Is Cell Phone Communication Secure? Essay

Is Cell Phone Communication Secure? Essay

Length: 1053 words (3 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Better Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Is Cell Phone Communication Secure?

According to a 2010 survey by the CDC (Center For Disease Control) 26.6% of US households use only cell phones at home (Blumberg). With such a large amount of people depending on cellular for communications it is important to understand the security risks they face.

Cell phone communication is not completely secure but the risk depends on a variety of variables, user habits, interception points, and user vigilance.

Legally no one is supposed to listen to cell phone calls but it does happen. In April of 1994 the Federal Communications Commission “ruled no radio scanners may be manufactured or imported into the U.S. that can pick up frequencies used by cellular telephones, or that can be readily altered to receive such frequencies. (47 CFR Part 15.37(f))(Fact Sheet). “Another federal law, the Counterfeit Access Device Law, was amended to make it illegal to use a radio scanner "knowingly and with the intent to defraud" to eavesdrop on wire or electronic communication. (18 USC 1029) Penalties for the intentional interception of cordless and cellular telephone calls range from fines to imprisonment depending on the circumstances. (18 USC 2511, 2701)” (Fact Sheet).

User Security

Two of the most common avoidable breaches to secure calling have to do with the ease of use and portability of cell phones. As people have become more comfortable with holding conversations in public many people talk on the cell phone as if they are alone with no one able to hear. They may not be thinking about security when they talk to someone asking for verification by using their Social Security number, birth date, or other personal items. Another common issue is pocket calling. An article in In...


... middle of paper ...


...ion (EFF). “What Can I Do To Protect Myself?”. The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF). Surveillance Self-Defence. Web. 29 October 2011
“Fact Sheet 2: Wireless Communications: Voice and Data Privacy.” Privacy Rights Clearinghouse. Revised August 2011. Web. 29 August 2011.
Grimes, Roger A. “Unintended cell phone calls put privacy at risk.” Info-world. 15 June 20101. Web. 29 October 2011.
Valentino, Vishnu. “Vodafone Hacked – Root Password published” Vishnu Valentino: Blog. Web. 29 August 2011.
Walker, Michael. “On the Security of 3GPP Networks.” International Association for Cryptologic Research. Web. 29 October 2011.
Walter, Vic and Krista Kjellman. “Can You Hear Me Now?” ABC News Investigative. 5 Dec 2006. Web. 29 October 2011.
Wikipedia.

Zetter, Kim. ”Hacker Spoofs Cell Phone Tower to Intercept Calls.” Wired. 31 July 2010. Web. 29 October 2011.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Cell Phone Addiction And Its Effects Essay

- In today’s society, everybody who’s anybody carries a cell phone around wherever they go. Some people are so attached to their phones, they not only need it for calls and messaging, they need it for social media, information, and even company. These feelings that we need to have our phones in our possession at all times is causing problems for up and coming generations. One of the problems that we face as a population today is cell phone addiction. Cell phone addiction needs to be fixed, to create a healthier, livelier society in the future....   [tags: Mobile phone, Addiction, Cellular network]

Better Essays
943 words (2.7 pages)

Cell Phone Culture By Dr. Gerard Goggin Essay

-   It’s hard to believe that the cell phone, which has revolutionized daily life, is a relatively new phenomenon. It wasn’t that long ago, that a telephone was like a piece of “furniture” that connected to a wall in a home or place of business and was used for making a telephone call. Today a cell phone is a part of one’s wardrobe. It goes where we go, and it is used for so much more than making calls. In his book Cell Phone Culture, Dr. Gerard Goggin looks at the cultural implications of this transformative piece of technology....   [tags: Mobile phone, GSM, Text messaging]

Better Essays
1854 words (5.3 pages)

Essay on The Effects of Being Addicted to Your Cell Phone

- Have you ever wondered why you keep staring at that phone every 5 seconds. Some people never let go of their phones, and carry it around wherever they go. Cell phone addiction has plagued millions of people, ages ranging from 11 to 57 (Gorily 1). Due to the mass addiction to cell phones, it has affected our behavior, our economy and including our environment. The younger generations are losing communication skills due to their addiction to their cell phones. Personally I do not own a cell phone, but from my personal experience in playing video games it made me lose social skills....   [tags: behavior, communication, economy]

