Nicholas Sparks; The Author of Romance Essay

Nicholas Sparks; The Author of Romance Essay

Length: 1971 words (5.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

II. Background
Nicholas Sparks was born on December 31, 1965, in Omaha, Nebraska (Jessica Estremera). He was the second of three children born to Patrick Sparks, a college professor, and his wife Jill. Nicholas spent the early part of his childhood moving around with his family as his father finished up his graduate work (Biography Channel website). "Because my father was a student until I was 9 years old and my mother didn't work, we weren't exactly living the high life when I was little. I grew up on powdered milk and ate tons of potatoes, though to be honest, I never noticed how poor we really were until I was old enough to take an honest appraisal of things. Even then, it didn't matter. For the most part, I had a wonderful childhood and wouldn't change a thing.," Nicholas stated in an interview. The University of Notre Dame had offered Sparks a full track scholarship. In 1985, during his freshman year, Sparks was part of a relay team that set a school track record that still stands. But the season did not end on a good note for the future author: An Achilles tendon injury slowed things down for Sparks, and forced him to spend the summer recuperating. In the year 1988 Sparks graduated with honors and also met Catherine Cote, his future wife, who soon later married (Jessica Estremera). The day after he and his bride got married, Sparks heard the story which inspired The Notebook. Cathy’s grandparents were too ill to travel to the ceremony the day before, so the Sparks’ decided they would bring the wedding to them, redressing in tuxedo and gown and taking pictures at Cathy’s grandparents' home. Nicholas observed how Cathy’s grandfather treated his wife with great respect and admiration. The story of their love was recited to Sp...


... middle of paper ...


...azine, 06 Oct. 2003. Web. 25 Mar. 2014.
Amy Kaufman. "Nicholas Sparks Is a Master of Romance." Los Angeles Times. Los Angeles Times, 04 Feb. 2010. Web. 25 Mar. 2014.
Estremera, Jessica. Nicholas Sparks: A Biography. Hyperink. 2012. Print.
"NCW--What the Critics Say About Nicholas Sparks." NCW--What the Critics Say About Nicholas Sparks. N.p., n.d. Web. 25 Mar. 2014. "Nicholas Sparks Biography." Bio.com. A&E Networks Television, n.d. Web. 24 Mar. 2014.
Nickell, Kelly. "Writing on Instinct: Nicholas Sparks." WritersDigestcom. WritersDigestcom, 11 Mar. 2008. Web. 25 Mar. 2014.
Schillinger, Liesl. "Eclipse Children's Books / Young Adult." The New York Times. The New York Times, 11 Aug. 2007. Web. 25 Mar. 2014.
Sparks, Nicholas. At First Sight. New York: Warner, 2005. Print.
"Stephenie Meyer Biography." Bio.com. A&E Networks Television, n.d. Web. 25 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

A Legacy Of Love : Nicholas Sparks Essay

- A Legacy of Love Nicholas Sparks once said, “Every great love starts with a great story...” (Goodreads 1). As an author of love stories, Nicholas Sparks has written many novels that would later become beautiful adaptations of his words. In fact, eleven of the romance novels written by Sparks have been turned into movies. These films include The Lucky One, Message in a Bottle, Nights in Rodanthe, and The Last Song. Even with the numerous movies released, one remains prominent and is ranked number one by many fans....   [tags: Love, Nicholas Sparks, Alzheimer's disease]

Term Papers
1461 words (4.2 pages)

The Best Of Me By Nicholas Sparks Essay

- Nicholas Sparks’ book, The Best of Me, tells the story of two lovers-Amanda and Dawson- who grew to love one another at a young age. Both characters live in the same place geographically, but are in different worlds. Dawson lives in a trailer park and his family has a history of causing trouble around town, while Amada lives in a large house with an affluent family. Despite their differences, they come to fall deeply in love with each other. Once Amanda’s mother catches wind of her love interests, she insists that she end it....   [tags: Romeo and Juliet, Romance, English-language films]

Term Papers
754 words (2.2 pages)

