Essay on John Stuart Mill and Suicide

Essay on John Stuart Mill and Suicide

Length: 1343 words (3.8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Strong Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

One of the largest influences on modern American political philosophy, John Stuart Mill’s On Liberty argues that society and the government is too stringent regarding people’s behavior. These strict expectations, he claims, limits individualism and genius, both vital to humanity’s progress (62). To rectify this, Mill believes that as long as one’s behavior doesn’t pose any direct threat to another, it should not be limited. While society may not approve of a member’s actions, it shouldn’t attempt to interfere or use social methods of conditioning behavior such as embarrassment (77). Mill anticipates some criticism by admitting that all actions affect others to some degree. In the example he gives in his book, a man may be prone to extravagant spending and is therefore unable to provide for his family or pay off his debts. This man may be punished, though not for the spending; rather, he should be punished for neglecting his familial and financial obligations (79). While Mill seems to have made many valid arguments, they are potentially quite problematic.
While there are many self-regarding actions seemingly ignored by Mill, perhaps the most important and most problematic is that of suicide. At first glance, suicide appears to fit JS Mill’s examples of behavior not to be constrained. It does not directly hurt another, especially when compared to its sister, homicide. Furthermore, the problem many have with suicide is morally or religiously based, which alone, by Mill’s standards, is not enough to require intervention. But it is this concept of direct damage and intervention that makes suicide a complication to Mill’s model. In his book Le Suicide, Emile Durkheim challenges John Stuart Mill’s concept of self-contained behavior throu...


... middle of paper ...


...ny other philosophers, left some important concepts out of his arguments, ultimately making them incomplete and incorrect.



Works Cited

Chibbaro, Lou, Jr. "Spotlight on Bullying after Rash of Teen Suicides." Washington Blade. WashingtonBlade.com, 8 Oct. 2010. Web. 04 Dec. 2013.
Donaldson James, Susan. "Kipp Rusty Walker Kills Self on Oregon Stage." ABC News. ABC News Network, 18 Apr. 2013. Web. 03 Dec. 2013.
Durkheim, Émile. Suicide, a Study in Sociology:. Glencoe, IL: Free, 1951. Print.
Greenfield, Rebecca. "What Happens to a Twitter Account That Becomes a Suicide Note? - The Wire." The Wire. TheWire.com, 8 Jan. 2013. Web. 04 Dec. 2013.
Mill, John Stuart, and Elizabeth Rapaport. On Liberty. Indianapolis: Hackett Pub., 1978. Print.
Smith, Catharine. "Man Posts Suicide Note To Twitter." The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 16 June 2010. Web. 03 Dec. 2013.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

John Stuart Mill On Utilitarianism Essay

- When it comes to medical issues involving the end of life, some may question whether or not it makes a difference if a person’s life is ended by an act of active killing, or whether it is simply allowed to expire. Most human beings live their lives from a moral standpoint and would be opposed to the act of one being killed on purpose because it would mean murder. From a utilitarian’s point of view on this question, the answer would depend on the largest benefit of the two. A human being should be free to choose what he pleases in regards to his own life, however, there is a conflict of moral belief that objects to this freedom....   [tags: Utilitarianism, John Stuart Mill, Jeremy Bentham]

Strong Essays
813 words (2.3 pages)

John Stuart Mill's Harm Principle Essay

- John Stuart Mill discusses the conception of liberty in many ways. I’d like to focus of his ideas of the harm principle and a touch a little on his thoughts about the freedom of action. The harm principle and freedom on action are just two subtopics of Mill’s extensive thoughts about the conception on liberty. Not only do I plan to discuss and explain each of these parts on the conception of liberty, but I also plan to discuss my thoughts and feelings. I have a few disagreements with Mill on the harm principle; they will be stated and explained....   [tags: John Stuart Mill, harm principle,]

Strong Essays
974 words (2.8 pages)

The Death Of Robin Williams, Committed Suicide August Of 2014 Essay

- ... (Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy) Mill stated that actions are right, if they are useful or for the benefit of a majority. John Stuart Mill’s Utilitarianism relates to a great deal of the ethical dilemmas that revolved around the death of Robin Williams. Following Williams’ suicide, the CBS News team interviewed a San Francisco photographer, Dean Kendrick, who had claimed he frequently attended Alcoholics Anonymous meetings with Robin Williams. Kendrick told CBS “He was one of the very first to raise his hand and open himself to vulnerability but he really, really needed support at the time”....   [tags: Ethics, John Stuart Mill, Jeremy Bentham]

