Essay on Nuclear Fusion Possibilities

Essay on Nuclear Fusion Possibilities

Length: 863 words (2.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Nuclear Fusion Possibilities
In our classroom while were studying the process that the sun uses to create its own energy I started to think about the possibility of us humans harnessing the same power the sun uses to keep us warm, this is by means of fusion. The definition of fusion from our chemistry textbook is “Combining two light nuclei to form a heavier nucleus.”(1) My first goal in this research paper is to see first see what the requirements are to be able to facilitate nuclear fusion. My second is to see the availability of these requirements, and current restraints. My third goal is to explain how nuclear fusion reactors work. My final goal is to find any groups who are working on utilizing this potentially massive power source.
What do we need to be able to harness the potential monumental energy of a nuclear fusion reaction? With help from the University of California Observatories (2) I found out there are three crucial elements for nuclear fusion to occur. We first need hydrogen atoms. Why do we need hydrogen atoms? Since Hydrogen is the lightest element in existence it is preferred to use it since it will be easier to strip its electron from it, which is needed for it to be able to bond. We also need high temperatures. We need a temperature sustained at 1.5 x10^7 Kelvin to be able to sustain the process. Third, and last of all we need extreme pressure. According to the concept of Hydrostatic Equilibrium the downward force of gravity must be balanced by the upward thermal pressure of the gas. This is how the sun sustains its size, if there was too much upward thermal pressure a star would grow bigger. Likewise if the gravity is greater than the thermal pressure then the star would collapse.
Now we will look at ou...


... middle of paper ...


...Observatories, 25 Jan. 2012. Web. 06 May 2014.
3. Hogan, Michael C. "Hydrogen." Hydrogen. The Encyclopedia of Earth, 6 Aug. 2010. Web. 06 May 2014.
4. Bryner, Jeanna. "Atom Smasher Sets Guinness Record for Hottest Man-Made Temperature." LiveScience. TechMedia Network, 26 June 2012. Web. 06 May 2014.
5. Nieckchen, Petra. "Fusion Conditions." EFDA. European Fusion Development Agreement, 21 Oct. 2011. Web. 06 May 2014.
6. Freudenrich, Ph.D. Craig. "How Nuclear Fusion Reactors Work." HowStuffWorks. HowStuffWorks.com, 11 Aug. 2005. Web. 06 May 2014.
7. Osamu Motojima: Harnessing the 93-million-mile dream. (2013). Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, 69(2), 1-8. doi:10.1177/0096340213477998
8. Sieminski, Adam. "U.S. Energy Information Administration - EIA - Independent Statistics and Analysis." International Energy Outlook 2013. N.p., 25 July 2013. Web. 06 May 2014

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Cold Fusion Essay

- Many doubts are still present in the world regarding bringing an end to fossil fuels reign in the world. Gas and oil have become the world’s biggest dependent. About 90% of the Earth’s energy resources are from fossil fuels. While scientist search for new ways to produce energy, some scientist seems to believe that there is hope in nuclear reactions. Physics may hold the key to our existence. Progressions in science ensure that we increase our knowledge in energy resources, like cold fusion, to make life easier....   [tags: physics, renewable energy, energy ]

Better Essays
1499 words (4.3 pages)

The Negative Effects of Nuclear Energy Essay

- In 1950, the first commercial nuclear power plants were constructed. The public was promised a non-polluting and resourceful type of energy, but how safe was, and is, nuclear energy. Although there are less than 500 licensed nuclear power plants in the world, many nuclear accidents have already been endangering civilian lives. More serious accidents are not just likely, but inevitable (Fairchild 29). Nuclear energy may appear to be the ideal source of energy for the future: however, there are many negative effects of nuclear energy that can lead to very dangerous situations....   [tags: Nuclear Energy Negative Essays]

Free Essays
2114 words (6 pages)

Hydrogen Fusion is the Future Source of Energy Essay

- Hydrogen Fusion, the Future Source of Energy Abstract The world is currently in an energy crisis with no end in sight. Many technologies can help reduce our dependence on fossil fuels and have the possibility of ending the energy crisis. Hydrogen fusion holds great promise with its no pollution energy output. If more energy can be created than is used to start the fusion process, the energy crisis might become a thing of the past. Over half of the energy used now comes from fossil fuels, which is around 2.77*10^14 KJ in 2003....   [tags: Energy Power Global Warming]

