Occupying Education… Initiating Reform! Essay

Occupying Education… Initiating Reform! Essay

Length: 1816 words (5.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

“Too many students leave our secondary schools only semi-literate and semi-numerate,” says, Prime Minister Hubert Ingraham at the close of the July 2009 Education Summit. The current public educational system of The Bahamas leading into the 21st century was regressive as revealed by Ralph Massey who was an economist for the Nassau Institute and produced an article called the “Academic Failure & The Skills Gap,” which reported for the 2006 Bahamas General Certificate of Secondary Education (BGCSE), “44% had passed English while 56% Failed; 17% both failed and were functionally illiterate. In Math, 18% Passed and 82% Failed; 46%, almost one-half, both failed and were functionally illiterate in the New Providence public high schools.” (Massey 3) Likewise, a recent 2006 (BGCSE) report provided by the Coalition for Educational Reform, stated that the “overall grade average would have been an astonishing E rather than D, if it were not for the private schools and a few publics in the out islands. Research also shows that in 2007 “52% of the Public High School students and 22% of the Private High School students earned “Fs”.” (Bahamian Youth: The Untapped Resource 5) What is being done in our public school to produce such depressing results? The failure and illiteracy rates propose that the standard public education is unproductive. In September 2011, According to The Acronym (The Academy’s Choice Reading One Newspaper For You and Me) there is a movement in the United States of America that was called “Occupy Wall Street.” It involved the 99% protesting against the 1% who were very rich and powerful and were afforded opportunities that the 99% wasn’t. The movement had immediately received global supporters in the fight towards ta...


... middle of paper ...


...hp

Massey, Ralph “Academic Failure & The Skills Gap,” 2008. March 17 2011
http://www.nassauinstitute.org/files/AcademicFailure&SkilsGap3.pdf

EFA Global Monitoring Report “Understanding Education Quality.” 2005. Web. 15 Mar. 2012
http://www.unesco.org/education/gmr_download/chapter1.pdf

Teaching Quality Series, “Where We Stand on Teaching Quality.” 2004. Educational Testing Services (ETS). Web. 15 March. 2012
http://www.ets.org/Media/Education_Topics/pdf/teacherquality.pdf

The Academy’s Choice Reading One Newspaper For You and Me (The Acronym) “Occupy Wall Street Summary” 2011.web 15 March 2012


The Alliance for Quality Teaching “State of Teaching Quality Attrition and Diversity in Colorado,” 2008. Web. March 17 2011. Pg 1-88
< http://www.qualityteaching.org/Documents/state_of_teaching_2008.pdf>

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Agrarian Reform Law Of Guatemala Essay

- The Agrarian Reform Law Decree 900 was enacted in 1952 under President Jacobo Árbenz’s government. President Árbenz wanted Guatemala’s financial system to grow and he wanted to transform the rural population through land redistribution and by giving them agricultural privileges. However, these ideals for land reform were short-lived; coming to an end with his coup in 1954. This essay will explain what the Agrarian Reform law in Guatemala was as well as what were its effects on landowners and rural hacienda workers, while touching on why the reform failed despite its progressive ideals....   [tags: Land reform, Agrarian reform]

Term Papers
1390 words (4 pages)

Essay about Scientifically Based Research School Reform

- The policy mandates that school reforms and practices should be grounded on “Scientifically Based Research” and employ educators that are “Highly Qualified” (Manna & Petrilli, 2008, p. 63). The “Scientifically Based Research” (SBR) and “Highly Qualified” (HQ) teachers are supposedly, fruits of collaboration between educational researchers and the policy makers. Regretfully, the overuse phrases have become mantras and in the process the real definitions of the words or how they are supposed to be implemented is convoluted....   [tags: Education reform, educational reform]

Term Papers
1544 words (4.4 pages)

It's Time for Education Reform Essay

-  In "Basic Principles of Curriculum and Instruction," Ralph Tyler stated that we should determine what our children need to learn through analysis of contemporary society (1949). I argue further that we must teach beyond today's situation to prepare our students for an uncertain future. All things considered, students' minimal exposure to technology in schools is mystifying. How can we prepare our students for tomorrow's world when we continue to teach with methods and materials from yesterday. My early experiences as a teacher and in my Master's degree program have inspired me to work to integrate technology into the inquiry and constructivist models of science education....   [tags: Education Reform Essays]

