Improving The Running Experience Essay

Improving The Running Experience Essay

Length: 2312 words (6.6 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Term Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview

Runners are always looking for ways to become faster. An easy way to drop tremendous time and make the entire running experience easier is to improve running form. Culture has a great impact on running form; from African to Mexican tribal runners, to commercialization of strange alternatives to mainstream footwear, culture impacts every one of us. The lower body plays an obvious role in running, with emphasis on the calves, quadriceps and hamstrings. The upper body plays a key role in running as well, although its purpose is not always agreed upon. Together, these three areas come together to make or break every runner’s form.
Culture has a great impact on running form. Sometimes the effects are positive such is the case in Africa and Mexico, however sometimes these cultural innovations are just marketing gimmicks with no significant contribution to the world of running (Wings n. pag.).
African athletes run differently than Western and European athletes. Some of this is due to the fact that African runners have a greater red blood cell count due to regular training at high altitude, but there is also overwhelming evidence of genetic superiority in explosive sports in West African athletes. West African sprinters had significantly higher percentages of fast twitch, or white, muscle fibers. According to Chris Lyons from Endless Running Potential, West African people have a perfect running build with narrow hips yet powerful thighs. They also have muscle fiber alignment that supports rapid contraction, allowing a fast cadence as well as a lengthy stride. A study by the University of Glasgow and the University of West Indies analyzed genetic data and found that 70 percent of West Africans, particularly the kind found in Jamaica, hav...


... middle of paper ...


..." Livestrong. Livestrong, 31 May 2011. Web. 4 Dec 2011.
Lyons, Chris, ed. "African Running Phenomenon." Endless Running Potential. Personal Evolution, n.d. Web. 25 Nov 2011.
McDougall, Christopher. Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen. First Edition. New York: Random House Digital, Inc., 2009. Print.
Morris, Rick. "Running Form for Distance Runners." Running Planet. Running Planet, 2011. Web. 26 Nov 2011.
"Quads and IT Band." Unlock Your Body Anatomy. Trigger Point Performance Therapy, 2011. Web. 27 Nov 2011.
Romanov, Nicholas. "Quad Muscles in Running." Training With Dr. Romanov. Pose Tech, 29 Sep 2009. Web. 25 Nov 2011.
"Tarahumara." Berardi, D., perf. Weird or What. Discovery Channel: Television.
Wings, Justin. "Top 10 Most Gimmicky Shoes." Birthday Shoes. Birthday Shoes, 22 Jan 2010. Web. 9 Dec 2011.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Improving Technology Investment Up And Running Smoothly Essay

- A Computer Help Desk or Service Desk should be dedicated to keep our technology investment up and running smoothly. Our company needs to have assurance with their internal technology services. There will always be computer issues but it is important for the help desk team to guarantee they can reduce problems and keep the staff productive with the tools they need to continue to drive business forward. The help desk is a tremendous resource of both cost efficiency, value, and support. When the help desk is operated properly, customer and employees are able to communicate and quickly have problems resolved....   [tags: Help desk, Technical support, Outsourcing]

Term Papers
1089 words (3.1 pages)

Essay about Running For His Life By Michael Hall

- ... Demonstrating what one man, set on fire and left to die can do (Hall 601-604). I believe that during the genocide Gilbert 's thoughts were distressed thinking there was no chance of survival and that he could not bear the heinous crime that was occurring. In the first place, Hall notes that Gilbert says, "There weren 't that many of us left" (601). This quotation shows that he believes he is likely to die soon because many of his classmates are dying. With fewer people to cooperate, receive support from, his chances of survival decreased....   [tags: Death, Suicide, Olympic Games]

Term Papers
737 words (2.1 pages)

Life Is A Marathon And You 're Still At The Store Buying Your Running Shoes

- “Life is a marathon and you 're still at the store buying your running shoes." I was sitting in class in ninth grade zoning out when my global history teacher approached and told me that. Those words hit me hard, and for the first time I felt shame. I was never the brightest student in my family, always stuck in the shadow of my overachieving sister. I didn’t take school seriously. I figured there was no point in pursuing an education if I was going to join my father in his food business. My parents are emigrants from Uzbekistan who came to America in search of a brighter future for my sister and me, as well as to escape religious persecution from Muslim extremists....   [tags: Physician, Patient, Meaning of life, Family]

