Media and Body Image Essay

Media and Body Image Essay

Length: 1147 words (3.3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

We hear sayings everyday such as “Looks don’t matter; beauty is only skin-deep”, yet we live in a decade that contradicts this very notion. If looks don’t matter, then why are so many women harming themselves because they are not satisfied with how they look? If looks don’t matter, then why is the media using airbrushing to hide any flaws that one has? This is because with the media establishing unattainable standards for body perfection, American Women have taken drastic measures to live up to these impractical societal expectations. “The ‘body image’ construct tends to comprise a mixture of self-perceptions, ideas and feelings about one’s physical attributes. It is linked to self-esteem and to the individual’s emotional stability” (Wykes 2). As portrayed throughout all aspects of our media, whether it is through the television, Internet, or social media, we are exploited to a look that we wish we could have; a toned body, long legs, and nicely delineated six-pack abs. Our society promotes a body image that is “beautiful” and a far cry from the average woman’s size 12, not 2. The effects are overwhelming and we need to make more suitable changes as a way to help women not feel the need to live up to these unrealistic standards that have been self-imposed throughout our society.
The plain truth, however, is that things have not always been this way. If you take a look to back in the 1950s, the iconic sex symbol Marilyn Monroe epitomized the typical standard of beauty as she flaunted a size 14. “She was every man’s dream girl and the envy of every other woman. She was beautiful, charming and exuded the aura of an angel—or so we hear”(Waters 2). We are constantly evolving our thoughts of what is ideal and because of this, there is ...


... middle of paper ...


...ization of the Thin Ideal, And Perceptions of Attractiveness and Thinness in Dove's Campaign For Real Beauty." International Journal of Advertising 29.4 (2010): 643-668. Business Source Premier. Web. 14 Feb. 2014.
Gibson, Megan. "NewsFeed." Thinterest When Social Networks and Body Image Collide Comments. Time.com, 29 Mar. 2012. Web. 11 Mar. 2014.
Hass, Cheryl J., et al. "An Intervention for the Negative Influence of Media on Body Esteem." College Student Journal 46.2 (2012): 405-418. Academic Search Complete. Web. 16 Feb. 2014.
Heldman, Caroline. "The Sexy Lie: Caroline Heldman at TEDxYouth@SanDiego." YouTube. YouTube, 20 Jan. 2013. Web. 13 Mar. 2014.
Waters, Preston. "The Evolution of the Female Body." Elite Daily. Elite Daily, 2 Mar. 2012. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.
Wykes, Maggie, and Barrie Gunter. The Media and Body Image: If Looks Could Kill. London: SAGE, 2005. Print.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Female Body Image and the Mass Media

- Emily Smith is buying groceries at Farm Fresh. She is walking to the register and the new cover of Self magazine catches her eye. She sees that Miranda Kerr, the Victoria’s Secret supermodel is on the cover in a crop top and bikini bottom. She compares her body to the image depicted on Self magazine. She starts nitpicking every part of her body. She looks down at her denim clad- thigh and thinks, “did my thighs and stomach get bigger than they were this morning. “ Influenced by the depiction of the image of Miranda Kerr, she now views her body as inadequate or ugly....   [tags: Media, Body Image, Eating Disorders]

Strong Essays
2264 words (6.5 pages)

Essay on The Media's Influence on Body Image Disorders

- What is the perfect body type. Throughout our adolescence ages into the adult hood stage many of young women struggle to answer this question. Our idea of what the perfect body type is ever changing however it is always influenced by the Medias perception of what the perfect body image should look like. We all idolize these images we see on television and in magazines and some of us would do anything to look just like them. This image forces us to have self esteem issues.These advertisements are damaging both our mental and physical state of being Many young girls who take extreme measures to live up to the Medias perception of the perfect body type are more likely to develop one of the m...   [tags: Media, Body Image, Disorders, weight, ]

Strong Essays
1487 words (4.2 pages)

Media's Effect on the Body Image of Women and Children Essay

- Mass media is a part of society that helps connect people from all over the world. It does this through television, magazines, film and social media. These aspects of media, when used in the right way, can benefit society; however, mass media often shows a distorted view of the facts that people often take as the truth. This is often the case when it comes to the media’s effect on how women view their bodies. Since the media’s creation of the “ideal” body type, which is known to be tall and thin, body objectification has become a serious issue....   [tags: Media, Body Image, Women]

