Essay on iPads and Tablets In Elementary Classrooms

Essay on iPads and Tablets In Elementary Classrooms

Length: 1580 words (4.5 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Powerful Essays

Open Document

Essay Preview

Tablets and iPads are being used in elementary schools to advance the technology in classrooms. Some say that these devices are being used in classrooms because elementary students in this generation are already using these devices at home for learning. Schools all over the United States have begun to carry out million dollar plans to supply their students with Microsoft, Apple, and Samsung electronic “notebooks”. Many schools have hopped on the bandwagon and decided to incorporate iPads and Tablets into their curriculum. Middle and high schools have introduced the idea of using tablets and iPads but only as an alternative to carrying big books. Elementary schools have no legitimate reason to use these expensive devices. Unlike middle and high schools, these devices will only serve as a distraction to young students. iPads and Tablets should not be used in elementary classrooms for learning purposes because they create a distraction, eliminate the traditional ways of learning, include applications that may not portray the right ideas, and there are many difficulties that come with electronic devices.
Students in elementary schools range from the ages of five through eleven, and making children this age responsible for something that costs around four-hundred dollars sounds absurd. Children look at iPads and Tablets as toys because they have games on them so why do schools provide “toys” to children in a learning environment? Children at the age of five show more signs of independence, meaning they want to make up their own rules and do things on their own. Teachers will have a hard time controlling a room filled with five-year-olds that want to play games on these devices rather than read the digital books presented o...


... middle of paper ...


...nd Play Is Important But Its Role in Learning is Complex | National Association for the Education of Young Children | NAEYC." Research News You Can Use: Pretend Play Is Important But Its Role in Learning is Complex | National Association for the Education of Young Children | NAEYC. N.p., n.d. Web. 2 May 2014.
"Important Milestones: Your Child at Five Years." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 27 Mar. 2014. Web. 2 May 2014.
"Middle Childhood (6-8 years of age)." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 Mar. 2014. Web. 2 May 2014.
"Middle Childhood (9-11 years of age)." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 Mar. 2014. Web. 2 May 2014.
"MyWay / iPads." / Lost, Stolen, or Damaged iPads. N.p., n.d. Web. 2 May 2014

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Essay about Why Change IPads To Windows Tablets

- Imagine buying a goat for $500 instead of buying a horse for $300, when you need to win a horse race. You can do more with a horse than a goat, but you spend more for the goat than the horse when you need to win a race. That is what this school is doing with iPads, they are spending too much money on iPads when they don't do as much as Windows Tablets that is better for education. Some people may think that just because iPads and Apple is more famous and more used that it is better....   [tags: ipads, tablets, windows, education]

Powerful Essays
657 words (1.9 pages)

Tablets Should Be Used in All Classrooms Essays

- For instance, groups from the Notre Dame University, used iPads to collaborate and save files. After the seven week study some of the college students had used the tablets for textbooks and other uses that were not expected. Notre Dame University worked on projects using iPads to brainstorm and saved the results on an outline storage app called Dropbox. The group members can simply view the files without emailing (Woyke 1). The study’s original idea was to use the iPads as e-readers instead of regular textbooks (Wokye 1)....   [tags: ipads, e-books, tablets, digital readers]

Powerful Essays
1817 words (5.2 pages)

Newer is Not Always Better: Textbooks vs. iPads Essay

- Paper has officially been replaced with iPads. Just kidding, but there are over 1.5 million iPads that are being used in classrooms by students on a daily bases rather than using printed textbooks as main learning resources (Graduating With Technology). With recent advancements in technology, many school districts have turned the focus off traditional learning methods of using textbooks, and are now focusing on integrating the use of tablets and computers as the main means of learning for students....   [tags: textbooks, ipads, education, technology]

Powerful Essays
2603 words (7.4 pages)

Should Textbooks Be Replaced By Ipads Or Tablets? Essay

- “Do you want your statement online or printed out?” asked Mr. Robinson, my banker. The bank is trying to go greener by replacing the paper receipts by sending our bills online. Technologies are increasing rapidly and this has changed our everyday life. We no longer send postcards, letters or greeting cards through the mail service. It has been replaced by one click that sends digital mail to the recipient in the nick of time. We are no longer prisoners of TV sets as we can watch whatever we want, whenever we want, however, we want....   [tags: Technology, Education, College, Writing]

Powerful Essays
919 words (2.6 pages)

Essay about Ipads And High School Schools

- Have you noticed the widespread increase of students coming home with iPads. Kindergarteners all the way through twelfth grade are getting iPads and this is costing the schools a lot. Schools and teachers at first had no idea if this would help the students in all grades or if the teachers integrate them in their lesson plans. The widespread increase of iPads in the school will not only affect the school and the budget but it may affect the students learning performance as well. Even though many school districts provide iPads and computers for students, however, teacher do not always use available technology, and the cost for the districts and access to the Internet for all students is a con...   [tags: High school, Teacher, Education]

Powerful Essays
1511 words (4.3 pages)

How are The American Classrooms Dealing with Technology Essay examples

- “Put it away.” “Turn it off.” “Give me your phone.” These are phrases heard all too often in American classrooms when dealing with technological devices. The United States education system is falling behind compared to other schools around the world. While American teachers are banning devices in schools, just trying to control something that can give students an advantage, students in other countries such as China, Japan, the Philippines, and Germany are using their devices to learn and listen about new discoverings every day (Rosenberg 11)....   [tags: education system, tablets, textbooks]

Powerful Essays
1777 words (5.1 pages)

Elementary Classroom At Stafford Elementary School Essay

- This semester I am in a fifth grade classroom at Stafford Elementary School. We have been working on long division. Specifically for my clinical report I taught a lesson having to do with division that focused on “Interpreting the remainder”. This lesson is from the GoMath Math program that Stafford Public Schools has adopted for this school year (Lesson 2.7: Interpret the Remainder, 2015). At the start of the lesson most students struggled with finding out exactly what the questions were asking....   [tags: Division, Elementary arithmetic, Problem solving]

Powerful Essays
2039 words (5.8 pages)

Essay on Tablets Are A Better Classroom Resource Than Textbooks

- What was your style of learning when you were in grade school. Was your brain linguistic. Mathematical. Imagine a time when you read a textbook and couldn’t retain information or muscle through the reading. Now imagine going back to your childhood with today’s technology where many K – 12 schools are migrating towards using tablets in the classroom rather than textbooks. Some folks argue that too much screen time isn’t good for children, but what about the benefits of using tablets in the classroom for learning....   [tags: Education, Educational psychology, Classroom]

Powerful Essays
1292 words (3.7 pages)

Technology in Classrooms Essay

- To help improve academics at Jackson High School, the district should provide more technology in the classrooms. We should get iPads in every classroom that we have. We should also be able to use our cell phones. Technology has increased over the years and our school district should be up to date on its tools. There are several reasons for why we should get these devices in our classrooms. One of the materials that we should get at our school is iPad’s. It would help us become more organized with all of our subjects....   [tags: Benefits, Cell Phones, iPads]

Powerful Essays
642 words (1.8 pages)

Essay Observation of Preschool and Elementary Classrooms

- People always say that children are the future, and they are right. That is what makes understanding how children develop so crucial. Understanding how children develop has many important implications; it can help parents raise their children more efficiently, assist society in making informed decisions about policies regarding children’s welfare, and to help us to understand human nature (Siegler, DeLoache, & Eisenberg, 2011). An important part of understanding how children develop is understand the ways in which they learn....   [tags: Behavior Stages, Language Development]

Powerful Essays
1530 words (4.4 pages)