People Like Us: Family Issues Essay

People Like Us: Family Issues Essay

Length: 1456 words (4.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Troubles and issues associated with families are steadily becoming a significant social problem in our culture today. According to the Baptist Press, a survey conducted by Lifeway Christian Resources names “absence of father figure,” “financial pressures,” and “balance of work and family” as three of the top ten issues facing families (Noel). These issues are just a few problems that aid to family dysfunction in the United States of America and worldwide. A 2012 Dreamworks Picture production directed by Alex Kurtzman depicts the problems listed above in a movie entitled People Like Us (Spieldberg, Dreamworks Studios). The movie, which depicts both sides of a family issue, is actually based on a true events that happened in director Alex Kurtzman’s own life (Bibbiani). A review from RottenTomatoes.com by Bruce Bennett describes the movie as examining “the cost of broken, fatherless relationships in subtle but direct ways” (Bennett, Rotten Tomatos). I chose to use this movie in my paper after watching it with a friend one evening around a month ago. Although the move itself was not all that successful in the box office and did not receive much positive feedback from movie critics, I feel that the movie is an excellent representation of the effects that certain family issues have on society. The movie stars Chris Pine as Sam, a guy, who after the death of his father, discovers that he has a sister he never knew about. The movie then leads the audience through an eventful plotline in which both siblings “re-examine their perceptions about family and life choices.”
The plot is centered on Sam (Chris Pines), a struggling corporate barterer who lives in New York. After one of his company deals violated federal law, he finds himself in t...


... middle of paper ...


....p., n.d. Web. 30 Apr. 2014.
Bibbiani, William. "A Roundabout Way: Alex Kurtzman on People Like Us - CraveOnline." RSS 20. N.p., n.d. Web. 30 Apr. 2014.
"First Steps For The Betrayed Spouse." Marriage Advocates. N.p., n.d. Web. 30 Apr. 2014.
Mooney, Linda A., David Knox, and Caroline Schacht. Understanding Social Problems. 8th ed. Minneapolis/St. Paul: West Pub., 1997. Print.
Noel, Brooklyn. "LifeWay Survey Examines Top 10 Issues Facing Families - Baptist Press." Baptist Press. N.p., 9 May 2006. Web. 30 Apr. 2014.
"People Like Us (film)." Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 28 Apr. 2014. Web. 30 Apr. 2014.
"People Like Us." IMDb. IMDb.com, n.d. Web. 30 Apr. 2014.
Spielberg, Steve. "People Like Us | DreamWorks Studios." People Like Us | DreamWorks Studios. N.p., n.d. Web. 30 Apr. 2014.
"Truth About Deception." Truth About Deception. N.p., n.d. Web. 29 Apr. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

My Family Is Not For The People Essay

- My whole world would be completely different if it was not for the people in my life. My loved ones are one of the most important aspect in my life and is something that I should never be take for granted. Without my them, I couldn’t imagine what I would do. For me personally, a family is a group of people who love and support each other through the good and bad times. Families will always be there through thick and thin, and my own parent’s divorce is a perfect example of this. When I was about nine years old, my parents filed a divorce and at the time, I actually did not know all what was happening or why it was happening....   [tags: Christmas, Family, Christmas controversy, Parent]

Powerful Essays
931 words (2.7 pages)

The Family Of A Family Essay

- Parenting can sometimes be something that you learned from watching others or something you were just thrown into. Traditionally and idealistically, the perfect family would be a family in which both the mother and father are married to each other, the father is working, and the mother is also working but both parents are making time to take care of the children. Most American children are raised by both parents in their household (E. Jordan, personal communication, October 11, 2016). Idealistically, the father is mostly supporting the family and the children get to live and find themselves in a supportive household....   [tags: Family, Mother, Parent, Father]

Powerful Essays
1031 words (2.9 pages)

The Impact Of Family On The Family Essay

- With the passing of time comes the inevitable arrival of change. We see this in nearly aspect in our lives including technology, education, and especially in our relationships. One relationship that has been examined over the years is our familial relationships. The “family” of today is nothing like the “family of the 1950’s. Some of these changes have been viewed as very positive; that they show the strength and resilience of the family despite the turmoil that may arise in the world we live in....   [tags: Family, Marriage, An American Family]

