Love Shouldn't Hurt Essay

Love Shouldn't Hurt Essay

Length: 1439 words (4.1 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Red Jumpsuits Apparatus said it best when they sung Head Down, “Do you feel like a man, when you push her around? Do you feel better now, as she falls to the ground? Well I'll tell you my friend, one day this world's gonna end. /One day she will tell you that she has finally had enough.” The problem for women is figuring out when enough is really enough. Dating Violence is everywhere: in movies, on television shows, songs and newspapers, but some women are not willing to confide into someone for help. On April 5, 2005, teen tragedy was reported on ABC news, 20/20. Sixteen year old Marcus McTear stabbed and killed his girlfriend, Ortralla Mosley. Before that he continuously beat his former girlfriend, Rae Ann Spence. February 11, 2009, Rihanna filed a police report On Chris Brown for beating her. May 3, 2010, twenty-two year old Yeardley Love was found beaten to death by her boyfriend, George Huguely. The Bureau of Justice Special Report: Intimate Partner Violence says that one of every three women have been or will be in an abusive relationship in high school (Alabama Coalition Against Domestic Violence). I propose that further action must be taken to inform women of dating violence before it ends tragically.
Dating abuse goes unvoiced because some women don’t completely understand what it is. Dating Violence is defined as a pattern of abusive behaviors that are used to gain power and control over a current or former dating partner. There are four types of abusive behaviors: verbal, emotional, physical and sexual. Verbal abuse is when he or she calls you negative names, yells, threatens and puts you down constantly. Emotional abuse is when he or she shows abnormal signs of jealousy, possessiveness and stalking. They are also ...


... middle of paper ...


...O Host. Web. 16 Feb. 2011.

Red Jumpsuits Apparatus. “Head Down.” Red Jumpsuits Apparatus. Virgin Records, 2006.

Ruiz, Josefa, Francisca Exposito, and Helena Bonache. "Adolescent Witness in Cases of Teen Dating Violence: An Analysis of Peer Response." European Journal of Psychology Applied to Legal Context 2.1 (2010): 37-53. EBSCO Host. Web. 16 Feb. 2011.

Rush, George, and Nancy Dillion. "Rihanna & Chris Brown Fight Started Over Text Message from Other Woman." NYDailyNews [NY, NY] 11 Feb. 2009: NYDailyNews.com. Web. 16 Feb. 2011.

Teten, Andra L., et al. "Considerations for the Definition, Measurement, Consequences, and Prevention of Dating Violence Victimization among Adolescent Girls." Journal of Women's Health 18.7 (2009): 923-927. EBSCO Host. Web. 16 Feb. 2011.

"Tragic Tale of Teen Dating Violence." ABC NEWS. 20/20, 5 Apr. 2009. Web. 16 Feb. 2011.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Hurting People, Hurt People Essay

- Hurt people, hurt people." Truly this is exactly why there is so much hate in this world. Every single person on this earth is "damaged" and every single damaged person fails to realize that they are not alone. This world consists of large masses of bodies lashing out at everyone around them. Many lashing out of fear that their trauma will repeat itself if they don 't hold up this fierce barrier between them and the rest of the world. This tends to create these large balls of negative energy fueled by anger, pain, sadness, fear, jealousy, and ultimately......   [tags: Love, Debut albums, Psychological trauma, Anger]

Powerful Essays
827 words (2.4 pages)

Essay on Hurt People Hurt People by S. D. Wilson

- Summary of Theory In “Hurt People Hurt People” (2001) Wilson is candid about her personal hurts and how these have lead her to her personal theory, which may be summarized by the title of her book, and that there are no quick fixes to healing, it is a lifelong process. She emphasizes that it is in the recognition of hurts and identifying who we are in God and growing in dependence on Him that healing is found. Wilson states, “change means choosing a new direction. But some of us still wrestle with the idea that change is a journey, not a destination, and that the journey proceeds “one step at a time,” as twelve-step programs say” (2001, p....   [tags: psychology, personality theory]

Powerful Essays
1172 words (3.3 pages)

The Treatment of love in "Love is not all" by Edna Millay Essay example

- While love may be an extremely touchy subject as well as one that can be incredibly hard to interpret in a unique way, it is not impossible to broach the subject from a fresh perspective; In “Love is not all” Edna St. Vincent Millay is able to approach love in a way that initially seems extremely pessimistic and almost cold, but continues on to show the reader that she is not actually all that closed and even reveals some vulnerability by the very end. While the more negative approaches she uses would appeal to some people, it seems that if you actually take the time to read it a few times the cynical façade fades away and you can understand Millay’s interpretation of love as guarded but not...   [tags: Love is not all, Edna Millay]