Strong Essays
1925 words (5.5 pages)

Female Body Image and the Mass Media Essay

- The media is a fascinating tool; it can deliver entertainment, self-help, intellectual knowledge, information, and a variety of other positive influences; however, despite its advances for the good of our society is has a particular blemish in its physique that targets young women. This blemish is seen in the unrealistic body images that it presents, and the inconsiderate method of delivery that forces its audience into interest and attendance. Women are bombarded with messages from every media source to change their bodies, buy specific products and redefine their opinion of beauty to the point where it becomes not only a psychological disease, but a physical one as well....   [tags: Body Image, Confidence, Media]

Strong Essays
947 words (2.7 pages)

Downfall of Female Body Image: Media’s Influence Essays

- Throughout the years, the connotative definition of beauty has gone through constant change. In today’s world, young women are constantly under the impression that they have to fit the current definition in order to fit in with society and be recognized by men. Many girls feel they need to fit the mold instead of being their true unique selves. Every single individual is different in their own way, however the media has drilled it into every young girl’s mind, that they have just like a Barbie doll in order to be happy....   [tags: Social Issues, Media, Body Image]

Strong Essays
2983 words (8.5 pages)

Essay The Portrayal of Body Image in the Media

- Societies standards for body shape and the importance of beauty is promoted by various media. The media links beauty to symbols of happiness, love and success for women. Media portrays these images as achievable and real. Until women accept their body image, they will continue to measure themselves against societies “perfect image.” Media representations of body image contribute to social trends of unhealthy lifestyles. Female children learn to worry about their appearance from an early age. Huge quantities of girls between the ages of three and ten have one or more Barbie dolls....   [tags: Body Image, Media, Beauty, Self Esteem]

Strong Essays
625 words (1.8 pages)

Female Body Image In Media Essay

- Mass media is designed to reach large audiences through the use of technology. Its purpose is meant to give information we need to function as a society. Mass media is everywhere; there is no escaping from it. From the moment you wake until you fall asleep you are confronted with media. Almost every home in America has at least one TV, the internet, and cell phones. You cannot drive down the highway without seeing billboard signs. Checking out at the grocery store can be tricky if trying to avoid magazines....   [tags: Body Image]

Strong Essays
935 words (2.7 pages)

The Media Influence on Body Image Essays

- LITERATURE REVIEW Researchers have used various abstract foundations for examining the relationship between media and body image ( Holmstrom, 2004). Here I review the theory that has been used by researcher in the area. Bandura’s Social cognitive theory (1994) assumed that “people learn and model the behaviors of attractive others”. The supporters of this theory suggest that young women find slim models in the media attractive and try to imitate them through dieting which leads them to eating disorders....   [tags: Body Image]

Strong Essays
926 words (2.6 pages)

Buying Into the Media´s Body Image Essay

- My sister is eleven, and is slightly overweight. Up until a year ago she never had a problem with her body image, she was content with the way that she looked. However, recently she has brought up questions regarding her weight and if she looks okay. It has become evident that she is no longer okay with her body, and her self-image. Over the past year her Internet and television use has dramatically gone up, and her self-esteem has equally gone down. The ads shown in media portray women in a way that my sister, along with many adolescent girls, cannot identify with; they draw from stereotypical understandings, and fail to represent healthy girls....   [tags: weight, body, self-image]

Strong Essays
826 words (2.4 pages)

The Effects Of Social Media On Body Image Essay

- In this day and age, hundreds or thousands of women and men are having an ongoing battling against themselves to meet up to society 's standards on body image. Every day people are sacrificing their bodies to strive for the "perfect" figure that would make them feel like they belong in our society. Because of society 's pressure, it has given men and women the immense amount of pressure to achieve these unrealistic goals. Needless to say, women and men are grappling with their inner demons to reach their goal of having the ideal body....   [tags: Gender role, Gender, Emotion, Body image]

Strong Essays
1188 words (3.4 pages)