Essay on The Best Of Me, By Nicholas Sparks

- The Best of Me is a drama-romance film set in a small town in Louisiana. Romance films, often referred to as “chick flicks,” are most commonly known for having the plot of a heartbreaking love story. This movie will make all generations smile,yet cry, as it goes through the main characters relationship of falling in love from high school to adulthood. Although this film does follow the norms of its genre, it goes into a deeper meaning than just love. The viewer will think about relationships they’ve had in the past and if they are genuinely happy with the way their life is now....   [tags: English-language films, Love]

Term Papers
1199 words (3.4 pages)

Essay about Nicholas Sparks: His Life, Literature, and Impact on Today’s Society

- “I am nothing special, of this I am sure. I am a common man with common thoughts and I've led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I've loved another with all my heart and soul and to me, this has always been enough.” That is a quote from The Notebook, a famous book written by Nicholas Sparks in 1996. This quotation inspires people to have faith that love is the only thing in the world that they need. They need not have prosperity or fame....   [tags: biography, the notebook]

Term Papers
1158 words (3.3 pages)

Analysis Of The Book ' Nicholas Sparks ' Essay

- Nicholas Sparks is considered to be one of the greatest American authors of today. He provides love, romance, passion, drama, tragedy, comedy, triumph, and mystery in all of his novels. His stories are heartwarming and inspiring. Nicholas Sparks does not have a specific writing style. His writing style is flexible and liberal, and can be described as romantic, imaginative and engaging, and varies depending on the theme of the novel. The theme of the novel is the main thing that affects his writing style....   [tags: Love, Fiction, Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook]

Term Papers
1299 words (3.7 pages)

Essay about Nicholas Sparks : One Of World Best Authors

- Nicholas sparks is one of World’s best authors. He is the most adored and admired storyteller in writing love stories. He was born on December 31, 1965, in Omaha, Nebraska. His older brother was named Michael Earl Sparks and his little sister named Danielle Sparks. His younger sister died in 2000 due to a brain tumor. He is the second son of Patrick Michael Sparks, which was a professor, and Jill Emma Marie Thoene, which was a homemaker. His childhood was full of new experiences because his family travels a lot....   [tags: Love, Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook]

Term Papers
1438 words (4.1 pages)

Essay The Notebook By Nicholas Sparks

- The Notebook The Notebook was a phenomenal film with incredible performances and many heartfelt moments from beginning to end. It is a love story that many of us fantasize of living someday. And although the movie has its good points, this movie also sets a bad example for some people. The Notebook takes place during the 1940s in North Carolina. It is a complicated love story between two teenage lovers named Noah Calhoun, a country boy, and Allie Nelson, a rich girl, who meet each other at a local carnival....   [tags: Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook, The Notebook]

Term Papers
1000 words (2.9 pages)

Literary Analysis of The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks Essay

- Literary Analysis of The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks This book is a great book and it touches ones heart in ways you couldn't imagine. I seriously love this book because I love romantic stories and it's just so cute. The movie is good but the book is better. Well 'The Notebook' is about a journey of two young lovers Noah Calhoun and Allie Nelson who made a passionate summer romance and they were separated because Allie moved to the city. After fourteen years of separation due to World War 2 and class differences....   [tags: The Notebook Nicholas Sparks Romance Essays]

Term Papers
744 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on Sparks Notes: Nicolas Sparks

- Nicholas Sparks receives acknowledgment for his fantastic job of pouring emotions onto paper for millions to read, and his life has been full of roller coasters on his journey to the top. Sparks studied at the University of Notre Dame in Indiana on a full track and field scholarship, but tore his Achilles tendon during his first year; therefore, his track and field career ended. He currently resides in North Carolina with his wife and five children. As a successful novelist, he makes a fair amount of money....   [tags: biography, nicolas sparks]

Term Papers
1448 words (4.1 pages)

The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks Essay

- “The Wedding” by Nicholas Sparks The novel “The Wedding” by Nicholas Sparks is a sequel to the love story, The Notebook. The characters in this novel are facing pretty much one big problem. The setting in this story is taken place in the year 2003 in a little place called New Bern, where the lives of the Lewis family would change in many ways. Wilson and Jane Lewis; a married couple for many years, are the main characters in this novel. They are facing a very difficult time in their lives. It seems as if Jane has fallen out of love with Wilson....   [tags: The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks]

Term Papers
455 words (1.3 pages)