Oh What a Colorful Mind You Have There Essay

Oh What a Colorful Mind You Have There Essay

Length: 1113 words (3.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

There are many who underestimate the importance of proper color choice within web
design. For those who delve deeper into this art, however, will quickly realize that it is incredibly
essential to the successful construction of a website. Every color has attributes associated with
it, and depending on which part of the world you’re in, different meanings. An entire category of
science has been dedicated to analyzing colors, their effects on those who view them, and how
various colors interact with each other. In web design, understanding the various effects and
meanings of different colors and how they can influence your target audience is crucial.
Colors have a wide range of effects on their viewers (Chapman, 2010). Red, for
example, has been shown to raise blood pressure and respiration rates, and also enhance
human metabolism. Orange commands attention and may lead the viewer to receive a sense of
friendliness and invitation. Yellow has a bit more of a range, depending on the value, or
lightness or darkness, of the color. Yellow in general can lend a sense of happiness and
cheerfulness. Lighter yellows can send out a more calming form of happiness. Darker yellows
are known for transmitting a sense of antiquity. Green is known for its balancing and
harmonizing effects, as well as stability. Brighter greens tend to release a more energizing feel.
Blue, in my opinion, is a rather strong color, with a wide variety of effects depending on its
shade. Light blues tend to be refreshing, friendly, relaxing, and calming. Darker blues tend to
lend out a feeling of strength and reliability. Very bright blues have a habit of transmitting energy
and refreshment. Purple has had a long history of reminding people of royalty, hence why
darker s...


... middle of paper ...


...Designer, Part 3:
Creating Your Own Color Palettes. Retrieved February 20, 2014, from
http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/02/08/color-theory-for-designer-part-3-creating-your-
own-color-palettes/
Friedman, V. (2007, September 27). Smashing Magazine. 10 Usability Nightmares You Should
Be Aware Of. Retrieved February 23, 2014, from
http://uxdesign.smashingmagazine.com/2007/09/27/10-usability-nightmares-you-should-be-
aware-of/
Friedman, V. (2008, January 31). Smashing Magazine. 10 Principles Of Effective Web Design.
Retrieved February 20, 2014, from
http://uxdesign.smashingmagazine.com/2008/01/31/10-
principles-of-effective-web-design/
Jones, H. (2009, May 26). 10 Super Useful Tools for Choosing the Right Color Palette. Web
Design Ledger RSS. Retrieved February 23, 2014, from http://webdesignledger.com/tools/10-
super-useful-tools-for-choosing-the-right-color-palette

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

What Makes You Who You Are? Essay

- What are you. It is one of the most common question people tend to ask me even though it can be inappropriate at times. The first thought that goes in my mind: how can I answer this question. I usually respond according to the context of the conversation, but I feel that my answers lack real meaning. It is surprising how just three words can throw me off balance, but they do. What is the world's obsession with having to place things in categories, especially people. In addition, when society places people into these categories, how do they react....   [tags: Personal Experience ]

Term Papers
1198 words (3.4 pages)

How I Use Mind Maps For Perfect Elevator Pitch Essays

- How to Use Mind Maps for Perfect Elevator Pitch Building a perfect pitch is extremely important if you wish to sell your new startup plan to investors. It 's do-or-die situation for your business and future. Mind mapping will help overcome the initial apprehensions and brings the much-needed clarity in the thought process. It is an ideal way to create an impressive presentation. “It is always harder to raise capital than you think. It always takes longer. So plan for that.” – Richard Harroch, Venture Capitalist and Author A startup pitch is viciously more difficult than it used to be....   [tags: Thought, Idea, Design, Donald Trump]

Term Papers
1104 words (3.2 pages)

Are You Experienced? Essay

- The Jimi Hendrix Experience released its first album in early 1967. Popular music had been leaning towards psychedelics for a couple years already and Are You Experienced. came out at about the same time as the Beatles' Sergeant Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. Are You Experienced. far exceeded the Beatles' triumph in complexity, capturing the essence of the late 1960's culture. Naturally the newer band did not share the immediate success of the Beatles. But its staying power has been testified to by several generations....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
785 words (2.2 pages)

