Making The Gop More Attracting For Young Voters Essay

Making The Gop More Attracting For Young Voters Essay

Length: 1297 words (3.7 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Cary, Mary Kate. "How to Appeal to Young Voters." US News. U.S.News & World Report, 18 Dec. 2013. Web. 25 Mar. 2016.
This magazine article was about making the GOP more attracting for young voters. I found it very helpful to view how republicans were trying to make the Republican Party attracting. It doesn’t relate to my topic directly but it shows statistics and shows the audience that many young voters are undecided when it comes down to their beliefs in politics.

Cave, Damien. "Less Involved, Young Voters Say They Feel Abandoned." New York Times 1 Nov. 2010: A12(L). Business Insights: Global. Web. 25 Mar. 2016.
This newspaper article was an okay article for my paper, it really gives a good perspective from the young voters but doesn’t really talk about the topics I really wanted to see. I could definitely use the part of the article that talked about young voters being less engaged in politics. I like how they give young people’s opinion on feeling abandoned because it expressed their thoughts to the audience that may not know how young voters feel.




Chareka, Ottilia, and Alan Sears. "Civic Duty: Young People 's Conceptions Of Voting As A Means Of Political Participation." Canadian Journal Of Education 29.2 (2006): 521-540. Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson). Web. 25 Mar. 2016.
This scholarly article was very informational as well. I really like the take this author took. It demonstrates the disengagement of the young generation and states it as a big problem with voting. A lot of the article isn’t talking directly to young voters, but race and gender as well.

Cilley, Marita Carballo De, and John Hjelmar. Public Opinion Polling in a Globalized World. Berlin: Springer, 2008. Ferris State University. Web. 25 Mar. 2016.
T...


... middle of paper ...


...r of CIRCLE’s research advisory board and is a board member of the New Organizing Institute.

"YOUNG VOTERS." YOUNG VOTERS. N.p., n.d. Web. 25 Mar. 2016. .
This website is very user friendly. I also like how it explains everything you need to know about politics and voting facts. I will definitely use this website for my paper. It includes issues, events, information on political parties, and other miscellaneous information.

"Youth Voting." CIRCLE RSS. N.p., n.d. Web. 25 Mar. 2016. .
This website is very similar to Young Voters of America. I really like how you can find anything you want to know from the drop down tabs. If you have any issue or question about voting or politics you can easily find it here. For example, I typed “Immigrants” in the search bar and the website pulled many cites for information. I would consider this a database for young voters to use.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Young Voters and Why a Higher Percentage of Apathy Essay

- The lacked of youth voters has been a major concern for the democratic system in the United States and other countries. Studies has been and still trying to understand why youth tends to slack off when it comes to this crucial part of democratic practices. In light of this continuing problem, solutions have been offered to involve youths, primarily in their early 20s, to participate in this democratic practice. Because this is a high concern of many countries, many authors have written about why it is a tendency among youth and some have offered solutions to end this apathy-madness....   [tags: Political Science]

Better Essays
1898 words (5.4 pages)

Essay about Young People's Participation in the Voting Process

- Every year the United States government spends billions of dollars to spread democratic ideals around the globe. At the same time, the citizens of this great country seem reluctant to share in their love of democracy, causing voter turnout levels to continue to decline. Like many actions of Americans, the desire to vote is one that needs to be taught at a young age. If potential voters start as soon as they are eligible, they are more likely to continue voting, as they grow older. Thus, the key is to target young voters....   [tags: Politics and Young Voters]

Better Essays
745 words (2.1 pages)

Essay about Young People's Participation in the Voting Process

- So, who wants to vote anyway. "Hey, I live in Oregon, the president is already decided on before our voting polls close." Yes, we live in an apathetic society, but for reason. As a 21 year old registered voter, I generally vote, but I can understand why my classmates chose not to follow suit. First of all, we always feel like we are being tricked by the politicians' advertising campaigns. It seems that whoever has the most money and big business support will have the best ads and with them, an improved public image....   [tags: Politics and Young Voters]

