The Iraq War Essay

The Iraq War Essay

Length: 2171 words (6.2 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

What triggered the Iraq War that we are currently still having? During this time in history we were still in the cold war as well Cold War (1945–1991), a lot of events has happened during this time period. I am going to start with the Iran-Iraq war which started in 1980 and ended in 1988. The war began when Iraq invaded Iran, launching a simultaneous invasion by air and land into Iranian territory on 22 September 1980 following a long history of border disputes, and fears of Shia insurgency among Iraq's long-suppressed Shia majority influenced by the Iranian Revolution. (Wikipedia, Iran–Iraq War, 2011). This war had at least a million and half casualties and it severely damaged both their economies, the Iran-Iraq war conflict is often compared to World War I due to the tactics used in the war. The Iran-Iraq war was one of the deadliest wars since World War II, the reason is because of Iraq using chemical weapons of mass destruction against Iran. As our brave men and women in uniform find themselves embroiled again in a conflict in the Middle East, debate surrounding the timeliness and necessity of the second Gulf conflict has ceased in professional circles. However, before the conflict began, controversy raged over when and how to best prosecute this situation. Many argued that the United States should have worked through the United Nations to pursue a resolution that had the consensus of the world behind it. That attempt, however, was doomed to failure from the start. The United States sought to solve this dilemma using military force. France and Germany desired to diffuse it using anything but force. In order to properly evaluate all options in this case, one must ask themselves how immediate a threat did Saddam Hussei...


... middle of paper ...


...y war," Foreign Policy. Retrieved January 31, 2011, from http://www.mtholyoke.edu: http://www.mtholyoke.edu/acad/intrel/bush/walt.htm
Wikipedia. (2011, January 30). Al-Qaeda. Retrieved January 30, 2011, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Al-Qaeda
Wikipedia. (2011, January 27). Donald Rumsfeld. Retrieved January 28, 2011, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donald_Rumsfeld
Wikipedia. (2011, February 5). Illuminati. Retrieved February 6, 2011, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Illuminati
Wikipedia. (2011, Febuary 3). Iran–Iraq War. Retrieved Febuary 5, 2011, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iran%E2%80%93Iraq_War
Wikipedia. (2011, January 30). Osama bin Laden . Retrieved January 30, 2011, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Osama_bin_Laden
Wikipedia. (2011, January 19). Saddam Hussein. Retrieved January 29, 2011, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saddam_Hussein



Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

The War Of The Iraq War Essay

- The Iraq War which started in 2003, and last until 2011 has in a sense been restarted. Which means in the past thirteen years American troops have been involved in operations in Iraq for all but three. The cost of the Iraq War has sky rocketed into the trillions, and the loss of lives into the Thousands, and the effects of the Iraq War will be felt for a long time. Entering Iraq has caused Americans to set a precedents about our policy and moral standing, that we greatly shape our future endeavors and policies towards foreign nations....   [tags: Iraq War, 2003 invasion of Iraq, Iraq]

Term Papers
2013 words (5.8 pages)

The Declaration Of The Iraq War Essay

- The America synonymous with liberty and freedom, the America envisaged by our forefathers, is an idealised society far from the current reality of our own. These fundamental ideals, which many blinded Americans would attest their government to be ardent followers of, were made irrelevant by a government desperate to consolidate its power and further its agenda. Nothing stopped the American people engaging in George W Bush’s crusade, without a modicum of doubt or time to question his intentions, we followed him into battle from our vantage point in front of our televisions....   [tags: Iraq War, United States]

Term Papers
1031 words (2.9 pages)

The Iran Iraq War Of Iran Essay

- Countries engage in war for reasons that may often seem to have simple solutions. At first glance, reasons for war can seem petty or pompous. In fact however, the steps to war often are complex and deep, shrouded in history, cultural clashes and religious disputes. The Iran-Iraq war of the 1980’s for instance locked the two nations in conflict for nearly eight years, costing nearly half a million Iraqi and Iranian soldiers, and an equivalent number of civilians their lives, with no real resolution to the dispute....   [tags: Iran, Iraq, Iran–Iraq War, Saddam Hussein]

