Making the Right Choice Essay

Making the Right Choice Essay

Length: 1014 words (2.9 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

We make choices every hour, every minute, and every second of our lives; whether big or small our choices are slowly putting us in the direction we choose or end up. Many of us do not realize what contributes to the choices we make and why it affects others the same way if affects us and because of this many authors and writers have written stories and articles about coming to terms with making a choice and how to better ourselves when it comes to decision-making for the future.
In life poor decisions are made which leads to repercussions that can land anyone in a difficult situation. For example, A teenager drops out of high school, hangs out with a negative group of friends who encourage rebellion, and ends up uneducated out in the streets doing illegal activities; that choice to leave school has created many other problems because of it. In the poem “We Real Cool” by Gwendolyn Brooks, Brooks gave a genuine answer to what commonly happens when the negative choice of dropping out of school can lead one; “We Left school, We Lerk late, We die soon” (732-733). Many people drop out of school and become very successful however that is not the case for all people so when a kid makes that choice poor things can happen.
Since poor choices are made frequently throughout life what factors contributes to wrong choices? Tom Scheve, is a writer for “HowitWorks.com” and he says “The stress of making the decision can be what sets us up for failure. Humans are highly motivated to avoid making choices they regret. This hard-wired fear of doing the wrong thing can lead to stress so great it affects your decision making -- to the point where you make a choice you wish you hadn't.” With that being said not only does stress lead to bad choices but s...


... middle of paper ...


...is going to affect my life and others.






Works Cited

Alexie, Sherman. "This Is What It Means To Say Phoenix, Arizona." Mandell and Kirszner 274-83.
Angier, Michael. "Do You Choose Wisely". Successnet 2 Nov. 2010. web. 19 Feb 2014.
Brooks, Gwendolyn. "We Real Cool." Mandell, Kirszner and. n.d. 732-33.
Gatling, Quentin. Right Choices. 2004. 19 Feb 2014.
Kirszner, Laurie G., and Stephen R. Mandell. Literature: Reading, Reacting, Writing. Compact 8th. Boston: Wadsworth Cengage Learning, 2011. Print.
Scheve, Tom. Why Do We Make Bad Choices. 23 Aug 2010. web. 19 Feb 2014.
Theiman, LeAnn. How to Overcome the 10 Biggest Mistakes in Decision Making. n.d. Web. 19 Feb 2014.
Thompson, Derek. Your Brain on Poverty: Why Poor People Seem to Make Bad Decisions. 22 Nov 2013. Web. 19 Feb 2014.
Wordsworth, William. "The World Is Too Much With Us." Mandell, Kirszner and. n.d. 695.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The Impact of Choices in The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost Essay

- Humans are constantly faced with decisions and these decisions are an integral part of life. However, not all decisions are life changing. Thus, important choices must be carefully considered due to the everlasting impact that they could have on an individual. Many pieces of literature try to convey a message of making the ‘right choice’, which is usually aligned with the norm of society. The poems, “Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening” and “The Road Not Taken” by the American poet, Robert Frost illustrate the importance of decision making....   [tags: decision making, wrong choice]

Strong Essays
707 words (2 pages)

Career Choice to Be a Secondary Social Studies Teacher Essay

- I want to be a secondary social studies teacher. Two people really had an influence on this decision. The first would be my history teacher Mr. Nicol because he has shown me that you can be a Christian and a teacher if you balance them out right. My friend Amanda was the other influence because we were talking about what I’m passionate about which was history. She then suggested teaching it and I loved the idea because I knew I’d enjoy it. This includes teaching students the required information by giving them the environment and tools they need to acquire it....   [tags: Career Choice]

Strong Essays
1168 words (3.3 pages)

Essay on Abortion: The Right to a Choice

- We live in a society today where people are so careless of their well being and putting ourselves into hazardous or questionable situations that could lead to a bad decision in the making. Here in the United States it is legal to have an abortion if you are not ready to mother a child or feel the need not able to go through with a pregnancy, but in many countries across the ocean abortion is illegal and looked upon as murder. Yes, every woman is entitled to what is right for her and no woman should feel that she has to choose between prison and an abortion....   [tags: legalization, Latin America, pregnancy, children]