Don 't You Love That Wall Hanging? Essay

- Don 't You Love That Wall-Hanging. In the Teseo family, coveted heirlooms are not diamonds or vacation homes, but handmade quilts and family recipes. They are Grandma 's old sewing machine and the huge mixing bowl she used to make pasta. Sewing itself, was a inheritance to be earned and a lifestyle to grow into. I remember spending hours and hours in the fabric store. After driving two hours to Ponca city, my grandmother and mother would meander through the store, making sure that they had taken an inventory of the items in every aisle....   [tags: Family, Christmas, Sewing machine, Sewing]

Term Papers
1248 words (3.6 pages)

The Soul Is The Number One Thing We Should Know About Essay

- Aristotle has stated that knowledge about the soul is the number one thing we should know about. He speaks about the soul in the book two of De Anima, in chapters one and two. There must be an approach that is specific to the soul. He questions whether if the soul is one, or if it had multiple parts. He also questions if body and soul are not separable than the soul cannot survive when the body dies. Rene Descartes speaks in his first mediation on the first philosophy in which the existence of God and the Distinction between mind and body are demonstrated....   [tags: Mind, Soul, Sense, Perception]

Term Papers
1275 words (3.6 pages)

Modern Language Association, And Chicago Manual Style From An Online Source

- Beauty is defined as the quality present in a thing or person that gives intense pleasure or deep satisfaction to the mind, whether arising from sensory manifestations (as shape, color, sound, etc.), a meaningful design or pattern, or something else (as a personality in which high spiritual qualities are manifest). Stated in dictionary definition of Modern Language Association, and Chicago Manual Style from an online source. The word beauty has a major impact within the world, it transcendence between different languages keeping the denotation but the connotation does vary between from person to person....   [tags: Beauty, Culture, Earth, Mind]

Term Papers
752 words (2.1 pages)

Why I Should Be Working On Your Creativity Essay

- “While there is no magic to achieve instant fulfillment in life, there is a path towards it” (Bryan, 1998, pg. xix). I am not exactly the person that can get instant ideas. I have to sit there and really ponder what I want to create. I started to work on this project weeks ago, but every time I tried to think of something, I was distracted. I would work on something else because I still had plenty time. Seven weeks to be exact. I felt uneasy about creating or making something. I hate the idea because I am not good at being innovative or creative....   [tags: Mind, Thought, Idea, Tool]

Term Papers
1748 words (5 pages)

Graduation Speech : A New Dream

- At 8:33 am, the alarm clock began blaring. As soon as I woke up I could feel my heart racing. As I got up slowly, I found myself day dreaming hoping this place of service would close down for some strange and unknown reason, I knew this wasn’t going to happen, so I dragged myself out of bed with fear and excitement both at the same time. A few years ago I finally purchase a service, which I have been waiting my whole life for. So I am hoping want they say is true, “You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream"....   [tags: Thought, Mind, Fear, Dream]

Term Papers
816 words (2.3 pages)

Essay Poor Girl Pregnant At 14

- Poor girl pregnant at 14!, Should you feel bad for her. She 's so young and pregnant already!. Shouldn 't she be outside playing jump rope with friends or worrying about her grades in school. Or do you think she knew exactly what she was doing. Ive learned much throughout my years that young girl to the women I 'm learning to become. I was in the 7th grade when I started talking to my sons future father sadly to say. We grew up in Queens the suburbs houes had green cut grass and colorful trees through out the streets....   [tags: Mind, Mother, Thought, Childbirth]

Term Papers
1852 words (5.3 pages)

The Colorful Gathering Essay

- On March 11, 2009, I visited the Carl Schwartz Retrospective gallery located within the Florida Gulf Coast University Arts Complex. While there, I was able to see the life’s work of Carl Schwartz. Schwartz has lived in many different parts of the United States. Throughout his travels, he kept records of the scenes and people that inspired him by turning them into works of art. Thus, the vast majority of the pieces at the exhibit were portraits and landscapes. The Colorful Gathering was the first piece of art that really grabbed my attention while I was browsing around....   [tags: Artwork]

Term Papers
735 words (2.1 pages)