Malala Yousafzai 's Chain Reaction of Influence Essays

Malala Yousafzai 's Chain Reaction of Influence Essays

Length: 630 words (1.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Malala Yousafzai
Malala Yousafzai stood up for herself, her education, and for her fundamental rights when confronted by a fearsome terrorists group. Malala created a chain reaction around the world bringing change, light, and hope to girls across the world.
Malala was born July 12, 1997, in Mingora, Pakistan, Her father is Ziauddin Yousafzai. She became an advocate for girls’ education. When she was 14 years old, she got shot in the head by a Taliban.
Malala and her family found out that a Taliban had issued a death threat against her. She had to hide her identity; she used the name Gul Makai. However, she was revealed to be the BBC blogger in December of that year. On October 9, 2012, when Malala was traveling back home when a man boarded her bus and who and where she is. Nobody said anything, but their actions gave her away. He shot her in the head; the bullet traveled down her neck. The shooting left Malala in critical condition. A portion of her skull was removed to treat her swelling brain. Malala was taken out of a medically induced coma. She had suffered no major brain damage. In March 2013, she was able to begin attending school in Birmingham, England. A year after being shot, Malala shares her dreams- and the story of her brave recovery, “My world has changed,” she says, “but I have not.”
"I speak for education of every child, in every corner of the world," Malala says. "There has been discrimination in our society," which she believes must be defeated. "We women are going to bring change. We are speaking up for girls' rights, but we must not behave like men, like they have done in the past."
Malala is known for activism for rights to education and for women. She became the world’s most admired children-rights...


... middle of paper ...


...p our books and pens." "School is like walking through a magical door to your dreams." "We are starving for education. For us, it is like a precious gift. It's like a diamond."
The Girl Declaration has been created to give girls like Malala all over the world a voice, and we are honored that Malala herself has signed it. Malala shows our children, and all of us, the power of a voice, the power of a child, the power of words and the power of education.


Works Cited
* Malala Yousafzai My Second Life By: Dennis, Alicia, Corcoran, Liz, 10/21/2013, Vol. 80, Web. 3/14/14 Lili.org. Np. March 14, 2014
* “Synopsis”Biography.com. A+E Television Networks, LLC. Np. March 14, 2014
* “THE FIGHTER MALALA YOUSAFZAI” By Aryn Baker; Megan Gibson; Sonia Van Gilder Cooke and Mehboob Ali, MAS Ultra - School Edition, 12/31/2012, Web. 3/13/14 Lili.org Np. Web. March 14, 2014

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Malala Yousafzai: Ordinary to Extraordinary Essay example

- “I dream of a country where education would prevail” (Malala Yousafzai). Education around the world has begun to be overlooked more and more each year; women’s education especially. Fighting to learn is one of the many problems women face each day, additionally it does not help when the opportunity to be educated is not given to over 6 million teenage girls alone. The women that are confident enough to stand up and fight for schooling are usually respected. Being one of the very few people in Pakistan who fought for better teachings, Malala is now well respected in many countries....   [tags: education, women, world]

Better Essays
655 words (1.9 pages)

I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai Essay

- The autobiography I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai begins with the scene of young pakistani education and women’s rights activist Malala being shot in the head. Her school bus had been stopped by the Taliban who, after asking which of the girls was Malala, put a bullet into her head. Malala ends the powerful prologue with the words “Who is Malala. I am Malala and this is my story” (9). Malala then rewinds to the story of her birth and how in Pakistan, no one congratulated her parents when she was born because she was a girl....   [tags: Book Review, Literary Analysis]

Better Essays
1284 words (3.7 pages)

Essay about I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

- Throughout the history of storytelling, there have always been storybook characters that inspire and motivate young readers to become more engaged and knowledgeable about the struggles that some people go through. Reading has always been a pastime of mine; while reading I collect new friends in wonderful places that otherwise I could only dream of. Each of these characters that I have befriended and connected with over the years, has shaped my personality in some way or another, and choosing just one seems an impossible task....   [tags: memorable memoirs, storytelling]

Better Essays
769 words (2.2 pages)