Strong Essays
1466 words (4.2 pages)

Arranged Marriages vs. Free Choice Marriages Essay

- Nowadays we live in a world which is full of choices and the choice of the person you would like to merry is one of the most important one. It is really hard to decide whether this person is really “yours” or it is just the illusion. Thus, can it be a better way to have somebody who decides who will you be married to. Some people think it is unfair because person doesn’t have the right of choice but the others think that arranged marriages are a good choice. Free choice marriage is a marriage in which both partners choose each other by themselves and the choice is based on factors such as physical attraction, the desire for emotional stability, love, similar outlooks, personalities, interest...   [tags: match, family, choice]

Strong Essays
710 words (2 pages)

Essay about Making the Case for Right to Die

- The right to life that has been stated in the Declaration of Independence brings up controversial debates about the morality of war, self-defense, capital punishment, abortion and euthanasia. Euthanasia is the ending of a life to escape suffering and pain. Although many believe that assisted suicide, also known as physician-assisted death is morally wrong, I think that under certain, strict circumstances, people should have the choice whether or not they want to suffer towards the end of their lives....   [tags: euthanasia, mercy killing]

Strong Essays
1693 words (4.8 pages)

Hobson's Choice by Harold Brighouse Essay examples

- Hobson's Choice by Harold Brighouse Maggie can be described as a woman of many qualities; there are many aspects of the play that can verify this statement. The scene starts with Maggie saying "Dinner at half past one girls, we’ll give him half an hour" This looks as if Hobson has gone to the pub but Maggie has told him that lunch is at one but he says its not. So Maggie says it’s at half one. From the words "We'll give him half an hour" it seems as if this argument is a regular occurrence. Maggie is a very dominant character and because of this, she makes a great saleswoman....   [tags: Hobson's Choice Harold Brighouse Essays]

Free Essays
1184 words (3.4 pages)

Pro-Choice vs. Pro-Life: No Correct Answer Essay

- Abortion is the ending of a pregnancy before birth; it causes the termination of the embryo or fetus inside the women. There are two different types of abortion, a spontaneous abortion, which is also known as a miscarriage, and an induced abortion, where the embryo or fetus is purposely removed from the women’s body. The topic of induced abortion has been widely debated for hundreds of years. The issue of abortion was argued way back in the time of the ancient Hebrews. In the United States it became illegal around the mid 1800’s and not until the 1960’s was the argument for the right to abort brought back to the table....   [tags: Abortion, Argumentative, Pro-Choice]

Strong Essays
1703 words (4.9 pages)

Euthanasia: The Right Choice Essay

- Euthanasia: The Right Choice Works Cited Missing Dr. Kevorkian is a physician in Michigan. He is a well-known physician, although to some, he is known for the wrong reasons. He is known to most for assisting in the suicide of those who ask for help in their deaths. He has assisted in the suicide of over 140 people. This essay will discuss the financial benefits of allowing physician assisted suicide and euthanasia, doctors’ opinions on euthanasia, the consequences of Dr. Kevorkian’s actions, and why assisted suicide is the right choice for terminally ill people....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Papers]

Strong Essays
2372 words (6.8 pages)

Pro-Choice, Not Pro-Abortion Essay

- ... Figure 1 Amnesty International USA, 2013 In today’s society there is estimated around six million in the world and still expanding daily. The economy today, most civilians are in poverty and slowly increasing; realistically people now find it difficult to support themselves. As most Americans know, we are currently in a recession meaning us Americans are in a financial bind making living expenses more complex to get....   [tags: a woman's right to choose]

Strong Essays
1003 words (2.9 pages)

Decision Making by Criminals Essay

- Decision Making by Criminals The issue of whether decision making by criminals is a rational process is a heated topic of discussion when one asserts that crime is the role of choice. Before the classical school of criminology, crime was thought to be the product of the paranormal occurrence of demons, witches, ghouls, and other creatures. The time prior to the classical school of criminology, called the preclassical era, is divided in two parts. Before the time of state intervention into private matters, each individual dealt with violations of their rights....   [tags: Rational Choice Criminology Essays]

Strong Essays
3034 words (8.7 pages)