Essay about Modeling Agencies are Influencing an Unhealthy Image to Young Women

Essay about Modeling Agencies are Influencing an Unhealthy Image to Young Women

Length: 1429 words (4.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Across America today, modeling agencies are influencing an unhealthy image to young women. Girls now believe that they are not good enough because of their size or how they look. Self-esteem is being diminished, and eating disorders are the result of the dream to look like the girls walking down the runway. Sizes that were considered for overweight people have changed dramatically in just ten years. The editing done to these pictures, create a false sense of hope to the average person aspiring to look like they’re “idol” on billboards, magazines, and television. The unachievable “look” is increasingly hurting the pride of adolescent females that the modeling industry should be supporting.
Girls are now led to believe they are not as good as what the “ideal” women based on looks. Even though, “on average the model weighs 23% less of what the average women living in the United States really weighs” (.) Young women are striving for an outcome that can be unobtainable based on body structure, and are left insecure when their goal is not reached. Eating disorders such as, “anorexia, bulimia, and binge eating are the result and the top three eating disorders among the teen community today” (.) The idea of perfectionism takes over their mind to knit pick themselves until girls, unfortunately, fall for things like anxiety disorders, depression, and turn to substances that hurt the body, not help it. In a People Magazine survey, it showed that “80% of female respondents feel that women in movies and television programs made them feel insecure about their bodies” (.) The “look” they are creating is not only unhealthy, but it is spreading an unhealthy image to girls just maturing and is damaging their ego in the developing years of t...


... middle of paper ...


...ody." Glamour 5 June 2012: n. pag. Web. 04 Apr. 2014.
2. "Media Influence on Youth." Media Influence on Youth. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Apr. 2014.
3. "Media Is Fuelling Eating Disorders, Say Psychiatrists." BBC News. BBC, 22 Feb. 2010. Web. 13 Apr. 2014.
4. Pearson, Catherine. "Fashion And Eating Disorders: How Much Responsibility Does Industry Have?" The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 13 Sept. 2011. Web. 12 Apr. 2014.
5. Ross, Susan Dente., and Paul Martin. Lester. "Media." Images That Injure: Pictorial Stereotypes in the Media. Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger, 2011. N. pag. Print.
6. Trottier, Kathryn Belle. "Stereotypes." Social Comparisons of Body Weight and Attractiveness with Fashion Models and Peers: To Whom Do Young Women Compare? Toronto: n.p., 2006. N. pag. Print.
7. Watkins, Heidi. "5." Body Image. Farmington Hill, MI: Greenhaven, 2009. N. pag. Print.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Buying Into the Media´s Body Image Essay

- My sister is eleven, and is slightly overweight. Up until a year ago she never had a problem with her body image, she was content with the way that she looked. However, recently she has brought up questions regarding her weight and if she looks okay. It has become evident that she is no longer okay with her body, and her self-image. Over the past year her Internet and television use has dramatically gone up, and her self-esteem has equally gone down. The ads shown in media portray women in a way that my sister, along with many adolescent girls, cannot identify with; they draw from stereotypical understandings, and fail to represent healthy girls....   [tags: weight, body, self-image]

Powerful Essays
826 words (2.4 pages)

The Body Image Of An Eating Disorder Essay

- A quote by Myla Dalbesio states “I 'm not skinny enough to be with the skinny girls and I 'm not large enough to be with the large girls, and I haven 't been able to find my place” (Peppers, Par.3). Calvin Klein’s average-size model is a size-00. In fact, he hired Myla as a plus size model; Myla is a size 10. The average American woman is a size 12-14. Today, in the United States, there are more instances than ever before. Not only are models starving to stay thin, but men and young girls are as well....   [tags: Eating disorders, Anorexia nervosa]

Powerful Essays
1204 words (3.4 pages)

Ideal Image of Media Essay

- Ideal Image of Media James, a senior in high school, had said, “On social media, you have to look like this, your body has to be shaped this way, you have to have this skin color, you have to have this smile to be acceptable to society… And I don’t fit in” (Shalby 1). The media has a huge impact on our everyday lives and how we view the world. It surrounds us and gets inside our mind. Media affects our opinion of ourselves and others mentally and physically. Modern day media has altered the way people view their appearance and this can lead to mental and physical issues....   [tags: Social Media, Internet, Technology]