Term Papers
898 words (2.6 pages)

Essay about My Experience At The Camp

- ... During camp, everything given to the children was completely free purchased by the program or were donated. Most of the food was donated, speakers donated their time to come to camp and talk to the children, and even a Chef came to camp to teach the children how to cook. It was the most significant because during this time the executive director and interns use the camp has a way of teaching children life skills, providing bonding opportunities, introduced leadership opportunities, and provides a break from stressful home situations....   [tags: Sociology, Learning, Social work, Social change]

Term Papers
735 words (2.1 pages)

My Experience At High School Essay

- ... As a freshman in high school, I was approximately 5’6. By the time I was a junior, my height had reached up to 5’10. Compared to the rest of my male friends in high school, my growth spurt occurred very late. Most of my friends had their growth spurts in middle school, while mine did not occur until my sophomore and junior year. As my growth spurt continued to develop, I also noticed my body figure begin to “lean up.” I suddenly noticed an increase in my muscular strength, and I also began to successfully put on lean body mass, particularly for high school football and baseball....   [tags: High school, Adolescence, Puberty, College]

Term Papers
796 words (2.3 pages)

My Practice Teaching Experience Essays

- Early on in my Block A experience I realised that a major contributing factor to the success, or otherwise, of my lessons was the pace. This is an area that I have looking at improving over the course of my Block A placement. The advice given by Gererd Dixon (2011: Online) is that; ‘One of the hardest things for new teachers is to inject pace and purpose into lessons while recognizing the needs of slower learners in the class.’ Working out the correct pace for my classes did prove to be a struggle as it does require the teacher to understand the needs of different learners in the room....   [tags: Education, teacher]

Term Papers
912 words (2.6 pages)

The Success of Henry VII in Improving Royal Finances Essay examples

- The Success of Henry VII in Improving Royal Finances Henry VII was a political realist, he knew he needed a good financial base from which to run the country, but on a more personal note, he also saw the need to create a strong financial situation upon which to secure his reign and dynasty. As Caroline Rodgers states 'Henry was acutely aware of the importance of strong finances if he was to remain safely on the throne.' However, it has often been said of Henry, 'No man has ascended to the throne with such a lack of financial experience and resources as Henry VII.' S....   [tags: Papers]

Term Papers
1141 words (3.3 pages)

Essay about Improving the Reputation of Inner-City Paint Corporation

- Improving the Reputation of Inner-City Paint Corporation Statement of the Problem What strategic step can Stanley Walsh make to improve the situation and reputation of Inner-City Paint Corporation. Objectives To analyze Inner-City Paint Corporation's current situation. To determine the company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats. To make an industry analysis on Inner-City Paint Corporation....   [tags: Business Analysis Strategy]

Free Essays
1111 words (3.2 pages)

Essay Personal Experience: My Weaknesses and Strenghts as a Writer

- ... For example conjunctions, verb tenses, objectives, independent and dependent clauses, direct objects, indirect objects, predicate nominatives, and the list continues to grow. Even though I have been taught so much, these areas still give me trouble and I wish to keep improving these areas throughout my entire life. The last thing that I have discovered is the writing I enjoy and the writing that troubles me. The specific type of writing that I enjoy the most is historical fiction. I love the setting and how it ties into real historical events that actually happened....   [tags: mandela, change, reading]

Term Papers
1471 words (4.2 pages)

Running Essay

- Running is very good for humans in many different ways. It is a great way to get exercise, and a great way to meet new people. There are many positives, and some negatives, it is easy, enjoyable and makes humans more social, you can do it at anytime, and it relieves stress rather than give stress. Although there are some negatives with running, there are also many positives. Many people run because of the health reasons. It is good for the heart and lungs and people run in the fresh air. Running outside rather than inside is good for you too because of the fresh air....   [tags: exercise, running, ]

Term Papers
584 words (1.7 pages)