Better Essays
1688 words (4.8 pages)

Essay on Alternate Sources of Energy: Ideas and Possibilities

- Alternate Sources of Energy: Ideas and Possibilities Abstract:  Due to the economical and environmental costs of fossil fuels, as well as to the fuels limited supply, people are striving for renewable alternate sources of energy. Some energy possibilities for the future include the extraction of energy from solid waste, from highway winds, from nuclear fusion, and the earth's own inner heat. As the next century approaches, the world must confront many questions regarding energy. Information from recent research has found that the present energy conditions cannot and must not remain....   [tags: Technology Essays]

Free Essays
1574 words (4.5 pages)

Atomic Energy and Nuclear Power Essay

- “The release of atomic energy has not created a new problem. It has merely made more urgent the necessity of solving an existing one.” (Albert Einstein). This problem consists of the ever rising energy demand worldwide, which is directly proportional to the steady increase of the world’s population (See figure 1 in the appendices). This increase resulted in an accelerated depletion of the resources of fossil fuels such as coal, oil, and natural gas (See figure 2). For centuries, fossil fuel was, and still is the most conventional source for generating energy....   [tags: alternative sources of energy]

Better Essays
1434 words (4.1 pages)

Nuclear Energy Essay

- Nuclear energy now is the world’s mainly useful form of energy. Energy are devolved and have been used from the fossils fuels and are still be used now, but it is not an option to use it in the future. So this turned that we have a nuclear power as the best choice. There are many positives to nuclear energy over fossil fuels such as less global warming effects. At this time nuclear power provides 6% of the world’s energy and about 14% of the world’s electricity. The best part of this nuclear power is generated from the U.S., Japan, and France....   [tags: Energy ]

Better Essays
861 words (2.5 pages)

Essay about Exploring the Possibilities of Renewable Energy

- What would happen if the sources of the world's energy suddenly disappeared. Do not think it is impossible. While fossil fuels provide an overwhelming majority of the world's energy, they are non-renewable. So, what happens when they run out. This research paper confronts this question with a balanced view attempting to address the issue of what sources might provide energy in the future and come to an objective conclusion. As the world enters a new century, new sources of energy such as wind, solar, and hydrogen power need to be developed to help the world keep running on all cylinders....   [tags: Expository Essays Research Papers]

Better Essays
3455 words (9.9 pages)

Essay on Personal Statement: Goals in Nuclear Engineering

- Personal Statement: Interests, Experiences, and Goals in Nuclear Engineering Money and fame do not motivate my goals. Engineering in all forms is a field of innovation and invention. Aspirations of any great engineer should be to introduce to the world a new idea, product, or service that will make people happier and the environment safer. Success in these challenges is a reward greater than any dollar amount or public recognition. Engineers bring societies to new levels of civilization through their advancements in technology and discovery....   [tags: College Admissions Essays]

Better Essays
518 words (1.5 pages)

Nuclear Fusion Essay

- The Industrial Revolution sparked a need for large sources of energy. Human and animal labor could not provide the power necessary to power industrial machinery, railroads, and ships. The steam engine and later the internal combustion engine provided the bulk of the energy required by the industrial age. Today most nations are still heavily reliant on energy that comes from combustion. Usually coal, petrolium, and natural gas are used. Some hydroelectric, wind power, and nuclear fission sources are used, but in the US they accounted for less than 20% of the total energy consumption in 1997 (1)....   [tags: physics nuclear fusion]

Better Essays
826 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on Fusion: The Energy of the Future?

- Fusion: The Energy of the Future.      Fusion energy seems to be the most promising energy source of the not-too-distant future. It is safe, it uses an energy supply that is so abundant that it will never run out, it gives off harmless waste, and it produces energy comparable to the Earth's sun. But are there any problems with this hopeful energy source. What is Nuclear Fusion.      To understand fusion, it is a good idea to know about fission. This is the splitting of the nuclei of atoms into two or more smaller nuclei by bombarding them with neutrons of low energy....   [tags: Nuclear Fusion]

Better Essays
974 words (2.8 pages)