Muhammed Ali: Float Like a Butterfly, Sting Like a Bee Essay

Muhammed Ali: Float Like a Butterfly, Sting Like a Bee Essay

Length: 585 words (1.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Good Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

The sport of boxing is known worldwide; a sport where men and women duke it out with their opponents to prove who is the toughest. Though-out the decades there have been many fighters and many fights, but few known quite as well as Cassius Clay, also known as Muhammad Ali. The fighter that referred to himself as, “the greatest” (biography.com) and a man that could, “float like a butterfly, sting like a bee” (about.com). From the beginning of his career, which was started after a police officer told him he might want to learn to fight, he was known as an underdog. He took on the Olympics in 1960 at the age of 18 and won the gold medal. Yet being a gold medalist wouldn’t help persuade the public view of him as a serious contender for the world heavy weight contender. Ali would fight as the challenger for the light-heavy weight world title against Sonny Liston on February, 25 1964. Clay would shock the world into no longer doubting him as serious opponent with a technical knock-out and continue to shock them with an announcement a day later.
Clay was a cock young boxer, who ran his mouth continuously before he fight to the point of being fined 2500 dollars (boxrec.com). The public underdog that majority had expected to lose, and lose quickly at that, to heavy hitter Liston. Liston had age with which experience comes with going for him, while Clay had youth and the speed that comes with it. Rumors spread like a wildfire through the convention hall that Clay would show up after the weigh-ins before the fight but Clay showed up early to watch his “brother make his professional debut” despite the public opinion (newyorktimes.com). Once the in the ring the battle for the title begins, with Ali and Liston giving their all.
Liston could ...


... middle of paper ...


...that just because popular belief isn’t in your favor, doesn’t mean you should stand down no matter what the case.



Works Cited

"1964: Cassius Clay Crowned World Champion." BBC News. BBC, 25 Feb. 1964. Web. 02 Feb. 2014.
"Cassius Clay Defeats Sonny Liston." History.com. A&E Television Networks, n.d. Web. 02 Feb. 2014.
"Muhammad Ali Biography." Bio.com. A&E Networks Television, n.d. Web. 02 Feb. 2014.
"Sonny Liston vs. Cassius Clay (1st Meeting)." Boxrec.com. N.p., 15 Jan. 2013. Web. 2 Feb. 2014.
Eisen, Lou. "Ali vs. Liston 2: What Really Happened?" - Fight Network. N.p., 29 Aug. 2012. Web. 02 Feb. 2014.
LIPSYTE, ROBERT. "Clay Wins Title in Seventh-Round Upset As Liston Is Halted by Shoulder Injury." Nytime.com. New York Times, 26 Feb. 1964. Web. 2 Feb. 2014.
Rosenberg, Jennifer. "Muhammad Ali (Page 2)." About.com 20th Century History. N.p., n.d. Web. 02 Feb. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Muhammed Ali Essay example

- Muhammed Ali      In some people’s eyes Muhammed Ali is the greatest boxer ever. He was even classified as the greatest athlete in the 20th century by Sports Illustrated. He was the first to win the heavyweight title three times. He was a worldwide entertainer, and millions of people enjoyed watching his style. He was also very controversial because of his religious beliefs, his name change from Cassius Clay to Muhammed Ali and his refusal to fight in the Vietnam War. Muhammed Ali grew up in Louisville, Kentucky but he was known as Cassius Clay....   [tags: Biography Biographies Cassius Clay]

Good Essays
1594 words (4.6 pages)

Muhammed Ali Essay examples

- “Fly like a butterfly, Sting like a bee.” This is what the man did, and what he was good at. Mohammed Ali was the first man to ever win the heavyweight title three times, and had a very impressing boxing career. But Mohammed Ali was not only an impressive boxer, but he brought about social change in his own way as well. First, he has contributed extensively to the Muslim religion, for one by joining it, along with other contributions. Secondly, with his speaking out against the war in Vietnam and refusing the draft, he was the first public figure to speak out against the war and not go to fight....   [tags: essays research papers]

Free Essays
693 words (2 pages)

Essay about Learning Is Like A Bee Pollinating

- To me, learning is like a bee pollinating. I am the bee, and learning is the pollen which gets picked up from a flower and then gets dropped off to another flower. I used to think that everyone would learn in a different way than how I learned. I have always had trouble learning; lessons and anything that anybody told me, would somehow not stay inside my brain. I believe that one of the very first ways that we begin to learn is in a section that Temple Grandin discusses in her article. Doing community service was an experience that has shaped my outlook on life....   [tags: Education, Learning, Psychology, Memory]

