Essay on Living Well In the Life of a Pharmacist

Essay on Living Well In the Life of a Pharmacist

Length: 878 words (2.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Becoming a pharmacist is a very time consuming process. Students must complete all of the pre-pharmacy requirements, take licensure exams, and finally get into and graduate from an accredited pharmacy school with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree. While that might not sound like a lot, it takes eight years of hard work. A lot of undergraduates journey into the field with visions of dollar signs floating in their heads. Then they start taking their pre-pharmacy courses and decide that maybe becoming a pharmacist is not their calling. Many people have told me that hard work and determination going into a precise goal will get you anywhere you want to go in this world. My grandfather has told me countless times “Don’t blame someone else for you circumstances. If you try hard enough, you can do anything that you are mentally capable of doing.”
There are only two pharmacy schools in the state of Alabama (Top Pharmacy Schools). The McWhorter School of Pharmacy is located near Alabama’s largest city: Birmingham, Alabama. The school offers a four-year Doctor of Pharmacy degree, and is nationally accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. Then there my school of choice: Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy. The Harrison School of Pharmacy is located only twenty-five miles away from my abode in the beautiful city of Auburn, Alabama. The school also offers a four-year Doctor of Pharmacy degree, and is also accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (Accredited Professional Programs of Colleges).
The requirements for one to gain entry into pharmacy school are very rigorous. Because I am coming from a two year community college and planning to go to Auburn University to finish the rest of my prer...


... middle of paper ...


...niversity. HSOP WEBSITE APPLICATION GUIDE. 8 November 2012. 26 March 2012 .
—. Prospective Students. 6 May 2011. 27 March 2012 .
Degree Directory. Pharmacist: Become a Pharmacist in 5 Steps. 21 March 2012. 21 March 2012 .
Pearson. About the PCAT. 26 March 2012. 26 March 2012 .
Smith, Laurie Kenney. Pre-Pharmacy Requirements Equivalents. 27 July 2011. 21 March 2012 .
Top Pharmacy Schools. Alabama Pharmacy Schools. 13 February 2012. 21 March 2012 .

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay on Living Well In the Life of a Pharmacist

- Becoming a pharmacist is a very time consuming process. Students must complete all of the pre-pharmacy requirements, take licensure exams, and finally get into and graduate from an accredited pharmacy school with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree. While that might not sound like a lot, it takes eight years of hard work. A lot of undergraduates journey into the field with visions of dollar signs floating in their heads. Then they start taking their pre-pharmacy courses and decide that maybe becoming a pharmacist is not their calling....   [tags: Pharmaceutical Industry ]

Better Essays
878 words (2.5 pages)

Essay on The Multi-faceted Role of the Pharmacist in Alberta

- ... The pharmacist is additionally an advocate who utilizes their wealth of expertise and influence to advance health and well-being of individual patients, communities and in some cases entire populations. They accomplish this by acting as communicators and educators, whereby they support and disseminate their pharmaceutical knowledge and expertise to empower patients to make informed decisions about their own health. Lastly, the pharmacist is a scholar who furthers innovation in the research and development of drug therapies by generating, interpreting, and applying their pharmaceutical knowledge in various research settings....   [tags: health, medication, patient]

Better Essays
544 words (1.6 pages)

Role of the Pharmacist in Understanding the Culture of Disability Essay

-  Collaboration among healthcare professionals between disciplines is becoming a focus of many medical educational institutions. The implementation of interprofessional programs require a multifaceted system of faculty coordinators and training, standardized assessments, clinical training sites, and administrative support. Nevertheless interprofessional education remains an essential component of the Institute of Medicine’s recommendation for improving health care education.1 As the role of pharmacist expands to different areas of healthcare it is important to ensure that pharmacy students are equipped with the tools to practice in diverse settings in order to collaborate with an array of ot...   [tags: Culture of Disability]

Better Essays
1100 words (3.1 pages)

