Nuclear Power Position Essay

Nuclear Power Position Essay

Length: 693 words (2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Nuclear power can be a benefit to the world because it emits low carbon dioxide which helps us with global warming but it’s also harmful to the environment. Using nuclear power as our energy source could be our solution to lowering global warming. The nuclear waste could seep through the ground and contaminate our water which causes our marine animals to be contaminated. Not only do we currently use nuclear power to produce energy, we also use it as a weapon. Nuclear power uses uranium to power the plant because the heat to create the steam happens during fission. The uranium used to power the plant is also dangerous. My opinion on nuclear power is that using nuclear power is a dangerous idea.
There are many ways that nuclear power helps our environment. It produces energy that emits low carbon dioxide. “Canada’s existing nuclear plants avoid the emission of about 90 million tons of CO2 each year that would result if their electricity were produced by coal fire plants…” (cna, 2013). A huge problem that we are currently having is global warming. Global warming is melting the polar ice caps and it’s increasing the temperature of the weather. An article from baltimoresun states that, “France has the world's most sophisticated energy policy, producing 75 percent of their power with nuclear plants.” (Woodstock, 2013). France produces a lot of its energy using nuclear power and France is Europe’s lowest producer of carbon dioxide. Nuclear power also requires less land than solar and wind energy. It produces more electricity below the cost of wind, solar, and coal energy combined. It’s also better because if we create dams, we will be destroying the animals’ habitat. We have brought an end to the migratory fish in Britain because we cr...


... middle of paper ...


... .
Moniz, Ernest. “Why We Still Need Nuclear Power.” Foreign Affairs. n.p. n.d. Web. 19 Nov. 2013. .
Monbiot, George. “Why Fukushima made me stop worrying and love nuclear power” the guardian. n.p. 21 March 2011. Web. 11 Nov. 2013. .
“Nuclar Facts – Is nuclear energy a good choice for the environment?” cna. n.p. n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013. .

Woodstock, Charles Campbell. “Nuclear is the greenest energy” baltimoresun. n.p. 28 May 2013. Web. 12 Nov. 2013. .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay Nuclear Power And Nuclear Energy

- Nuclear Energy in Japan Did you know only 70 miles away from Japan’s capital city Tokyo lived a “Nuclear Valley”, encompassing more than 15 nuclear power plants. This valley was bound for success and energy delivery, until in 1999 everything went south. The Tokaimura incident is one of many nuclear catastrophes in Japan making citizens unhappy [Cont. Japan]. What is Japan’s current situation in relation to nuclear energy today. The late 1990’s was a boom in Japan’s electrical output with the help of the very first Nuclear Power plant built in the Tokai area the power plant generated up to 27.7 Billion Kilowatt hours of energy in its 2 years of up-time [ inis.iaea.org]....   [tags: Nuclear power, Nuclear fission, Nuclear fusion]

Better Essays
1204 words (3.4 pages)

The International System and a Nuclear World Essay examples

- ... The author of this article writes, “The greatest influence over when India will begin nuclear force reductions remains its assessment of the security threats emanating from its nuclear armed regional competitors,” (Lee 143). Here the belief is that decreasing the arms of existing nuclear nations will decrease the likelihood that other nations will feel threatened into constructing their own nuclear arsenals. The articles “Living with a Nuclear Iran” and “America’s Meltdown towards “Global Zero”” also concur that humans today are living in an already nuclear world....   [tags: destructive nuclear weapons, nuclear Iran]

Better Essays
896 words (2.6 pages)

Position Statement-The Use of Nuclear Energy Essay

- Despite the fact the countries continue to increase the production of nuclear energy, my position is that new nuclear power plants should not continue to be built. The current use of nuclear power should be carefully evaluated with a plan to slowly decrease production throughout the world. The negative implications to the environment and economy support my position. The production of nuclear energy is not as safe and clean as some say that it is. The Oxford Research Group released a report providing evidence that supports this point....   [tags: production, world, environment, economy]

Better Essays
773 words (2.2 pages)

