Inadequate Parking in College Campuses Essay examples

Inadequate Parking in College Campuses Essay examples

Length: 1961 words (5.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Sheridan College rests at the bottom of the beautiful Big Horn Mountains, in a small, friendly Western town where everyone believes that everyone else is their neighbor and treats them as such. After a week at Sheridan College, I guarantee that any visitor would mistake it for Heaven; that is, except for one issue: the lack of parking on campus. Nearly every time in the past that I have attempted to locate a desirable parking spot, I have failed and have had to settle for a spot at least five minutes away from my intended location. After three semesters of frustration, I gained the necessary permission to research this predicament and present my findings in this report.

Sheridan College currently faces a problem which many campuses face nationwide: inadequate parking. This is due to a high student population (both residents and commuters) and too few spaces. Unfortunately, the effects of inadequate parking are a source of stress for students, staff, and visitors. This stress leads to more than just a headache; the unnecessary added stress can cause students to ultimately fail. Students who struggle to find parking also struggle in the classroom. Failure to find parking causes students to be late for class. Late students feel anxious. Anxious students have trouble focusing on their instructor during class time. Students who have difficulty paying attention in class, also have difficulty completing homework assignments and passing quizzes/exams. Students who cannot succeed in the classroom flunk out of school. If too many students fall into this vicious cycle, then the college falls into jeopardy. Given all of the problems associated with the lack of parking offered at Sheridan College, it was clear that this dilemma ...


... middle of paper ...


...b. 23 Apr.
2014.
"Google Maps." Google Maps. N.p., n.d. Web. 20 Apr. 2014.
Kauffman, Garret. Personal interview. 21 April. 2014.
Kenney, Daniel R. "Public Affairs | Clips." Public Affairs | Clips. California State University, 26
Mar. 2004. Web. 22 Apr. 2014.
"Laramie County Community College." Lccc.wy.edu. Laramie County Community College in
Cheyenne, n.d. Web. 12 Apr. 2014.
Michael, MaKayla. Personal interview. 21 April 2014.
Murphy, Katy. "Community College Parking Jams Drive Students to Distraction."
MercuryNews.com. Oakland Tribune, n.d. Web. 20 Apr. 2014.
"PARKING ON CAMPUS." Sheridan College RSS. N.p., n.d. Web. 25 Apr. 2014.
Schroefel, Samantha. Personal interview. 21 April 2014.
"Support Center." Is There a Rough Dollar Figure for Parking Space Costs? N.p., n.d. Web. 14
Apr. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Safety on College Campuses Essay

- Safety is a tremendous issue on college campuses, and additional procedures need to be taken to prevent crimes from happening. When walking onto a college campus as a young adult, people get a rush of the unknown. The unknown could be going to college parties and late night study groups. College should be like any high school or elementary school and have better security measures to protect their students. The reasons we need these extra steps are to prevent violence, give students a sense of security, and monitor visitors on campus....   [tags: Safety, College Campuses, ]

Term Papers
514 words (1.5 pages)

Mandatory Parking Fees At Dacc Essay examples

- Mandating Parking Fees at DACC Undergraduates at DACC will be forced to pay, 200 dollars a year for parking permits. The scholars that will be effected by having to pay the high parking permit expenses are in rage. Examining other nearby colleges parking permit policies should increase the awareness of unfairness. Students will be more accepting of the fees if, the fees are going towards a parking garage. The Administrative staff plans on employing the payment fees for their own financial gain....   [tags: Parking, Parking space, Parking lot, Fee]

Term Papers
1050 words (3 pages)

The Use Of Guns On College Campuses Essay

- Problem There have been many fatal encounters involving the use of guns on college campuses. According to an article in RT News, 2015 there were over 52 school shootings. There were 21 at colleges, 15 at high schools, 3 elementary schools and 10 elementary and 2 preschool shootings. Campus carry does have its pros, that being in use for situations causing the need for self-defense, but the main con is the fact that so many people are taking advantage of the guns and using them for evil ways. Many shootings have been happening across the country in colleges and yet there are many campuses who still allow the on campus carry....   [tags: High school, College]