Better Essays
761 words (2.2 pages)

Essay about How Voters Decide by Richard Lau and David Redlawsk

- I am mad. Wait, mad might not be the correct word. Perhaps I should have said angry, but does that truly evoke the complete image of my present emotional state. I think not. Exasperated, agitated, and resentful come to mind, but again, individually, they all fall short of expressing the complex set of emotions experienced when I feel I have been cheated or stolen from. What makes this even more emotionally demoralizing is the fact that those responsible for doing the cheating and stealing do not even recognize that is what they are doing....   [tags: uninformed voters, election, government]

Better Essays
1535 words (4.4 pages)

Essay on Voters' Guide Project

- The service project in our CSU foundations class was to create a voters’ guide for the student body to inform students potential voters of their choices for the upcoming election. It is important that the opinions of students in our country are heard by our lawmakers. The purpose of our voters’ guide was to provide easily accessible, unbiased information to students about election candidates which would in turn encourage students to voice their opinions by exercising their right to vote. When discussing this project at the beginning semester, I reflected on the things I learned in the American Government class I took during my senior year of high school....   [tags: voicing opinion through vote]

Better Essays
658 words (1.9 pages)

Essay about Attracting Television Media For Nonprofits

- Attracting Television Media for nonprofits Networking is important to your organization. Don’t just use social networking to engage clients and potentials. Use social media to engage local and national news organizations. Citizen journalism has changed the way traditional media covers news. Social media has made it easier to connect with local media. You can connect via Twitter, email, and Facebook, etc. Some traditional media outlets use a combination of methods to gather news. Some ways to get your organization on television are : hosting a press conference, the other is a pitching a story idea, and writing a press release these require strategic planning and preparation to successful...   [tags: Public relations, Newspaper, Mass media]

Better Essays
837 words (2.4 pages)

How Voters Decide : Information Processing During Election Campaigns Essay

- In their book, “How Voters Decide: Information Processing during Election Campaigns”, Lau and Redlawsk studied voting behavior at an individual level using laboratory experiment. Unlike other studies that looked for why did someone voted for a candidate and their stated reason for doing it, these authors specifically examined the mechanics behind their decision. In other words, they looked at the voter decision process from a cognitive standpoint. In their study, they found evidence for four basic decision making models....   [tags: Decision making, Cognition, Decision theory]

Better Essays
736 words (2.1 pages)

The Making of a Young Bully Essay example

- As I was walking the campus of my high school before school, I was pretty much left alone by the other students. I entered the math building to go to my first class and was inundated by a flood of people meandering about. As I attempted to make my way through the crowd, they parted before me, providing unobstructed room to pass. I looked at the faces of hundreds of students as each of them avoided making eye contact, trying not to draw attention to themselves. The one person who looked me in the eye, quickly looked away, but it was too late; I had found my next victim....   [tags: fighting, intimidation tactics]

Better Essays
1298 words (3.7 pages)

The League Of Women Voters Essay

- The League of Women Voters was founded in 1920 during the convention of the National American Woman Suffrage Association by Carrier Chapman Catt just six months before the 19th amendment to the U.S Constitution was ratified, giving women  the right to vote after a long 72-year struggle (League of Women Voters, 2015). The League originally began as a political movement intended to help millions of women with their new responsibilities as voters and encouraged them to use these powers to shape public policy....   [tags: Democracy, Women's suffrage, Government]

Better Essays
1291 words (3.7 pages)

Essay about Lower the Age Requirement for Federal Elected Officials

- The reason why young people don't vote is so obvious that it can be found in the U.S. Constitution. The Founding Fathers, progressive and tolerant though they were, saw fit to cite age as the only limitation to holding a federal elected office. In a document that rightly stands as a model for modern liberal democracy, neither race nor gender nor religion nor creed were mentioned as being relevant to the qualifications of a representative. This only serves to emphasize the degree to which age discrimination is rooted in the American political system....   [tags: Politics and Young Voters]

Better Essays
703 words (2 pages)