Malala Yousafzai and Zahra Arabzada Essay

- What would you wish for if you had one wish, is a commonly heard question, and generic answers to that question might include ending world hunger or world peace, both of which would make the world a better place. Both of these answers are good ones even famous people like Mother Teresa would agree, however there are other things that need to be done to make the world a better place. For instance,women in the Taliban occupied parts of Pakistan and Afghanistan are denied basic rights such as education....   [tags: women's rights, afghan women]

Better Essays
1798 words (5.1 pages)

Essay on The Power of Malala Yousafzai

- July 12nd 2013. Malala celebrated her 16th birthday. It was the day her first major speech held at the U.N after Taliban’s attempt to assassinate her for promoting education for females. Since she was 11 years old, Malala has been writing a blog on the Urdu BBC website to show her hope and determination to become a doctor in spite of her fear against the Taliban. Her story of courageous actions created a big sensation in the public(weird grammar). From then on, she is referred to as a symbol of courage and inspiration for all young women, who want to relish the chance to go to school....   [tags: promoting education for females in Afghanistan]

Better Essays
628 words (1.8 pages)

The Taliban Regime in Afghanistan: The Story of Malala Yousafzai Essay

- ... She was a Pashtun poet and a warrior from south Afghanistan. Malala’s last name Yousafzai is a common name in the Pashtun tribal which occupied a large part of her childhood town. Malala was manly educated by her father. He is a poet, school owner and educational activist too. She attended his chain of Public schools in Pakistan. Ziaudin Yousafzai, Malala’s father, has always been very supportive of her and of her decisions. She says that he was the inspiration behind what she did. He himself is an activist too, so he tremendously supports her in being a women’s rights activist and children’s activist....   [tags: islam, pakistan, oppressive countries]

Better Essays
1499 words (4.3 pages)

Who is Malala Yousafzai? Essay

- Malala Yousafzai is an important person because even though not a Christian, fights for other people’s rights, even if she has to sacrifice her own. She is an extremely strong girl and she would do anything for her family. All she wants are the rights for girls to go to school. “It feels like this life is not my life. It’s a second life. People have prayed to God to spare me and I was spared for a reason -- to use my life for helping people.”(Yousafzai, 301). This young lady was born in Mingora, Pakistan....   [tags: Christian, fight, rights, Pakistani]

Better Essays
1496 words (4.3 pages)

Essay about Malala Yousafzai and her Unlucky Fate

- Malala Yousafzai is a teenager that made international headlines. Malala was shot point-blank range and didn’t die from it. Young people can change the world. Malala was one of those young people who changed the world. She got shot in two thousand twelve. (Tell me more) She was born July twelfth, nineteen ninety-seven, in Mingora Pakistan. (Jan Mior) Malala has positively and negatively affected the world by standing up for women’s rights. After she recovered from her injury of being shot she did many more great things....   [tags: rights, education, shot]

Better Essays
552 words (1.6 pages)

Malala Yousafzai´s Speech

- The speaker is Malala Yousafzai, a Pakistani girl; she is sixteen years old. She was shot by Taliban in on October 2012. Malala was the first and the youngest person who received the biggest European human rights prize called "Sakh arov" Malala was received Nobel Peace Prize in 2013. She also received many other international awards such as women of the year 2013 by Glamour, Women's rights award "Raw & War (Malala yousafzai Web, 2013). Malala Yousafzai give a speech at the United Nations. The terrorist attack make her strong person although she is young....   [tags: Nobel Peace Prize, United Nations, Taliban]

Better Essays
1094 words (3.1 pages)

Malala Yousafzai: A Voice for the Right to Women’s Education Essay

- Being shot in the face and seriously injured, did not stop Malala Yousafzai from pursuing her dreams. She did not morally agree with her government’s treatment of women, so she fought for her beliefs. Malala grew up in a rural village in Pakistan and was forced to follow customs she did not believe in. Swat Valley changed to a strictly ruled village with discrimination towards women. Malala created awareness around the world of the situation and stood up for her rights to education. Through Malala Yousafzai’s painful experience with growing up in a dangerous part of Pakistan, she created awareness in hope to regain the rights to educational opportunities for women....   [tags: biography, talibans, powerful weapon]

Better Essays
1004 words (2.9 pages)