Becoming A Forensic Scientist : The Pharmacy Technician At Walgreens Essay

- Not everyone has a distinguishable moment in their life when they uncover their true calling and I am living proof of that statement. Growing up, I wanted to become a forensic scientist; that dream changed when I took general chemistry in high school. I fell in love with the subject because it made me think about the complexities of the world around us. Three more chemistry courses and one anatomy course later, I decided I wanted to pursue a career in pharmacy. Believe it or not, it was not just the classes that made me fall in love with the idea of being a pharmacist....   [tags: Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Goal, Pharmacist]

Better Essays
742 words (2.1 pages)

My Goal Of Being A Salesman Essay

- My mother leaned over and handed me a box, it was my birthday, and I was only 8 years old, living in China with my parents. I tore open the box and inside I found a gift that was to change my life. My mother and father, knowing I was a curious child, bought me a chemistry toy set. From that moment on, I became fascinated by the workings of science. My subsequent interest in the composition of drugs, their chemical and physical properties began to galvanize my desire to pursue a career in pharmacy....   [tags: Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Research, Pharmacist]

Better Essays
727 words (2.1 pages)

Essay on Neccessary Adaptations for an Aging Population

- ... However, in developed countries where nuclear family is more common, responsibility for the elderly has now been shifted to professional providers. For many now, the doubt is: should care be provided by the government or should the elderly and their families pay the full price. An ageing population means there is a decrease in the working population. As a result, the number of people paying taxes is less than those who receive pensions from these taxes. This may cause prejudice and tension between the working population and the ageing population....   [tags: care, active, pharmacist]

Better Essays
715 words (2 pages)

Essay on My Day After Tomorrow Will Be Sunshine

- "Never give up. Today is hard, tomorrow will be worse, but the day after tomorrow will be sunshine". This is one of my favorite quotes from Jack Ma; it reminds me when I was down. It also motivates me to develop the patience and preservice to achieve success in life, as well as bring me closer to pharmacy. Pharmacy comes to me as a fate, I still remember the day me and my family traveled to another city in Vietnam. Due to the changes in weather, my body could not adapt to it. Therefore, I got a fever that night....   [tags: Pharmacy, Medicine, Pharmacist, Vietnam War]

Better Essays
1091 words (3.1 pages)

Essay on Why I Chose Pharmacy As My Educational Path

- Although it is difficult for me to pinpoint a direct incident that cultivated my passion for the medical field, specifically pharmacy, I know that for as long as I am able to remember I have had an interest in sciences. From a young age, I have always excelled in science based learning, and I credit much of my success to my mom, a physics teacher who encouraged my interests and helped me choose, albeit unintentionally, my education and career paths. As for why I chose pharmacy as my educational path is directly related to my interests in the sciences....   [tags: Pharmacy, Pharmacist, Common cold, Education]

Better Essays
702 words (2 pages)

An Ethical Life Is A Fact About Human Life Essay

- Striving for happiness is a fact about human life. It is considered one of the main goals of our life. Happiness is achieved when one flourishes, lives, and does well. An ethical life is a happy life. To lead an ethical life is to consider the happiness of others and to value yourself. Everyone desires to be fulfilled, but there is no point of being happy if our actions or intentions are bad. In order to achieve the life of complete virtue, we need to make the right choices and decisions. In an ethical life, it is vital that one considers the happiness of everyone to achieve their contentment....   [tags: Ethics, Morality, Happiness, Virtue]

Better Essays
1127 words (3.2 pages)

Sample Letter For A Pharmacist Essay example

- I want to be a pharmacist because pharmacists can share their knowledge in medicine to help patients in treating symptoms and stabilizing pre-existing medical conditions. My immediate goals are to take a more active role in the pharmaceutical profession through club involvement and volunteer opportunities. In the future, I want to provide easily accessible and valuable information on over the counter and prescription medication to the public as a licensed pharmacist. I believe my persistence in overcoming failure and experience in restaurant hospitality will help me succeed in pharmacy school as well as becoming a pharmacist....   [tags: Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Pharmacist]

Better Essays
1396 words (4 pages)