Powerful Essays
967 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on The Hurt Locker By Jeremy Renner

- The Hurt Locker is a film about three soldiers who are a part of a bomb squad in Iran during a harsh war. The film is centers on Sergeant First Class William James, played by Jeremy Renner, who is seen throughout the film taking high risks with bombs. The film was filled with action and had me on the edge of my seat, wondering what was going to happen next. My feelings towards the film were mainly given to me by the way the film was edited. Editing in The Hurt Locker, allows for a viewer to feel the thrill and excitement in the world of the film by using the elements of editing, shot relationship, and continuity editing....   [tags: Film editing, Continuity editing]

Powerful Essays
1134 words (3.2 pages)

Film Analysis: The Hurt Locker Essay

- The Hurt Locker is a war film that is set in Iraq during the Iraq War and fits in the adventure and action genre. The plot is about a three man bomb defusal team consisting of James, Sanborn, and Elridge finding themselves is extreme, life-threatening situations where they must defuse explosives over the violent conflicts. The director, Kathryn Bigelow, has done a good job with the mise-en-scene, making the setting overall extremely believable, giving a sense of realism in the film. The film’s mise-en-scene creates a believable Iraq War settings with the use costumes, weaponry, and all the grime and dirt present in places which sells the idea....   [tags: iraq war, bomb, middle west, camera shake]

Powerful Essays
902 words (2.6 pages)

I am Sorry I Hurt You Essay

- Dear Rachel, I had a sleepless night thinking about what happened to us that night. I least expected it, I experienced the worst headache ever, all I could hear was my heart beating faster than it ever has. I cursed my stars that night, as my expectation for the night was so much greater, but it ended in a far different way that made my heart choke with tears of losing something I've always wanted and fought for. We all made mistakes not trying to understand each other, some words did hurt in some way and I guess we got carried away after all those arguments of whether I have an intimate relationship with Marie....   [tags: Love Letters Dating Email Relationships]

Powerful Essays
554 words (1.6 pages)

Words Do Hurt Essay

- I hate you. You are so ugly. Why would someone like you have been born. You will never amount to anything. You are not good enough. Nobody will ever love you. You’re so bad at that. Why don’t you just do yourself a favour and stop trying. Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me. Nothing could be further from the truth. . I find words incredibly odd. They’re just random consonants and vowels strung together, pronounced in certain ways to give them meaning. But how is it possible that these simple, strange things that are so beautiful and delicate are used in such destructive ways....   [tags: propoganda, manipulation, judging]

Powerful Essays
542 words (1.5 pages)

Teens Shouldnt Diet Essay

- Why Teens Shouldn’t Diet Dieting can be defined as restricting calories or food groups (Deal with Diets: kidshealth.org). With the number of obese people growing, it’s no wonder that people are starting to diet, and “in 1988, Americans spent 32 billion dollars on diets and diet products (Baird: Women’s Health Fact Sheet).” A problem arises when teens start restricting their food, because dieting can be very harmful to a teenager’s still-developing body. It can also be harmful to the teen’s psychological health as well....   [tags: essays research papers]

Powerful Essays
2066 words (5.9 pages)

Essay about Love

- Much has been said about love, but if you search the horizon, you will discover that most of the things written about love are either pithy or cynical. Society in general can be cruel and heartless toward real virtue of any kind. In the most popular venues, love is seldom dealt with with any degree of sobriety. Modern humor mocks marriage, husbands and wives, then glorifies every conceivable breech of virtue, such as sexual immorality, profane and obscene values. Real love is a mystery to most people....   [tags: essays research papers]

Powerful Essays
822 words (2.3 pages)

Essay on love

- Isn’t it weird how you can fall madly in love with someone and plan your whole lives out saying you’re going to be with them forever. You feel like you can marry them and you can just picture yourselves living your “happily ever after”; only for all of it to fall apart right before your eyes. You’re left alone with a broken heart. You have this feeling that eats away your soul keeping you from moving on. You’re convinced there'll be no one in this world for you other then that one person. No one will ever connect with you in the same way....   [tags: essays research papers]

Powerful Essays
827 words (2.4 pages)