Better Essays
934 words (2.7 pages)

Communication Is The Way Of Listening And Communicate With Others Essay

- The achievement of any affiliation relies on the ability to communicate with others. Communication is essential in all relationships as it allows anyone to share their concerns, interests, and support of one another. Effective communication is the way of listening and how words are pronounced, and how we respond to body language. All too often the indicators we send are not those we intend to send, and when this happens, both the trust and connection vanish in our relationships. When two people converse in a conversation they can say many things without speaking, the tone of voice, our posture, and the expression on our face all display a message....   [tags: Communication, Nonverbal communication]

Better Essays
1141 words (3.3 pages)

Evaluation And Conduct Ongoing Communication Between School District And Its Employees, And Faculty And Parents

- In this activity I researched the processes used by the school district and campuses to monitor and conduct ongoing communication between the school district and its employees, and faculty and parents. Reflective Piece: (Evaluate the internship activity by responding to the following questions sequentially. Use each question as a heading. Follow with your response.) • What did you learn. With the technological world we live in today, there are numerous ways to communicate. With mobile devices and computers, contacting a parent no longer means standing in line in the teacher’s lounge or office waiting on phone to use....   [tags: Mobile phone, Communication, Text messaging]

Better Essays
779 words (2.2 pages)

The Effects Of Cell Phones On Our Lives Essay

- Introduction When you think of cell phones, you think of all the benefits they have brought. But what about all the negative aspects that come with having a cell phone. People seem to be unaware that cell phones bring an alarming amount of harm into our daily lives. Although cell phones have numerous amounts of benefits, people need to learn about the dangers of having and using a cell phone. Social/Cultural Lens Cell phones have a major impact in the social/cultural lives of people today, with both advantageous and dangerous effects....   [tags: Mobile phone, Text messaging, Cellular network]

Better Essays
1244 words (3.6 pages)

Essay on Mobile Advertising : A New Communication Media

- Mobile Advertising : A New Communication Media Mobile marketing is becoming the most productive and cost effective medium for reaching a highly desirable demographic. It purposes are numerous : canvassing, building up customer loyalty and of course selling. The mobile phone is a good tool to exchange information with customers with several medium : Small Message Service (SMS), Mini Message Service (MMS), video MMS or internet. Today, it is also possible to pay with your mobile phone and some people think that mobile-phones will replace credit-cards or loyalty-cards in a next future....   [tags: Mobile Phones Cell Phones Technology]

Free Essays
566 words (1.6 pages)

Social Media Helping Or Hindering Your Life? Essay

- Social media helping or hindering your life. Social media causes more misunderstanding than understanding, affecting the way we interact today. Families and friends are losing "personal communication" and trust, that is not provided through an electronic device. Social media exposes personal information, the moment it is shared on the Internet making it public for anyone to see it. Social Media influence and misuse is felt when applying for jobs which have actually caused people to lose their jobs, when companies review a person 's social media presence, a standard operating procedure, and finds their content questionable....   [tags: Internet, Mobile phone, Communication]

Better Essays
1281 words (3.7 pages)

Technology On The New Digital Age Essays

- In today’s society businesses rely extremely on computers, cell phones, online surveys, email, etc. when it comes to running a company. Throughout the years technology has grown to where business haves to rely on the new digital age to keep up with their supply and demand. With technology being in the work place problems are bound to arise and of course ethical and social issues will occur. Small and middle sized companies are quicker to rely on the latest technology in order to help them succeed....   [tags: Mobile phone, Communication, Corporation]

Better Essays
988 words (2.8 pages)

Essay on Privacy: Security, Confidentiality, or Convenience?

- Privacy: Security, Confidentiality, or Convenience. INTRODUCTION The evolution of the Internet started from the department of defense's project, and rapidly distributed to world wide. With the rise of the Internet age comes with the benefits and the concerns. Because of the easeness to communicate information and displaying data, the first amendment needs to be applied to this communication channel. How are we using and communicating information without offending and harm others. Since the evolution of the Internet, there has been acts from Congress to regulate the use the Internet such as the Communications Decency Act in 1996 and the Child Online Protection Act in 1998....   [tags: Internet Privacy Secure Cyberspace Essays]

Better Essays
3152 words (9 pages)