bob. ESPN Classic. 2007. ESPN. 4/19/11
http://espn.go.com/classic/biography/s/Maravich_Pete.html

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on The Pistol : The Birth Of A Legend

- The movie I chose for this assignment was called The Pistol: The Birth of a Legend. This movie was about a young boy by the name of Pete Maravich who had a dream to become a great basketball player like his father Press Maravich. However, during this process he was faced with adversity of being too short and too flashy but he overcame the adversity he faced and became a hall of fame basketball player. Pete was dedicated to the game and no matter the weather outside he was out working on his skills even in a thunderstorm....   [tags: Game, Play, Pete Maravich, Press Maravich]

Strong Essays
965 words (2.8 pages)

Peter Pistol Maravich Essay

- Peter Pistol Maravich Peter Press Maravich is arguably one of the best basketball players ever to play the game. Born June 22, 1947 in Aliquippa, Pennsylvania where he learned to love basketball from his father, Press Maravich, who spent many hours teaching him the game’s most important fundamentals. Maravich broke numerous records throughout his career. While in high school he scored 47 points, more than any other player, in the North Carolina High School All-Star Game. He holds nearly every National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) scoring record at Louisiana State University (LSU) and was named a three-time All American in only three years in the NCAA....   [tags: Essays Papers]

Strong Essays
2036 words (5.8 pages)

The Adventures of Pete the Purple Dinosaur Essay

- Pete the Purple Dinosaur and the Halloween Quest One dark and foggy night Pete the Purple Dinosaur was at his post guarding the castle when he heard unusual sound, he crept very quietly and slowly toward the sound. As he got closer to the sound he saw an eerie light. He waited for another sound before he went any closer, but there was nothing. he thought it was his imagination and he went back to his post, then Pete heard the sound again. He was sure that it was his imagination playing tricks on him so he stayed at his post....   [tags: Halloween, Rescue, Queen]

Strong Essays
2015 words (5.8 pages)

Pete Rose Baseball Scandal Essay

- Throughout the history of America’s pastime, baseball has continually battled scandals and controversies. From the 1919 “Black Sox” scandal to the current steroid debate, baseball has lived in a century of turmoil. While many of these scandals affected multiple players and brought shame to teams, none have affected a single player more than the 1980’s Pete Rose betting scandal. Aside from the public humiliation he brought his family and the Cincinnati Reds, nothing has done more to hurt Pete Rose than his lifetime ban from baseball making him ineligible for hall of fame....   [tags: Professional Sports]

Strong Essays
1592 words (4.5 pages)

Pete Rose in the Hall of Fame Essay

- Pete Rose in the Hall of Fame To some, including myself, baseball is the greatest sport that has ever been played. It is a game played by two opposing teams made of multiple players, but only nine players per team play at the same time. To be part of one of the thirty teams that get to play professional baseball, a player has to play the game extremely well (www.baseballhalloffame.com). When a player plays the game better than most have played he gets rewarded, usually with lots of money in a big contract....   [tags: Art]

Strong Essays
991 words (2.8 pages)

pete rose & the hall of fame Essay

- Pete Rose & the Hall of Fame When I go watch my Chicago Cubs at beautiful Wrigley field I am concerned with the game and what is in front of me, not what is going on off the field. I go to enjoy the game and the talent of the athletes that play. I could care less about what Sammy Sosa is doing off the field, he is the man because of his skills on the field and what he does for Americas’ past time. Last time I was sitting on the third base line and Sammy stepped up to the plate I did not think to myself “I wonder if he hits his wife like he hits a baseball,” or “he looks like a big time gambler,” I was shouting his name and clapping in support for hope of another homer being sent over th...   [tags: essays research papers]

Strong Essays
1258 words (3.6 pages)

Pete Sampras Essay

- Pete Sampras the American Sensation The reason why I chose to do my research paper on Pete Sampras is because I love to play tennis, and Pete is the greatest tennis player alive. I have always made him my role model, and I hope to one day meet him. I try and model my tennis game after his and it has really helped my tennis game. Pete Sampras is my childhood hero, and that is the reason why I chose the topic of Pete Sampras. Pete was born on August 12, 1971. in Washington, DC. Although Pete was born in Washington, he grew up in Palos Verdes, California....   [tags: essays research papers fc]

Strong Essays
1003 words (2.9 pages)

Pete Rose Essay

- Pete Rose Bart Giamatti’s decision to ban Pete Rose from the Baseball Hall of Fame was not a fair decision at all. Pete Rose was placed on Baseball’s ineligible list in 1989 when commissioner of baseball, Bart Giamatti concluded that Rose had bet on baseball games, including games involving his own team, the Cincinnati Reds. In an agreement made with Baseball, Rose accepted his banishment from the sport. Although he never admitted to having gambled on baseball games (Maury). Pete Rose was a phenomenal baseball player and manager....   [tags: Baseball Hall of Fame Baseball Players Essays]

Strong Essays
1969 words (5.6 pages)

Pete Rose Essay

- Peter Edward Rose was born in Cincinnati in 1941. He said that when he was growing up he rooted for the Cincinnati Reds just like every other kid in the area. In the summertime of most of his childhood years he played baseball constantly. He also played in high school, however he thinks that he was a better football player than a baseball player in school. He said that he liked to play football more because many people would attend the games, and not many showed up for baseball. "You could throw a bomb into the stands at our (high school) baseball games, and you wouldn't kill anyone"....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
2671 words (7.6 pages)

Pete Townshend Essay

- Pete Townshend Imagine one were charged with a quest to compose a catalog of the greatest and most influential lyricists of the rock and roll genre. Such a roster would inevitably include names like John Lennon, Bob Dylan, and Elton John; however, if one were to scroll a little farther down the list they would come across a man named Pete Townshend....   [tags: Musician Biography Townshend]

Free Essays
1541 words (4.4 pages)