Powerful Essays
1268 words (3.6 pages)

Essay on Media's Effect on Negative Body Image

- ... Bulimia is a result, when one is self conscious about weight and purges food. It can also lead to a routine. This disorder can be caused by stress, trying to fit in (Nancy Clark). Also, trying to look like “the Barbie image” from the media (Body Image). Modeling agents and casting directors are hard on models, making sure they hold a certain size. Skin on models also has to be flawless, which means no: tattoos, marks, piercings, etc. Models risk a higher chance of getting this disorder. Bulimia can take place when a model is trying to fit the qualities needed for modeling (Fiona Bawdon)....   [tags: eating disorders]

Powerful Essays
1086 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Fashion Models Of Young Girls

- Whether you realize it or not everyone is influenced or affected by fashion models through the media in some sort of way. I believe that teenage girls are a specific target and remain more so negatively pretentious by this. How so. Well throughout my writing I plan to tell you why I believe this is an issue. Fashion models are aspiring role models to young girls everywhere. Young teenage girls look up to models in this way because they are; tall, thin and all around beautiful. Their weapon of beauty in this case is their use of makeup and even more so their appearance within their weight of figure....   [tags: Anorexia nervosa, Eating disorders]

Powerful Essays
1623 words (4.6 pages)

Essay on Effects Of Beauty Pageants On Young Girls

- Zawn Villines is a journalist for GoodTherapy.org. In this article Zawn Villines talks about the effects beauty pageants can have on young girls. For example, Beauty pageants can cause all sorts of problems to young girls that will eventually involve as they grow up, or continue a career in the modelling business. Problems that can occur to young girls include, eating disorders, body image distortion, sexualisation of young girls, unhealthy choices, etc. Looking at more detail within the article, it also includes reasons why parents (usually mothers) allow their daughters to participate in an unnecessary competition....   [tags: Beauty contest, Child beauty pageant, Beauty]

Powerful Essays
1806 words (5.2 pages)

Normal Sized Models In Clothing Companies Essays

- The Spring vacation was just ahead. For my upcoming vacation, I opened my laptop and searched several online shopping websites for spring clothes. This dress looked good, that top was cute, too. Like all the other girls, I could not make decision, and was mainly because of the models. As a normal size girl who is fatter than models, I was unable to imagine how those clothes looked like on me even though they looked pretty good on those skinny models. Since those models were so thin, whatever they wear, the clothes look attractive....   [tags: Clothes, Fashion, Body Image]

Powerful Essays
877 words (2.5 pages)

Why is Retouching Photographs Necessary? Essay

- ... Photographers also change images for the benefit of advertisements for name brand companies. Many consumers ranging in all ages browse online for clothing and will notice a difference from the model’s body versus the average person’s body. These images are creating a new standard of a typical person. Consumers may believe that these bodies look healthy, yet in reality, they are unreal and nearly impossible to attain. Editors for fashion companies will manipulate a body in such a way that makes the clothing look alluring....   [tags: manipulating photographs, modeling]

Powerful Essays
1049 words (3 pages)

Size Ten to Zero Essay

- At no time in history have women been so pressured to be thin. Inner beauty and personality is no longer enough. Women all over the world look at themselves and can only find imperfections. Media constantly shows thin, youthful, and “perfect” women, whom in reality have just as many imperfections as the average woman. Body image in the media tends to be a controversial topic on whether or not it has a negative effect on women in today’s society. “. . . this obsession has contributed to an increase in eating disorders, low self-esteem, and depression among women in the United States” (Point: Body Image In The Media Is An Unhealthy Picture)....   [tags: beauty, women, media, body image]

Powerful Essays
1384 words (4 pages)

Skin and Bones: The World of Modeling Essay

- ... They basically went through us and said ‘yes’, ‘no’, ‘yes’, ‘no’, depending on whether we were thin enough. If you weren’t thin enough you were sent out of the room immediately. I was sent out.”(Wilkin 1). After being turned down, Wilkin started to limit her eating and sleeping in order to lose the weight that she needed to in order to make it past the judges. Wilkin was initially encouraged to lose weight unhealthily by her modeling agent. She was not educated on the proper ways to lose weight in a healthy way, so ultimately Wilkin resorted to not eating at all....   [tags: starving for beauty, unhealthy lifestayle]

Powerful Essays
1387 words (4 pages)