Performance Based Pay for Teachers Essay

Performance Based Pay for Teachers Essay

Length: 1217 words (3.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it."
- Aristotle
On February 17, 2009, the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act was signed into law (US Dept of Education). According to the Executive Summary of the US Department of Education’s website the purpose of this act was to stimulate the economy, create jobs, and provide funding for education. To encourage education reform at the state level, the competitive grant program, “Race to the Top,” was implemented. This allowed states to apply for grants, provided that certain education reform was taking place within states’ schools. One particular condition under this campaign has led to much debate within our education system, implementing a pay system based on a teacher’s academic performance and the methods used to determine this (US Dept of Education).
There are many ways to compile data on a teacher and determine that person’s performance. Teacher performance can be based upon classroom observation, a teacher’s continuing development and education, and students’ standardized testing scores. The controversy centers around using student test scores to determine the performance of a teacher and thus her pay. Scott Andes, a research analyst at the Information Technology and Innovation Foundation voices the merits of performance based pay with his article “Getting Serious with Education: Why Can We Measure Students but Not Teachers?” High School English teachers, Jordan Kohanim and Ashley Ulrich vehemently state why there is no merit with performance based pay with their article, “No Merit to Merit Pay Arguments.” In each article both sides debate how performance based or merit pay will affect students, teachers, schools, and com...


... middle of paper ...


...ides to come together and implement a plan for better practices in assessing the performance of the nation’s teachers and its students.



Works Cited
"Race to the Top Executive Summary." US Department of Education Website. 20 Semptember 2010. Web . 2009. 16 November 2010
Andes, Scott. “Getting Serious About Education: Why Can We Measure Students But Not Teachers?" Progressive Fix Website. 28 July 2010. .16 November 2010
Aristotle. QuoteWorld.org. 2010. Web. .
16 November 2010

Kohanim, Jordan and Ashley Ulrich. "Teachers: No Merit to Merit Pay Arguments." Atlanta Journal-Constitution Website. 28 February 2010. Web. .16 November 2010

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Performance-Based Pay for Public School Teachers Essay example

- What are good teachers worth, and what is the best way to compensate them. Will paying teachers based on student performance increase the performance of teachers. As student test scores continue to fall, teachers are increasingly being held accountable for the performance of their students. This concern has resulted in a mounting interest and the implementation of a performance-based pay system for public school teachers. Many believe if performance-based pay works in private corporations and businesses, it should work also work for schools....   [tags: Education, philosophy of education]

Strong Essays
1797 words (5.1 pages)

Should Teacher Pay Be Based On Student Test Scores? Essay example

- For years, educators and government officials have argued what the most effective system of payment is for teachers in the United States. Government officials state that a “merit pay” system, where teacher pay would reflect the students’ test scores, would be the most effective and would increase teacher performance. Teachers, on the other hand, see the merit pay system as a threat to their salaries and fear that they cannot control student performance. The debate will continue for years to come....   [tags: merit pay systems, performance pay systems]

Strong Essays
2128 words (6.1 pages)

Should We Include Merit Pay as a Part of Educational Reform? Essay

- Should we include merit pay as a part of educational reform. These days, merit pay for teachers becomes a very arguable topic. Merit pay, also known as pay by performance, is a payment schedule for teachers that design to motivate teachers and improve our education. However, although more and more schools and states begin to try this new payment schedule, only a few of them get some significant results. Because of that, more and more people begin to doubt the effectiveness of merit pay. Should merit pay become a part of our educational reform become a serious problem for everyone to think about....   [tags: pay by performance]

Strong Essays
1241 words (3.5 pages)

Merit Pay For Teachers For Many Reasons Essay

- I have never seen a topic that contains two words that strike as much fear and diverse opinions in teachers as merit pay. There are two distinct sides to this topic. On the pro side are usually state officials and some administrators, on the other are teachers. I chose the topic of merit pay for teachers for several reasons. The first is I enjoy reading the different economic theories that both sides use in arguing their points on merit pay. It is very interesting to see how some basic economic concepts are misused and misunderstood when money is at stake....   [tags: Economics, Capitalism, Salary, Supply and demand]

Strong Essays
1616 words (4.6 pages)

Against Merit Pay for Teachers Essay

- I. Introduction The dispute surrounding merit pay for teachers has existed for decades in many countries across the globe. The debate has been particularly heated in the United States. Since the 1920s, public schools began awarding pay mostly according to title, and seniority rather than merit. Numerous attempts have been made to introduce merit pay systems throughout this period, but it never gained widespread popularity on a national level. Now, however, political leaders such as Barack Obama have supported merit pay for teachers....   [tags: Education System, School Performance]

Strong Essays
1957 words (5.6 pages)

Essay on Is Merit Pay For Teachers The Answer?

- When it comes to education, everyone has an opinion. But, does anyone truly have the perfect solution. One proposed solution bringing about debate in the last few years has been merit pay for teachers (Wright, 2003). As we know, teachers often receive the brunt of criticism from the public when it comes to the failure of education. But is merit pay the solution. Wright (2003) states that although there may be some validation to the idea of merit pay, there are also some serious concerns. As more public gains concern for the quality of education, the more interest the public has in teacher accountability and performance....   [tags: Education]

Strong Essays
2293 words (6.6 pages)

Teachers' Merit Pay Essay

- President Barrak Obama’s administration has come up with a solution to the teacher merit pay problem. The administration has stated that this program will give teachers the incentive they need to perform at the top notch quality the nation wants (Gratz). Teachers all around the United States have had issues with the new proposal but they have also found it very beneficial. Merit pay for teachers will largely be based off test scores, which means the students will have a large impact on the teacher’s career....   [tags: salary, education, test scores]

Strong Essays
1706 words (4.9 pages)

Measuring Merit: Pay for Performance Essay

- Introduction The reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act known as No Child Left Behind (NCLB, 2011) has made increasing student achievement and reducing inconsistencies in the dissemination of teacher qualifications a national priority (Guarino, Brown, & Wyse, 2011). Classic fixed salary schedules that consider only a teacher’s education and years of experience have been popular since the 1920’s (Koppich, 2005). This traditional system was developed to counter gender and racial discrimination that was allowed at the time by more unrestricted systems (Dee & Keys, 2004)....   [tags: Educational Issues]

Strong Essays
889 words (2.5 pages)

The Effects Of Performance Pay On Our Society Essay

- There is no more critical role in our current society than that of a teacher’s. Teachers help shape the minds of the future. Tomorrow 's engineers, scientists, politicians, and educators are all greatly influenced by today 's Instructors. Without teachers society would not be anywhere near where it is now, and only a select few would have access to learning. Sadly however important teachers are in human civilization, they are still drastically understated, unrecognized and under paid. Although some people may argue that performance pay is good, performance/merit pay is bad because it will result in teachers doing much less personalizing of the curriculum, and spending that time doing only wh...   [tags: Education, School, Teacher, History of education]

Strong Essays
1292 words (3.7 pages)

How Should Teachers Salaries Be Evaluated? Essay

- Throughout our education we have all encountered teachers that have inspired us to learn and those who have made the learning experience seem never ending. A great teacher can be remembered for a lifetime. They can impact the choices that we make to further our education or encourage a desire in us toward a future career. We remember these teachers and often hope that we will encounter more teachers like them along our educational journey. The discussion of teacher tenure and salary has been in news headlines for the past decade....   [tags: Education, teaching]

Strong Essays
1485 words (4.2 pages)