Powerful Essays
1112 words (3.2 pages)

The Effects Of Traditional Family On Family Essay

- “What ever happened to predictability, the milkman, the paperboy, evening TV?”, words from the famous family-focused television sitcom, Full House. In the 1990s, America had a great emphasis on family values, morals, and the family unit as a whole. Nearly twenty years has passed since the hit show, Full House had its season finale and quite a bit has changed in regards to family. It is believed that the twentieth century has seen the maximum disturbance in history of family adaptation (Georgas)....   [tags: Family, Nuclear family, Mother, Father]

Powerful Essays
1488 words (4.3 pages)

Essay on The Effects of Adoption on a Family

- There are common ordeals and situations that can trouble a family emotionally, physically, and psychologically. Adoption is one situation a family must encounter when a child is born without a proper system of support to sustain life after birth. The causes for a family to make a heartfelt decision to place a child for adoption can have dramatic effects on the birth parents, adoptive parents, and child (Adoptee), even if the decision is meant for the best. The birth parents are affected by the thought of loss of a child due to the adoption placement procedure during pregnancy because their unplanned arrival of a child and life plans will take an unexpected turn as new parents....   [tags: Family Psychology, social issues]

Powerful Essays
1165 words (3.3 pages)

Observations on Shakespeare's As You Like It Essay

- Observations on As You Like It As You Like It will be for many of you a rather difficult play to appreciate and interpret simply on the basis of a reading. The reasons for this are not difficult to ascertain. The play is, as I have observed, a pastoral comedy, that is, a comedy which involves a traditional literary style of moving sophisticated urban courtiers out into the countryside, where they have to deal with life in a very different manner from that of the aristocratic court....   [tags: Shakespeare As You Like It Essays]

Free Essays
935 words (2.7 pages)

John Howard Griffin and Black Like Me Essay

- John Howard Griffin and Black Like Me John Howard Griffin was a journalist and a specialist on race issues. After publication, he became a leading advocate in the Civil Rights Movement and did much to promote awareness of the racial situations and pass legislature. He was middle aged and living in Mansfield, Texas at the time of publication in 1960. His desire to know if Southern whites were racist against the Negro population of the Deep South, or if they really judged people based on the individual's personality as they said they prompted him to cross the color line and write Black Like Me....   [tags: Black Like Me Essays]

Free Essays
1751 words (5 pages)

John H. Griffin's Black Like Me Essay

- John H. Griffin's Black Like Me is a very touching book. The book taught me that there are people out there that do care about to struggles that the blacks in America went through. The book is a real life experiences that the author John Griffin went through. Griffin in the book for six long weeks transforms himself into a black man, to see how it really fells to be a Negro in the 50's. Griffin's writing is filled with interesting information especially because he is showing different struggles that black men were dealing with at the time....   [tags: Black Like Me Essays]

Free Essays
411 words (1.2 pages)

John H. Griffin's Black Like Me Essay

- Black Like Me Black Like Me by John Howard Griffin is a Multicultural story set in the south around the late 1950's in first person point of view about John Griffin in 1959 in the deep south of the east coast, who is a novelist that decides to get his skin temporarily darkened medically to black. What Griffin hopes to achieve is enough information about the relationships between blacks and whites to write a book about it.The overall main obstacle is society, and the racial divide in the south with the whites....   [tags: Black Like Me Essays]

Free Essays
966 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on Setting in Hills Like White Elephants, by Ernest Hemingway

- In the short story by Ernest Hemingway, "Hills Like White Elephants," a couple is delayed at a train station en route to Madrid and is observed in conflict over the girl's impending abortion. In his writing, Hemingway does not offer any commentary through a specific character's point of view, nor, in the storytelling, does he offer his explicit opinions on how to feel or think about the issues that emerge. The narrative seems to be purely objective, somewhat like a newspaper or journal article, and in true Hemingway form the story ends abruptly, without the couple's conflict clearly being resolved....   [tags: Hills Like White Elephants Essays]

Powerful Essays
865 words (2.5 pages)