Term Papers
2353 words (6.7 pages)

Essay on The Iran Iraq War : Iran

- The Iran-Iraq War: The Iran-Iraq War occurred from 22 September 1980 to 20 August 1988. The conflict was a conventional war fought by two different states: the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Iraqi Republic. Notably, two key non-state actors participated in the war: Iran 's government found allies in the oppressed Iraqi Kurdish ethnic group, who fought in conjunction with Iranian offensives. Iraq aligned itself with the Mujaheddin of Iran, who opposed the Iranian government. The conflict took place along the Iran-Iraq border, in South-West Asia....   [tags: Iran, Iraq, Iran–Iraq War, Saddam Hussein]

Term Papers
1063 words (3 pages)

Essay about The Iraq War From The View Of The Iraqis

- The Iraq war from the view of the Iraqis in Turtles Can Fly The movie, Turtles Can Fly, is about the fall of Saddam Hussein and the time going until the second Iraq war is to begin. They follow a group of orphans struggling to survive the war. Waiting for the American soldiers to come and give a better life. Showing what refugees had to go through during those times. The kids making a living by disarming and selling mines to arms dealers nearby. Most movies in today times do not show the point of view of the minority groups....   [tags: Iraq War, Iraq, 2003 invasion of Iraq]

Term Papers
734 words (2.1 pages)

The Iraq War On Terror Essay

- The Iraq War, our government’s invasion dubbed “Operation Iraqi Freedom,” had finally arrived after declaring war on March 19, 2003. The U.S.-British coalition to invade Iraq and remove Hussein’s dictatorship has been both a beneficial and damaging political effort. A war that began because of Hussein’s unwillingness to participate in weapons inspections became a messy situation that would last over a decade. President George W. Bush announced his trademark “War on terror” and, as a result, invaded Iraq on the grounds that Hussein was hiding weapons of mass destruction which threatened world security....   [tags: Iraq War, George W. Bush, 2003 invasion of Iraq]

Term Papers
1060 words (3 pages)

Essay on War in Iraq

- 1. There was very little evidence and the United States acted prematurely. The evidence itself is confusing and somewhat misleading. As we look on the invasion many Americans were very enthusiastic about going to war with Iraq. However, we’re not trying to think about why we were not there or trying to justify other than speculate the following reasons. Did Iraq have weapons of mass destruction or was the United States to find about their military power. Possibly, the United States was trying to eliminate Saddam and his regime to promote democracy and peace....   [tags: war, Iraq, USA, ]

Free Essays
467 words (1.3 pages)

Unjust Iraq War Essay

- The Iraq war has been a very sensitive and divisive issue in today's society. Although we can not ignore the cloud around this administration when it comes to potential incentives that going to war presented, (such as oil for profits and retaliation to Saddam Hussein for the Gulf War and treatment of President Bush Sr.), I will look beyond these potential motives to explain why the U.S. involvement in the Iraq War was unjust simply because it doesn't fall into any of the four functions of force authored by Robert J....   [tags: US History Iraq War]

Term Papers
1471 words (4.2 pages)

The War in Iraq Essay

- Pick up any newspaper or point your web browser to any major or minor news publication and questions like these will be all over them. A lot of Americans feel that the War on Terror and our presence in Iraq has lasted too long. Are they correct. Should we pull out and call it quits. Should we have another repeat of the Vietnam War. Believe it or not, that's how a lot of people view this war, as another Vietnam. They feel that we are out there, putting the American nose into something that shouldn't be picked....   [tags: Argumentative Persuasive Iraq War Terror]

Free Essays
1659 words (4.7 pages)

The Truth About The War In Iraq Essay

- The Whole Truth about the Iraq War For my first peace paper I went to the Ritz East movie theater on September 30th to watch the movie "Uncovered: The Whole Truth about the Iraq War." This is a movie whose mission was to reveal the lies that have been told to the American people by the Bush Administration. The majority of the audience seemed to me to be democrats or at least people who opposed the war in Iraq and the Bush Administration....   [tags: Film Movie Iraq War]

Free Essays
1267 words (3.6 pages)