Good Essays
1073 words (3.1 pages)

Orientalism in M. Butterfly Essay

- She is petite, submissive, and great in bed, the greatest combination for the perfect woman. Yellow fever is the psychological inclination towards Asian woman that has been expressed by a portion of the male population. This stereotype is a part of orientalism that continues to be discussed amongst today’s society; it is deemed odd or labeled as a fetish. M. Butterfly a Tony Award playwright written by David Henry Hwang consists of ideas related to orientalism through the layers developed in gender identity, global politics and art forms....   [tags: M. Butterfly Essays]

Good Essays
1288 words (3.7 pages)

Honey Bee Population Decline Essay

- Honey Bee Population Decline Daisy Childs 11-20-14 Professor Garcia ENG 1027 INTRODUCTION: Apis mellifera, commonly known as the honey bee, are solely responsible for pollinating one-third of the world’s crops, and they are in danger of dying off, according to the article “Natures Dying Migrant Worker,” written by Josephine Marcotty for the Star Tribune. This honey bee population decline poses a huge threat to our environment, farmers, and economy. It is assumed by BBC News writer Zoe Gough in her article,"Wild Honey Bees: Does Their Disappearance Matter?" that all of the wild honey bees in England and Wales are gone....   [tags: Beekeeping, Pollination, Bee, Insect]

Good Essays
1181 words (3.4 pages)

Honey Bee Field Trip Essay examples

- During honey bee field trip, I had a first chance to go near to beehives and observe honey bee. Cluster of honey bees were everywhere. They are at the entrance of beehive, each comb of the beehive, even outside of the beehive. I was also surprised that each section of the beehives was too complicated. There were plenty of bees, hexagonal combs blocked or filled with larvae or honey, and a queen. When I used beehive tool and pull out beehive combs, cluster of bees crawl on to my hand. I was afraid about getting stung even though I was wearing gloves and bee suit, but fortunately, I was not get stung....   [tags: Beekeeping, Insect, Pollinator decline, Honey bee]

Good Essays
970 words (2.8 pages)

Essay about Excessive Themes in David Henry Hwang's M. Butterfly

- Excessive Themes in David Henry Hwang's M. Butterfly It has been said that the mind is the theatre of conflict. But what happens when perceptions clash and heads butt. In the play M. Butterfly, by David Henry Hwang, he uses the title as his primary metaphor, but he convolutes the play by having too many themes working around it which can distort the reaction of the audience. The tenor is the butterfly and the vehicle is the M, now the problem with this is that the tenor and the vehicle imply too many things, making it far too abstract to make a clear description of reality....   [tags: Hwang M. Butterfly Essays]

Good Essays
1290 words (3.7 pages)

David Henry Hwang's M. Butterfly Essay examples

- David Henry Hwang's M. Butterfly The relationship between a man and a woman has been a constant struggle of inferiority since the beginning of time. The role of a woman has evolved from being someone not allowed to have an opinion, to the owner of a multi-million dollar company. Over the years women have developed the passion and skills in order to fight for what they believe in. However, in some countries women are still placed at the bottom of the societal list, and their constant battle of how their culture looks and feels about women in modern day society is hard to win....   [tags: Society Women Butterfly Analysis, misogyny, femini]

Good Essays
1479 words (4.2 pages)

David Henry Hwang's M Butterfly Essay example

- David Henry Hwang's M Butterfly "I've played out the events of my life night after night, always searching for a new ending to my story, one where I will leave this cell and return forever to my Butterfly's arms." (Hwang 3.3.1-4) With these words of David Henry Hwang's play M Butterfly, we realize that we have just been staring directly into the memories of Rene Gallimard. The fact that Rene Gallimard serves as the narrator of his memories in the play M Butterfly delivers an impression of the character behind Gallimard than could ever be achieved by the viewing of the screenplay....   [tags: David Henry Hwang M Butterfly Essays]

Good Essays
1562 words (4.5 pages)

Muhammed Ali Essay examples

- Muhammed Ali Muhammad Ali was one of the greatest heavy weight champions. His natural abilities were complemented by his flashy flamboyant personality. It was his ability that won him the heavy weight championship on three separate occasions, but only his “Float like a butter fly sting like a bee” antics won him the title of the “people’s champ” (“Ali” 2). Born Cassius Clay Jr. on January 17, 1942 in Louisville Kentucky, he was far from over privileged. His father Cassius Clay Sr., worked to support the family as a sign and mural painter....   [tags: essays research papers]

Good Essays
2421 words (6.9 pages)