Free Essays
934 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on The Treatment Of Prison Reform

- Prison Reform “…regarded it among their earliest practical necessities to allot a portion of the virgin soil as a cemetery, and another portion as the site of a prison” (Hawthorne). This quote from The Scarlet Letter is actually true. Prisons were among the first buildings built among colonization. The prisons were not for punishment- that was usually done publicly. Punishments fell into the four categories of fines, public shame, physical chastisement, and death. These prisons were usually just holding places for those awaiting trial or awaiting punishment....   [tags: Prison, Penology, Prison reform]

Term Papers
1685 words (4.8 pages)

Education Reform and Partisan Propaganda Essay

- It is likely that in our lifetime we will witness some form of educational reform. We need to be involved in this process to ensure that the reformed educational system focuses on knowledge, not propaganda. Education is the most powerful propaganda known to man. The subtle seduction of education can accomplish what legions of soldiers cannot. It can change the prospects of a generation. It can illuminate the darkest corners of the mind. It can shade the luminous opportunities of the future. A good education can ennoble a populace, granting them access to true knowledge, freeing them from the chains of ignorance and despair....   [tags: Educational reform, politics]

Term Papers
699 words (2 pages)

Essay about Noneconomic Damages Reform

- ... After this case hit the news, magazines, tabloids, etc., labeled the case as a “frivolous lawsuit” and refer back to it whenever someone files a lawsuit against a company. The Tort law has always been an issue in need of attention, but it is the significant Supreme Court cases where the plaintiff is awarded millions of dollars for their “pain and suffering” that spark the idea that there needs to be a stop or a limit to certain awards and jurisdictions. According to Sherman Joyce, Victor Schwartz, and Darren McKinney of the ATRA, over 30 states have implemented some sort of noneconomic damages reform....   [tags: Tort Reform, Compensation, Insurance]

Term Papers
901 words (2.6 pages)

Healthcare Reform Bill Essay

- My grandmother was diagnosed with Leukemia and Lymphoma of the blood on December 13th 2008. For two months my family and I watched my grandmother deteriorate in her hospital bed. No matter how many blood transfusions or chemotherapy she went through it was not enough to save her, she died on February 13, 2008. If it had not been for our family providing additional medical costs, she would not have been alive as long as she was. Unfortunately, not every American can afford to finance additional expensive procedures....   [tags: Healthcare, Healthcare Reform, USA, ]

Term Papers
605 words (1.7 pages)

Campaign Finance Reform Essay

- People always tell you that there are two subjects never to bring up at a dinner party, one is religion and the other is politics. Why is that. It is because both subjects invoke very strong emotions. Rather than saying something inappropriate, most people avoid talking about religion altogether. But get those same people in a room and ask their political opinions, that is a different story. For many reasons, people are vocal about their political beliefs (Bentz, 2013). Unfortunately, individuals will judge people by their political beliefs first, without notice to other important aspects of their lives....   [tags: reform, soft money, spending]

Term Papers
690 words (2 pages)

The Reform of the Electoral College Essay example

- The United States, well known for its democracy, holds elections every four years to elect its President. Every American citizen over the age of 18 has a right to cast a vote in the presidential election. The voting process, although it seems easy and straightforward, can be very complicated. In the 2000 election, Al Gore captured the majority of votes, but George Bush won. The reason for this strange outcome and why Al Gore lost was because of the Electoral College. The Electoral College is voting system where different states are given a certain amount of votes in the election, and which ever candidate wins a state, is given that state’s votes....   [tags: Political Reform]

Term Papers
4627 words (13.2 pages)

The Ineffectiveness of Education Reform Essay

- On January 8, 2002 President Bush signed into law the Leave No Child Behind Act, which significantly changes how public schools receive federal funding. This bipartisan-supported attempt at reform, the first of this magnitude since the Elementary-Secondary Education Act of 1965, shows a dedicated concern to improving education. However, it is not plausible a punishment/rewards system will positively improve schools on a large scale as a nationwide policy should. President Bush’s apparent prioritizing of schools is the positive stance for the federal government to take on this issue, especially at a time when domestic concerns could be overshadowed by global tensions and war activities....   [tags: Education Reform Essays]

Term Papers
553 words (1.6 pages)