Term Papers
1052 words (3 pages)

Disadvantages of Allowing Firearms on Campuses Essay example

- Firearm mortality and morbidity is a serious concern in the public sector as it has significant impacts to the society (Carlson, 2002). The concept of allowing students to carry guns while in colleges has been the subject of debate in the recent times, though the majority of the campus students are not in favor of this idea. A number of incidences like the Virginia Tech shooting in 2007 have prompted the need to allow students' posses' guns while colleges (Lott, 2003). However, this idea has proved to a serious challenge as the disadvantages still overweigh its advantages (Lott, 2003)....   [tags: Firearms on Campuses]

Term Papers
958 words (2.7 pages)

Essay on Yellow Parking Vs. White Parking

- Yellow Parking vs White Parking Just the other day, I arrived at school fifteen minutes before my first class started, but was late as a result of trying to find a parking spot. I drove around the two parking lots that were in the same area as my building, twice, hoping I would get lucky; unfortunately, I was not. I was deciding whether I should park in one of the faculty spots due to there were many of them available, but I did not want to risk getting a ticket from the school. I ended up parking at Burger King across the street, hoping I would not be involved in a car accident while crossing....   [tags: Parking, Parking space, Parking lot, University]

Term Papers
1011 words (2.9 pages)

Essay on The Role Of Socioeconomic Diversity On College Campuses

- It is no secret that few students from disadvantaged backgrounds – which I define as low-income/minority/first generation students – decide to even apply to college. In the past few decades, heavy attention has been drawn to the importance of socioeconomic diversity on college campuses. This discussion has led to efforts to increase access to college by specifically targeting disadvantaged students through creation of programs such as the federally-funded TRIO programs, which “form a continuum of support for low-income, first-generation, and disabled students that extends from middle school through college” (Tinto, 7)....   [tags: University, High school, College, Academia]

Term Papers
1003 words (2.9 pages)

Essay about The Price Of The Curb Parking

- Everyone have seen one of those parking meter on the side of the street. They might not look insignificant throughout everyday life, but it sure took up quite a bit consideration in urban planning. What is the right price for curb parking. If the price of the curb parking is too high, there will be too many vacant pace because no one wants to park there. Nearby business lose potential customers because the price of curb parking is too high. If the price of the curb parking is too low, there will be no vacant space....   [tags: Parking, Parking space, Parking lot]

Term Papers
1062 words (3 pages)

Parking at BSU, Possible or Not Essays

- Parking at BSU, Possible or Not With the diversity of students that attend the University, there are a variety of challenges and advantages that are unique to each sector. Parking on the Boise State University Campus can be a difficult and frustrating but with a little bit of help and information, you can maneuver your way anywhere. Parking is a function that is necessary and required by almost everyone that visits or uses the Boise State University campus. This may range from teachers to visitors to employees....   [tags: College]

Term Papers
1980 words (5.7 pages)

Lack Of Parking Spaces On Ou Campus Essays

- Unit 1 Paper Lack of Parking Spaces on OU Campus It is hard to find parking on campus, especially during rush hours. Both students and professors are encountering trouble for this crisis. As a simple example, the parking lot next to the Sarkeys building is always full. This problem is a continuous, daily hazard. As a student required to maintain a lot of class schedules and activities, I suffer from the parking problem daily and find that others encounter the same. It is true that the university is working on a new parking garage, but during the construction process, there is no alternative way to settle the crisis....   [tags: Parking, Parking space, Parking lot]

Term Papers
1448 words (4.1 pages)

Violence on College Campuses Essay

- On college campuses today, there is a lot of violence. Violence occurs for many reasons, its unfortunate but true. One of the main reasons that violence accurs is because 90 percent of violence on college campuses is alcohol related. That is one of the many reasons why violence occurs. There have been reports of increased violence on U.S. college campuses since the early 1980s. Alcohol-related problems have included vandalism, fighting, injuries, and rape. However, as in the past, crime on campuses frequently was not reported to authorities or not divulged by institutions....   [tags: essays research papers]

Term Papers
521 words (1.5 pages)