Strong Essays
828 words (2.4 pages)

Dr. V, Committed Suicide After Before Hannan 's Article Essay

- Code: 11512 1. Any journalist who pursues long-form stories will sooner or later confront certain moral dilemmas: What do we tell. What do we withhold. What is our obligation to our reader. To our story. And to our subject. Where does ordinary morality, even decency, intersect with the journalist’s ethics. Please read the controversial story about the inventor of an ingenious putter that seemed poised to revolutionize the game of golf. The story by Caleb Hannan was published January 2014 in Grantland, a popular sports website....   [tags: Ethics, John Stuart Mill, Jeremy Bentham]

Strong Essays
2024 words (5.8 pages)

John Stuart Mills : An Epistemological Problem Of Science Or Morality Essay

- ... John Stuart Mills explains what utilitarianism is by talking about the “the test of right and wrong,” and corrects the Philosophical opponents by explaining the greatest happiness. “The creed which accepts as the foundation of morals, Utility, or the Greatest Happiness Principle, holds that actions are right in proportion as they tend to promote happiness, wrong as they tend to produce the reverse of happiness. By happiness is intended pleasure, and the absence of pain; by unhappiness, pain, and the privation of pleasure” (pp....   [tags: Ethics, John Stuart Mill, Utilitarianism]

Strong Essays
706 words (2 pages)

Essay on Hume And John Stuart Mill

- Hume & Mill David Hume and John Stuart Mill are both philosophers that believe in a higher power (god(s)). They are primarily concerned with the thought process behind human action. Their main discussion points are on the moral values of humans, and the difference between what is moral and what is just, or any combination of the two. Hume in “An Enquiry Concerning the Principles of Morals” discusses his understanding of the principles of morals, benevolence, and justice. Hume states, “Disputes with men, pertinaciously obstinate in their principles, are, of all others, the most irksome; except, perhaps, those with persons, entirely disingenuous, who really do not believe the opinions they de...   [tags: Morality, Ethics, Aesthetics, Moral]

Strong Essays
1289 words (3.7 pages)

John Stuart Mill 's Theory Of Classical Utilitarianism Essay

- In this essay, I examine John Stuart Mill’s theory of classical Utilitarianism and define the three key features the Utilitarian doctrine consists of. Then, raise objections to Mill’s responses to possible counter-arguments against his theory to present and explain how ineffective the Utilitarian moral system is. The guiding principle that Utilitarianism adheres to is great happiness, therefore, an action is morally permissible if and only it produces at least as much net happiness as any other available action....   [tags: Utilitarianism, Morality, Human, Ethics]

Strong Essays
959 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on John Stuart Mill's Views of Paternalism

- I will be discussing John Stuart Mill’s views on paternalism. I will argue how I feel about the subject. Then I will try my best to put myself into Mill’s shoes, argue back and try to see if I can understand where he is coming from with his arguments on paternalism. I plan on saying that there should be certain types of laws for different types of paternalistic acts, weak and strong for example. The laws should depend on what goes on when that act occurs and also after that act. I have strong views against Mill on the general way that he explains paternalism, but when I read more into depth Mill really says what I think should really be done....   [tags: Autonomy in Moral and Political Philosophy]

Strong Essays
1697 words (4.8 pages)

Essay about I Support Physician-Assisted Suicide

- I Support Assisted Suicide In thousands of homes across the nation victims of terminal illnesses sit in pain due to their sicknesses. Should these people have to go through all of that pain and suffering just for the end result of death. Should these people have the right to assisted death, to rid themselves of unbearable pain. This topic has been one of the great controversies over the last several years. Not too long ago if someone was found assisting in suicide, it was seen as a felony crime....   [tags: Euthanasia Physician Assisted Suicide]

Free Essays
1293 words (3.7 pages)

Essay about Physician-Assisted Suicide

- Physician-Assisted Suicide Francis Bacon once said, “I do not believe that any man fears to be dead, but only the stroke of death.” In other words, people are not afraid to die. Rather, they are afraid of the way in which they are going to die. Today, four centuries of medical progress later, Bacon’s words are truer than ever. Medical advances have allowed physicians to prolong the lives of their patients, or maybe it would be better to say, to prolong their deaths. People are made to live too long in ways they would not choose: dependent upon machines, lying in comas, and suffering unbearable pain....   [tags: Essays Papers]

Strong Essays
2762 words (7.9 pages)