Essay on Nuclear Energy : Nuclear Power

- The term non-renewable is a resource that does not renew itself at a sufficient rate for sustainable economic extraction in a meaningful human timeframe. This means that once its gone we cannot recreate it. Non-renewable resources were formed naturally and cannot be replaces as fast as they are being consumed. There are four types of alternative energy sources nuclear, solar, wind and hydroelectric. The first type of alternative energy source is nuclear. Nuclear energy is generated using uranium (Energy Resources: Nuclear Power, 2013)....   [tags: Wind power, Fossil fuel, Energy development]

Better Essays
1115 words (3.2 pages)

Nuclear Weapon And Nuclear Weapons Essay

- Furthermore, as much as Japan has been concerned the security issues to the world for past decade, states like China also felt threat by building stronger Japanese military. Once state use nuclear weapon it only get harder to stop them because nuclear weapon only escalate the threat to other states and give them more credibility such as you can prevent what you do not want other state to do. Also, nuclear weapon can put states into extremely dangerous position. Only way to win the nuclear war is the one state to be the first strike ....   [tags: World War II, Nuclear weapon]

Better Essays
1049 words (3 pages)

The Threat Of Nuclear Wars Essay example

- The Threat of Nuclear Wars: An Annotated Bibliography Helfand, Ira, Antti Junkari, and Ogebe Onazi. “Nuclear War: A Greater Threat than Ebola.” World Medical Journal. Vol. 61. Issue 1. Apr. 2015 Web. 2 Oct. 2015. This journal explains the dangers of a nuclear war. The authors write about the threat of nuclear weapons. The writers began by stating that the medical community cannot support all of civilization if a nuclear war begins. There are over 17,000 nuclear weapons in the world. Even with the high amount of nuclear weapons, that are even stronger than the bombs that were dropped onto Hiroshima and Nagasaki, the nuclear threat is mainly ignored (Helfand, Antti, & Ogebe 14)....   [tags: Nuclear weapon]

Better Essays
1420 words (4.1 pages)

The Problem With Nuclear Weapons Essay

- The Problem With Nukes Nuclear Weapons are now on the chopping block do to the United States rising debt. Though nuclear weapons have been widely debated ever since they were created they are now gaining public attention yet again. In the article “U.S. Ramping Up Major Renewal in Nuclear Arms” written by William J. Broad and David E. Sanger they state. “The looming crackup between trillion-dollar plans and tight budgets is starting to get Washington’s attention. Modernization delays are multiplying and cost estimates are rising....   [tags: Nuclear weapon]

Better Essays
1422 words (4.1 pages)

The Effectiveness of Nuclear Weapons for Deterrence Essay

- Warfare, has been used throughout the centuries by kings, emperors, and rulers to protect their land and more so their people. There are two types of warfare, one being that of traditional warfare which generally, consists of leaders using mass armies to conquer the opposing side, however, changes in technologies and weapons meant that leaders had to rethink the way in which they fought battles. The use of gunpowder weapons changed the way in which battles were fought dating back as early as the late 13th century with the introduction of the bronze-barrelled cannon (Rietbergen, 1998)....   [tags: Nuclear Weapons Essays]

Better Essays
2001 words (5.7 pages)

Essay about Banishment of Nuclear Weapons

- Albert Einstein once said, “The unleashed power of the atom has changed everything save our modes of thinking and we thus drift toward unparalleled catastrophe” (Krieger 4). The debate over the moral and life threatening potential of nuclear weapons has been in question since the first bomb was detonated almost eight decades ago. Nuclear weapons seem rightly owned by the world’s superpowers in order to ensure protection, yet it is feared that nuclear weapons are the horrible remnant of the Cold War that may still potentially cause unilateral destruction....   [tags: Abolishment Benefits, Nuclear Destruction]

Better Essays
1178 words (3.4 pages)

My Family Is A Nuclear Family Essay

- After writing about my history and the themes I selected, I have learned a lot about who I am in society. I have realized that I am an average girl that has not experienced much of life. During this analysis I have come to realize I have not had much contact with other family types or other cultures. The definition of family is “It finds its origin in marriage; it consists of husband, wife, and children born in their wedlock, though other relatives may find their place close to this nuclear group, an the group is united by moral, legal, economic, religious and social rights and obligations” (Ravelli and Webber 283)....   [tags: Family, Nuclear family, Mother, Father]

Better Essays
1324 words (3.8 pages)